We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castle House Luxury Apartments

Save
Share
Skalholtsstigur 2a, Reykjavik 101 Iceland
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Official Site
eDreams
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (253)
Room & Suite (118)
Dining (16)

About

#3 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
An airport bus is available for all flights and takes passengers directly to our hotels. You need to book in advance.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Complimentary instant cofffee
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Seating area
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Hungarian, Polish, Portuguese
732Reviews26Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 519
  • 183
  • 18
  • 5
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
LoganHampton wrote a review Jul 2021
Redding, California35 contributions16 helpful votes
We loved our Stay at Castle House Apartments. Everything leading up to our stay was communicated extremely well and management always replied to emails promptly. The apartment itself was perfect - comfortable, spacious, and extremely well appointed. The clothes drying rack was a godsend after rainy hikes. The location was fantastic - right next to Tjornin Pond, just a few block from most of the attractions in town, but far enough for easy parking. The area immediately around the building charges for street parking until 18:00 or free parking is just a few blocks away. We will recommend this place to all of our friends!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Lynda wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We scheduled a trip to the UK in June, 2020 and booked our flight on Icelandair. We wanted to stay in Reykjavik for a couple of nights and reserved Castle Hotel Luxury Apartments for June 23-25. Unfortunately, Covid-19 brought the world to a standstill in spring 2020 so we had to postpone our trip. We received a refund for our Airbnb accommodation in the UK and Icelandair provided a voucher with a generous redeemable date for the flight. We requested a refund from Castle Hotel but were told that all they could offer was a voucher for a year which we gladly accepted. We planned to travel as soon as it was safe to do so. It’s now over a year and we are in much the same situation with respect to the pandemic. We live in Canada and at the end of April, 2021 we are in the middle of a third wave, restricted from travelling within our own country, advised by the Canadian government to “avoid all non-essential travel outside Canada”, and blocked by some European countries. I contacted the hotel once again to see if we could extend the voucher for one more year. Our daughter and her family live overseas and we’ve been travelling once or twice a year to visit them. We fully intend to travel again once the virus is under control. The hotel refused our request. I find this decision mean spirited and self-defeating given the extreme drop in tourist activity over the last year+. The tourist industry has suffered greatly as a result of Covid-19. I would think the hotel would want to encourage people to stay at their facility and do what they could to maintain the goodwill of their potential customers. If you are planning a future trip to Iceland, I strongly suggest you consider another accommodation. The reviews have been positive up until now but the negativity of recent reviews and the hotel’s terrible customer should give potential tourists pause before even considering booking this hotel and spending their money.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ingibergur Thorkelsson, General Manager at Castle House Luxury Apartments
Responded May 1, 2021
This anonymous reviewer is right. We have great reviews from people who have stayed with us. They are very happy with the accommodation and the customer service. And we have terrible reviews from people who have not received refunds for non refundable bookings or got extensions of their fixed date vouchers. These people are unhappy with the customer service.
Read more
Txuri81 wrote a review Apr 2021
18 contributions6 helpful votes
I stayed at the apartment to spend my 5-days quarantine needed to visit Iceland. In fact, my booking was for Northern Comfort Apartments but I was allocated at the Castle House property, run by the same owners. It was absolutely fantastic, the apartment was big, comfortabe, super clean and cozy. It had a small balcony which was quite important considering the quarantine conditions. I felt taken care by the ladies who came to check if things were ok, take the rubbish out etc. I'd recommend it very much. Easy check in and out and plenty of information.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Ingibergur Thorkelsson, General Manager at Castle House Luxury Apartments
Responded Apr 17, 2021
Thank you for your review, much appreciated I am glad you enjoyed your stay
Read more
Glen B wrote a review Apr 2021
2 contributions
During the pandemic, this company refused to negotiate a change of dates. They cancelled our booking due to Iceland not allowing visitors. And have kept our 500e. Wouldnt even consider a little flexibility, were very rude.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Ingibergur Thorkelsson, General Manager at Castle House Luxury Apartments
Responded Apr 11, 2021
Glen B did not stay with us and this is not a review of our accommodation. She did book with us on a non refundable very low rate for April 2020 rather than the higher refundable rate A non refundable rate means that you cannot move the booking and it will not be refunded. We advise all our guests to buy travel insurance. When she booked on a non refundable rate she must have known she was taking a risk Then the pandemic struck. As a courtesy to guests affected by this we issued vouchers for the full amount they paid for 12 months Glen B asked us in March 2021 to extend the voucher until 2022. This was refused. Regarding our having "kept" the prepayment the fact is that she booked specific dates in 2020. Those dates will not come back, they have already passed. We were obviously not able to rent the apartment to someone else By issuing the voucher we were offering her to stay with us later, for free. We very politely explained this to Glen B. Several times, in fact. Any rudeness in the exchange would have been on the par of Glen B.
