We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scandic Pohjanhovi

Traveler (348)
Room & Suite (173)
Pool & Beach (23)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Versatile hotel with restaurant serving Lapland cuisine, set in centre of town by the River Kemijoki; 8 km to the Arctic Circle.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Banquet Room
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Sauna
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Quiet
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
98Great for walkers
Grade: 98 out of 100
48Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
15Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
512Reviews
448Photos
13Q+A
70Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 79
  • 201
  • 154
  • 50
  • 28
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
e drove to this hotel from Levi in Lapland. Was happy to hear they gave us free parking. Hotel rooms were of good size however we didn’t get a room with a double bed instead two single bed‘s. Double bed rooms seem to be limited. The room overlooked the beautiful river which
Read more
Response from Hotelli-Pohjanhovi, Receptionist at Scandic Pohjanhovi
Responded 4 days ago
Hello gailwoods2017, Thank you for this review and for the time it took you to write it. I am happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay even if there was a mistake at your bedding request and that you had to be separated from your children. It is nice that you have fully enjoyed the fantastic river view and the little shop we have at our lobby. Hopefully you and your family will visit us again! Regards Noora
Read more
We stayed here as a party of 8 everything from the hotel, rooms breakfast and the staff were excellent. The on,y complaint I would have was there is no tea and coffee in the rooms. Maybe that’s a british thing. Our rooms were all together and had beautiful views over the river
Read more
Response from Hotelli-Pohjanhovi, Receptionist at Scandic Pohjanhovi
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello Jane S, Thank you for your lovely review. It is very nice to read that you have had a wonderfull stay with us. I fully understand the tea problem that you had, it is not just a british thing! Unfortunately at Scandic Hotels we don't have kettles, coffee and tea in our standard rooms. I hope to see all of you again soon at Scandic Pohjanhovi! All the best to you and your friends. Regards Noora Receptionist
Read more
Stayed for 3 nights mid-January during a particularly cold spell. It was minus 27 degrees outside, but the hotel remained toasty warm throughout all public areas. In fact it was so warm in our room that we had to open the window/grill device. Not sure how it does it, but it just
Read more
Response from Hotelli-Pohjanhovi, Shift Leader at Scandic Pohjanhovi
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Ross M, Thank you for taking time to write us a review and to share your thoughts about our hotel. It is so nice to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us and that everything has went perfect. You are right about the swimming pool, the purpose is to enjoy the hot sauna first and after that dip into the refreshing water. Sometimes people are so eager to go to the pool that they skip the Sauna. And the tap water is perfectly drinkable, don't worry about that. I hope you all the best for the future and hopefully we can welcome you again to our hotel in the future! Best regards, Hannamaari
Read more
Actually in this small city there is no big competition, very limited choices specially in high season. The rooms are warm, clean and well isolated but the bathroom is very old fashion with bad smell. Also there is no safe box in the rooms. They have two separated buildings
Read more
Response from Hotelli-Pohjanhovi, Shift Leader at Scandic Pohjanhovi
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear mehdisabeti, Thank you for taking time to write us a review. I'm happy to hear you have experienced your room clean and warm. It is true that our hotel is not the newest or fanciest one. We are expecting a renovation within couple of years, unfortunately not this year though. We do have safety boxes in the reception, you can have key to this free of charge. I hope you had an enjoyable time in Rovaniemi and that we have change to welcome you again in the near future! Best regards, Hannamaari
Read more
This is definitely not a 4 star hotel - closer to 2 star. Also, do not let the staff try and convince you to change rooms. We booked a family room (as it was only slightly more expensive than a double room). We thought we'd fold up the sofa bed so we have more space. The
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play Areas
Photo provided by managementScandic Pohjanhovi
Guest room
Photo provided by managementScandic Pohjanhovi
Suite
play room
PreviousNext
12345635
There is a designated smoking area outide the hotel
1 vote
Show all answers
Correct, but the Hotel do know where you can rent those.
1 vote
Show all answers
This Is a very nice hotel by the river. Shopping and restaurants are walking distance. Santa village is about 8 km. away. Bus services are walking distance. Lapland travels is located in the same hotel and can make all arrangements however they are expensive. Suggest you hire a self drive car. The airport is about 6 km from he hotel on the same route to Santa village.
2 votes
Show all answers
Hello JDB44R, Thank you for your question. We accept also all the common credit cards so you can choose either way to pay. Best Regards, Rosa Hotel Manager
1 vote
PreviousNext
123
"Ask for a room with a river view (then leave the curtains open all night in case the aurora appears!)"
"We were on the 4th floor with a view of the river and did not have any noise issues."
"Ask for River view"
"We had room 405 which had an amazing river view"
"Go for a river view room. Rooms in the main building have a lot of wear and tear."
PreviousNext
12345614
PRICE RANGE
$104 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rantasipi pohjanhovi rovaniemirantasipi pohjanhovi hotel rovaniemi
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Rantasipi Pohjanhovi
LOCATION
FinlandLaplandRovaniemi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
212
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing