We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Reykjavik Hostel Village

Expedia.com$176*
View Deal
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Reykjavik Hostel Village
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

471 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Reykjavik Hostel Village
See the most recent reviews
Showing 336: English reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2016 via mobile

Budget trip. Perfect location. Easy access. Well informed. Good. Clean. Well organised. Great stay for daily trips from Reykjavik. They have a few houses and good breakfasts. I'm happy to recommend for a budget trip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kat k
HostelVillage, Front Office Manager at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this review

Dear Kat k, Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay. It is always nice to read the satisfaction of our guest. We hope to see you a next time ! Warm regards, Thomas

Reviewed December 1, 2016 via mobile

Located very close from the old town(walking distance) the place is very friendly and staff was super helpful. the rooms are tidy and clean,although the restrooms would need renovations. otherwise,we were quite happy with the price paid.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Oana T
HostelVillage, Front Office Manager at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this review

Dear Oana, Thank you for your review. Happy to read that you had a nice stay with us. We have started to renovate all bathrooms to improve the satisfaction of our guests. We hope to see you again if you travel again in Iceland. Warm regards, Thomas

Reviewed December 1, 2016 via mobile

Comfortable rooms, clean and close to the city what more could you ask for from a cheap guest house in Iceland. If you are looking for first class accommodation this isn't the place for you. If how ever what outside is the more important to you than it is worth considering.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt R
HostelVillage, Front Office Manager at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this review

Dear Matt, Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers and for pointing out our good location and prices. We hope that you enjoyed your stay in Iceland and we hope to welcome you again a next time. Warm regards, Thomas

Reviewed November 17, 2016

We booked this place after discovering the other hostel we stayed at was full. The price is right (for Iceland). Everything was kept clean. We saw the housekeeper frequently. The building is old and hasn't really been updated (flooring, bathrooms, stove etc), but clean and functional. The room was quiet and comfortable and not shared. The beds were twins, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily S
HostelVillage, Responsable réception at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this review

Dear Emily S, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are happy to read that everything was fine during your stay. Thank you for pointing out our good location, our competitive prices and our quality standards. We hope to welcome you again if you are back. Warm regards, Thomas

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewed November 7, 2016

We stayed at this hostel for several nights during a trip to Reykjavik and had a wonderful experience! The cost was very reasonable, it was an easy walk to downtown, and the staff were extremely helpful. They went out of their way to offer us the original lower rate when we had to extend our stay. They also held our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lauren B
HostelVillage, Responsable réception at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this review

Dear Lauren, Thank you for much for your amazing review ! It is a great pleasure to read your satisfaction. We hope to see you again if you are back in Iceland. Warm regards, Thomas

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 30, 2016

The Hostel village has a lot going for it, the main reason I picked it was due to it's pricepoint - far cheaper than anywhere else I could find and only a short walk to the main centre. It is basic for the price so do not go in expecting luxury, I had some mattresses on the floor with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tamenese
HostelVillage, Front Office Manager at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this review

Dear Tamenese, Thank you very much for your review about your experience at our place. And yes, I read your line :) So thank you for your nice comments ! We hope to see you again when you will be back in Reykjavik. Warm regards, Thomas

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 26, 2016 via mobile

When first arriving at Reykjavík Hostel Village we were extremely disappointed. The room had clearly not been cleaned since the last person had stayed and we found bugs crawling over one of the beds. However, after speaking to the very kind receptionist the following morning, they moved us into a lovely clean room and also compensated us for our troubles...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank danielc2106
HostelVillage, Front Office Manager at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this review

Dear danielc2106, Thank you for your comments about your stay. I present again our sincerest apologies for the room not cleaned at your arrival. We had a meeting with the housekeeper and this isolated incident will not happen again. We are happy to read that after that you had a nice stay with us. We hope to see you a...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed October 21, 2016

I stayed in 5 Flokagata, which was right around the corner from the main house. I stayed in a single bed room with my boyfriend, and we had more than enough space. The room came with a desk & chair, mini fridge, kettle, a full bed, stool, mirror, and in-room sink, plus a closet. Having a sink and mini-fridge in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gossipchelle
HostelVillage, Front Office Manager at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this review

Dear gossipchelle, Thank you very much for your really nice comments about your stay. It is great to read your satisfaction ! We have started renovations of all bathrooms in the building, it is why the one on your floor was closed during your stay. We hope to see you again if you are back for another Icelandic adventure :)...

