We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Slånbärsgatan 13, Västerås 722 23 Sweden
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Tripadvisor$119
Hotels.com
Expedia.com$120
Travelocity$120
Priceline
Orbitz.com$120
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (19)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (15)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 04/22/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hem till Garden
Updated 04/22/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 15 hotels in Västerås
Location
4.0
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.6
Value
4.0
In our charming Boutique hotel in Västerås we offer beautiful and personally decorated apartment suites, restaurant and conference facilities. It is all located in historical buildings between 100-300 years old. This is an accommodation for those who are looking for something special, a beautiful apartment hotel in the middle of Västerås. Both individuals and companies are welcome to spend the night here. We also offer long-term stay for those who plan to stay a little longer in our wonderful city. Take the opportunity to breathe in the tranquility and rest in the rustic charm. Each apartment has a private shower, toilet and a smaller kitchen. All the household utensils you might need for a self-catering unit are of course in place. To this we can also offer free WiFi, free parking and access to laundry facilities. In the beautiful garden there is sitting areas and access to barbecue grill. Why not relax for a while in the hammock under the beautiful birch trees? If you want to take a trip to the town, we also offer bike rental! Welcome
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Seating area
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
31Reviews0Q+A1Room tip
Traveler rating
  • 21
  • 6
  • 1
  • 3
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
KristinL wrote a review Jul 2019
122 contributions50 helpful votes
A beautiful little hotel with lovely staff. Very charming rooms and small houses to live in. Kids- and dog friendly and a lovely garden. We miss having a breakfast buffet and would love to visit the bistro (closed for holiday in July).
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jim Madden wrote a review Oct 2018
Dublin, Ireland12 contributions5 helpful votes
WoW, is the best description. I had the pleasure of staying there for May, June and July. A home away from home. Peace, quiet and tranquility yet only 5 mins from the city and road network. The hospitality, friendliness and warmth of welcome was abundant. No request was too big or too small. I would go back in the morning. Many thanks for running such a fine establishment, it is a credit to all of you.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Maxine B wrote a review Feb 2016
7 contributions4 helpful votes
A very welcoming and comfortable stay in a typically Swedish farm stead. Easily reached from Vasteras airport (15 mins) and Arlanda in just over an hour. Within 10 minutes of the city by car. A good base if you have a car to visit Malaran lake and the surrounds. We stayed in the main building in an apartment with its own kitchen and was much better than a hotel with our children. A small play area is visible from the apartment And balcony. Breakfast charge is worth it to have a fridge full of delights for arrival.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2016
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: All accommodation is beautifully presented. No bar but there is a supermarket within 10 minutes...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from HemtillGarden, Owner at Hem till Garden
Responded Feb 24, 2016
Thank YOU Maxine with wonderful family! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed staying with us! Welcome back! Kind regards Tina
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
alwaysupforatrip wrote a review Aug 2015
Alps29 contributions13 helpful votes
We were in the area to visit friends and stayed at Hem. Lovely sweet little cottages with all the charm of a Swedish farm house. The house was equipped with breakfast and everything we needed (hair dryer, toaster etc). The location is on the outskirts of the city with some office buildings around, but the farm grounds are lovely and we were in walking distance to a nice playground for the kids. I would definitely recommend and we'll certainly be back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Gulliver1703 wrote a review Aug 2015
London, United Kingdom147 contributions188 helpful votes
We were meant to have an apartment for the three of us, but were informed a week before arrival that this could not happen due to a booking fault. However, cannot fault the alternative that came out less and was split over two apartments. We only had one day, and used this to visit a local moose park. However, there are other attractions in the area and there are plenty of nearby supermarkets if needed. If you are in the area, well worth staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Batoul H wrote a review Sep 2014
Istanbul, Turkey61 contributions8 helpful votes
We spent a marvelous week here, the rooms are beautifully decorated.. The views are spectacular.. Every morning I was split between having breakfast on the terrace or stay next to the window.. Cleanliness is well, kitchen is very well equipped .. You wouldn't miss anything.. Tina, the owner, is very friendly and nice.. A great place all in all
Read more
Date of stay: August 2014
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
spruce6 wrote a review Aug 2014
Liverpool, United Kingdom11 contributions7 helpful votes
Had originally booked five nights and stayed one, says it all; even then had to negotiate at length with the owner to have a partial refund after paying in full when arriving(be wary of this). Accommodation (Svitan) lacked privacy with adjoining cottage also extending to the floor above. Location more akin to an out-of-town industrial park with main road access....and having stayed in authentic, private cottages across Sweden I'm afraid Hem Till Garden fell short of expectations.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2014Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HemtillGarden, Owner at Hem till Garden
Responded Aug 20, 2014
We are sorry you did not like our accommodation and where it is located. We believe we have a good description on our webpage where it is located and how far it is from Stockholm also how our different accommodations are situated on this old farmstead. However we will look it over and try to make it better. We follow the cancellation policies that are reccommended by the Swedish Hotel Association -HRS. With kind regards Catharina Hollaus Barklund Hem till Gården www.hemtillgarden.se
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Claire R wrote a review Jul 2014
Västerås, Sweden2 contributions2 helpful votes
We had the most magical few days at Hem till gården when we got married there last week. When all our guests from abroad were booked in there was no room for us, but every one of our guests without fail had only good things to say about the place. They had their own space in the apartments but could visit and spend time together if they wanted to. It is a short walk to the supermarket and to the bus stop into town (none of our guests rented cars), and it is so worth it for the location. We rented the stables for the weekend and the whole group ate there the evening before the wedding and we had the party there on the night. It worked well and the staff were really helpful and accommodating when we were setting the place up. Of course our experiences of places are always linked to the people that were there, the weather and so many other things, but my husband and I were thrilled with the place.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Julie J wrote a review May 2014
Hong Kong, China49 contributions41 helpful votes
Hem till garden has lovely feel to it. The cottages are beautifully decorated. However, the location is far away from the city with almost no shops nearby. The owner, Tina is rather inflexible. The hot water supply is not very good. So go for the old world charm of this place but do not expect the typical hotel conveniences.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2013
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
COHO2014 wrote a review Jan 2014
Dublin, Ireland1 contribution1 helpful vote
I spent a the best part of a week at Hem till Garden with my son and a friend of his during a tennis tournament in the Bellevue Indoor Sports Complex in early January. We were really impressed. The apartment was very nicely decorated and ideal for our purposes. Tina, the owner, and her son were very hospitable and extremely helpful. I would highly recommend Hem Till Garden.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2014
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
$131 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SwedenVastmanland CountyVästerås
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hem till Garden
Which popular attractions are close to Hem till Garden?
Nearby attractions include Anundshog (3.7 miles), Vasteras Cathedral (1.7 miles), and Vallby Open Air Museum (1.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hem till Garden?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and meeting rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Hem till Garden?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Hem till Garden?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hem till Garden?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hem till Garden?
Conveniently located restaurants include Alberts Restaurang & Pub, Frank, and Locavore.
Are pets allowed at Hem till Garden?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hem till Garden offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Hem till Garden?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Anundshog (3.7 miles), Vasteras Cathedral (1.7 miles), and Kyrkbacken (1.6 miles).