We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clarion Hotel Amaranten

Save
Share
31 Kungsholmsgatan, Stockholm 112 27 Sweden
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Snaptravel
Travelocity
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (554)
Room & Suite (173)
Dining (49)

About

#81 of 162 hotels in Stockholm
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Clarion Hotel Amaranten is located on Kungsholmen in central Stockholm. With only 700 meters from Stockholm's city center and 10 minutes walk to Central Station, the hotel is easily accessible and close to most attractions in Stockholm.Kungsholmen has a great variety of restaurants and has a charming nightlife, ranging from casual outdoor cafes to nightclubs. Near the hotel is also the City Hall and Town Hall, two of Stockholm's most famous silhouettes. At the hotel, we offer a gym and sauna. The hotel restaurant Kitchen & Table serves a combination of the best flavors of multicultural Manhattan with local ingredients from the region around one of Stockholm's most beautiful islands - Kungsholmen. You can also visit our award winngin cocktailbar Tap Room Kungsholmen to enjoy our modern takes on classical cocktails.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Indoor pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking garage
Wifi
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Bottled water
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Italian, Swedish

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
111Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
7Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
2,909Reviews9Q+A93Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 834
  • 971
  • 627
  • 314
  • 163
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
amomas wrote a review Oct 2020
Halmstad, Sweden11 contributions1 helpful vote
One of our first choices in Stockholm. Reasonably priced for the category & situation, just 10 minutes walk from central station, and a subway station right in the corner of the same building. From time to time you can catch offers that makes it unbeatable (even more if you enroll in their loyalty program, like us this time, who were using an autumn weekend offer at 800 sek or so per night, a bargain in this city).  The breakfast is awesome, now with the pandemic you have to choose a time to avoid crowding (only in weekends) but other than that, it is nearly like before. A suggestion about the breakfast is that the hotel could have the waffle machines back again, which have been removed in the new setup during the pandemic. There used to be 2 or 3 if a remember well, but many of us would be glad if you bring back at least one ;) Another suggestion is to have Swedish meatballs for breakfast. A purely personal suggestion (that we've found in another hotels, even of the chain) A great bar & restaurant where you can use your vouchers if, like us, you are a silver or upper member of their loyalty program. Now the bar is closed due to the pandemic but the staff make an excellent effort in offering a short selection of drinks and food that you can get at reception. On Sunday this is not available, maybe because is the day with less customers? We were allowed to use the voucher in the minibar of the room that day, instead ;) We stayed in room 142 and let us say that this room shouldn't exist, it could be used it as storage or other, but not like a room. All rooms of this hotel have windows, but 142 is the first room of the floor, so the window gives to a tiny corridor that leads to a courtyard. This makes it virtually like a no-window room, since the natural light entering is minimal, and the "view" is a metal wall at 1.5m from the window. Other hotels (including this chain) have windowless rooms and you know it when booking, specially in the city centre where estate space is more scarce and pricey (I guess), but not this hotel.  We'll definitely keep coming back again, indeed we already have booked our next long weekend for November. Let's see if the waffle machine is back by then ;) By the way, we felt more than safe as regards the hygienic measures taken at the premises, which are followed to the letter. 
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Amaranten, Ägare at Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Responded Oct 23, 2020
Hi! Wow! Thank you for this amazing review and a big thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us. We really appreciate it. Happy to hear you liked it. Hope you got to see a lot of Stockholm. Thanks for the fantastic suggestions! I will take that to the relevant departments and we look forward to having you as guests at the hotel again! I am sorry that the room did not live up to your expectations. You are more than welcome to contact us before your next stay so we can find the perfect room for you! Welcome back! Best regards, Leia Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Read more
Angeliki B wrote a review Jul 2020
Airlie Beach, Australia4 contributions
Unpleasant staff, seemed unhappy with their job. Our room was not cleaned during our stay and when we ask them they just came and fix the beds without changing the sheets. Poor and low quality breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Isabelle Holmquist, Guest Services / Front Office at Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Responded Jul 26, 2020
Hi Angelika, Thank you for your feedback, it is highly appreciated and very valuable to us. My apologies that you were not completely satisfied with your stay, we will of course take this information forward and make sure this does not happen again. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. If you want to discuss the matter further, I would be more than happy to do so at isabelle.holmquist@choice.se. I hope you had a pleasant stay in Stockholm and hope that we will see you with us in the future. Yours sincerely, Isabelle Holmquist Clarion Amaranten
Read more
Krissy W wrote a review Mar 2020
Holbaek, Denmark140 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
Stayed one night during business trip. Really nice hotel located close to everything. Walking distance from city centre, old town and train station. Been going through renovations so all furnitures seem new. Great beds, lovely products in the bathroom and happy hour in the bar before 6pm. Recommendable.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from isabelleah1, Front desk supervisor at Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Responded Mar 9, 2020
Hi Krissy, Thank you for your lovely feedback, we love it! We hope that you had a great time with us and that we will have the honor to host you soon again! Have a great day and welcome back to us! Isabelle Holmquist Clarion Amaranten
Read more
Peter Brusvall wrote a review Mar 2020
Stockholm, Sweden7 contributions1 helpful vote
Spent one night in February and on the whole it was a disapointment. The temperature was way to high in the room and the air conditioning did not work. Also as a preferred memebr in the chain we didn't receive any upgrade. The breakfast in the morning was so crowded that everything in the buffet was empty and no place to sit down.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Early breakfast recommended
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from isabelleah1, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Responded Mar 9, 2020
Hi, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us, we really appreciate your feedback. I will take this matter forward to all relevant departments and I assure you that we will fix the issue. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. If you wish to take this conversation further on email, please feel free to contact me on isabelle.holmquist@choice.se We sincerely hope that we can welcome you back to us in the very near future as we would love to meet your expectations and spoil you. Yours sincerely, Isabelle Holmquist Clarion Amaranten
Read more
Jan F wrote a review Jan 2020
Kristiansand, Norway13 contributions3 helpful votes
Breakfast is much too crowded so be early in the weekend.... Our room had too much noise from the music downstairs. The door was poorly adjusted and was slamming every time another door in the hallway was opened. A huge plus for the parking garage with EV charging. Remember too book in advance. There is also a subway station just outside.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from isabelleah1, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Responded Feb 7, 2020
Hi, Thank you for your score, it is highly appreciated. We hope that we will get the chance of hosting you soon again. Thank you for letting us know what we can improve in the future and make your stay worthy of a top rate! Have a lovely day and a good start of the year! Yours sincerely, Isabelle Holmquist Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$98 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
1st hotel amaranten, first hotel stockholm
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
First Hotel Amaranten
LOCATION
SwedenStockholm CountyStockholmKungsholmen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
461
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Which popular attractions are close to Clarion Hotel Amaranten?
Nearby attractions include Choco Chocolate (0.10 miles), Kungsholmens Kyrka (0.2 miles), and Litet lejon (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Clarion Hotel Amaranten?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Clarion Hotel Amaranten?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Clarion Hotel Amaranten?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Clarion Hotel Amaranten?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Clarion Hotel Amaranten?
Conveniently located restaurants include MoonCake Restaurang, Tabbouli, and Restaurang Agnes.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Clarion Hotel Amaranten?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Clarion Hotel Amaranten located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Stockholm.
Are any cleaning services offered at Clarion Hotel Amaranten?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Clarion Hotel Amaranten?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Clarion Hotel Amaranten offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.