We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Marina Street Marsalforn Bay, Marsalforn, Island of Gozo MFN 1104 Malta
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$84
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/07/22
Expedia.com
Only 5 left at
$90
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity$90
Priceline
StayForLong
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (510)
360
Panoramas (12)
Room & Suite (273)

About

#1 of 9 hotels in Marsalforn
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.2
Value
4.0
A stone’s throw away from the bright, blue Mediterranean Sea sits Hotel Calypso. Perfectly-positioned on the north shore of the Island in the fishing harbour of Marsalforn, Hotel Calypso blends effortlessly within this picturesque seaside resort. Whether it’s a diving holiday you’re after, a base for your days on the beach or walks in the countryside, Hotel Calypso is the ideal hideout in Gozo, offering a cocktail of comfortable surroundings, breathtaking views and friendly service to accompany the ultimate island vacation in Gozo.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Diving
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Italian
959Reviews35Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 347
  • 391
  • 125
  • 56
  • 40
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
clockworkpuppy wrote a review Oct 2022
Skipton, United Kingdom34 contributions30 helpful votes
The hotel has a dated feel about it and amenities onsite are poor at best. Fortunately Gozo has a fair bit to offer. Best option if wanting to stay at the hotel is B & B. The breakfast choices are basic . Standard self service. Do not expect the variety you would get in other European locations from hotels of the same size. The dinner option is just not worth the extra expense. The set menu changes daily and consists of a couple of starters , a couple of mains and a dessert. More suited to a residential home. Staff are friendly and go the extra mile if you need assistance. The roof terrace is a nice touch with a bar and restaurant serving basic eats. There is a pool on the roof but at the time of my visit it was dirty and needed a good clean. On the positive the rooms are well presented, clean and have basic amenities such as a kettle and a fridge. Rooms also have air conditioning.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Picturesque location
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Calypso, General Manager at Hotel Calypso
Responded Oct 15, 2022
Dear Guest, on behalf of our entire team we would like to thank you for your review. We appreciate you took your time to review our property as your kind feedback is significant to us. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Sincerely Yours, Calypso Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
raos1234 wrote a review Oct 2022
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom63 contributions48 helpful votes
Calypso location is excellent. We found the food which was mostly local cuisine tasty and well cooked. Breakfast was adequate and the staff very friendly and helpful. The down side is that it is ready for a refurb. Rooms / beds etc were clean but tired and things past their ‘sell by’. The bathroom in particular was well below standard black mould being prevalent in grout and mastic bath sealant (which had had additional coats to hide black mould which had then grown through again - tip 4 hotel staff daily white vinegar spray/ lemon stops growth it on new grout) Taps and shower head chrome work were corroding. We had a standard twin which had a tiny balcony of sorts - you could only sit knee to knee and view of the backs/ work yards & a demolition site. You could see the sea if you leaned out. We could also have cheerfully rung the neck of the cockerel that lived at the back! The Calypso is probably one of the better hotels in Malsaforn bay Gozo which has kept its fishing village charm to a greater degree but the Hotel needs to up its game if it is to keep attracting groups like SAGA whose holidays are not really in the budget class so their guests expect better. Despite this we did enjoy our stay and the hospitality given by the staff. October is also a good month to visit as it’s quieter - weather still warm and sunny. There is a lovely beach nearby plenty of bars and cafes. The hotel roof top pool at the hotel is also good - bar serving drinks and warm food which is good. We did not use the fitness facilities.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view ( extra charge ) and avoid the resident cockerel unless he’s gone in...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Calypso, General Manager at Hotel Calypso
Responded Oct 9, 2022
Dear Guest, on behalf of our entire team we would like to thank you for your review. We appreciate you took your time to review our property. Whilst we thank you for your feedback, we took note of everything you wrote and your suggestions will be taken into consideration. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Sincerely Yours, Calypso Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lawrence Anthon... D wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
Location: Very good. Room: Room was pleasant. However, it did need some updating. Food: Good standard - nice coffee. Staff: Helen (Reception), was so kind, helpful, friendly and exceeded my expectations, i.e., ordering flowers for me and helping me with my mobile, which wouldn't work. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Quiet Room, Balcony and overlooking the Bay
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Calypso, General Manager at Hotel Calypso
Responded Sep 29, 2022
Dear Guest, on behalf of our entire team we would like to thank you for your review. We appreciate you took your time to review our property as your kind feedback is significant to us. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Sincerely Yours, Calypso Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SurreyGirl27 wrote a review Sep 2022
Addlestone, United Kingdom1125 contributions1979 helpful votes
+1
A good location on the harbour front and very professional and helpful staff. The pool was a good size with a nice bar/restaurant area. Standard twin room was clean and of a good size with clean bedding, beds were rather hard. Good WiFi and good air conditioning, which shuts off when door opens, a great idea. Breakfast was good, Standard choices of hot and cold options and coffee/tea machines. Would like to see more fruit, yoghurt options and less tetra packed items. Small balcony was great addition. Shower was over the bath, not very powerful and no safety mat or ridges on bath for safety. Fridge was not plugged in and we couldn't work put how to plug it in. Also no plug sockets by the bed. Was good to see 2 pin and 3 pin options. Room was at back/side so tiny balcony and no view but it was quiet.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Calypso, General Manager at Hotel Calypso
Responded Sep 17, 2022
Dear Guest, on behalf of our entire team we would like to thank you for your review. We appreciate you took your time to review our property as your kind feedback is significant to us. As for the bath math, kindly note that we do provide it upon request. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Sincerely Yours, Calypso Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Biljana S wrote a review Aug 2022
Belgrade, Serbia48 contributions13 helpful votes
I had a boy view room with a big terrace on the second floor Everything in Marsalforn is a stone throw away and the room is well insulated so it is nice and quiet inside. I loved the buffet breakfast which you can et on the restaurant balcony with a sea view. The staff is really friendly and helpful and it is very clean. The reception area looks a bit worn and dated, but the rooms are in a much better shape. I didn't use the rooftop pool as the beaches are so near.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Bayview rooms on the second floor have a large terrace with a table, two chairs and two sunbeds
