We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hotel Katajanokka

Travelers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,336 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 776: English reviews
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great stay, quiet, clean and exciting :) We had a chance to see solitary cell and took some pictures to remember. Good location, close to downtown. Excellent bed and pillows. Good brekfest and friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lazasurf
EerikaRinne, General Manager at Hotel Katajanokka, responded to this review

Hello Greetings from Katajanokka! Great to hear that you had a pleasant and exciting stay with us! Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Katajanokka for your stay in Helsinki. I wish you a lovely Christmas time and look forward to seeing you again in 2017! Kind regards Eerika Rinne General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel is great and makes the most of its history, yet provides fantastic accommodation. Service was great and the breakfast was wonderful, something we looked forward to every morning. Location was perfect with tram line #4 stopping right outside for a 5 minute journey into the centre. Lovely place overall, would love to stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lewis111
EerikaRinne, General Manager at Hotel Katajanokka, responded to this review

Hi Lewis Thank you for your review, it is delightful to hear that you liked our historical building and service provided! I hope your visit to Finland was equally pleasant experience, and I look forward to seeing you again soon in Helsinki! Have a lovely Christmas time and Happy New Year 2017! Kind regards Eerika Rinne General Manager

Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Hotel Katajanokka should be on the must list in Helsinki. It is a very special experience of staying in the prison. As soon as you enter this place you will imediatelly feel the history. Rebuilding an old prison resulted in such a brilliant hotel. You should not be missing it when going to Helsinki. Such a cosy hotel located not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TomasSta
EerikaRinne, General Manager at Hotel Katajanokka, responded to this review

Dear Tomas Thank you very much for your lovely feedback and recommendations! Great to hear that you enjoyed your time at our very unique surroundings. I hope your whole visit to Helsinki was a success, and on behalf of the whole team, I look forward to seeing you back soon again! Kind regards Eerika Rinne General Manager

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at Hotel Katajanokka for one night in December. We received a very warm welcome and because we booked directly with the hotel our room was upgraded. The room was warm, clean, quite large and very comfortable with TV, kettle with tea, coffee and hot chocolate. The bathroom was well equipped and very clean. The hotel is set in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny W
EerikaRinne, General Manager at Hotel Katajanokka, responded to this review

Dear Jenny Many thanks for your valuable feedback. I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable visit at our unique hotel! I will pass on your comments about vegetarian breakfast items to the chef, I am sure we can rearrange the containers immediately. I wish you a lovely Christmas time and hope we will have an opportunity to...

County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is our second stay in this quirky hotel. Excellent standard maintained and its very walk-able to the center of the shopping district but there is number 4 tram which has a stop right outside the entrance to the hotel. The taxi is about EUR50 to/from the airport. Nice big rooms for families and quiet too which is the perk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iraqijaki
EerikaRinne, General Manager at Hotel Katajanokka, responded to this review

Hello! Warm greetings from freezing Katajanokka! I am delighted to hear that you returned to us, and enjoyed your stay this time as well! Thank you so much for your your contunuous loyalty. I wish you a wonderful Christmas time, and hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back again in 2017! Kind regards Eerika Rinne General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First time ever to Finland and what a place to choose. We visits many places during the year and stay in a lot of hotels, this one I will never forget, it's great how they kept to the prison theme and even have two original cells that you can visit in the basement. The staff were friendly and very helpful....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg668
EerikaRinne, General Manager at Hotel Katajanokka, responded to this review

Dear Greg Thank you very much for your feedback. I am touched by your kind words, and will ensure I will share your comments with the team, I know they will appreciate it! I wish you and your family a lovely Christmas time and hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future! Kind regards...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed her for the weekend, it was brilliant. Loved the room which was a good size all round. Bed was so comfortable and having tea/coffee making in room, bonus. Loved looking round and seeing the old prison cells. Hotel has been tastefully modernised but leaving character. A great choice of breakfast, catering for all tastes. Hotel not far from centre...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarionP1969
EerikaRinne, General Manager at Hotel Katajanokka, responded to this review

Dear Marion Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. I am delighted to hear that your stay was a pleasant one. I wish you a lovely Christmas time, and hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future! Kind regards Eerika Rinne General Manager

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I booked this hotel because it used to a prison, which I thought would be a unique experience that you can't get in every city. Unfortunately for me, my room wasn't in the old prison part, but rather in a new building that seems modern (maybe to accommodate special events?) Additionally, there was either a special event happening (or maybe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elisarigby
EerikaRinne, General Manager at Hotel Katajanokka, responded to this review

Dear Elisa I am terribly sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay at Hotel Katajanokka. I believe you have actually stayed in the oldest part of the prison, which was built in 1837, prison's church, which is now used as a meeting and events space is located on 3rd floor of the that building. Those rooms are...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel Katajanokka offers very unique atmosphere since it use to be a prison. Our room was nice and comfy with own Sauna. We found this place very good value for the money. Our room cost 150e and the other rooms cost around 120e. The service was also good + breakfast (which filled my personal standards) included.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emmi L
EerikaRinne, General Manager at Hotel Katajanokka, responded to this review

Hi Emmi Many thanks for your kind review. I am delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us, and also found it an excellent value for money! I wish you a lovely Christmas time, and hope we will have an opportunity welcome you back in the near future! Kind regards Eerika Rinne General Manager

Oxford
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cool place, beautiful building and a fantastic breakfast with everything you could need. Nice staff. Slightly cold in the evening in the room, warmed up by morning tho.Good location a little out of the centre (10 min walk)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronim_lad
EerikaRinne, General Manager at Hotel Katajanokka, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear that your stay went well and you were happy with the service too! I wish you a lovely Christmas time and look forward to seeing you again soon! Kind regards Eerika Rinne General Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,307 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1044)
Viewed
Dining (112)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (334)
Viewed
Bathroom (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (167)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (11)
Viewed
Other (335)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (262)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Junior Suite & Sauna (46)
Viewed
Premier Twin Room (44)
Viewed
Queen Room (34)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)
Viewed
Twin Room (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 64 in Helsinki
1,014 reviews
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 64 in Helsinki
1,093 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#5 of 64 in Helsinki
375 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Hotel Katajanokka

Address: Merikasarminkatu 1a, Helsinki 00160, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Price Range: $85 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Katajanokka 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Katajanokka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Helsinki
Helsinki Best Western
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Helsinki
#4 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel Katajanokka staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Katajanokka staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Make sure you select a room in an old jail cell, otherwise the hotel is just like any other, and is therefore overpriced.”
 of 5 bubbles Aurora95, Oct 23, 2016 | Read review
“I think all the rooms are converted prison cells.”
 of 5 bubbles digger41, Oct 21, 2016 | Read review
“Room 205 with the largest window”
 of 5 bubbles , Oct 17, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the 4th floor give you an idea, what would it have been to stay there as a prisoner.”
 of 5 bubbles katrio2016, Oct 9, 2016 | Read review
“Room 208 was spacious, high ceilings, window onto garden and very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles richrad, Oct 1, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay