We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Valtakatu 21, Rovaniemi 96200 Finland
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
$74
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/02/22
Orbitz.com
Priceline
Hotels.com$74
eDreams$76
View all 11 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (104)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (30)

About

#1 of 81 in Rovaniemi
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.5
Value
4.7
Here in Hostel Koti we have 23 rooms, 3 dormitories and one private apartment, all furnished in Scandinavian style. In total, we have 84 beds for our guests. We serve breakfast every morning and it’s included in the price for private rooms. There is also a kitchen, comfortable lounge area, Wi-Fi and daily sauna, all free of charge for guests to use. At the Café, we want people to take a break from the Arctic city buzz and have a cup of coffee in relaxed atmosphere. There are 80 seats and we serve good coffee, soft drinks, pastries and food. A healthy lunch is also available daily during the week. The Café is a great melting pot for locals and travelers alike!
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Board games / puzzles
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking garage
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Finnish
145Reviews11Q+A6Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 109
  • 27
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Neuchâtel, Switzerland670 contributions2009 helpful votes
A great hostel experience! Breakfast was good, rooms were enough and clean,, staff was friendly. It is well located in rovaniemi! Definitely recommend to stay there when you arrive. We spent two nights before moving ahead to our next destination
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Santafe wrote a review Jan 2022
228 contributions60 helpful votes
Hostel cafe is right in the middle of happening places...hotels,night clubs nearby,bars,restaurants,supermarkest,the shopping center,you name it..and bus stops are a stone's throw away! We stayed 2nights..so as to do all we needed to do in Rovaniemi. The rooms are clean(ok,if you ignore the hair we found in the bed,but was quickly sorted...it could have been hair from the housekeeping team 💁‍♀️).The linen is white,i mean,pure white-that moved me,especially being a small place. Its cozy...warm...and everybody was minding their business,staff and guests!! The breakfast is continental,but enough,bread is fresh and warm too! We had a drink in the cafe after a looong walk and i loooved the Irish coffee...was quite good(though i prefer it really hot). Yeah,i would recomend it,very much!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
koiruli wrote a review Sep 2021
Helsinki91 contributions57 helpful votes
Stayed here for 1 night in a private room for two. Perfectly clean, room simple but super comfortable. Good breakfast and friendly and helpful staff. Excellent hostel, a place we will recommend to all our friends.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Birgit C wrote a review Aug 2021
Salzburg, Austria4 contributions
Apart from the rather big and well-equipped rooms, the staff of the hostel is simply amazing! Very kind and trying their best to make your stay as good as possible. They also provide you with very honest tips for activities in the nearby area. As I had to leave very early in the morning, they offered me to prepare a small breakfast box for take-away which was one of its kind - maybe one of the best things I've ever got for take-away! Additionally, it was completely plastic-free. Another big plus! I would definitely recommend this accomodation.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
CarynLiew wrote a review Apr 2020
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia14 contributions25 helpful votes
Stayed in a 10 pax dorm during low season ( end Sep) , only few of us in the dorm. Comfy bed and duvet. They have the lockers at the entrance to the room instead of next to bed, which is a better arrangement, there are rooms for big luggage. There is a shared kitchen and lounge at the same floor, with all cooking utensils that you need. Shared Bathroom are spacious, unlike bathroom that I had seen in other hostels. There are few supermarkets and restaurant within walking distance, and also bus stop for buses heading Santa Village.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
mgpetts wrote a review Mar 2020
United Kingdom141 contributions55 helpful votes
Stayed in a double room. Really good breakfast, comfy beds, good sauna (available one hour per day), nice staff. Can't go wrong - stay here. Only thing is there is no tea or coffee in the room, so buy some from the supermarket and use the kitchen for the hot water
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from hostelcafekoti, Reception at Hostel Café Koti
Responded Mar 26, 2020
Thank your for your review! It´s so nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and also offered a useful tip for the future guests. The common kitchen is indeed very practical for all the guests to use! Hope to have you back some day :)
Read more
Passport67399870498 wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
It was really good, and I think the cheapest hostel in the center. It's really clean, the staff is really nice and helpful. I was in a dorm with others, and it was calm, and not so noisy at all. The sauna is cool too. I enjoyed my stay there.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Freedom754261 wrote a review Feb 2020
7 contributions1 helpful vote
My wife and I stayed for two nights. The hostel was great. The room was large and very nicely decorated, it was very clean. It was located in the centre of town. Breakfast was great, delicious food and lots of choice. We also ate lunch there which was good value. The staff were very friendly and helpful, giving local advice regarding taxi fares etc. We were able to lock our luggage away on the last day for as long as we wished which was helpful. We would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Elvira C wrote a review Jan 2020
10 contributions1 helpful vote
I stayed there from 19th til 26th of January. May I say that the location is perfect, rooms are nice, everything you need after a long day of exploring the city. Breakfast was good, they have home baked bread and plant based milk, that goes perfectly with the best and tastiest coffee in town! Staff is very friendly! Tip: They don't have hairdryer in the bathroom, you have to ask for on at the reception for 5 eur (deposit, you will get it back!) for the whole time you are staying there.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Coral Ok wrote a review Jan 2020
58 contributions33 helpful votes
The staff seemed rude and unhelpful, the room was nothing special but you pay for what you get so all ok in that sense. When we arrived there was a used cotton bud on the carpet and the pillows and bed sheets didn’t smell fresh and had hairs on them. Breakfast however was ok. Nothing too much to choose from but satisfied after. This was close to a 24hour super market which was ideal and the location for restaurants was good.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from hostelcafekoti, Reception at Hostel Café Koti
Responded Mar 26, 2020
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear there were some shortcomings that kept you from fully enjoying your stay with us. We deeply apologize the issue with tidiness; we take cleaning very seriously and always aim to improve in it, so hopefully your next stay will be prefect with us!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$67 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FinlandLaplandRovaniemi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hostel Café Koti
Which popular attractions are close to Hostel Café Koti?
Nearby attractions include Lumberjack's Candle Bridge (0.1 miles), Angry Birds Park (0.2 miles), and Lordi's Square (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hostel Café Koti?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Hostel Café Koti?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hostel Café Koti?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hostel Café Koti?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ravintola Roka -Street Bistro, Cafe & Bar 21, and Yuca.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hostel Café Koti?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Is Hostel Café Koti located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Rovaniemi.
Are pets allowed at Hostel Café Koti?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hostel Café Koti?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Finnish.
Is Hostel Café Koti accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.