We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Scandic Kajanus

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Scandic Kajanus
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

147 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 63: English reviews
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed October 15, 2016

I had to stay here in September 2016. There were not many available room in the city, so I picked this Scandic. The reception was a friendly one and checking in was an easy process. The room was a surprise: It was like making a time-travel to 1980's: The furniture was from the old days and I am afraid that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traveller007Finland
ScaKaj, Manager at Scandic Kajanus, responded to this review

Dear Traveller007Finland, Many thanks for your visit at Scandic Kajanus and also about the review. I am sorry to hear that our older rooms did not meet with your expectations. Did you know that we also have renovated rooms? Our renovated rooms have been facelifted from the 1980s to the 2010s. I hope that you will give us an another...

Reviewed August 30, 2016

I've been traveling in Scandinavia now for whole summer due to business and stayed in numerous Scandic hotels (Lappenrantta, Helsinki, Kuopio, Tampere, Oslo, Bromma, Oulu...). So far Scandic Kajanus is the poorest Scandic hotel i've visited. Standard room is ok, but hotel in general is old (hallways dirty and worn out). Food in restaurant is not as good as in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ainar h
Timo K, Manager at Scandic Kajanus, responded to this review

Dear Ainar h, I would like to thank you for visiting us and also the valuable feedback which you have given us. It is sad to hear that we have not been able to reach the quality standards of yours. You have pointed out many important improvement possibilities for us and now it is our job to take them on...

Paltamo, Finland
Reviewed August 4, 2016

As a previous visitor to Scandic Kajanus with my partner we were delighted to experience the same high professional standards as on our earlier visits. We would highly recommend Scandic to anyone looking for a great place to stay while visiting Finland.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank B2153SYdavidt
Timo K, Manager at Scandic Kajanus, responded to this review

Dear B2153SYdavidt, Thank you for visiting us and sharing this wonderful 5 star review! We are so happy to hear that you have had a great time with us! I will forward your regards to our entire team. Hope to see you soon! Kind regards, Lari / Front Office Shift Leader

Kiiminki, Finland
Reviewed July 20, 2016

We visited in Scandic Kajanus with my girlfriend while I was getting back from the business trip. We had nice big room (superior extra) with view to the city. The room was very basic but there was personal sauna in the bathroom which was a very good thing to have :) The conside of the sauna was that there wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nezratul
Timo K, Front Office Manager at Scandic Kajanus, responded to this review

Hi Nezratul, It is nice to hear you that you enjoyed to stay us. Welcome back. best regards Timo Karppinen FOM

Velsk, Russia
Reviewed July 11, 2016

Scandic Kajanus is the great place to stay for a weekend. I've stayed there a lot of times with my family and every stay was great. In this hotel you will find all things you need to enjoy your time with your neatest and dearest. The rooms for families are equipped with two bath rooms, sauna also can be a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank igoru961
ScaKaj, Manager at Scandic Kajanus, responded to this review

Dear igoru961, Thank you for your visit’s at Scandic Kajanus and the magnificent five star review as well. Utterly wonderful to hear that you have spent great family time with us! Our family rooms have collected the praise because of the space and the two bath rooms. Also the Kaukavesi Spa has been liked among the customers. It is my...

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed June 27, 2016

We visited this hotel with dog and got pretty nice old room with sauna. Sauna was small but brought needed warm to cold room. Decoration was simple and worn. There was plenty of parking places. If you have to stay in Kajaani, this is reasonable and safe choice for bed and breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pekka M
Timo K, Manager at Scandic Kajanus, responded to this review

Dear Pekka M, Thank you for visiting us and writing this review. I am delighted to hear that you found our surrounding areas and also the rooms with sauna as a practical. Hope to see you again soon! Sincerely Yours, Lari / Front Office Shift Leader

Eastern Finland, Finland
Reviewed April 18, 2016

I've been statying in this hotel a couple of times during my businesstrips to Kajaani. I*ve also stayed in this hotel with my family over twenty years ago for one christmas. At that time this hotel was an excellent one, but time has passed and now it is a bit sad memory of its glory. Anyhow if you just want...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ulla S
St. Petersburg, Russia
Reviewed April 14, 2016

Very clean and comfortable room, had good rest at night. The personal was very friendly. Check-in and check-out took only a pair of minutes. Tasty breakfast with rich choice. Parking area had a lot of free places. Definitely good value for payed money

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 481alexandery
Paltamo, Finland
Reviewed February 29, 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank B2153SYdavidt
Timo K, Front Office Manager at Scandic Kajanus, responded to this review

Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed February 28, 2016

The Staff is kind and helpful. The hot water was hardly warm and it was not too pleasant to have a shower after getting cold outside, apart of it everything was very good. The room was clean and quiet. It is located at a central place. Good to stay at.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Etelka D
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kajaani
15.8 mi away
Holiday Club Katinkulta
Holiday Club Katinkulta
#1 of 3 in Vuokatti
126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Valjus
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kajaani
Hotel Kajaani
#3 of 3 in Kajaani
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Break Sokos Hotel Vuokatti
17.5 mi away
Vuokatti Sport Hotel
Vuokatti Sport Hotel
#3 of 3 in Vuokatti
9 reviews
0.5 mi away
Karolineburg Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Conference Facilities
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Scandic Kajanus

Address: Koskikatu 3, Kajaani 87200, Finland
Location: Finland > Kainuu > Kajaani
Price Range: $86 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Kajanus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Scandic Kajanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Scandic Kajanus staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Get a room wich is not facing towards the main road.”
 of 5 bubbles 84joachims, Sep 12, 2015 | Read review
“The hotel is located in a quiet area so I didn't have any disturbance at all.”
 of 5 bubbles 917susanl, May 27, 2015 | Read review
“Choose other hotel”
 of 5 bubbles JoonasKoko, Mar 2, 2015 | Read review
“AS for most parts, take a room facing backside to avoid traffic noices from main road.”
 of 5 bubbles pevast, Oct 6, 2014 | Read review
“Unfortunately no direct view to the river. I guess room with the outside view is more expensive. The basic price had the view to the inner court yard.”
 of 5 bubbles HarriRaut, Sep 11, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay