We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Akureyri

Save
Share
Hafnarstraeti 67, Akureyri 600 Iceland
Lowest prices for your stay
$96
View Deal
Free cancellation until 01/10/21
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
eDreams
Agoda.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (162)
Room & Suite (79)
Dining (14)

About

#4 of 9 hotels in Akureyri
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Hotel Akureyri is a family run establishment, devoted to hospitality since 1996. Constantly evolving with the expectations and demands of our guests, our goal is to make every guests stay as memorable as possible. Please feel free contacting us if you have any questions or requests.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Horseback riding
Airport transportation
Fax / photocopying
Baggage storage
Street parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Skiing
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Housekeeping
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, German, Icelandic, Polish
292Reviews2Q+A46Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 110
  • 112
  • 47
  • 12
  • 11
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
AdamDalgliesh wrote a review Aug 5
92 contributions42 helpful votes
Booked this without thinking too much on the road, hoping for a nice clean place to stay after a really long drive. Welcomed by building work at reception and a sign saying that due to covid we had to check ourselves in - no prob, but the promised text message and email that was supposed to give our room details didn’t appear, so we had to call for someone to help. Eventually someone did come and assist, and we were given a room on the 3rd floor - there is no lift, enjoy the walk. The corridor was narrow and depressing, reminded me a bit of a secondary school in the 1950s. The room when we walked in was completely unacceptable, and almost funny, if we weren’t so tired and annoyed to have paid for it. It was tiny, and I mean ridiculous - two people could barely fit in it standing up with bags, and there was the smallest saddest sliver of a desk carved into a corner of the room, really awful if you’re here on business I imagine. The toilet was an abomination - the shower was over the toilet, suggesting that if you wanted to use it you’d need to make sure everyone had finished in the toilet for the day. It smelled terrible too, like the drains had gone. There was an assortment of furniture shoehorned into the room that managed to block all plug sockets, so that was useful. The TV was precariously balanced on top of this display, and only worked if you stood in the middle of the room pressing the remote very firmly, and at that only had about two channels. The beds were dirty - black stains from what looked like boots - and were hard as a rock. We don’t often do this but we point blank refused to stay here, and told the owners we’d be leaving and did not expect to be charged.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Thinka wrote a review Jul 2020
10 contributions
+1
Due to Covid-19 you find a paper in the entrance telling you that there is no reception. You should have received a message per Mail or sms - nothing like this happened. Calling the referred number we were told which room number we should find. This is the next challenge as the room numbers are that tiny and misplaced at the upper door frame so you can hardly read them. No elevator. Then you get a very small room where your luggage does not fit. No chair, the light in the bathroom not working and so on. Breakfast is cancelled, after 2 calls where we were promised a voucher , there was a paper bag in the fridge with a packed sandwich - probably from the next petrol station. No sign of friendly, familiar hotel. forget all reviews younhave read here before - this is not true any more!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Don‘t book this!1
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
elizabethvcliff wrote a review Feb 2020
Leeds, United Kingdom19 contributions
We stayed here from the 3rd to 7th February 2020 and had a lovely stay. We were in the microsuite in the newer block of rooms just a few seconds away from the main hotel. The room was clean and tidy with snacks on our arrival. After a long day of travelling this place was perfect. The beds were soooo comfortable, like sleeping on air. The microsuite is smaller than your standard hotel room but from reviews about the shoebox rooms, I'm happy we had the microsuite. There was never a time that I didn't look forward to coming back to the room. The location was just a little further than most hotels but it was still only about 5 minutes walk from the main town. The breakfast was great. A continental breakfast but with a lot to choose from. The yogurt was particularly tasty for me. Fresh fruit and good coffee available. You could even have a waffle if you wanted to. There's also happy hour between 5pm and 8pm where you get 2 for 1 on beers (happy hours are essential in Akureryi! ). The only problem that we had was the WiFi kept dropping out in our building and the shower took a while to heat up. But other than that, it was a great hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Ma H wrote a review Dec 2019
1 contribution
