We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Oakhill Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Oakhill Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

157 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 157: English reviews
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

What an amazing pub with rooms in the middle of a little Somerset village, ignore the earlier reviews as Wayne (owner) and the new head chef Greg i think... ( sorry chef if it's wrong) has just taken over what a job they have done, the rooms are ultra clean, superbly appointed and very warm, the atmosphere in the Bar,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
Lynton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Arrived on a Monday evening for a three night stay. We wanted a few days away following a bereavement. Booked online and one of the questions on the booking form was estimated time of arrival, to which I replied 15.30. We arrived at approximately that time and found the door was locked. Pub closes between 15.00 and 17.00. We knocked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline G
OakhillManager, General Manager at Oakhill Inn, responded to this review

Dear Caroline Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very pleased to hear the many good points regarding your stay and on the whole you and your husband enjoyed the stay. I am however disappointed to hear so many negatives. I can only apologies that your room was not serviced for your arrival...

Hoi An, Vietnam
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

From our arrival to the end of our stay the staff worked to ensure we had a great stay. Providing fresh milk for the tea service in the room and bringing mulled wine to our room as my hands were full were thoughtful and we very much appreciated given you don't get this in most big hotels! Food in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elm_ukuk
London
Reviewed December 12, 2016

My wife and I arrived on the dot of 1:30pm last Friday and were bluntly told that lunch service had finished by a sour faced gorgon who barely looked up. Clearly one understands that country inns have shorter lunch serving times, but 1:30pm on a Friday seems a bit abrupt, especially as some diners in view were only just starting...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank alexash
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 22, 2016

Just popped in here for a quick lunch on the way home & were delighted with the food...so tasty, home made & their home made BBQ sauce is to die for!!! Will definitely be going back soon, so friendly too.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alison B
Reviewed November 20, 2016 via mobile

Just got back from a night away here and it was fab. Our room was stunning and had a beautiful roll top bath which was very romantic. The shower was amazing aswell. The bar area is cosy with a log fire where we enjoyed a drink before dinner. Our dinner was great- one of the best steaks I've ever had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vikki H
Somerset
Reviewed October 16, 2016

We visited the Oakhill Inn for a dinner party of 8 on a busy Saturday, so plenty of opportunity for things to go wrong, but nothing did! The food was excellent, an appetising menu with lots of appeal, well presented and beautifully cooked. Service was first class, friendly and helpful - our young waiter, Joel, was a real star. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claret_til_i_die
OakhillManager, Owner at Oakhill Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind words and so glad that you enjoyed the food. We'll pass your compliment to Joel also! We look forward to seeing you again soon !

Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 13, 2016

Rambling roadside inn with character, presenting a number of different areas to chill in and enjoy the great beer and food that is in offer. Food was very good but a bit pricey and the service was friendly and efficient. The rooms are very comfortable, and they overlook the garden at the rear rather than the road at the front.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 342SteveO
OakhillManager, Manager at Oakhill Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review. We work hard to make our pub a friendly and relaxing place so it's always so pleasing to hear when customers have had this experience! See you soon we hope!

Delgany, Ireland
Reviewed September 25, 2016

Very comfortable, terrifically friendly and accommodating staff. Hearty breakfast in the morning (although slightly later on the option on breakfast would have been better). Pub dinner lovely as well with a lovely friendly atmosphere in the the pub itself.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JacquiC68
OakhillManager, Manager at Oakhill Inn, responded to this review

Delighted with your review, thank you so much. Glad you enjoyed your stay and breakfast request taken on board! See you soon.

Pilton, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 17, 2016 via mobile

Just eaten lunch at Oakhill Inn. I must have driven past it 100 times, now I wish I had stopped earlier. Great food ( we had burger and fish and chips). The portions were big. The menu was not massive, but just the job. Surely it is better to offer a few things done very well than loads of stuff....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JCPL1972
OakhillManager, Manager at Oakhill Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us such a great review! We're so pleased you finally made the stop. See you again soon.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhill
2.5 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
885 reviews
2.6 mi away
Thatched Cottage
Thatched Cottage
#14 of 37 in Shepton Mallet
234 reviews
11.0 mi away
Bath Lodge Castle
Bath Lodge Castle
#3 of 6 in Norton St Philip
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Shrubbery Hotel
The Shrubbery Hotel
#6 of 37 in Shepton Mallet
109 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Holcombe Inn
The Holcombe Inn
#1 of 2 in Holcombe
390 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bowlish House
Bowlish House
#4 of 37 in Shepton Mallet
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A traditional English country inn with five, 4 star, en suite rooms. Comfy sofas and roaring log fires in the winter and a beautifully sunny walled garden in the summer. The bar is a show case of well kept real ales, local ciders and excellent wines. Menus are full of fresh seasonal produce from local suppliers and served throughout the pub or in the dining room. Rooms are comfortably furnished with particular attention paid to the bedding and showers.This is a family run inn and the welcome guests receive is genuine and warm. An excellent base from which to explore all that Bath and Somerset has to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oakhill Inn

Address: Fosse Road, Oakhill, Shepton Mallet BA3 5HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Shepton Mallet > Oakhill
Price Range: $105 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakhill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, LateRooms and Travelocity so you can book your Oakhill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oakhill Hotel Oakhill
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Oakhill Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Room 5 was a big and airy room with a large en suite bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles 342SteveO, Oct 13, 2016 | Read review
“The larger rooms are to be preferred, but not very noicy in any of them”
 of 5 bubbles rolfl1, Dec 15, 2015 | Read review
“Room 1 was large and comfy but you could hear the traffic from the A road on weekdays”
 of 5 bubbles perkyb, Oct 12, 2015 | Read review
“Just ask, They are very accomodating”
 of 5 bubbles Blacksheeep, Sep 22, 2015 | Read review
“Maybe ask for a room not fronting the main road if you're a light sleeper.”
 of 5 bubbles MRichards500, Sep 9, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay