We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
31 Kungsholmsgatan, Stockholm 112 27 Sweden
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$91
View deal
Expedia.com
$90
View deal
FindHotel
$89
View deal
Hotels.com
Travelocity$90
Clarion Hotels$97
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (632)
Room & Suite (472)
Dining (75)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 04/26/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 04/26/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#90 of 160 hotels in Stockholm
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
4.0
Service
4.0
Value
3.7
Clarion Hotel Amaranten is located on Kungsholmen in central Stockholm. With only 700 meters from Stockholm's city center and 10 minutes walk to Central Station, the hotel is easily accessible and close to most attractions in Stockholm.Kungsholmen has a great variety of restaurants and has a charming nightlife, ranging from casual outdoor cafes to nightclubs. Near the hotel is also the City Hall and Town Hall, two of Stockholm's most famous silhouettes. At the hotel, we offer a gym and sauna. The hotel restaurant Kitchen & Table serves a combination of the best flavors of multicultural Manhattan with local ingredients from the region around one of Stockholm's most beautiful islands - Kungsholmen. You can also visit our award winning cocktailbar Tap Room Kungsholmen to enjoy our modern takes on classical cocktails.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Canoeing
Bicycle tours
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Parking garage
Wifi
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Happy hour
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Canoeing offsite
Evening entertainment
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Bathrobes
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Swedish

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
117Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
9Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
3029Reviews9Q+A96Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 871
  • 997
  • 659
  • 329
  • 173
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jonathan B wrote a review Sep 2022
London, United Kingdom142 contributions77 helpful votes
Great hotel in easy walking distance of central rail station and Gamla Stan. Also adjacent to Radhuset Metro. Easy fast check in and helpful staff at all times. Quiet and comfortable room so had a great night's sleep. Breakfast was hot and cold self serve buffet with excellent selection of food. Hotel bar was good too.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: My fifth floor room was quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Amaranten, Owner at Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi, Thank you so much for rating your stay, it is highly appreciated. We hope you had a good stay with us and we get the honor to host you again soon. Have a great week! Best regards, Isabelle Guest Service Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SigneK wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We check into our room, it’s dirty, the bed isn’t made and there’s a bunch of used water bottles on the table. When we tell this to the staff, it seems that they thought the fault was our own, because we did a self check in. Which we only did because the queue was very long. This was a bit of a bad start to our trip honestly. Okay hotel, but I don’t think we’ll come here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Amaranten, Owner at Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Responded Aug 26, 2022
Hi, Thanks for your rating, it is appreciated. Glad to hear you had a good stay with us and thank you as well for letting us know what we can do to make us even better in the future. I hope we have the honor of hosting you soon again and welcome back! Best regards, Isabelle Guest Service Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kharro wrote a review Aug 2022
Brussels, Belgium423 contributions137 helpful votes
Got a good deal at this hotel for my 3 days in Stockholm. Small room but adequate and quiet as requested. Comfortable bed. Decent breakfast but way too many people and no filmjölk (only laktos free). You are requsted to do your own check-in and if you ask the reception they gove you rehearsed answers that doesnt answer the actual question. My room did not have a hairdryer and when I asked for one I had to get angry before they accomodated me. Location for me was perfect but before booking again I would enquire about several details before spending my money here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Amaranten, Owner at Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Responded Aug 26, 2022
Hi, Thanks for your rating, it is appreciated. Glad to hear you had a good stay with us and thank you as well for letting us know what we can do to make us even better in the future. I hope we have the honor of hosting you soon again and welcome back! Best regards, Isabelle Guest Service Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Antti Määttä wrote a review Aug 2022
Oulu, Finland7 contributions
Staff was nice and helpful. See below comments on their work. Check in and out were easy and staff helped to order a taxi to terminals. Breakfast good and many choices. Little bit too crowded. Room was too hot although it was deluxe. Staff said for a reason the 7th floor, but not sure if valid reason. Hotel offered bigger movable AC unit, but the exhaust of it made some parts of the room even hotter and the exhaust smelled also. I believe the filters were not changed. AC unit also started to leak condensate water so needed to turn it off. Thankfully the weather was then little bit colder. I also offered an extra service but hotel forgot to fullfill this. Staff thankfully complemented this mistake with a another service which was nice.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid top floor during hot season.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Amaranten, Owner at Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Responded Aug 26, 2022
Hi, Thanks for your rating, it is appreciated. Glad to hear you had a good stay with us and thank you as well for letting us know what we can do to make us even better in the future. I hope we have the honor of hosting you soon again and welcome back! Best regards, Isabelle Guest Service Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
taylorshouseemail wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Family room was spacious and clean. Although could have used some layout rearranging and more storage. Staff was kind and accommodating. Location is central and convenient. Would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Amaranten, Owner at Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Responded Aug 26, 2022
Hi, Thanks for your rating, it is appreciated. Glad to hear you had a good stay with us and thank you as well for letting us know what we can do to make us even better in the future. I hope we have the honor of hosting you soon again and welcome back! Best regards, Isabelle Guest Service Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fabio Marques wrote a review Jul 2022
Sao Paulo, SP163 contributions136 helpful votes
