We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Downtown Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Downtown Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

248 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 196: English reviews
Start your review of Downtown Hotel
 Click to rate
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 4, 2017

Basic hotel about 10 - 15 minute walk from the citadel. We chose this hotel because of it's proximity where we needed to be and it is close to one of our favourite restaurants in the Maltese islands. The room was small but equipped with kettle, tea and coffee. Breakfast was average. However, the drawback was the noise from the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank BFG502
Gharb, Malta
Reviewed January 1, 2017

Had an amazing Christmas Day lunch here with my friend and went back today for New Years Day lunch. Both meals where fantastic and today they served lobster thermodor which was brilliant!!! Great food, great service and fantastic value

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kay B
Reviewed December 27, 2016 via mobile

We went to the downtown for a short break during Christmas time, as soon ss we arrived we were greeted with a friendly smile from the receptionist. Even though our room was not ready yet she told us to sit in the hotel s cafeteria where we could have a coffe (1 euro) and scrumptious cakes (1 50 euro). As...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Analise T
Ontario, Canada
Reviewed December 11, 2016

A basic three star hotel should offer the basic necessities. That is: (1) a good night’s sleep. (2) decent breakfast (3) helpful service. Downtown fails in all three. The rooms was noisy – if it was not cars outside my room it is the lifts cluttering or the maids shouting (2) The breakfast does not offer even a good cup...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank martingorr
Downtown_Hotel_Gozo, Manager at Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

We apologize if these guests did not have a good night's sleep, especially if this was due to the maids chattering. We have taken notice of this and are taking steps so that this will not happen again. Just for the record our maids start working at around 9.00 am. so if indeed it was the maid's chattering it could...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 10, 2016

Yesterday I did a review of this lovely Hotel in Gozo, which was the only one I could find that was 'Pet Friendly', but it has been listed as the Victoria Hotel in Sliema, Malta, which I'm sure is also a lovely Hotel, but I have never stayed there and have no idea if it is Pet Friendly?!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gemmamarcel
Milano Marittima, Italy
Reviewed December 8, 2016

Poorly run hotel in a strange location in front of an industrial complex / school and surrounded by rubbish on the back. Any request for assistance is met with suspicion, like when we asked if they had lactose free milk for breakfast and they thought we were ‘being difficult’.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank annasc0lari
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 8, 2016

Pet Friendly Hotels are so difficult to find and was only a 15/20min Ferry trip from mainland Malta, so a Pet Passport wasn't necessary. I took Throws to cover the Beds and Sofa's, although the Hotel didn't ask for them, but I wanted to make sure my Pets fur, or dirty paw prints, wouldn't cause a problem for any others...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank gemmamarcel
Nantes, France
Reviewed December 4, 2016

Since we were travelling the Mediterranean Islands staying a few nights on each we did not prepare well in advance booking. When we arrived in Victoria we were told there is only one hotel. This turned out not to be true but we had by then booked the Downtown hotel - and what a mistake it was! We were told...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank daphneborg
Downtown_Hotel_Gozo, Manager at Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

Our receptionists always give a good description of the rooms. We actually describe the rooms by the room type and not by price differences. It is very hard to believe that these guests were given the response that they say they were given and we will do our outmost to see whom of our staff checked them in. The photo...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 21, 2016

We were on a long holidayon the island of Malta and we decided to spwnd some days on Gozo. As we were already paying for our hotel on Malta we chose one of the cheapest hotels in Gozo. We booked from Mallta and were told about the check iin time so we arrived at 2 pm. I was surprised that...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank simonoasterman
Downtown_Hotel_Gozo, Manager at Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

We thank this guest for his views and we truly regret his experience in staying with us as described in his review. We would like to point some things out for the sake of clarity and correctness. Yes it sometimes happens that a particular room is not ready by the standard check-in time of 14:00 hours. This can happen either...

mosta,malta
Reviewed October 16, 2016

The staff were polite and helpful at all times. We were spoilt with a very tasty breakfast including continental and hot English with a selection of cereals and yougurts. The room was spotless with a comfotable shower cum bath and we had the luxury of tea and coffee making facilities in the room. We very much appreciated the large range...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheilazammit
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (71)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Victoria
1.9 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
672 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,130 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
1.9 mi away
Saint Patrick's Hotel
2.0 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Downtown Hotel

Address: Europa Street, Victoria, Island of Gozo VCT 2732, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Victoria
Price Range: $47 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Downtown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Hotel Victoria
Downtown Hotel Island Of Gozo/Victoria, Malta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Downtown Hotel staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Scotland
over a year ago
Scotland
over a year ago
AUSTRALIA
2 months ago
Valletta, Malta
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Downtown Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“A room with a balcony on the outside is noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles martingorr, Dec 11, 2016 | Read review
“Street rooms are noisy”
 of 5 bubbles annasc0lari, Dec 8, 2016 | Read review
“I don't think it really makes a difference, as this Hotel is in a Town centre, although I think they offer distant Country views?”
 of 5 bubbles gemmamarcel, Dec 8, 2016 | Read review
“We had a country view room number 305 where the aircon was a little on the noisy side but staff were advixed and should be looking into it.”
 of 5 bubbles sheilazammit, Oct 16, 2016 | Read review
“We were to the front and it was fine.”
 of 5 bubbles KayD482, Oct 14, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question