We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Hafnia

Save
Share
Aarvegur 4-10 PO Box 107, Torshavn, Streymoy 110 Faroe Islands
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (176)
Dining (11)
Room & Suite (4)

About

#2 of 7 hotels in Tórshavn
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Situated in the heart of Tórshavn, within walking distance of the harbour and the historical part of town, Surrounded by shops, restaurants and night life. Hotel Hafnia is the perfect setting for your stay.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Sauna
Free breakfast
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Dry cleaning
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
Danish, Norwegian
261Reviews2Q+A26Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 75
  • 106
  • 58
  • 18
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Arne E wrote a review Sep 2020
Aarhus71 contributions79 helpful votes
The very betst thing tosay is that location is very central- right in the centre of Torshavn . Most rooms ( I have tried several ) are old to very old, bathrooms with a zig-zag curtain that prevent you from standing in the wash bassin for your shower . WC-cisterns are the very old version which wastes 15 litres of water each time . Not very ecological. Furnitures are pretty old and charmless . Worst part is though the breakfast restaurant .Absentminded service , floor carpets so disgusting that they are literally sticking to your shoes . Staff seems more eager to entertain themselves than cleaning up after guests have left their tables . Management seems to have been long gone . They advertise with 3 stars - it seems that is at least one too much !
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Jonas wrote a review Aug 2020
Stuttgart, Germany39 contributions7 helpful votes
We had a great stay at Hotel Hafnia in August 2020. Due to some circumstances we had to move to the hotel in the middle of the night and the boy at the reception was very kind and nice at all times. The room was clean and well equipped. The breakfast was included in the room rate and was super nice. The hotel offers you a very good package to explore Torshavn and the area around or to stay there for an business trip. You get good value for your money. I would recommend to stay in this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Súnfríd Ihlen, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Hafnia
Responded Sep 8, 2020
Dear Jonas, Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope to see you again in Hotel Hafnia. Best regards,
Read more
Kjetil F wrote a review Aug 2020
Oslo, Norway118 contributions66 helpful votes
We were already in Torshavn before we booked our room . We discussed with the reception about a quiet room and if they had parking. The staff was very service minded and they advised a nice room on the 5th floor. It was a superior room. It was a room with a sofa, table and two chairs. A nice new bathroom. The room was very clean and quiet. The hotel has three parking places. We got one of them. The breakfast was very good and the staff was cleaning every table before new guests arrived in the breakfast room.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Súnfríd Ihlen, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Hafnia
Responded Sep 8, 2020
Dear Kjetil, Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope to see you again in Hotel Hafnia. Best regards,
Read more
Maiie wrote a review Jul 2020
Copenhagen, Denmark31 contributions5 helpful votes
We stayed a family of 3 at Hafnia and enjoyed everything about it: the rooms incl. facilities (and excellent beds & pillows!), the very friendly and forthcoming staff, the nice continental breakfast and not least the location. Very recommendable 😊
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Súnfríd Ihlen, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Hafnia
Responded Aug 28, 2020
Thank you very much for your kind feedback :) Best regards Súnfríð Lambaa Ihlen Reception manager
Read more
swelsh3_ wrote a review Feb 2020
Santa Barbara, California11 contributions2 helpful votes
My flight was cancelled with SAS & our entire plane was placed in three hotels. Obviously that was a huge, unexpected influx of people. It took us quite awhile to get the room ( which is fair because I think they had like 50 last minute reservations). The boys of the front desk were impeccable, and did a great job staying calm and nice in the face of angry travelers who were yelling about things that were not their fault whatsoever. Wonderful customer service even with some of the most high touch guests. Please thank them for me. There are some nice amenities, complimentary local gym use, a sauna (private use available upon reservation), a buy one get one offer for the coffee shop restaurants. I took advantage of the sauna which was quite nice, however they forget to turn it on so it wasn’t quite ready for my our reservation- the gentleman at the front desk rectified it with a complimentary beverage for me. They have a complimentary breakfast which i saw is quite nice however I had a very early shuttle to catch my new plane. When I inquired at the front desk about a to go option they said they would have one ready for me which sounded very nice. The next morning when I asked for it the gentlemen told me they were opening the restaurant at 6 to take care of all of us... well my shuttle was at 550. I was quite disappointed as I would have bought food at the grocery store the night before. There was nothing done to attempt to rectify the error, just an apology.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from HotelHafnia, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hafnia
Responded Feb 20, 2020
Thank you very much for taking the time to describe the whole situation around your cancelled flight. Cancelled planes require a lot of cooperation between the airline and the hotel. The restaurant normally opens with breakfast at 7, but as a special service we always have the option early breakfast open to our guests. Early breakfast means a sandwich, tea/coffee/fruit which is served in the lobby from 5. However, on the morning of February 16th there were some misunderstandings, due to 80 guests having early breakfast. Unfortunately this resulted in you not getting sandwich and coffee in the lobby I apologize for this, and hope to be able to make it up to you some other time. Best regards, Súnfríð
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$112 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hafnia hotel tórshavn
LOCATION
Faroe IslandsStreymoyTórshavn
NUMBER OF ROOMS
74
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Hafnia
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Hafnia?
Nearby attractions include Tinganes (0.1 miles), Skansin Fortress (0.3 miles), and Torshavn Cathedral (0.03 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Hafnia?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Hafnia?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Hafnia?
Conveniently located restaurants include Aarstova, Paname Café, and Katrina Christiansen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Hafnia?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Hafnia?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Hafnia offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Hafnia?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including Danish and Norwegian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Hafnia?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Skansin Fortress (0.3 miles) and Kaldbak Kirkja (3.9 miles).