This is an very good three-star hotel fair close to T-CENTRAL Stockholm (10-minute walk). The breakfast is good, but it is crowed, you need to reserve your timeslot in the night before, and it might ebe incovinient for some people. Rooms are nice. Internet is quick and reliable. Cleaning crew is kind of lazzy, they don't provide enough soap, shampoo, and toiled paper for a small family. Every night I had to ask for more. Also the room (CLEANED) was not ready until the evening. Again, the location is good because it close to a metro station and to train station. Also it is close to a COOP supermarker, it is very convinient, and it is close to a big POLICE station, so the area is REALLY safe. The price is not midrange, the value can be improved a lot. Also the crew speaks only Swedish and English. No French, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, at all. For brazilians only, it is next to the Brazil embassy in Stockholm so if you have and problem you can go there easily.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a room in the top floor and away from the elevator to avoid noise.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Amaranten, Owner at Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Responded Aug 26, 2022
Hej, Tack för din återkoppling på din vistelse. Vi uppskattar all feedback så tack för du säger till vad vi kan förbättra i framtiden. Hoppas du ändå fick en bra vistelse och att vi får chansen att ha dig tillbaka snart så vi kan gottgöra dig! Om du har mer värdefull feedback eller önskar prata vidare om ärendet finns jag här. Så hoppas jag vi hörs! Vänligen, Isabelle Guest Service Clarion Amaranten
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SteveMolyneux wrote a review Jul 2022
Derbyshire25 contributions45 helpful votes
Decent hotel, very comfortable bed, good bathroom with lovely toiletries. Quite noisy though - heard a lot of footsteps either from above or on the corridor. Hotel was fully booked during our stay which meant the breakfast room was very busy. However, the food choices were extensive & if you went early enough, it was easy to get a table. One thing that was a problem was the lifts - you had to wait a long time or take the stairs. There is no drinks making facility in the room but there is a machine in the lobby area from which you can get free tea/coffee & chilled water which was a real bonus. I also noticed a lovely perfumed smell each time I entered the revolving doors at the entrance - really nice ! One day there was no hot water in our room - I believe it may have affected the whole hotel - but this was swiftly rectified. Overall very good.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Amaranten, Owner at Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Responded Aug 26, 2022
Hi, Thanks for your rating, it is appreciated. Glad to hear you had a good stay with us and thank you as well for letting us know what we can do to make us even better in the future. I hope we have the honor of hosting you soon again and welcome back! Best regards, Isabelle Guest Service Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TravelT wrote a review Jul 2022
Oslo, Norway255 contributions132 helpful votes
The hotel is definitely worn, but our room was a good size. The ventilation system however was not good. They did bring a fan to the room after we had to call for one due to the insane temperature in the room. On our last day we checked the vents and it did not feel like any air came out of them, but we informed them and hopefully this issue will be handled. The breakfast was ok on Thursday, but Friday at 10 was complete chaos. Not sure if there is another way to handle it, but I saw that the bread-station was what causes most of the bottleneck-situation. Minus for the bar closing too early. We also asked for three beers for the mini bar since it wasn’t restocked, but they were unable to fulfill this request at 23:15.. Close proximity to the city center and the room, with functioning ventilation is good value. The staff is also friendly!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Amaranten, Owner at Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Responded Aug 26, 2022
Hi, Thanks for your rating, it is appreciated. Glad to hear you had a good stay with us and thank you as well for letting us know what we can do to make us even better in the future. I hope we have the honor of hosting you soon again and welcome back! Best regards, Isabelle Guest Service Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Johanna Salonen wrote a review Jul 2022
Turku, Finland32 contributions9 helpful votes
Hotel was okay, but not a 4 star hotel. Breakfeast was pretty basic -still good tho. Hotel facilities and floors were a bit shabby and untidy. Hotelroom needs some "refreshing" since it was a bit dreary. Don't get me wrong, hotel was okay. Just not like the other 4 star hotels i've visited. Customer service and location were excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Amaranten, Owner at Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Responded Aug 26, 2022
Hi, Thanks for your rating, it is appreciated. Glad to hear you had a good stay with us and thank you as well for letting us know what we can do to make us even better in the future. I hope we have the honor of hosting you soon again and welcome back! Best regards, Isabelle Guest Service Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tom A wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Breakfast situation was chaotic, check in and check out was chaotic, elevators to crowded so prepare for stair marathon, room worn out, beds horrible, dust allergies kicked in, bad ventilation, good food and reasonable proximity to city center.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Amaranten, Owner at Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Responded Aug 26, 2022
Hi, Thanks for your rating, it is appreciated. Glad to hear you had a good stay with us and thank you as well for letting us know what we can do to make us even better in the future. I hope we have the honor of hosting you soon again and welcome back! Best regards, Isabelle Guest Service Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$95 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
1st hotel amaranten, first hotel stockholm
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
First Hotel Amaranten
LOCATION
SwedenStockholm CountyStockholmKungsholmen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
461
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Which popular attractions are close to Clarion Hotel Amaranten?
Nearby attractions include Choco Chocolate (0.10 miles), Kungsholmens Kyrka (0.2 miles), and Litet lejon (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Clarion Hotel Amaranten?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Clarion Hotel Amaranten?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Clarion Hotel Amaranten?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Clarion Hotel Amaranten?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Clarion Hotel Amaranten?
Conveniently located restaurants include MoonCake Restaurang, Tabbouli, and Restaurang Agnes.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Clarion Hotel Amaranten?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Is Clarion Hotel Amaranten located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Stockholm.
Are any cleaning services offered at Clarion Hotel Amaranten?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Clarion Hotel Amaranten offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Clarion Hotel Amaranten?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Swedish.