We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scandic Hotel Opalen

Save
Share
Engelbrektsgatan 73, Gothenburg 402 23 Sweden
Lowest prices for your stay
Agoda.com
$100
View Deal
Booking.com
$100
View Deal
Snaptravel
$108
$95
View Deal
SAVE $13
Trip.com$108
Expedia.com$99
Hotels.com$99
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (328)
Room & Suite (47)
Dining (19)

About

#40 of 61 hotels in Gothenburg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
The Scandic Opalen hotel is located in central Gothenburgh within easy reach of shopping, restaurants and culture. The hotel is a perfect base for exploring the city's many attractions like the Poseidon statue, all the exihibtions held at Svenska Mässan, Universeum and the Museum of World Culture. Gothenburg's famous amusement park - Liseberg - is only a short walk away.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Babysitting
Wifi
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Spa
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Swedish

Location

Full view
92Great for walkers
Grade: 92 out of 100
50Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
6Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1,976Reviews3Q+A59Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 497
  • 709
  • 464
  • 202
  • 104
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Henrik E wrote a review Mar 2020
Ostervala, Sweden13 contributions1 helpful vote
A real pleasure to check in. Fast, varm and friendly. They gave me a nice parking in their garage. Excellent weiw over Gothenburg. Very nice room. All over excellent service. The bar had a very nice atmosphere. Enjoy!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Opalen S, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Hotel Opalen
Responded Apr 23, 2020
Hi henrike383! Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we will see you in our hotel soon again. Have a lovely weekend. Kindest Regards, Jessica Scandic Opalen
Read more
Magnus Gunnarsson wrote a review Mar 2020
Vaxjo, Sweden1 contribution
Room was nice and clean. Good standard of lighting and funiture. Breakfast was way more than expected in quality and variety. Bed was nice and firm and temperature was neutral. Staff was professional and helpful. I even got to keep the car in their garage for a full day after checking out.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Opalen S, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Hotel Opalen
Responded Mar 17, 2020
Hi mangegunnarsson! Thank you so much for your wonderful review and for your comments. We are so happy that you had a great stay with us and that you appreciated our services and room. I hope we will get the privilege of welcoming you back to our hotel soon again. Kindest Regards, Jessica Scandic Opalen
Read more
anneH8619AT wrote a review Mar 2020
Gothenburg, Sweden1 contribution
Good service in breakfast and bar, nice personal and well cleaned room. Thanks so much! There's a lot to choose in breakfast, didnt know where to begin. Cosy places to sit and talk with family and lovers
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Opalen S, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Hotel Opalen
Responded Mar 5, 2020
Hi anneH8619AT! Thank you so much for your lovely review and for your wonderful comments. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you come back next time you are visiting Gothenburg. Kindest Regards, Jessica Scandic Opalen
Read more
kristianseger wrote a review Feb 2020
Ljungbyhed, Sweden1 contribution
Nice hotel, easy access to centre of city, carpark in garage under the hotel, supernice! Good and serviceminded staff, I will highly recomend this hotel. Prices in bar/restaurant to high, cheaper and good food at the cinema across the street.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Opalen S, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Hotel Opalen
Responded Mar 5, 2020
Hi kristianseger! Thank you for your review and for your comments about your recent stay with us. We are so proud and happy that you enjoyed your visit in our hotel and I hope we will get the privilege of welcoming you back next time you are visiting Gothenburg. Have a lovely weekend! Kindest Regards, Jessica Scandic Opalen
Read more
jsheff500179 wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
Good location . Breakfast fine. The cleaning in our room was terrible. Stains on the extra bed. Dust all over the floorboards and wet towels in the draw. Just not dried or used I don’t know! Waterboiler was broke.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Opalen S, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Hotel Opalen
Responded Feb 24, 2020
Hi jsheff500179! Thank you for your review and for your comments about your recent stay with us. I'm very sorry that we did not meet your expectations in regards to the cleaning. I will forward you feedback directly to our Housekeeping Manager and I hope that you despite this had great days here in Gothenburg. Kindest Regards, Jessica Scandic Opalen
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$99 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
scandic hotel gothenburg
LOCATION
SwedenWest CoastGothenburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
354
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Scandic Hotel Opalen
Which popular attractions are close to Scandic Hotel Opalen?
Nearby attractions include Scandinavium (0.1 miles), Galleri Scandinavia (0.2 miles), and Burgardsparken (0.07 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Scandic Hotel Opalen?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Scandic Hotel Opalen?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Scandic Hotel Opalen?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Scandic Hotel Opalen?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Scandic Hotel Opalen?
Conveniently located restaurants include Barrique, Project, and Epoque.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Scandic Hotel Opalen?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center and a sauna during their stay.
Is Scandic Hotel Opalen located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Gothenburg.
Are any cleaning services offered at Scandic Hotel Opalen?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Scandic Hotel Opalen?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Scandic Hotel Opalen offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.