Read more
Nickolas Z wrote a review Sep 2020
37 contributions51 helpful votes
We booked in March 2020 for 1 week in June, 23rd to 28th. After a while we became aware that Iceland was following the EU travel ban for Americans. We waited assuming it would be lifted in June? It was only lifted for EU travelers June 15th, Americans were still banned. We started to question this, IcelandAir was not picking up the phone! The Hotel group insisted that they are open June 15th. They lied to us, we were still banned. FYI In April we had to cancel a trip to St Maarten and get our money back. There was a whole island lockdown and Americans were banned. Jet blue refunded right away and we had to fight the hotel as they insisted our reservation was nonrefundable. But we got our money back. Booking.com would not talk to us, they said talk to the land lord. So when Iceland issues came up we talked directly to the Hotel. The flight canceled 12 days before hand stating it would be a no show. Our booking agent Flight Network contacted us and handed the refund, very professional!. Booking.com did not even contact us??? They knew we were banned. The Hotel said if we did not show up we would lose our money???? The hotel lied about Covid shots there being free, a lie, it was published at $122pp. We were listed as a no show and no money returned even though there were no flights leaving the US for Iceland. Then we had to fight with Chase Bank (seemingly complicit on duping consumers being pro international Business, US consumers be damned. These instances are all over Trip Advisor where it stated there was a conspiracy with Iceland, Icelandair, Booking agents, banks, Tours and hotels to keep our deposits and push the narrative that they were open, Huh? They were only open for the EU. Now we are fighting Booking.com who is playing rope a dope and refused to refund us. It seems their plan was to get everyone to cancel, keep their deposits, and offer future use within 12 months. They did not publish publically that there was cancellations or travel bans to all Americans. We travel a lot and had an additional 12K refunded back to us from reputable booking agents and companies for a sydney vacation. Even IcelandAir played rope a dope! It took many emails to admit Americans were locked out...it was so obvious! Now we are exploring a Smal Claims suit and other options. WE have all email documentation beteen the parties, IcelandAir email stating flight cancelled due to the travel ban and Covid, state department reports, online travel bans US citizens to Iceland and they out right lied to us and many other travelers as posted on Tripadvisor. Booking .com knew that was a travel ban and we would not be allowed in...of course all flights cancelled. The Hotel was unresponsive, playing a con game liying to us knowing we could not enter the country...she is going on the state that she has no refundable policies, but most place do..our flight was non refundable...but when they prevent you from land as Syney did for this December, our $12,000 was refunded no questions asked, in fact they volunteared it!!! This woman was playing a con game as she misled and lied to us. I also have cancellation details on our flight that were volunteared refunds, all except this hotel. I miht add that millions of consumers are getting this run around by unscrupulous players. We are requesting a full refund as all companies do due to the Covid Pandemic
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Ingibergur Thorkelsson, General Manager at Castle House Luxury Apartments
Responded Oct 1, 2020
As the review states the writer did not stay with us and his review is not a review of our accommodation. We are not a part of a world wide conspiracy denying the public their rights and we have not lied about the Covid 19 pandemic and how the authorities have handled the response, which has changed frequently Everything we have said about travel restrictions has been accurate at the time The booking was made on a non refundable rate Instead of a refund we offered a 12 monht voucher for the full amount This offer was turned down
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$73 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
castle house luxury apartments hotel
LOCATION
IcelandCapital RegionReykjavikMiðborg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Castle House Luxury Apartments
Which popular attractions are close to Castle House Luxury Apartments?
Nearby attractions include Mink Viking Portrait Studio (0.3 miles), Handknitting Association of Iceland (0.2 miles), and 12 Tonar (0.2 miles).
Which room amenities are available at Castle House Luxury Apartments?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Castle House Luxury Apartments?
Guests can enjoy free instant coffee during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Castle House Luxury Apartments?
Conveniently located restaurants include 101 Reykjavik Street Food, Fish&Co, and Joylato.
Is Castle House Luxury Apartments located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Reykjavik.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Castle House Luxury Apartments?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Portuguese, Polish, and Hungarian.
Are there any historical sites close to Castle House Luxury Apartments?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Einar Jonsson Museum (Listasafn Einars Jonssonar) (0.3 miles), The Settlement Exhibition (0.3 miles), and Videy Island (2.9 miles).