Canada
Reviewed October 15, 2016

We went 2 times to this hostel. First time, we got a room in another building with a blue roof at the end of the street. Room was clean and quiet, matresses were really confy. We had a kitchen to cook in the basement... I had only good things to say and wanted to give it five stars... The location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Espionne_Russe
HostelVillage, Front Office Manager at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this review

Dear Espionne_Russe, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I'm sorry to read your comment about your second stay. Even if the reception close at 16:00, please do not hesitate to ring the door bell : you can reach a member of our team and we always do our best to find solution for your satisfaction. Thank...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed October 11, 2016

If you're looking for a simple and relatively inexpensive accommodation option in central Reykjavik, this may be your answer. The owners have a few properties around the area so do note that the actual building you stay in may involve a bit of a walk from the reception. We were placed on the top floor of a squat, three-storey building...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank crystalwords
HostelVillage, Front Office Manager at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this review

Dear Crystalwords, Thank you for your review and for pointing out our location and good prices. It is always good to have some feedback after the stay of our guests. Warm regards, Thomas Front Office Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

129 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (101)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (1)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
1.3 mi away
The Capital-Inn
The Capital-Inn
#69 of 107 in Reykjavik
339 reviews
1.5 mi away
Oddsson Hostel
Oddsson Hostel
#17 of 100 in Reykjavik
69 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bus Hostel
Bus Hostel
#12 of 100 in Reykjavik
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hlemmur Square
Hlemmur Square
#9 of 100 in Reykjavik
1,067 reviews
1.0 mi away
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
#3 of 100 in Reykjavik
434 reviews
0.5 mi away
Galaxy Pod Hostel
Galaxy Pod Hostel
#2 of 100 in Reykjavik
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Reykjavik Hostel Village is a family owned hostel in Downtown Reykjavik. It consists of 5 former residential houses and therefore contains a lot of Icelandic cultural aspects. All of the houses have a big garden that is ideal for BBQs and outdoor recreation. Play Areas for kids are in two of the gardens and a green public park can be found in the next street. Reykjavik Hostel Village is ideal for single travelers and pairs, but perfect for families and groups as it offers Triple and Quadruple Rooms. Other accommodation option are Single, Double, Twin and Dormitory Rooms, and Apartment. Breakfast Buffet is served every morning. WIFI access is free as well as parking. Bathroom facilities are shared except for in the apartments, which features a private fully equipped kitchen and a large balcony. All rooms include tea/coffee facilities, a fridge and a working desk, and some do have balcony as well. The Tour Desk is at the Reception where guest can obtain tourist information, arrange car rental, tour excursions, airport shuttle, dining reservation, etc. The Reception is open 24 hours every day of the week. Reykjavik Hostel Village is situated only 100 meters (5 min walk) from Reykjavik's main shopping street (Laugarvegur) and 300 meters away from Hallgrismkirkja Church. Opposite of the road is Sundhollin, which offers an indoor swimming pool, steam baths and typical Icelandic outdoor hot tubs. Restaurants and Supermarkets can be found in the same street and close by. BSI main bus terminal is in a 15 min walking distance and the Domestic Airport only 5 min driving distance. The Airport Shuttles take you straight to Reykjavik Hostel Village from the International Airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Reykjavik Hostel Village

Address: Flokagata 1, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Hotel Floki Guesthouse)
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Price Range: $46 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Reykjavik Hostel Village 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Reykjavik Hostel Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floki Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Reykjavik Hostel Village staff and other travelers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Reykjavik Hostel Village staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Book well in advance to get the best rates.”
summer17669, yesterday | Read review
“Let them know what you want or need, we needed a room accessible to seniors.”
joannc259, 1 week ago | Read review
“you meet a lot of interesting people if you are in a room with more beds”
ashltorres, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“We chose to stay outside the main house on a quiet side street, it was perfect, even had a washing machine and dryer.”
Upstater516, Apr 15, 2017 | Read review
“Building 5 room 5 was awsome for single traveler.”
695chrisk, Apr 10, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Expedia.com
$176* /night
View Deal
Hostelworld.com$212
Hotels.com$176
Priceline$181
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates