We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Valtakatu 18, Rovaniemi 96200 Finland
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Only 3 left at
$720
Booking.com
$605
Hotels.com
Travelocity$720
Priceline
Official Hotel$701
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (850)
Room & Suite (251)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 13 hotels in Rovaniemi
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.7
Value
4.4
Travelers' Choice

See why so many travelers make Arctic Light Hotel their hotel of choice when visiting Rovaniemi. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a luxury setting with an array of amenities designed for travelers like you.

Arctic Light Hotel offers guests an array of room amenities including a flat screen TV, a minibar, and air conditioning, and getting online is possible, as free wifi is available.

The hotel offers a concierge and room service, to make your visit even more pleasant. The property also features a fitness center and free breakfast. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking.

Nearby landmarks such as Lumberjack's Candle Bridge (0.1 mi) and Marttiinin Wanha Tehdas (0.4 mi) make Arctic Light Hotel a great place to stay when visiting Rovaniemi.

Travelers looking to enjoy some shrimp can head to Cafe & Bar 21. Otherwise, you may want to check out an Italian restaurant such as Kotipizza, Rosso Rovaniemi, or Martina.

Plus, during your trip, don't forget to check out an art museum, such as Korundi House of Culture.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Arctic Light Hotel as you experience all of the things Rovaniemi has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Car hire
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Finnish
768Reviews31Q+A70Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 577
  • 147
  • 31
  • 8
  • 6
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
David Hallett wrote a review Jan 2023
Adelaide, Australia1066 contributions553 helpful votes
This modern hotel is an outstanding choice if visiting Rovaniemi. Located in the centre of the town and walking distance to the river(frozen in winter),shops and restaurants. Decor is stunning.Bedrooms are beautiful! Even a "Polar bear in the bathroom" ! Breakfast excellent...lots of choices. Staff are 1st class. Definite recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maria Gröhn, Guest Services / Front Office at Arctic Light Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi DavidGHallett, Thank you for your kind words. We are truly delighted to hear about your recent stay with us. We're happy that you especially liked the decor (such as our Polar bear bathrooms!) and that you enjoyed our breakfast as well. I'll definitely forward your kind review to our team as well. We wish we get to welcome you back as our guest again soon! Kindly, Maria Guest relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elina P wrote a review Aug 2022
27 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Hotel's Favorite
We stayed three nights in a lovely family room on the fouth floor of the Arctic Light Hotel right in the center of the city. The service was really friendly both at the reception and in the restaurant where we had an excellent Rasberry Menu. The breakfast is excellent, too. Warm recommendation❤️
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maria Gröhn, Guest Services / Front Office at Arctic Light Hotel
Responded Aug 29, 2022
Dear Elina P, Thank you for your kind review. We're happy to hear that you had a lovely visit and that you also got the chance to try this months Raspberry Menu! Hope we get to see you again and have lovely rest of August! Kindest regards, Maria Guest relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dayna wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
My husband spending his 26th night in hospital tonight. 12 days ago when my family left I thought I would stay at a boutique hotel like Arctic light hotel rather than an Airbnb, because I said to Michael at least I will have people to talk to and I won’t get lonely, Well that didn’t happen. When I booked the Arctic light hotel I explained my situation and told them the story. I was crying. We have stayed at many beautiful hotels and I have never experienced such a cold and lonely one. They see me getting cabs left, right and centre and I even went in crying again when I lost my wallet and asked them to call the cab company. It’s a tiny hotel and I walk past reception 5 times per day I am on my 12th night here alone and not once have they called me by my name, asked me how I am doing, asked how Michael is, asked if I found my wallet or barely even acknowledged me. They all speak English. They all know I am here by myself, knowing no one. A week ago I started taking breakfast in for him as he got his appetite back. I am in a suite paying for 2 people to have Brekky. I asked them for 2 x little takeaway containers to take some food and after asking me what I wanted them for, I burst out crying explaining blah blah they told me they were running out of containers and that they could only spare one I lost it. Then at night I asked if I could order 2 x burgers off the room service menu to save me traipsing around in the snow again, to take to the hospital as takeaway, and they told me they couldn’t do that. I emailed them days ago and No response. Made my time here extra miserable
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Miko Gröhn, General Manager at Arctic Light Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Dayna, I am truly sorry about your husband’s situation and I am sorry that your family must deal with this kind scenario that you are stuck in foreign country with medical emergency. I can understand and sympathize that this situation must be extremely stressful to you, but I think it is unfair to direct your stress towards our staff even when they have been nothing but polite, professional, and helpful to you. For example, our staff have greeted you every time they see you however, we do not use first names unless you as a guest request us to address with first name. We are also discreet about our guests, and we do not spread around personal information around the staff especially about health. Front desk has indeed known the purpose of your stay, but they have not wanted to intrude about your husband’s medical condition. I cannot blame them for this. Our role is to provide customer service not to intrude about personal or health questions unless initiated by guest. Also, if you would have cried or stopped to talk about your husband or cried, I am 100% sure my staff would have helped and talked with you as they are human beings too. Our staff have also helped you whenever you requested. For example, regarding your wallet they used hours to call around Rovaniemi to find your wallet, so you were not ignored or left without any answer. You also did receive all the takeaway boxes you requested. Breakfast staff almost run out of them on one morning which is why they said these are the only ones left. This shouldn’t have happened of course but they did send maintenance team to purchase more boxes from supermarket so they would have them for you on next day as well. I also do not understand why you felt the need to be dishonest about the response or your interactions with us. I did receive your email and social media team did receive as well as immediately answered your Instagram message, but you very clearly stated in your message that you do not want to be responded to which I respected. I do not understand why you specifically requested us to not respond while expecting to be responded. Despite this after your email I did personally come and try to talk with you, but you rudely refused to discuss with me or other staff members. Nevertheless, I wish all the well for your husband as well as your family and I hope all your lives get back to normal as soon as possible and your husband will have speedy and full recovery. With kind regards, Miko Gröhn General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
massoudsaghafi wrote a review Jan 2023
Bocas del Toro Province, Panama35 contributions28 helpful votes
Good location in Rovaniemi BUT book the larger rooms for a bit higher prices, avoid hotel’s basic tiny accommodations at any cost. Great restaurant for dinner and for an excellent breakfast. Ignore the front desk attitude and enjoy staying at such an unusual topography where 30 degrees below zero sounds okay! You can reserve the hotel’s sauna for 30-minutes privately and there are so many chairs, benches and couches everywhere in the property that you will never get tired. Hotel is definitely not 5-star nor inexpensive but is a good family-oriented place to stay hoping for the Northern Lights to shine.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maria Gröhn, Guest Services / Front Office at Arctic Light Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi massoudsaghafi, Thank you for your review. Firstly, I'm sorry to hear to hear that some things, such as the room sizing or our service wasn't as expected. We'd love to hear more of what happened so we can take a better look at it. Please don't hesitate to contact us. However, we're still glad to hear that otherwise you enjoyed your visit and that you especially liked our lovely breakfast. Hopefully we hear from you soon and we warmly wish you back at Arctic Light Hotel. Kindly, Maria Guest relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JCDL5 wrote a review Jan 2023
New York City, New York124 contributions94 helpful votes
Spacious and well appointed rooms. Our daughter loved the little stuffed polar bear and the sleds available thru the hotel. Top notch breakfast buffet, beautiful decor and excellent customer service. Terrifically located too!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maria Gröhn, Guest Services / Front Office at Arctic Light Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi JCDL5 Thank you for your review. Happy to hear that you had a lovely stay with us here with your daughter and she was able to enjoy our complimentary sleds and take a ride too! Hopefully we get to see you both again at Arctic Light hotel. Kindly, Maria Guest relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
wombatworrier wrote a review Jan 2023
35 contributions46 helpful votes
Great location, brilliant staff, and a very comfortable room all made for a fantastic stay. The breakfast and the restaurant were both very good. A bit pricey but worth it. Staff super friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maria Gröhn, Guest Services / Front Office at Arctic Light Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi wombatworrier, Thank you for taking your time to write us. We're so happy to hear that you had truly a fantastic stay with us here and we're especially glad that our team was able to make it even extra special. Hopefully we get to welcome you back soon! Kindly, Maria Guest relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shervin Ziabakhsh wrote a review Jan 2023
Sari, Iran359 contributions67 helpful votes
A very nice hotel specially located in best part of city center of Rovaniemi,excellent breakfast,restaurant,rooms and the receptionists ,during nights with less than -10 to -20 centigrade temperature of the wether ,the room temperature was pleasant.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Book the rooms with window to the city ,those rooms said as Aurora loft don't have window and may...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maria Gröhn, Guest Services / Front Office at Arctic Light Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi shervin_zia, Thank you for your kind words. We're delighted to hear that you had wonderful visit with us! Hopefully we get to welcome you back here soon! Kindly, Maria Guest relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DarrenNI wrote a review Jan 2023
Lisburn, United Kingdom1118 contributions16 helpful votes
We stayed in the Arctic Light Hotel for a couple of nights during a quick trip to Rovaniemi, and were very impressed. Our room was beautiful, and spotlessly clean, with the sauna in the bathroom being a nice bonus. And breakfast was excellent. All the staff were excellent, particularly those on Reception, who were extremely friendly, helpful and efficient. Anything we asked for got answered or done very quickly. The hotel is extremely well-located for anything you'd need to see in the centre of Rovaniemi. The only *slight* issue I had is that I asked at the bar for a glass of milk for my son before his bedtime and was charged 2 Euros 50 cents for it. For a glass of milk????????
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maria Gröhn, Guest Services / Front Office at Arctic Light Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi DarrenNI Thank you for taking your time to review us. We're so glad to hear about your recent experience with us and we're happy that everything was as expected. I'll definitely forward your kind words about our team to them as well. I'll also forward your feedback about the price for the glass of milk to our restaurant manager so we can have a look at this. Thank you for the feedback, we greatly appreciate it! Hopefully we get to meet you again soon at Arctic Light! Kindly, Maria Guest relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jad A wrote a review Dec 2022
Miami, Florida14 contributions1 helpful vote
Amazing staff , Karl and Maria took really good care of us to make sure we got a table for The restaurant , and that our Checkin/checkout was fast . Karl also scheduled a cab for us promptly ! Will be back ! Amazing hotel Close to everything . Go with safartica for all your tours needs . This company is amazing .
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Call hotel and pre-schedule your airport pickup . Can be very busy .
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maria Gröhn, Guest Services / Front Office at Arctic Light Hotel
Responded Dec 29, 2022
Hi jada2014, Thank you for your kind review. We're so delighted to hear that you had such wonderful time with us and that our staff was able to make it even more special. I'll definitely forward your kind words to our team as well. We hope to see you again soon and we wish you Happy New Year! Kindly, Maria Guest relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Watson N wrote a review Dec 2022
Sunderland, United Kingdom12 contributions11 helpful votes
Fantastic hotel in the centre of Rovaniemi. The stand out for us was the friendly and attentive staff - each and every one of them. This is really unusual these days and it certainly made our stay extra special. A stand out was Max on reception - he was fantastic, great customer service skills, knowledgable and nothing was a problem - he is an absolute star and credit to the hotel. Food was lovely both the breakfast and dinner in the restaurant as was the cocktails at the bar. Highly recommended - you will not be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maria Gröhn, Guest Services / Front Office at Arctic Light Hotel
Responded Dec 27, 2022
Hello WatsonN We’re happy to hear about your recent experience with us and we’re so pleased that you highly recommend us! I'll definitely forward your kind words to our team too. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kindly, Maria Guest relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$180 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FinlandLaplandRovaniemi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
54
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ARCTIC LIGHT HOTEL - Updated 2023 Prices & Reviews (Rovaniemi, Finland - Lapland)

Frequently Asked Questions about Arctic Light Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Arctic Light Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Lumberjack's Candle Bridge (0.1 miles), Angry Birds Park (0.2 miles), and Lordi's Square (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Arctic Light Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Arctic Light Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Arctic Light Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Arctic Light Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Arctic Light Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ravintola Roka -Street Bistro, Cafe & Bar 21, and Yuca.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Arctic Light Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center and a sauna during their stay.
Is Arctic Light Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Rovaniemi.
Are any cleaning services offered at Arctic Light Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Arctic Light Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Finnish.
Is Arctic Light Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.