We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hellsten Helsinki Senate

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hellsten Helsinki Senate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

318 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 183: English reviews
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We checked in and there were thick hairs all over the floor of the sauna. It hadn't been cleaned at all. We asked for his to be cleaned and it was, straight away. However on looking around, all corners were dirty, we found a crisp packet under the sofa and there was an inch of hair and dust on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank diabllo1
Hellsten_Hotels, Front Office Manager at Hellsten Helsinki Senate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we appreciate it! We are truly sorry to hear that your room was not properly cleaned, it should not happen! Your feedback will be forwarded to the housekeeping supervisor to ensure the issue will be fixed as soon as possible. We always try to do our best to accommodate our guests.... More 

Helsinki, Finland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Ragged and shabby facilities that need renovating. So even if the price is pretty human you rather pay some more for an accurate standard.You get a feeling that there is an absence of an integrating supervision that could make the unity more solid.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank christer_haggqvist
Hellsten_Hotels, Reception at Hellsten Helsinki Senate, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! It is very valuable to us. Thank you for pointing out the demands on the renovation of our facilities. We hope that you have enjoyed your stay with us! More 

Missoula
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you have a week or about, stay at this place. it is a great little apartment with a small grocery store only a block away. It has a small but good kitchen with everything you need and a small balconey.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Walter B
Hellsten_Hotels, Front Office Manager at Hellsten Helsinki Senate, responded to this review

Dear Walter B, Thank you for your feedback! We are really happy to hear that your stay was pleasant. Warmly welcome again! Kind regards, Elina Hellsten Hotel Apartments More 

Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent lovely weekend at Helsinki and staying at Hellsten Senate was pleasant experience. The apartments (we had 2 apartments as travelled with another couple) were spacious and nice. Hotel is very quet and peaceful and within walking distance of the city center. Only the elevator was a bit moody and did not always work, so walking to 5th floor... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janecky99
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Not even mediocre. Positive; good bed and very very spacious room. Poor: Unhospitable receptioniste, dirty floors, dirty kitchenette, mouldy fridge, very dirty sauna.....etc. etc. Situated in a bit remote part of the city (penninsula) Never again!

Helpful?
Thank Marc V
Beaumaris, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2016

The location of the apartments is excellent and it is part of a beautiful art deco neighbourhood. The apartments are large and airy. The apartment we had this time did not feel as spacious as the one we had during our last stay here, and the kitchen was particularly poky. However, it was reasonably well equipped. It would be nice... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maloptera
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
407 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile

So old building near harbour on tram line 4/5 and near tram 2 . It has free sauna you can book in the building and free WiFi . Safe area , 20 mins walk into town , 5 mins harbour . So loved the location . Apartment clean and area safe . Ours was coming up to refurbishment ( which... More 

Helpful?
Thank ptrabant
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2016

Sanna is a wonderful hostess and was able to help with purchasing Helsinki Cards which saves time and more importantly money! She helped us with parking after checkout until it was time to meet our ferry as well. The hotel offers a self serve laundry which is a great help for a family.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sheilaport
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2016

Helsinki isn't a large capital city and this apartment building is within easy walking access to all the major attractions. Its on a tram route 4 or 5 from the station. Its a bit unusual booking in via a telephone though easy enough. We had a great apartment. Large, light and spotless with its own sauna, it was in need... More 

Helpful?
Thank martinf444
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2016

With Hellsten Senate you get the real apartment (living room, bed room, kitchen and even sauna!) for the price of *** hotel. Location is just perfect! Katajanokka is a cosy district right behind beatiful Russian church. You would fell in love with this apart hotel if you are comfortable with some dust on lamps and scratches on the walls. Don't... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 1612_Igor_1612
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

177 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (163)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#24 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 536 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#7 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 1,237 reviews
Vironniemi
Scandic Grand Marina
Scandic Grand Marina
#22 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arthur Hotel
#42 of 64 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 stars 853 reviews
Hotel Rivoli Jardin
#26 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hellsten Helsinki Senate is located in Katajanokka, one of the most exclusive districts in the heart of Helsinki. It is a promontory surrounded by water, just a stone's throw from the city centre and its attractions. Katajanokka is separated from the mainland by a channel, but it is possible to reach the city area by four bridges. Katajanokka is also the place where ferries from Stockholm and Tallin dock. Helsinki-Vantaa airport is just a 30 minute drive away. All of the major amenities, including shops, cafes, restaurants and cinemas are within walking distance from Hellsten Senate. The hotel has 52 designed one and two bedroom apartments each with a kitchenette, telephone, satellite TV and free internet access. Some of the apartments have their own sauna. A common sauna can be used as well as common laundry facilities. This old renovated building from 1915 has self contained rooms and apartments ranging in sizes from 28 to 160 square meters penthouse suite. All apartments are equipped with kitchenettes for cooking your own food. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hellsten Helsinki Senate

Address: Kauppiaankatu 5, Helsinki 00160, Finland (Formerly StayAt Helsinki Senate)
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Price Range: $79 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hellsten Helsinki Senate 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hellsten Helsinki Senate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hellsten Helsinki Senate Hotel Helsinki
Accome Senate Helsinki
Accome Senate Hotel Helsinki
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Helsinki
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay