We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa

AMOMA$109*
View Deal
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$142*
$109*
$142*
$141*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

335 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 227: English reviews
Start your review of Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa
 Click to rate
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Well, it is quite ok to stay in this hotel. but not more than "just ok". Everything is quite old and out dated. Bathroom is cleaned every day but very old and not for these days anymore. The staff are very kind and friendly. Breakfast also OK. nothing specifically good or bad. Would I go and stay there? I am...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alireza S
Jennie K, Service Supervisor at Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa, responded to this review

Dear Allreza S, Thank you for your review! I'm glad you enjoyed the friendliness of our staff, it is important to us that our guests feel welcome in our hotel. We are renewing parts of the hotel at the moment, I hope we have opportunity to welcome you back soon. Best regards, Jennie

Gorizia, Italy
Reviewed March 14, 2017 via mobile

Typical hotel, quite well known. In the middle of VAASA, close by to the city center. Rooms are ok and breakfast is good. Some of the rooms are quite old but the hotel changed recently ownership and they are now undergoing some renovations. I hope they will also change some rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lsmagician
Jennie K, Service Supervisor at Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa, responded to this review

Dear Lsmagician, Thank you for your review! I'm glad you enjoyed the breakfast. As you mentioned, we are having some renovations done at the hotel. Hopefully you will have a chance to come see our brand new sauna shortly. Welcome back! Best regards, Jennie

Reviewed February 14, 2017

Nice experience in Vaasa meeting with colleagues from different parts of Europe for International Week at VAMK. The hotel is situated in the city center in walking distance from all attractions. The hotel has a nice restaurant but also surrounded by nice places for an excellent meal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
Jennie K, Service Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa, responded to this review

Dear Michael R, Thank you for your review! I'm glad you had a good stay in Vaasa. Welcome back soon again! Best regards, Jennie

St. Gallen, Switzerland
Reviewed February 7, 2017 via mobile

Nothing to complain. Hotel is a bit older but fullfills all requirements! Fitness, Sauna, Food and a good bed! Two restaurants are in the same building. one of them is more fancy and has great steaks and blinis, the other is more mexican streetfood. from both restaurants you can book the bill to you room number!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roegen
Jennie K, Service Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa, responded to this review

Dear Roegen, Thank you for your review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. The hotel restaurants do offer a variety of good food, from salads to steaks and mexican specialities. Welcome back soon again! Best regards, Jennie

Darwin, Australia
Reviewed February 6, 2017

No much to stay, seems that Sokos basically have a monopoly on the hotel scene in Vaasa. Typical overpriced average quality Sokos hotel. Finland is starting to wake up regarding how bad the S group is for the restaurant industry. I can only hope they do so with the hotel industry soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank za2500
UK
Reviewed February 1, 2017

Stayed there for just one night. The rooms are pretty dated and worn out but overall it was an OK stay. I had a small bathroom with a small shower. The bed was failry comfy with the problem was a door between my room and the neighbours so I could easily hear what they were talking about. This is why...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dream787
Jennie K, Service Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa, responded to this review

Dear Dream787, Thank you for your review! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the breakfast. Our facilities are continously being updated and soon we will have a renewed sauna and pool area on the top floor. Best regards, Jennie

Reviewed January 31, 2017 via mobile

Dirt, old,smell bad,front desk very against customers. I don't know why still open This hotel should be called hostel and the right price should be 15 euro a night . Is unbelievable wrong To be avoided if you want to rest

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gca009
Jennie K, Service Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa, responded to this review

Dear gca009, Thank you for your review! I'm sorry we did not meet your expectations during your stay. Best regards, Jennie

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 25, 2017

I frequently stay over in the Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa and overally I enjoy these visits. The rooms are dated with very old-fashioned designes, a lot of signs of wear and tear, however the bed is comfortable, coffee & tea & hot chocolate is available, wifi is speedy and the whole hotel is clean and cosy. Amazing hot shower....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gyongyver Gwen R
Jennie K, Service Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa, responded to this review

Dear Gyongyver Gwen R, Thank you for your kind review! I'm very happy to hear you enjoy your stays at our hotel. Welcome back soon again! Best regards, Jennie

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed January 19, 2017 via mobile

Been here for 10+ years, probably 50+ times. Same issues as usual: - Laundry bag not collected - New empty laundry bag not provided - the floor in the bathroom laid completely wrong (water runs out of the shower, big time) This time extra surprise: I come back to the room and I find some rubbish on the desk. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Apulia-Food4Love
Jennie K, Service Supervisor at Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa, responded to this review

Dear Apulia-Food4Love, Thank you for your review! I'm sorry we didn't meet your expectations durnig your stay. Laundry bags are picked up upon request, but new laundry bags should always be provided. I'm sorry that we failed in this matter. I hope we will be able to make yor next stay more pleasant! Best regards, Jennie

Reviewed January 16, 2017 via mobile

Food was very good, rooms are clean and organized, the are offering free coffee/tea/hot chocolate/Earl grey tea on daily basis... Heating system was very good... all staff were very polite and helpful Hotel can give free bikes but you have to be careful because they don't have winter tires

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abdelrahman M
Jennie K, Service Supervisor at Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa, responded to this review

Dear Abdelrahman M, Thank you for your kind review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, welsome back soon again! Best regards, Jennie

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

142 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (109)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (11)
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaasa
0.2 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
0.1 mi away
Scandic Vaasa
Scandic Vaasa
#4 of 6 in Vaasa
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astor
Hotel Astor
#3 of 6 in Vaasa
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cumulus Resort Tropiclandia
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Vallonia
BEST WESTERN Hotel Vallonia
#1 of 1 in Mustasaari
48 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tekla
Hotel Tekla
#1 of 1 in Vaasa
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa

Address: Hovioikeudenpuistikko 18, Vaasa 65100, Finland (Formerly Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Vaasa)
Location: Finland > Ostrobothnia > Vaasa
Price Range: $117 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Vaasa
Vaasa Radisson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Another hotel”
za2500, Feb 6, 2017 | Read review
“Can hear neighbours through connecting doors”
Dream787, Feb 1, 2017 | Read review
“I always stay on the 8th floor on the reception side and had the best sleeps there.”
gyongyverr, Jan 25, 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with a balcony is good to enjoy coffee with a view and fresh air.”
aeinosante, Dec 23, 2016 | Read review
“Very simple Rooms and old building and you have better choice in Vaasa.”
vahid1973, Dec 19, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
AMOMA
$109* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com$142
Booking.com$141
Expedia.com$142
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates