We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Hafnia

4 - 10 Aarvegur | PO Box 107, Torshavn, Streymoy 110, Faroe Islands
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Hafnia
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. We were given a renovated room on the second floor, but construction was occurring right outside our window starting at 8am. The room was small, but comfortable. The bathroom was very modern. However, all of the doors would stick (both main door and bathroom). One night an elderly couple across the... More 

Helpful?
Thank travelislifegal
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
363 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015 via mobile

We arrived late in the evening from Edinburgh. The extra rollaway bed and towels were not arranged for our son; this was quickly made right by the helpful staff. We had requested for a room in the new wing but got a room next to the ongoing side facade renovation works. Stayed here for 4D3N. Imagine the drlling and knocking... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Edmund K
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
338 reviews
237 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2015

Very centrally located. We were staying at the top floor with a lot of construction work just on it. I suppose, the hotel SHOULD inform about that in advance or not be so greedy to let the dated rooms on those floors. Nice breakfast, excellent service.

Helpful?
Thank alexzhdanov
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2015

Nice and newly renovated reception area with friendly and helpful staff. Small, but tasty breakfast buffèt and nice cafè in connection with the hotel. At the moment they are renovating parts of the hotel but since the work only takes place between 08-16 it is not disturbing at all. Tried the newly renovated rooms - very nice! Nice colours, nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elisabethmh
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2015

Went there for a weekend trip in August. The hotel was being renovated so outside looks can't be judged. We stayed at the 4th floor (or the third depending on how you count). The elevator takes 5 people squeezed in not including luggage, if it wasnt for the numbers on the elevator door when exiting it would be confusing to... More 

Helpful?
Thank hulda2002
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2015

Had two nights in Torshavn as apart of a one week walking trip around the Faroe Islands. Hotel Hafnia ideally located in middle of city - close to all main amenities including tourist office, local cafes and the harbour. Rooms are of high standard, free reliable WiFi and great food in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner.

Helpful?
1 Thank JamesMcGovern
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015

Don't let the renovations stop you from staying at Hotel Hafnia. The rooms are clean, the staff very friendly and helpful, and the very polite workmen are only working during the day. The hotel is in a great location to walk to the nearby harbor or downtown area.

Helpful?
1 Thank M K
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2015 via mobile

Arrived in the afternoon on a Wednesday. The receptionist Thomas gave us rooms 305 (old building) and 240 (new building). We were disappointed that we didn't get rooms near each other. Not even in the same building. We asked to change this but Thomas told us it was not possible. He offered a smaller room in the new building but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MaxHolmberg
travla_9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hafnia, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Hotel Hafnia. We do not condone using Tripadvisor as a place to target named individuals on the internet, therefore we will not respond to any of the points which relate to named individuals. We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with the room allocation. Due to our location in the heart of... More 

Travelers are raving about these Torshavn hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015

My and a couple of my friends went out for lunch. We decided on Hafnia, since we've all had good meals there before. This was not the case this time. They have just replaced all the staff, this has not had a positive effect. The waiter never gave us a wine/drink card and she had to come back to check... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Jan A
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015 via mobile

We stayed 3 night here, at this 4 star hotel, that desperately needed renovation. The room was very old and had a small, very bad bathroom for this standard. The water from the shower did leak out on the floor and carpet in the bedroom, because of a rotten door. It was no ventilation and it smelled old in the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Angelika S
travla_9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hafnia, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Hotel Hafnia. We are pleased that you found our beds comfortable and that you were able to take advantage of our unique position in the very heart of the capital Tórshavn. It also pleasing to note your comments about our breakfast. You are absolutely correct about renovation and you will have noticed that the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torshavn
1.0 mi away
Hotel Foroyar
Hotel Foroyar
#1 of 5 in Torshavn
4.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Streym Torshavn
Hotel Streym Torshavn
#3 of 5 in Torshavn
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torshavn
Hotel Torshavn
#5 of 5 in Torshavn
3.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Guesthouse Marknagil
Guesthouse Marknagil
#2 of 5 in Torshavn
4.0 of 5 stars 13 reviews
17.7 mi away
Hotel Vagar
Hotel Vagar
#1 of 1 in Sorvagur
3.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gjaargardur Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
#