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Calypso, General Manager at Hotel Calypso
Responded Aug 31, 2022
Dear Guest, on behalf of our entire team we would like to thank you for your review. We appreciate you took your time to review our property as your kind feedback is significant to us. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Sincerely Yours, Calypso Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SegAnn wrote a review Aug 2022
San Gwann, Malta3 contributions
+1
This hotel not only does not deserve to be 4 star but its photos on booking.com are with no doubt edited. I rate this hotel as terrible for the following reasons: 1) Water not working 2) flushing not working 3) bathroom really old 4) pool unclean and really tiny (not as seen on photos) 5) breakfast only until 9:30am (guests are there for a holiday and they are expected to wake up early) 6) no table available for the breakfast at 9am. Meaning that there is lack of right management 7) staff has no idea how to handle work at the breakfast including the manager. I told them we need a table of 5 and they made table of 2! 8) lifts are terrible 9) wi fi disaster 10) hotel does not have its own parking I do not recommend this hotel because its not worth it for its price. There are better guesthouse with a cheaper price.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Do not go! Its terrible.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
CharlesOD wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions
This was not my first stay at this hotel. TV and toilet flushing not functioning. Two technicians came to repair TV, to no avail. Upon check-out receptionist did not bother to ask whether stay was pleasant. Food was very good, though.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Calypso Hotel, General Manager at Hotel Calypso
Responded Aug 8, 2022
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for your feedback, it is highly appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed our food while staying with us. We apologize for any inconvenience caused, and will surely investigate the matter accordingly. Nonetheless, you are always welcome to contact us back should you have any questions. Sincerely Yours, Calypso Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Greenwater93 wrote a review Jul 2022
9 contributions7 helpful votes
Alexandra at the front desk was very rude and unprofessional. I was shocked that she would lie about pricing and then be so defensive that she would not even give me her name. The food was actually really good it was just the issue of lying about pricing and then being so verbally aggressive.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Calypso, General Manager at Hotel Calypso
Responded Jul 28, 2022
Dear Greenwater93, Thank you for your comments. We are very glad you enjoyed your breakfast with us, and are very sorry to hear of the misunderstanding you had with one of our team members. Our breakfast is charged at a fixed price, and surely you understand that the buffet breakfast served is not that of a €5.00 per person. Should you wish to discuss this matter further, please feel free to contact us directly. With warmest Regards, Hotel Calypso
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Helen M wrote a review Jun 2022
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom16 contributions9 helpful votes
We recently stayed at this wonderful hotel and from the moment we stepped inside, we experienced a warm and friendly welcome from all of the staff, nothing was too much trouble. The hotel has the best location, close to the beach and nearby restaurants, with stunning views across the bay. Inside the hotel was clean and comfortable. We had a land facing (budget) room but this was also clean and comfortable, with a narrow sea view from the small balcony. The breakfast included a good range of cooked and continental food. The roof top pool was clean and warm, an amazing place to relax and enjoy the magnificent views if you didn't feel like swimming in the sea. However, I must say that the sea was as warmest that I have ever swam in and crystal clear. I would like to particularly thank Helen on Reception, and the lovely Dutch lady that manages the roof top bar, I think her name is Mareka. Both went out of their way to ensure that we had a very enjoyable holiday. This hotel has had a few mixed reviews, but my husband and I couldn't fault it, we had one of the best holidays here and will definitely be returning. I will be recommending this to my friends and familiy.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: I would recommend paying extra for the bay view/sea view rooms.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Calypso Hotel, General Manager at Hotel Calypso
Responded Jun 26, 2022
Dear Guest, on behalf of our entire team we would like to thank you for your review. We appreciate you took your time to review our property as your kind feedback is significant to us. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Sincerely Yours, Calypso Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lesalle wrote a review May 2022
Arundel, United Kingdom58 contributions50 helpful votes
Hotel Calypso is well situated on a pretty bay, lined with bars and restaurants. The hotel overlooks the bay at the front but backs onto an untidy Street area so best to upgrade to a front or side sea view if possible. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is fine and the restaurant is light and airy. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The Aircon works and is adjustable. The bathrooms are a little dated and they need to supply rubber mats for the baths as they are very slippy when standing to shower. I would have preferred a walk-in shower and no bath. They charged a deposit for two very old thin and holey pool towels which was ridiculous as all the towels needed replacing. Apart from that, we enjoyed our stay and would return.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Calypso, General Manager at Hotel Calypso
Responded Jun 2, 2022
Dear Guest, on behalf of our entire team we would like to thank you for your review. We appreciate you took your time to review our property as your kind feedback is significant to us. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Sincerely Yours, Calypso Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$80 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
calypso hotel marsalforn, calypso hotel gozo
LOCATION
MaltaIsland of GozoMarsalforn
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL CALYPSO $81 ($̶1̶0̶3̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Reviews - Marsalforn, Malta

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Calypso
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Calypso?
Nearby attractions include Marsalforn Bay (0.1 miles), Ghar Qawqla Bay (0.07 miles), and St. Phillip Church (0.05 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Calypso?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Calypso?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Calypso?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Calypso?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ristorante Arzella, Pulena, and Il Kartell Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Calypso?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Hotel Calypso have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Calypso offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Calypso?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Calypso offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Calypso?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Calypso?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Citadel (2.3 miles), St. George's Basilica (2.3 miles), and Ggantija Megalithic Temples (1.6 miles).