We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Stora Badhusgatan 26, Gothenburg 411 21 Sweden
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotel direct offer!Package deal
Hotel Riverton
Hotels.com
eDreams
Priceline
Booking.com
travelup.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (56)
360
Panoramas (11)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 07/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Riverton
Updated 07/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#20 of 60 hotels in Gothenburg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Hotel Riverton is a contemporary independent design hotel located centrally in Gothenburg by the waterfront, the hotel is fully family owned and operated since 1991. With personal care and attention to details in every aspect of our guest´s experience, we´ve integrated the feeling of comfort, charm and style combined with excellent food and drink experiences. Only a few minutes away from the hotel are some of the main attractions of the city; the historic district Haga, popular shopping street Kungsgatan and the old fort Skansen Krona, making our location the perfect base to explore the city. We offer 210 modern rooms and suites that provide everything to ensure your stay in Gothenburg is more than comfortable. For longer stays we also offer 6 fully equipped apartments. A visit to our restaurant on the 12th floor cannot be missed. Enjoy award winning cocktails in the bar or dine to spectacular views of the city and harbour. The hotel offers a brand-new Spa, Serenity Spa located on the ground floor. Immerse yourself in our inviting indoor pool, enjoy your experience showers and saunas, or relax at your own pace in our Spa Lounge. All our guests are most welcome to add access to their room key against a fee. Whether you are visiting Gothenburg for business or exploring one of the many attractions Gothenburg has to offer; the facilities and team at Hotel Riverton aim to give all our guests a relaxed and valuable stay. *From 1st January 2017, we are a cash-free hotel & restaurant.
Read more
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
24-hour security
Paid private parking on-site
Parking garage
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Rooftop bar
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Bathrobes
Room service
Safe
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Swedish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Package deal

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
96Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
13Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
144Reviews0Q+A6Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 92
  • 23
  • 17
  • 5
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
jeverCopenhagen wrote a review Oct 4
copenhagen16 contributions7 helpful votes
Very nice hotel. Good location, close to the city center. The rooms were very clean, and breakfast were amazing. We loved the spa. If you wanna relax this is the place to go. It’s not the cheapest hotel in Gothenburh, but if you like a little luxery it’s worth the price.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Tibor K wrote a review Jan 2021
Budapest, Hungary33 contributions6 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
We spent fantastic days at the Hotel Riverton in Gothenburg. The staff members were outstanding, helpful and worked with strong attitude. Susane, Melinda and Versha are all professionals in the reception. Donato is a fantastic person at the Skybar which had Michelin-star level. The quality of the spa is also world class. Thanks for everything once again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Rebecka L, Annan at Hotel Riverton
Responded Jan 5, 2021
Dear Tibor K, Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback and review of your stay with us. We are very grateful and delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay so much, especially our great, service minded and friendly staff. We hope that we will get the chance to have you as our guests soon again. Until then, take care and welcome back to Riverton! Best regards, Rebecka Hotel Riverton
Read more
Igogla wrote a review Sep 2021
4 contributions
Great Hotel with a great location. Good service, nice atmosphere, nice rooms, great beds, great breakfast, attention to details. Perfect for a couple, family or in business. We didn’t try the Spa but I can imagine it is great which adds to the whole atmosphere.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
JayyBe wrote a review Aug 2021
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland54 contributions18 helpful votes
I stayed 3 nights. Very Nordic/northern Europe contemporary decor & vibe, für die Deutschsprechend: Innside-ähnlich - bordering on ‚boutique‘ but in a very specific almost minimalist way (which I like). My room was very clean but faced into a somewhat dreary back courtyard. Oh well. Big Minus Point: you can‘t open the windows! - you‘re forced to use the air conditioning (which I generally despise because of its impact on climate etc), but other than that a very nice room, good mattress, clean. Awesome breakfast with all of the Swedish goodies. Fluffy scrambled eggs, crispy bacon (I HATE soggy bacon), everything fresh and beautiful in that great Swedish way. Windows look out over the street & harbor and you‘re on the 1st floor so it‘s a nice view. I wore a mask in all common areas and went to breakfast when they opened. Super easy access to/from the ferries, E45 (towards Trollhättan, Haga; a bit outside the ‘city center‘ but plenty of nice eateries right nearby and a few minute‘s enjoyable walk into the center. As I wrote above it has a similar style & feel to the Innside hotels I‘ve been in which is high praise indeed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Check out some other reviews, and request port-side for views
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
cb7472020 wrote a review Jul 2021
3 contributions2 helpful votes
When we first got to the room the hallway lamps didn't work, and when we looked up it was obvious why, they were broken and loose wires were hanging down. The mirror in the hallway was missing, the fridge for the minibar was missing, the top of the glass table was also missing. The roof had cracks in the painting and parts of it were falling down on the bed, and several lampshades were missing. The TV had a big crack in it and was hanging loose with the cables not properly arranged. It looked like there had been a wild party and the place had been thrashed. A room like that should NOT be given to guests. We did get another room as compensation, but nothing else, and the room we got instead also had broken lamps in the hallway. They could at least have offered a visit to the spa or something from the bar as compensation. Also: when we first got the room they said it was the last room they had, then somehow they still had another to move us to?
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Rebecka L, Annan at Hotel Riverton
Responded Aug 2, 2021
Dear cb7472020, We are so sorry that you were given a room that was out of order. You are absolutely correct, and the room was absolutely not intended for any guests to stay in. We sincerely apologize for the mistake and for the fact that this was your first impression of our hotel. Regarding the new room, the lamps in the hallway can only be turned on by inserting the key firmly into the keyholder, and are sometimes mistaken for broken due to that. Did you talk to anyone in reception so that we could check them for you? I hope the rest of your stay was pleasant and that you enjoyed your time in Gothenburg. Welcome back! Best regards, Rebecka
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$116 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
riverton hotel gothenburg
LOCATION
SwedenWest CoastVastra Gotaland CountyGothenburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
210
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Riverton
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Riverton?
Nearby attractions include Gothenburg Escape Game (0.1 miles), Fish Church (0.2 miles), and Emigranternas Hus (The House of Emigrants) (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Riverton?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Riverton?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Riverton?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Riverton?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Riverton?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jinx Food Truck, The BARN, and Fontana di Trevi.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Riverton?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is Hotel Riverton located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Gothenburg.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Riverton?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Riverton offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Riverton?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Swedish.