If you’re traveling to Iceland in the winter you will know that the weather can be unpredictable forcing you to change plans. Unfortunately this was the case for us. On December 10th we were stuck in a horrendous ice storm that caused most of the northern part of the country to lose power. All roads in and out of Reykjavík were closed and the whole country was lit up red which was apparently the worst it has been since they developed the colour system. As a result the car company we were renting from strongly advised us against taking the car out and all flights in and around Iceland were cancelled for two days. There was no possible way we could get up to Akureyri so we had to cancel our entire trip up north. All the other hotels we had booked at were understanding as this was such a horrible storm and they worked with us to partially or fully refund our stay. We didn’t have cancellation insurance with these hotels and they were still accommodating. However, staff at hotel Akureyri refused to offer a refund full or partial or even offer any other sort of other option like a voucher for another time in Iceland. We were really looking forward to our trip up north and the experience with this hotel made so much worse. Unfortunately I can’t comment on what it’s like to stay there but if you are travelling from Reykjavík to Akureyri in the winter I would advise against using this hotel as the weather constantly changes during the winter months and this hotel will refuse to accommodate in these extreme situations.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Daníel S, Manager at Hotel Akureyri
Responded Dec 14, 2019
Hi. I am sorry to hear about the weather problems you encountered. Unfortunately your reservation was booked as a “non-refundable” with a online travel agency and therefore it is non refundable. If you book under general terms you can cancel the day before and if you book at our website you can cancel at all times. Please note that if you are not able to check in on the original date, it is no problem to change the check in date. Sorry if that was unclear. Hopefully we’ll get the chance to accommodate you later.
Read more
StephT37 wrote a review Oct 2019
Melbourne, Florida206 contributions26 helpful votes
The hotel is in a great location. They have parking right outside so it's easy to get in and out. It's easy to walk around the area from there, and it's close to restaurants and shops. It's right on the riverfront as well. I can say the best part of this hotel was the location. The hotel itself is nice inside, but the rooms are so small. Our room barely fit two adults and our items. We packed light for our trip and had trouble maneuvering around the room since we had to put our items on the floor as there wasn't enough table space. The bathroom was small, which is fine, but the shower was made in such a way that water spills all over the floor. Our other friends who stayed here had the same issues in their rooms as well. Also, since the rooms are small and Icelanders like to keep their houses/rooms warm, the room was a sauna when we got in there. We opened the one small window, but it was still probably 80 degrees Fahrenheit in there. If you stay here I would suggest you leave what you can in your rental car and only bring in the essentials. There's just not enough space. Also, I booked the hotel on bookng.com and wasn't offered a free breakfast. My friends booked on the hotel's site itself and got free breakfast with their rooms (we paid the same amount). When I checked in they offered to sell me their breakfast for what equated to about $23USD per person. Like I said, the hotel is within walking distance of many shops and cafes, so we just went down the street and got a delicious breakfast there. Much more worth it than the $46 I would have spent at the hotel for me and my husband. If you just need a clean room in a good location and don't have more than a bag or two, this is your place.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$67 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IcelandNortheast RegionAkureyri
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Akureyri
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Akureyri?
Nearby attractions include Arctic Botanical Gardens (Lystigardurinn) (0.2 miles), Akureyrarkirkja (0.09 miles), and Akureyri Botanical Gardens (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Akureyri?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Akureyri?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Akureyri?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Akureyri?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Akureyri?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kaffi Ilmur, Blaa Kannan Cafe, and Rub 23.
Does Hotel Akureyri have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hotel Akureyri offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Akureyri?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Polish, and Icelandic.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Akureyri?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Matthiasarhus (0.1 miles), Laxdal House (Laxdalshus) (0.4 miles), and Sigurhaedir - Memorial house (0.1 miles).
Does Hotel Akureyri have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.