We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Ivalo

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Ivalo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

328 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 112: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Ivalo
 Click to rate
Tuxpan, Mexico
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We spent a wonderful week in Hotel Ivalo where we had a lot a fun with the Club Nord crew , huskies safari, northern lights, snowmobile and winter fishing, all the hotel staff was kind with us specially thanks to Abraham y Becca our guides

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eloscita
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff were really friendly and efficient from the moment I emailed my initial inquiry (special mention to Anu who was wonderfully helpful) through to our check in and check out. We stayed at Hotel Ivalo for 2 nights either side of a 3 day husky safari and were really happy with everything. The rooms had obviously been renovated fairly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 545naomiv
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Overall satisfied with everything the hotel has to offer. Nice little walk into the town and a beautiful location on the river . Buffet dinner was average and breakfast good. Rooms clean, comfortable and no complaint. Staff at desk and bar friendly and helpful Good value

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graeme S
Launceston, UK
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was our second visit to the hotel. The staff are polite enough and the facilities are OK but the whole place just looks and feels tired. It needs an upgrade. We didn't find the accommodation cheap and it seems that that are simply relying on their location rather than what they offer to the customer. Sorry but we wont...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cornwall-blue
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel has a great location at the edge of Ivalo Town. Location is great on the river. Most of the rooms are renovated in a nice way. They have build ca 20 Aurora units. ca. 1,5km from the Hotel. for 1 night a great choise to see the Northern light.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacques C
Delmont, Pennsylvania
Reviewed February 7, 2017 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for a night on our way north. It is in a lovely setting on the river yet close to town. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The hotel offers many tours and activities both winter and summer. The restaurant is good but has a limited menu.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joyce C
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed February 4, 2017

We were on a short visit to Ivalo and this place was very nice to stay at. It is nicely located and the staff is very welcoming and helpful - they easily responded to every request we had and also provided useful advices on how to get around and what attractions would be of interest. In addition, the hotel faces...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KevinLeung888
Nantes, France
Reviewed January 29, 2017

We stayed in this hotel as part of a group and we got newly refurbished rooms which were lovely. The staff was helpful and polite. We particularly appreciated the fact we could use the equipment of the hotel like skis to go around.It is close to the centre of the town. The food was a buffet which was convenient and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank virgidem
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra, India
Reviewed December 16, 2016

We stayed here as a family in October. We traveled from Rovaniemi to Ivalo by bus and stopped here for our first Northern Lights pursuit to the north of Lapland. At the check in at around 5 pm we were greeted by a weird lady at the reception who was actually quite disappointed to see us. We have a brown...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Dhaval_Gandhi
Hotel_Ivalo, Omistaja at Hotel Ivalo, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am truly sorry that you had an unpleasant experience in Hotel Ivalo. It is true that we had a renovation going on in October and I apologize that it was loud. We had an agreement with the constructor, that noisy works should be done from 09.00 until 18.00, so during the evening / night,...

Bishops Stortford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 16, 2016 via mobile

This place is simply amazing. Every member of staff have been phenomenal, making sure our stay was the best it could be. The food is nice and you can choose off the menu or the buffet. I am a vegetarian and the buffet allowed me to have something different every day (it is hard to find vegetarian food in Lapland...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Amber D
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

264 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (235)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Other (110)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ivalo
0.5 mi away
Kultahippu Hotel & Restaurant
16.3 mi away
Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna
Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna
#5 of 6 in Saariselka
353 reviews
16.4 mi away
Holiday Club Saariselka
Holiday Club Saariselka
#4 of 6 in Saariselka
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Santa's Hotel Tunturi
Santa's Hotel Tunturi
#3 of 6 in Saariselka
360 reviews
23.6 mi away
Nellim Wilderness Hotel
22.9 mi away
Wilderness Hotel Muotka
Wilderness Hotel Muotka
#1 of 6 in Saariselka
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Ivalo is surrounded by Northern Lapland's wilderness and the National Park with its numerous rivers, lakes and fells. From Ivalo you can continue on to Northern Norway, the Arctic Ocean and the North Cape, Hammerfest or the Murmansk region of Russia. The activity service Club Nord provide wintertime experiences such as hunting the Aurora Borealis (Northern Lights), enjoying the Lappish nature driving with snowmobiles, husky dog safaris, reindeer or horse sleigh rides. In the summertime, activities include trekking, fishing, canoeing and even gold panning. A visit to the reindeer farm may be the highlight of your stay or indeed a visit to the Sami Museum Siida and the Northern Lapland Nature Centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Ivalo

Address: Ivalontie 34, Ivalo 99800, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Ivalo
Price Range: $98 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ivalo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Fastbooking so you can book your Hotel Ivalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel Ivalo staff and other travelers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Ivalo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Stay for a week, with 1 night in the Aurora suites”
 of 5 bubbles 389jacquesc, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Facing the river, so you can see if it is ok to go out to see the northern lights”
 of 5 bubbles KevinLeung888, Feb 4, 2017 | Read review
“rooms on 2nd floor near the end has little connection with wifi.”
 of 5 bubbles JoannaTsoi, Dec 12, 2016 | Read review
“Request a water view room.”
 of 5 bubbles twofromNC, Sep 4, 2016 | Read review
“Our room was quiet so I don't know if it's by chance or all the rooms are like that.”
 of 5 bubbles levmarc1, Aug 23, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question