We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa

Save
Share
A72, Cardrona, Peebles EH45 8NE Scotland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
$146
View Deal
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (522)
Room & Suite (162)
Dining (52)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 11/13/19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 11/13/19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa in Peebles, offers luxurious contemporary accommodation set in timeless natural surroundings. With the hotel's scenic location on the banks of the River Tweed you'll discover a relaxing haven - just 40 minutes outside Edinburgh and 90 minutes from Glasgow and the North of England - nestled amidst the tranquillity of the Scottish Borders landscape. With an award-winning restaurant, two bars, 99 comfortable and spacious bedrooms and conference and wedding facilities, our hotel in Peebles makes the perfect retreat for a leisure stay and offers a superb backdrop for any special occasion. While you're staying with us, why not try your hand at a round of golf on our 18-hole championship course or enjoy a dip in the pool and a luxurious treatment in our spa and leisure club. Guests can also take advantage of our fishing rights and try to catch some Scottish Salmon along the River Tweed.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Hiking
Indoor play area for children
Parking garage
Wifi
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Archery offsite
Bicycle tours
Fishing
Walking tours
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Steam room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Laptop safe
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
3,357Reviews29Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,294
  • 1,064
  • 585
  • 250
  • 164
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jennka_11 wrote a review Dec 2020
East Lothian, United Kingdom12 contributions15 helpful votes
Took my girlfriend for an overnight stay as part of her Christmas. On arrival the receptionist wasn’t particularly welcoming. Got to our room and it was cold. It was dusty and the toilet bowl was dirty. Disgusting. The towel rail wasn’t working and despite phoning the maintenance guy didn’t appear. We had to book for a one hour slot for the pool as the regulars take priority. Evening meal was nice, one staff member was a star. I had booked fir my girlfriend to have a massage, it was cancelled as the staff didn’t turn up. So we got a voucher. Doubt we would go back that distance for a massage. On check out not a soul to be seen. I appreciate times are tough but come on treat guests like this and you might not survive as the regulars won’t keep you going
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Cardrona GM, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Jennka_11, Many thanks for taking the time to review. I am sorry to hear we got somethings wrong during your stay with us. We do hope that you return to see the true reflection of Cardrona later this year. John Forrester General Manager
Read more
Adrian H wrote a review Nov 2020
Stirling, United Kingdom6 contributions4 helpful votes
After reading some of the negative posts on here we were a little anxious about our visit to the hotel last weekend, however it was a fantastic weekend, the hotel is closing for a few months during the week and for the staff that will possibly be out of work to carry out such a high level of service really is special.Adam the assistant manager, Ashley in the restaurant are an absolute credit to the hotel and could not do enough for us which was hugely appreciated. The waiting staff were all excellent, the cleaners could not do enough for you and never had a smile of their faces and in these hugely challenging and worrying times is unreal. The food was great and the levels of cleanliness in all communal areas were fantastic and we will have not a single hesitation in returning again very soon. The hotel is very lucky to have staff like this and are a huge credit to the group, good luck guys...and a huge thank you for a wonderful stay
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Dog friendly rooms were spotless unlike some other hotels
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Cardrona GM, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa
Responded Nov 14, 2020
Dear Adrian H, Many thanks for your review. We are delighted that you had a great stay. I am very honoured to have such an amazing team. Hopefully we will see you again very soon. John Forrester General Manager
Read more
Monique Hunter wrote a review Nov 2020
2 contributions
Food was ok... Dinner we had the steak you have to pay £10.95 extra for as we didn’t really fancy anything else on the limited dinner menu even though we had paid for dinner with our stay.. The peppercorn sauce with steak was vile it was like bisto gravy with peppercorns through it.. Breakfast wasn’t the best at all the sausages tasted absolutely disgusting. Only ate the poached eggs and potato scone. Staff were very friendly and attentive. Food service was good. Beds were comfortable. Shower was good. When we arrived there was lots of food leftovers left outside we could see from bedroom window crows everywhere eating the food that was left (photo attached) First and last visit to MacDonald Cardrona hotel! Didn’t try the spa as I wasn’t really happy with my stay I just wanted to go home..
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Cardrona GM, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa
Responded Nov 14, 2020
Dear monhunt, I am so sorry to read that we didn't meet your expectations. We do hope you reconsider and come back and visit us again. John Forrester General Manager
Read more
Ronboy_EK wrote a review Nov 2020
East Kilbride, United Kingdom80 contributions42 helpful votes
My wife and I enjoyed a two-night stay in October 2020 at this lovely hotel in the Scottish Borders. We have stayed several times previously and so we were keen to return. This was our first visit since Covid restrictions were introduced - we felt that the hotel handled the situation well and our stay was very enjoyable. We had paid a supplement for a Super Deluxe room - our room (106) had patio doors overlooking the golf course. This was a nice view to wake up to in the morning. The food and service in the restaurant were excellent. The staff were very attentive and hard working - but we felt that perhaps an extra member of staff would have been helpful. Due to Covid restrictions, there was no music in the restaurant and no alcohol served with meals - but the quality of the food and service ensured we still had a good experience. We were able to pre-book swims in the pool (online booking system due to Covid restrictions). The pool is spacious and we felt safe. I have used the gym on previous occasions (though not this time) and have found it to be well equipped. The room was very comfortable and spacious. Again, because of Covid, there was no housekeeping service in order to keep everyone safe. This was not a problem for us. You could have food or drinks (including alcohol) delivered to your room and the tray charge was waived. All of the staff including reception, leisure and restaurant staff were polite, friendly, attentive and hard-working. As staff numbers seem to have been reduced compared to previous visits, the staff deserve credit for their hard work and cheery demeanour in difficult circumstances. The lift was out of order during our stay - hopefully this will be repaired in time for future visits. The hotel is in a fantastic location close to the lovely borders market town of Peebles. We hope to return soon.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Cardrona GM, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa
Responded Nov 14, 2020
Dear Ronboy_EK, Many thanks for the review, we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope we get to see you again very soon. John Forrester General Manager
Read more
Linda G wrote a review Nov 2020
Edinburgh, United Kingdom11 contributions3 helpful votes
Room was very nice and beautiful views. We booked a deluxe room for the view and to have bathrobes and slippers. No robes or slippers in room and when I enquire was told due to covid they were not supplying them!!! Eventually housekeeping did bring them minus belts. To be fair this was rectified a few hours later. No bottles water in room. Nespresso machine and no pods. When we asked for them were told they hadn't had a delivery. The comfortable sitting area had signs on all of themselves to say do not sit here!! Service at breakfast was good . Two very nice you men. Pool open but unable to sit round as the beds had been removed. Know it's difficult times but won't be back here altho have visited on three other occasions.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Cardrona GM, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa
Responded Nov 14, 2020
Dear Linda G, Many thanks for the review, As you are aware these are challenging times and we have had to make some adjustments to how we deliver our product. I do hope you reconsider and come back to us in the new normal and enjoy our rooms and views. John Forrester General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$63 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
macdonald cardrona hotel, golf hotel cardrona, macdonald cardrona hotel, golf and spa, macdonald cardrona hotel country, macdonald cardrona resort country
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandScottish BordersPeeblesCardrona
NUMBER OF ROOMS
99
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa?
Nearby attractions include 7stanes - Glentress (0.8 miles), Traquair House & Brewery (2.6 miles), and Robert Smail's Printing Works (2.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nashys Takeaway or Sit Outside., Saffron Restaurant - Innerleithen, and No1 Peebles Road.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Cardrona.
Are any cleaning services offered at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.