We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Haven

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (982)
360
Panoramas (17)
Room & Suite (717)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#10 of 67 hotels in Helsinki
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.6
Value
4.2
Travelers' Choice
Hotel Haven is an elegant and stylish boutique hotel by the South Harbour and the Market Square in Helsinki. Hotel Haven’s 137 comfortable and spacious hotel rooms, its versatile meeting facilities, the bar, the three high-class restaurants and a gym provide luxurious experiences for any and all tastes.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Laptop safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Marina View
Harbor View
Languages Spoken
English, Finnish, Swedish

Location

Unioninkatu 17, Helsinki 00130 Finland
Name/address in local language
Hotel Haven
4.5
1,623 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
Nestled in the heart of Helsinki, Hotel Haven is lauded for its exceptional location, making it a perfect base for city exploration. Guests have called out the stylish and spacious rooms, especially those with harbor views, for enhancing their stay. While the hotel's amenities and service generally earn high praise, with a high-quality breakfast often highlighted, some visitors noted room for improvement in room service variety and bathroom upkeep. Despite this, the hotel's elegant atmosphere and attentive staff contribute to its perception as a luxurious retreat offering good value, even if considered pricey by some.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Stylish
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Efficient
Amenities
Well-appointed
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
1623Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,022
  • 457
  • 101
  • 20
  • 23
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Jamie B wrote a review Feb 12
Hawley, Pennsylvania349 contributions89 helpful votes
We stayed here as part of a tour. Excellent location and the staff are very helpful. You can go out the back of the hotel and you are right at the market! The logistics of arrival with the heavy suitcases can be a bit tricky but the staff was right there to help. Thank you! I would like to suggest they look into a similar bathroom set up as their sister hotel instead of the tub to get in and out of. Also better scented bath products, but thank you for having them! Breakfast is good. We enjoyed our stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Haven Reception, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Haven
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Jamie, Thank you very much for staying at Hotel Haven and for reviewing us here on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to see you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for the constructive feedback, we are always looking for ways to improve our products and services. We also offer rooms with walk-in showers in all room categories. These can be requested prior to arrival to ensure availability. We wish to welcome you back as our guest in the future. I would also like to wish you a lovely upcoming spring! Warm regards, Matleena Hautala Duty Manager Hotel Haven
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
MikeBirdman wrote a review May 2023
Acton, Massachusetts1032 contributions463 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Perfectly positioned near the water, senate square and downtown. Easy to walk to the places i wanted to visit in Helsinki. A medium sized boutique hotel. My room was well equipped with lots of outlets and good Wi-Fi. It was on a corner and somewhat dark. The bathroom was fine, did have to jiggle the toilet to stop it running and the shower in the bath was ok if not great. One day had the breakfast buffet in the elegant room at the back which was lovely. The cups in the room were very small so got a larger one from the breakfast room for coffee and tea in my room. The front desk staff were efficient.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Haven, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Haven
Responded May 9, 2023
Dear Mike, A warm thank you for the lovely review, and of course for having chosen us for your stay in Helsinki. We are thrilled to notice that your stay with us was pleasant. I have put a note to our maintenance to have a look at the toilet constantly running, I am sorry that this was not fixed prior to your stay. We do have some rooms that has a shower separate from the bath and rooms with a shower only. If you rather prefer a shower only and not a bathtub, please let us know for your next visit I am glad you managed to get some bigger coffee cups from our breakfast team. We truly hope that we would have the pleasure of welcoming you back here as our guest. Have a lovely spring time! Best regards, John Wasserfall Night Manager Hotel Haven
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
avatar-image
William W wrote a review Jan 2024
Frome, United Kingdom67 contributions21 helpful votes
Perfectly located and perfectly presented.I loved my stay and would recommend this hotel to everyone.My room was immaculate, the service was great, the bed was comfy, everything was perfect. Thanks to all the staff for making my stay absolutely perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Haven Reception, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Haven
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear William, Thank you for taking the time to review us also here on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read that you truly enjoyed your stay with us. We are already looking forward to welcoming you back as our guest in Hotel Haven! Best regards, Matleena Hautala Receptionist info@hotelhaven.fi
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Vijay Kumar Singh wrote a review Jan 2024
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India16 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel Haeven is just like that name Haeven , where everything is exceptionally Perfect , incredible experience during check in , very grateful To Ms. Matheena , what a Gentle, nice hotel staff she is , very kind and great dedication towards work and helping guest , she allows me check in super early without any extra fees , I was tired after flight and travel , I wasn’t she will allow me that much early I just asked her and I asked her few more help without any extra effort everything was done superb smooth Haeven staying experience at hotel Haeven … My Request to top management of Hotel and owner of Hotel Always keep your these kind of employees with you , Don’t let them go in future they are big assets of your hotels , few other Receiption staff was also superb and well behaved, Excellent, Superb , incredible, outstanding, fantastic, Haeven staying experience.. Thank you once Again Ms. Matheena.. Regards Vijay Kumar Singh
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Everything was excellent and outstanding my time thanks to Ms. Matheena.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Haven Reception, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Haven
Responded Jan 14, 2024
Dear Vijay Kumar Singh, Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Haven for your stay in Helsinki and taking the time to write us such a lovely review here on Tripadvisor. Your words are truly heartwarming and I am so glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. It was great to have you here as our guest and I am delighted to see that I was personally able to have such a positive impact on your stay. It is always special and of course motivating to receive such kind and fantastic feedback. I will gladly also share this with the rest of the team. I wish that we can welcome you back again some time in the future. Meanwhile, should you have any questions I am happy to help you. I would also like to wish you a lovely winter time! Best regards, Matleena Hautala Receptionist Hotel Haven
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ErinS wrote a review Jan 2024
Maplewood, New Jersey34 contributions37 helpful votes
My first stay at Hotel Haven was in Sept 2021 and in that TripAdvisor review, I said I thought I found my new favorite hotel in Helsinki. Now I'm on stay # 4 (or 5) and I still enjoy this hotel! The rooms are great, the breakfast is good (especially the Hotel Haven cake that is always present!). And you can't beat the location near Senate and Market Squares.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Haven Reception, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Haven
Responded Jan 10, 2024
Dear ErinS, Thank you so much for your frequent stays here with us, and especially for writing these lovely words here for us! I truly hope we get to welcome you back once again, and meanwhile I wish you a lovely winter time! Warm regards, Heidi Tarilo Front Office Manager Hotel Haven
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Shanna H wrote a review Dec 2023
Dubai, United Arab Emirates20 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel Haven is a centrally located hotel in Helsinki. It has a nice bar and wonderful dining options. The staff was very helpful, especially on helping us get the tram back to the ferry terminal to go to Tallinn.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heidi Tarilo, Other at Hotel Haven
Responded Jan 2, 2024
Dear Shanna, Thank you very much for staying with us and for rating us here. We are delighted to see you have been happy with your stay and the staff has been so helpful, that warms my heart truly. Hopefully we get to welcome you back soon! Wishing you a lovely winter time, Heidi Tarilo Front Office Manager Hotel Haven
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
790juhas wrote a review Dec 2023
2 contributions
I had to cancel my reservation to Hotel Haven (Helsinki) on Booking.com on 23.11.2023 on 7.12.2023, but shockingly, I received no refund. Frustrated, I called the hotel reception on 19.12.2023 around 3:00 PM, only to be met with outrageously rude and disrespectful treatment. The receptionist arrogantly insisted that I had booked a non-refundable room, even though, when using Booking.com, I consistently chose rooms with a free cancellation option due to the unpredictable nature of my plans. Their unwillingness to believe me was not only infuriating but reached new heights of absurdity as they adamantly claimed that the issue lay with Booking.com. However, armed with the undeniable proof of my reservation confirmations, I confronted their baseless accusations. This experience revealed an astonishingly unprofessional level of customer service from a hotel that boasts about its supposed quality and excellence.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Missjetlagged wrote a review Dec 2023
Oslo, Norway213 contributions199 helpful votes
The good stuff: *Central location *nice bar *super friendly bar guy *nice size of rooms *comfy beds *nice bed linen The bad stuff: *not so charming front desk staff *restaurant/room service unavailable daytime *bar closed off one evening for private event *leaking iron *very long wait for breakfast. Very! *not very good breakfast (terrible cappuccino) *sloppy housekeeping (cleaning) *no turndown service No urgent need to revisit before I try out some of the other Helsinki hotels in same price range.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Haven Reception, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Haven
Responded Dec 22, 2023
Dear Missjetlagged, A warm thank you for choosing Hotel Haven as your home while visiting Helsinki and for sharing your experience with us. I am happy to see you have found great things about you stay here with us at Haven. However, I am terribly sorry to hear that there is also a rather long list of negatives. These attributes are by no means things we normally hear about us. We will surely address these points in our next operational meeting. We truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back here as our guest. Meanwhile, I wish you the most wonderful winter time and Christmas! Warm regards, Heidi Tarilo Front Office Manager Hotel Haven
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
lovingcities wrote a review Dec 2023
Los Angeles, California21 contributions26 helpful votes
The staff at Hotel Haven are friendly and extremely helpful. We checked in late and the kitchen was closing in 10 minutes, rather than telling us to look for other options, the manager brought out the menu and told us we still had 10 minutes to order. One of the BEST fish and chips I've had!!. My only complaint is the level of cleanliness, our room was made up every day, however I wouldn't go so far as to say it was cleaned. We had left our tea cups on stand by the light, and came back later in the evening to find it was still there, not moved. A piece of wrapping paper that I forgot to throw out, was still on the floor. Other than that, our stay was nice. Location is great! 10 minute walk to Senate Square, the marina is just behind, as is the market.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Haven Reception, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Haven
Responded Dec 21, 2023
Dear lovingcities, Thank you for your stay at Hotel Haven, and your wonderful review. I am thrilled to see and hear your stay with us positive and you have enjoyed your time. It warms my heart to know our staff was able to meet your expectation and our restaurant was to your taste, especially the fish and chips! Positive feedback is always encouraging, and we will surely share this with the team. I will go through the feedback regarding the cleanliness with the housekeeping team. This is by no means normal to us as we usually get a lot of praise regarding this, so we will see what has happened this time. Thank you once again for sharing your experience with us. I wish you a wonderful day and we look forward to seeing you again at Hotel Haven - you are warmly welcome back! Warm regards, Heidi Tarilo Front Office Manager Hotel Haven
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Paul D wrote a review Nov 2023
Torquay, United Kingdom201 contributions78 helpful votes
Perfect location for restaurants, the market hall and shops. Our room was a good size and a lovely view over the harbour. Breakfast is in the history part of the hotel and it is outstanding, with Finnish dishes as well as international favourites.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: There are a number of steps to arrive at the breakfast room in the historical building, I am not...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Haven Reception, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Haven
Responded Nov 5, 2023
Dear 321PaulD, Thank you very much for staying with us and for rating us here. We are delighted to see you have been happy with your stay and enjoyed the room and location. Hopefully we will see you soon again. Have a lovely beginning of the autumn! Warm regards, Heidi Tarilo Front Office Manager Hotel Haven
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Helsinki area.
PRICE RANGE
$177 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
haven hotel helsinki
LOCATION
FinlandUusimaaHelsinki
NUMBER OF ROOMS
137
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL HAVEN $184 ($̶2̶3̶4̶) - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews - Helsinki, Finland

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Haven
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Haven?
Nearby attractions include The National Library of Finland (0.3 miles), Old Market Hall (0.04 miles), and Senate Square (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Haven?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Haven?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Haven?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Haven?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Haven?
Conveniently located restaurants include Spis, Finlandia Caviar, and Olo Ravintola.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Haven?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is Hotel Haven located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Helsinki.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Haven?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Haven?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Haven offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.