We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Scandic Hotel Opalen

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Scandic Hotel Opalen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

782 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 236: English reviews
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
151 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a good hotel, you know what you can expect from Scandic. It's a good central location, close to almost everything. The rooms are a bit worn and so are the hotel as well. Great service, easy check-in, great view from the top rooms and as usual great breakfast

Helpful?
Thank TWINN66
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Checking was very efficient and friendly, my premium room on the 13th floor was on the small side but featured large windows with a great view. The bathroom has a roomy shower cabin, which means no clumsy tub to climb in and out of. There's a small office desk and a "sofa" to sit on. Drapes would let some light... More 

Helpful?
Thank dhmacher
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice place fronting cinema. Can reach any place as buses and trams are nearby. Calm and comfortable area. Nice reception. Apples available on reception. Rooms tidy and spacy. Good services. Staff with smile and cooperative. Helping and guiding.

Helpful?
Thank Mohammad I
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

A day in Radical Collaboration learning. An excellent spot and really good conference rooms. Good service with nice breakfast buffet and in between snacks. The lunchroom and lunch buffet with choices of fish, meat or vegetarian food was lovely. A well sorted salad buffet is also included and followed with a wide choice of pudding tea and coffee. Well worth... More 

Helpful?
Thank KessSmitten
Borlange, Sweden
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2016

Stayed one night, 18-19th of august in a economy room. - Perfect location in the centre of Gothenburg with lots of entertainment around the corner and within walking distance. Parking available but quite expensive at about 250SEK per night. - Reception staff was friendly and helpful. - Room was perfectly fine with two beds and an armchair bed along with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jocke H
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2016 via mobile

Prices for hotels in Gothenburg in general were not cheap, this cost us around £120 for one night... the check-in was designated at 1400, but the room wasn't ready until 40 minutes later, not a big deal, but there were four other groups of guests with the same problem... an apology would have sufficed but the receptionist just lie and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AlexandeCameron
OpalenGuestRelations, Manager at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hi AlexandeCameron, thank you for taking your time to give us a review on Tripadvisor. I´m sad to hear that your latest stay was such a disappointment. I can however give you the great news that we are about to renovate our hotel during 2017 so I hope that you in the future want to come back to us again.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Gothenburg hotels

Mariestad, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2016

Have tried other Scandic and this one was very dissapointing. The room was so small, felt old and almost dirty. The room had permanent lights that made sleeping hard. The breakfast was very good, fresh and had a lot of options.

Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Elifood
OpalenGuestRelations, Manager at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review

Hi Elifood, thank you for taking your time to give us a review on Tripadvisor. I´m sad to hear that your latest stay was such a disappointment. I can however give you the great news that we are about to renovate our hotel during 2017 so I hope that you in the future want to come back to us again.... More 

Warszawa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2016

We spent 4 nights in Scandic Opalen, in superior plus room. Hotel is quite OK, however, there were some minor issues. Hotel is conveniently located, in the middle of the entertainment district of Gothenburg, next to Avenyn, Liseberg and Scandinavium. It is a plus, but also a minus, because the hotel lobby is like a railway station – all day... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marek79
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

186 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (148)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#26 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 stars 690 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
#22 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 stars 704 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lorensberg
Hotel Lorensberg
#42 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
#34 of 68 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 stars 913 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#15 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 stars 3,272 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bellora
Hotel Bellora
#12 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 stars 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Scandic Opalen hotel is located in central Gothenburgh within easy reach of shopping, restaurants and culture. The hotel is a perfect base for exploring the city's many attractions like the Poseidon statue, all the exihibtions held at Svenska Mässan, Universeum and the Museum of World Culture. Gothenburg's famous amusement park - Liseberg - is only a short walk away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Opalen

Address: Engelbrektsgatan 73, Gothenburg 402 23, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Price Range: $113 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hotel Opalen 4*
Number of rooms: 353
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Scandic Hotel Opalen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Gothenburg
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Gothenburg
#26 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#28 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay