We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Scandic Karlstad City

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Scandic Karlstad City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

211 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 62: English reviews
Patras, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Scandic Karlstad City is a great option to stay while in Karlstad. It is well located in the city center, quite and value for money. The breakfast includes a lot of options and is served in a nice atmosphere. The stuff is very friendly and professional. Overall, I had a nice experience staying there for four nights.

Helpful?
Thank Georgios_trip
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Clean and spacious rooms, nice staff and roomy bar areas. Could easily have served breakfast at an earlier time than 07:30 am on sundays. Centraly located in the city centre. Went there for a sporting event, and since we booked several rooms we were given a discount.

Helpful?
Thank William H
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
296 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2016

Great location for walking to see the shops small grocery store and found great Beer, Wine, & Liquor store with a huge selection. Great shops on the same street that the hotels is on. Nice clean hotel with a great air conditioner unlike some of the hotels so far. Food average, service about the same.

Helpful?
Thank Doug M
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
405 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016

Stayed here with a tour group. The room was fairly spacious with a comfortable. I got a great night's sleep due to the comfortable bed and the quietness of the hotel. HOWEVER: This hotel features elevator hell. The elevators only hold 3 people!! Sometimes fewer depending upon whether other patrons packed the kitchen sink. Plus, you have to insert your... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ronald D
LYON
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2016

The Hotel is down town which is a good thing. It look's nice outside and also in the reception area. The breakfast was fine with a lot of choice. The bed room was nice and clean The bed mattress was ok. The guy at the bar was very friendly and hese cocktails were excellent. The diner was fine and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank levoyageur69
Stockholm
Level Contributor
157 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2016

We stayed,a family of four, in a family room. The room was spacious, but a bit worn down. Staff was very friendly, but simple routines did not seem to work.In our room two lights were broken,one with the plug broken. And no one had noticed. We got a replacement, but so weak that the entire sitting area was left in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jonas P
Anki T, Reservationmanager at Scandic Karlstad City, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for writing about your stay with us. Sorry to hear everything was not as expected. Hope to see you soon again so that we can show that we can do better. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015 via mobile

We had booked family room for 4 persons. First of all beds was not made for 4 - there was only bedding for 3 persons. Room has a lot noise so we had to get new room. Cleaning on hallway and rooms were very poor. Drinking glasses in room was dirty. Arrived Sunday afternoon and was told that restaurant was... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Anki T, Reservationmanager at Scandic Karlstad City, responded to this review

Sorry to hear your visit wasn´t as expected. We always aim to have a clean hotel and rooms. Our restaurant and bar is closed on Sundays, sorry you didn´t get that information. I hope you can consider staying with us again if visiting Karlstad , so that we can show that we can do better. Happy new year! More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2015

Second ime at this hotel. Last time here was in march 2015. Does not feel like the same hotel. Staff still friendly and lobby looks nice. Quick check in as last time. Did not use the overpriced indoor garage this time, plenty of parkingplaces way cheaper around the corner. Scandic city surprised us this time with a runed down look.... More 

Helpful?
Thank mranderz
Anki T, Reservationmanager at Scandic Karlstad City, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. That helps us to get better. Sorry to hear your stay wasn´t as expected. We always aim to have a clean hotel. We will of course look into what went wrong. We do hope you come see us again. Happy new year! More 

Sundsvall
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2015 via mobile

Second time stay here, nice location. Quite place. Decent gym, sauna and jacuzzi. Plenty of place to chat with friends if do not want to stay in room. Omelet on Wednesday breakfast is great. A little bit old decoration in room but ok in my mind.

Helpful?
Thank duanran
Anki T, Reservationmanager at Scandic Karlstad City, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your thoughts about our hotel. Come see us soon again! Have a lovely day. More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2015

Being on a Cosmos bus tour we were quite satisfied with all aspects of this hotel. Helpful staff and had a good breakfast . All nice and clean. What I could not understand was WHY the lifts were so small for such a big hotel? Three people MAX ! We waited 15 minutes in a queue to use the lift... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maurice B
Anki T, Reservationmanager at Scandic Karlstad City, responded to this review

Dear Maurice, Nice to hear from someone " down under" ! Thanks for your thoughts. Please come see us again if you come back to Karlstad! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karlstad hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Drott
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Bilan
0.2 mi away
Elite Stadshotellet Karlstad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Plaza
Clarion Hotel Plaza
#4 of 18 in Karlstad
4.0 of 5 stars 426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Winn
Scandic Winn
#7 of 18 in Karlstad
3.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
0.3 mi away
First Hotel River C
First Hotel River C
#6 of 18 in Karlstad
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
Scandic Karlstad City
Scandic Karlstad City
Cuisines: Bar, Vegetarian Friendly, Swedish
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Scandic Karlstad City

Address: 4 Drottninggatan, Karlstad 652 24, Sweden (Formerly Rica Hotel)
Location: Sweden > Varmland County > Karlstad
Price Range: $124 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Karlstad City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Scandic Karlstad City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Karlstad
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay