We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Viking Village Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Viking Village Hotel
Viking Village Hotel
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

329 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 268: English reviews
Start your review of Viking Village Hotel
 Click to rate
Royersford, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The room was smaller than a cabin on a cruise ship but at least on a cruise ship there are places you can go and enjoy. The room was about 110 sq. ft including the bathroom. It was dirty by American standards. There were two single beds with about 2 feet of space between each to stand. The furniture was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mfisher1028
Bertmari, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mfisher1028, Thank you for taking your time to write this review. We are terribly sorry for this. However for future reference, you can always ask the reception to upgrade you to a larger nicer room. They would gladly do it for you. I truly hope we get a second chance from you in the future.

Rochester, Michigan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is great. I don't look to stay in expensive, fancy hotels because all I'm doin is sleeping. The bed was very comfortable. The covers are down and very warm. The room was perfect size and layout for me. The breakfast was a traditional Icelandic breakfast served on traditional style dishes. Someon said the coffee mugs were small...get over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JerrieB31
Bertmari, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JerrieB31, Thank you for taking your time to write this review. It's always a great pleasure knowing our guests had such a nice experience with us. We hope to get the chance to welcome you again.

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Viking themed hotel,lots of trolls and Icelandic artefacts Our room (34)was small but had a view of the sea and the town.The bathroom was modern with a bath and shower(a very high bath),the water is very hot and lots of it. Coffee etc in the room. It was very clean and quiet Breakfast was continental with hot porridge, They have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sand396
Bertmari, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sand396, We are delighted to hear that you had a different yet fun experience at the Viking Village Hotel. I will make sure that the reception staff see your comment, thank you for your kind words.

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for 5 days break with my fab friends in March 2017. It was clean and tidy with very patient and helpful staff and funny staff, The hotel is away from .the bright lights of Reykjavik however once you have been to Reykjavik in my opinion you have done that part of the break full of arty shops...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dawnt23
Bertmari, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dawnt23, Thank you for taking your time to write this review. We are thrilled to hear that you and your friends had such a good time at the Viking Village Hotel. It will be our pleasure to welcome you all to our hotel again.

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice quirky hotel, loved the architecture and style. We had a cabin for 4 of us - 2 adults 2 children (14 & 11). Plenty of room for us, clean, beds very comfy, duvets thick and warm. There was a fridge which was great for drinks and snacks etc which we took on our day trips. Small but perfectly formed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jgbkgb
Bertmari, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jgbkgb, Thank you for taking your time to write this review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, we are aware of the wifi can be a hit and a miss. When it's a miss, we urge everyone to contact the front desk as they can help the guests with makeing thje wifi better.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

4 of us have just got back from a 5 day break in Iceland we stayed at the Viking hotel and I would urge anyone to book a break staying with the most friendly, happy bunch of vikings in all Iceland.. the rooms are clean and tidy, food is great the atmosphere is unbelievable and nothing is too much trouble...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo D
Bertmari, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jo D, We always appreciate the positive comments left by the most important people in our world; our guests. We are so thrilled to hear that you had such a great experience here at the Viking hotel, I will make sure to share your words with the team. We sincerely would love to have you with us again.

Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Far better than any basic decor, this hotel adds a certain something to your stay. We emailed a couple of weeks in advance for a room overlooking the harbour and were accomodated. Our room was suitably sized for two people and offered great views both during the day and for watching the Northern Lights at night time. The bed was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AberRob
Bertmari, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DaberRob, Thank you for taking your time to write this review. We are thrilled to hear you had such a good overall experience. Hope to see you again.

Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for long weekend with friends. We were in a "double room"  which was very small for 2 people. The room was clean but very basic and overlooked the car park.  The bathroom was also very small and basic and the decor/fittings reminded me of a caravan. The shower was small with just a curtain, but the water was always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerhart L
Bertmari, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gerhart L, Thank you for taking your time to write this review. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. If we get s second chance from you, then you can always ask us to upgrade you to a larger room with a better view.

Stillwater,OK
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here one week in January 2017. Room was clean and of sufficient space. The front desk staff was always pleasant and helpful. A good variety of choices for breakfast. Decor fun and Viking style! My husband was ill for a good portion of our trip--the VERY HELPFUL staff rescheduled tours for us, even helped me find medical care for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
Bertmari, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Amy S, We are thrilled to hear you had such a great experience at the Viking hotel. We look very forward to see you again.

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here in Feb, good location on the front of the town overlooking the harbour, easy to find from the airport, Viking themed hotel with the staff dressed in traditional Viking costume. Bedroom basic and very small but clean and warm, no wardrobe just a clothes rail, hot water did smell of sulphur but did not linger on your skin....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J0hnr55
Bertmari, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this review

Dear J0hnr55, Thank you for taking your time to write this review. Good to know that you liked the location, we are sorry you ddin't find the breakfast,the size of the shower or room to be too great. Unfortunately the sulphur smell coming from the hot weater is unavoidable some places in Iceland. But we are glad to hear you...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

574 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (221)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (79)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (290)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Cabin (46)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (30)
Viewed
Family Room (38)
Viewed
Dining (79)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)
Viewed
Triple Room (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hafnarfjordur
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,018 reviews
Kriunes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kopavogur
266 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 53 in Reykjavik
3,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vellir
#2 of 4 in Hafnarfjordur
118 reviews
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Viking has 56 well furnished and cozy rooms including shower, WC and television. The décor of the rooms on the first floor is Viking style and on the second floor it is a West Nordic theme. When you enter the Hotel, you are greeted with fine art and crafts from these three countries, Iceland, Greenland and the Faroe Islands. We have access to wireless Internet and free parking just outside the hotel. In our geothermal hot tub and sauna you can recuperate and freshen up and relax after a long day of excitement.Our guests are welcomed to our Fjörukráin,the Viking Restaurant, which is open for dinner from 18.00 every day.The style is Viking whereby during these famous feasts there is never a dull moment and the guests can expect various treats and surprises offered by our singing Valkyries and Vikings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Viking Village Hotel

Address: Strandgata 55, Hafnarfjordur 220, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Hafnarfjordur
Price Range: $135 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Viking Village Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Viking Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Viking Village Hotel staff and other travelers.
29 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from Viking Village Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Skip this Hotel”
 of 5 bubbles mfisher1028, 5 days ago | Read review
“Front uostairs”
 of 5 bubbles Sand396, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Eat at the Tuk Tuk restraunt real good value for money.”
 of 5 bubbles Dawnt23, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Great view over looking the harbour, but some minor road noise at rush hour.”
  • Norther Lights From Bedroom Window
 of 5 bubbles AberRob, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for one that looks onto the water--may even be able to see Northern Lights from your room, too!”
 of 5 bubbles amysJ4662UR, 4 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question