We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux

Save
Share
Misrah Il-Kunsill Citta Nobile, Mdina, Island of Malta MDN 1050 Malta
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Prestigia.com
$192
View Deal
ZenHotels.com
$192
$161
View Deal
SAVE $31
eDreams$179
Expedia.com$174
StayForLong$178
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (449)
360
Panoramas (28)
Videos (1)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Xara Palace Hotel is a unique 17th-century palace hidden away in the medieval fortified city of Mdina, the old capital of Malta. Perched on centuries-old bastions, surrounded by stunning baroque architecture, The Xara Palace Relais & Châteaux, with its luxurious accommodation and award-winning haute cuisine, is truly a haven in which to pause and be pampered. Meticulously and sensitively restored to reflect its former noble standing, the exclusive 5-Star boutique hotel boasts seventeen luxury rooms and suites enjoying stunning views, all individually and tastefully designed with antique furniture and paintings, luxurious Parisian fabrics and king size beds. Our promise to our guests centres on an impeccable attention to detail - from the décor to the serene, unhurried pace of life at The Xara Palace Hotel, through every facet of our service - all setting the scene for nothing less than an exquisitely unforgettable holiday in Malta.
Read more
Room & Suite (175)175
Full view
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Adult pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Archery
Snorkeling
Airport transportation
Free public parking nearby
Street parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Water park
Evening entertainment
Nightclub / DJ
Car hire
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Couples massage
Foot massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Bidet
Room service
Radio
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Italian
671Reviews5Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 399
  • 153
  • 61
  • 37
  • 21
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Steph L wrote a review Dec 2020
Toronto, Canada6 contributions
Do yourself a favour and stay in the heart of the silent city. The historic Xara Palace is an enchanting stay and was a highlight to a Mdina vacation. The staff is beyond friendly, the rooms are large and well designed and you cannot beat the location.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Tonio Aquilina, General Manager at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux
Responded Dec 6, 2020
Dear Steph L Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us here at the Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, I appreciate your compliments on our facilities and Staff, we strive to offer an outstanding service to all our esteemed guests and I am glad you had a lovely experience with us. I hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you once again in the future. Feel free to contact me on tonio@xaracollection.com, should you need any further assistance. Sincere Regards Tonio Aquilina
Read more
Ryan D wrote a review Feb 2020
Brooklyn, New York27 contributions27 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
The Xara Palace is a 500 year old building that makes you feel like you are in a different world. Staying in Mdina is especially unique. Once the crowds left each night, we spent hours walking through the medieval alleyways, getting lost and imagining what life was like hundreds of years ago. We were fortunate to have the suite (#11) with a terrace overlooking the courtyard which we enjoyed sitting on during the unusually warm February weather. The windows on the other side provided 180 degree views across the island. I would like to see the bathroom updated. Shower was not up to the standards I would expect at a Relais and Chateaux property. Check in and check our were smooth and the staff helpful and welcoming. We had a problem one evening when we returned to the hotel late. The door was locked and the phone number provided for the night staff did not work. Knocking did not work. I finally found another contact number on the webpage and the night guard let us in. It was very frustrating but fortunately the weather was nice. I would suggest a coded entry system or something else allowing for entry after hours Overall, we really enjoyed staying at this special place and hope to return soon.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from tonioaquilina, General Manager at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux
Responded Feb 25, 2020
Dear ryand866 Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux. I appreciate your ratings on our facilities, we strive to offer an outstanding service to all our esteemed guests and I am glad you had a lovely experience with us. I have taken note of your comments regarding the shower and especially the phone number on our website, for which I would like to apologize. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and please do not hesitate to give me a call or send me an e-mail on tonio@xaracollection.com, should you need any further assistance. Best regards, Tonio Aquilina General Manager
Read more
GPukas wrote a review Nov 2020
Vienna, Austria75 contributions49 helpful votes
Perfectly located in Mdina it creates an impression all the historical town becomes your living room in the evening. Charming property and attentive service. Special attention to our event was unexpected and much appreciated.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tonio Aquilina, General Manager at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux
Responded Nov 18, 2020
Dear GPukas, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us here at the Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I appreciate your compliments. Here at within the Xara Palace we strive to offer an outstanding service to all our guests and I am glad you had a lovely experience with us. I hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you once again in the future. Feel free to contact me on tonio@xaracollection.com, should you need any further assistance. Sincere Regards, Tonio Aquilina
Read more
Guanjin77 wrote a review Oct 2020
Mainz, Germany279 contributions55 helpful votes
+1
Xara Palace is a beautiful hotel inside Mdina’s city walls. The building is impressive, as was our room with nice views across the surrounding countryside. Everything was well kept and clean. We specifically liked “De Mondion”, the on-site restaurant, where breakfast is served on a wonderful rooftop terrace. For dinner, the restaurant converts into a Michelin star fine-dining restaurant with great food and service. Location-wise, the hotel (being the only one inside the city walls) is conveniently located for discoveries on foot. Cars must be parked outside the city walls, but it’s only a quick walk to the hotel after passing the city gate.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Tonio Aquilina, General Manager at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux
Responded Oct 11, 2020
Dear Guanjin77 Thank you for your detailed feedback following your recent stay with us at the Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux. I appreciate your ratings on our Michelin Star Restaurant, de Mondion. We strive to offer an outstanding service to all our guests and I am glad you had a lovely experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and please do not hesitate to give me a call or send me an e-mail on tonio@xaracollection, should you need any further assistance. Best regards, Tonio Aquilina
Read more
OnePenguin wrote a review Sep 2020
29 contributions3 helpful votes
Faded grandeur. Our sense was that Xara Palace has relied on its privileged location for too long, neglecting crucial elements of any good hotel. The reality did not meet expectations. The common areas are impressive, but rooms are dated. Bathrooms desperately need refitting. They appear to be decades old. Ours had a shower which was challenging and uncomfortable to fit underneath (I am 5”5). When the mixer tap was moved to the cooler end, the water stopped entirely. The pedal bin was rusty. Not what you would expect from a ‘five star’ hotel. The customer service was inconsistent. Our room was not ready on arrival and the management tried twice to incorrectly overcharge us for an unsolicited upgrade on departure. We were shown to our room but asked to wait outside. We were left in the corridor with no explanation for half an hour. We saw maintenance staff in the bathroom with a sealant gun used for tiling. Eventually, after 45 minutes, we were shown to another room. We did not realise we’d been upgraded: the staff did not tell us, and the new room was similar to the first except for a view over fields and traffic/roads (we now realise this was the ‘panoramic’ view advertised on the hotel’s website). On check out, an unexpected 50 euros per night was added to our bill for an ‘upgrade’. I explained that we had not asked for an upgrade. The staff initially apologised and removed the charge. We went out whilst we waited for a taxi to arrive. When we returned the staff tried again to pressure us into paying the erroneous charge. ‘Unfortunately’ we would either have to pay or discuss with the manager. Despite the inconvenience (our taxi was waiting) the staff anxiously called the manager repeatedly, to no avail. We were told that we were aware of the upgrade because of prior email correspondence. This was incorrect: I had asked for a room on a high floor (not realising there were only two). The hotel replied, offering an upgrade which I did not accept. It felt combative and stressful - and uncomfortable that the hotel attempted to pressurise us into paying for an upgrade we did not ask for. In no hotel of any standard has this happened to us before. It undermines the Xara Palace hotel. We are conscious that the hotel was under pressure due to COVID-19 measures. But, we stayed at three during our trip to Malta; the others managed seamlessly, with well maintained properties and flawless service. If we return to M’dina, we would do so as a day trip from Valletta (20 minutes) or stay in one of the boutique hotels in Rabat, the beautiful little town right outside M’dina - only a 5-10 minute walk from M’dina gates. We stayed at Xara Palace because it is the only hotel actually within M’dina itself. But it fell a long way short of expectations - and was not worth it. Very reluctantly, we would not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Tonio Aquilina, General Manager at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux
Responded Sep 22, 2020
Dear One Penguin Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux. Primarily, I would once again ask you to accept my apologies about the inconvenience with the check in. I introduced myself and organised for for the room change that unfortunately was not the one allocated for you. There was a misunderstanding between two departments for which I am not excusing for creating such a delay. It is truly disheartening to learn that we fell short on providing you with the kind of service that the Xara is renowned for on this occasion. I sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations and assure you that I have raised the aforementioned points with my relevant colleagues. I have also addressed the charge that you claimed to have been asked to pay for the upgrade, reason being is that you had asked for a possible upgrade. Whilst hoping that this experience does not change the way you feel about the hotel, I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Malta in the future and restore your faith in the Xara Palace. Please do not hesitate to contact me on tonio@xaracollection.com,should you require any assistance. In the meantime, I remain yours truly Tonio Aquilina General
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$150 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the xara palace relais & chateaux hotel mdina, the xara palace relais and chateaux
LOCATION
MaltaIsland of MaltaMdina
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux
Which popular attractions are close to The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux?
Nearby attractions include Mdina Old City (0.09 miles), Palazzo Falson Historic House Museum (0.1 miles), and Mdina Main Gate - Baroque gateway (0.04 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux?
Yes, free public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Fork & Cork restaurant, Roman's Den Restaurant, and Fior Di Latte.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Italian.