We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all B&B in Reykjavik

Aurora Guesthouse

315 reviews
Save
Traveler (88)
Room & Suite (30)
Dining (1)
Overview
  • Excellent19%
  • Very good46%
  • Average23%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
“bread”(37 reviews)
“great location”(39 reviews)
“the bus”(19 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Multilingual Staff
Laundry Service
2.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (315)Write a Review
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveler rating
44
95
50
24
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
44
95
50
24
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreadgreat locationthe busshared kitchenguest housesmall wardrobemain churchfamous churchbudget accommodationbreakfast was includedseparate bedshampizza placeminute walkbreakfast selectionprivate bathroomtea and coffee
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

I see lots of negative-ish reviews on this place from people who seem to have expected a hotel. It is definitely a GUESTHOUSE! There is a shared bathroom in the building I was in (26?) which i expect would be hectic during the busy summer...More

Thank Kaleigh C
Response from Sigurdur H, Manager at Aurora GuesthouseResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. You have acknowledged that we are a Guest House and that the price and accomodate was good value for money. We are happy that you appreciate that our rooms are quite spacious and have a...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

During the third week of November,I stayed in this very basic accommodation which charged me the equivalent of $100 per night.My room was very simple,I shared a toilet and a shower with several rooms,and I did not have a television in my room.On the plus...More

Thank margatemensch2016
Response from Sigurdur H, Manager at Aurora GuesthouseResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your feedback. We stand by the fact that we offer good value for money accomodation as a budget accomodation provider in Reykjavík with a very central location. The price you have paid at this time is based on seasonality and is a...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Very basic and they wanted over $200usd for an additional night. I know the prices in the city are high but this was very low end accommodation. Our room was a block down from the main building and made it difficult to arrange meet ups...More

Thank tattooedtravelOT
Response from Sigurdur H, Manager at Aurora GuesthouseResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you feel that our Guest House is overpriced and basic. You were travelling during peak summer season and the price reflects this. We are comfortable that you have paid a fair price for a...More

Reviewed December 7, 2017 via mobile

Stay over for 1 night. 4 of us staying in one room while other 4 staying in another room. This guesthouse owned a number of buildings along the street. We are staying in different buildings. One small shared bathroom for several rooms. The bathroom is...More

Thank Larry Y
Response from Sigurdur H, Manager at Aurora GuesthouseResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. We apologise for any inconvenience regarding your 2 groups not being able to stay in the same building. We were heavily booked and unfortunately did not have 2 family rooms available in the same building at the time of your...More

Reviewed December 5, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights with upgrade to own with own w.c. This is a must, we were right next to the communal w.c which always welcomed us with a lovely smell whenever we returned. Can't really say this is the guest house fault but...More

Thank Dave4735
Response from Sigurdur H, Manager at Aurora GuesthouseResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. In relation to the smell from the bathrooms; guests sometimes make a similar comment. You may just have been smelling the sulfur of Iceland. May people often mistake this smell for something else. Hopefully, this is all that you have...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345645
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Details
Price range
$91 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Kitchenette, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
$91 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Kitchenette, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (88)
Room & Suite (30)
Dining (1)
Hotel & Grounds (51)
Bathroom (7)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Katy-jane T
July 27, 2017|
Answer
Response from Ibrowse | Reviewed this property |
Transfer from the airport is easy. Big coach from the airport to the town station then change onto a small bus that stops right outside the aurora. 2 companies provide this service so check prices and offers. There are... More
1
Vote
Barbara G
July 15, 2017|
Answer
Response from AprilFNP | Reviewed this property |
One group of three rooms on the same floor shared the very clean bathroom. Shower and toilet in same space. It was small, but all I really needed.
2
Votes
February 16, 2017|
Answer
Response from Sigurdur H | Property representative |
Hello, Wifi is working perfectly in all our rooms. We offer free wifi to all our guests and also you are very welcome to stay at the lobby and surf the net from there with a cup of coffe or tea :)
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Check out your room before you agree to stay there"
Read review
"Nothing on the ground floor"
Read review
"ask for ground floor room next to the WC (bathroom)"
Read review
"Request a room away from the road, it's more quiet."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite