We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Vasagatan 38, Stockholm 111 20 Sweden
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!10% off room rate
Booking.com
$200
View deal
Expedia.com
$200
View deal
Snaptravel
$178
View deal
Hotels.com
Priceline
Travelocity$200
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (513)
360
Panoramas (11)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 10/04/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from ProfilHotels Central
Updated 10/04/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#40 of 161 hotels in Stockholm
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.4
Value
4.2
Right in the city center of Gothenburg, with the Opera House, Ullevi, Scandinavium and the Swedish Exhibition & Congress Centre within easy walking distance, you will find the venerable ProfilHotels Opera, with both Modern and Classic touches. Enjoy our pleasant Wellness Area. In the immediate vicinity are also the popular mall Nordstan, Gothenburg Central Station and Drottningtorget, a real hub of the city’s public transport. A generous top-class breakfast buffet is served every morning and a nice lunch and delicious dinner can be ordered at the lovely restaurant Angelini - Italian-American cuisine. Meet up with friends or travel companions at Oak Bar for a drink before dinner or a night on the town.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Parking garage
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Snack bar
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Swedish
Hotel links
Special Price:10% off room rate

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
323Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
55Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1263Reviews28Q+A69Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 548
  • 529
  • 137
  • 28
  • 21
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Laura R wrote a review Aug 9
Guttenberg, New Jersey204 contributions129 helpful votes
This hotel is centrally located and easy access to the subway. The breakfast was excellent, with Swedish and continental foods, hot and cold. The rooms have no closet, no drawers, and are very sparse. The beds are comfortable. There is no A/C and the windows do not have screens. There were limited toiletries. There were many outlets. Wifi worked well.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: No room has A/C
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Central Hotel, General Manager at ProfilHotels Central
Responded 3 days ago
hello! We are happy that you stayed with us and grateful that you choose to share your experience with us. We are thankful that you have brought many informations to our attention, we always aim to improve our service. I would like to wish you a warm welcome back to us. Front Desk
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mikko P wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
The one person room was very nice and clean although it wasn't a manor as from the size which didn't bother me. There was not an air conditioning appliance but the weather wasn't too hot (~22 C at daytime) so there wasn't a need for it. There was not a power plug next to the bed so you might need a 2 m long charger cord for charging the phone at the bed. Breakfast was nice and WiFi worked well. Baggage safe keeping before check-in and after check-out was nice. The garbage truck woke me once at the morning but I guess that there isn't much how to influence on it, and it all depends from which part of the hotel you get the room. But still I would recommend this hotel. The walking distance from/to the bus station was very short so the travelling to the airport bus (Flygbussarna) was fast. If you just sleep and wash up yourself at the room during the stay then this is a great choice.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ann Lindgren, Annan at ProfilHotels Central
Responded 2 weeks ago
We are happy that you stayed with us and grateful that you choose to share your experience with us. We always use our guests feedback to improve moving forward, we appreciate that you took the time to write. Warmest regards from all of us at the hotel, hope that we will see you soon again. Best regards Ann Lindgren
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carlo S wrote a review Jul 2022
Brussels, Belgium198 contributions67 helpful votes
+1
The (single) rooms are very small, furnished more than spartanly: only outside hangers (no cupboard or wardrobe), no fridge, no bedside table, no drawers, and nothing lockable. The mattress is so thin that it proved to be very uncomfortable for most of the members of the group of people I was travelling with. There is no air conditioning (in a 4 stars' hotel ????) , so the only way to ventilate the room when it's hot is to open the window. But the windows open onto an inner courtyard where the rubbish bins are located (see photo), so the stench accompanies you throughout the night along with the noise when the bottles are being thrown away. Cleanliness does not seem to be one of the strong points: already the entrance is filthy and some of the furniture is clearly stained (see photos) Last but not least, breakfast. There is an espresso machine but, who knows why, it is not possible to have a cup of it at breakfast. The coffee that is offered is simply undrinkable. As for the food, nothing to say about eggs and omelettes, but the fruit assortment (see photo) is inadequate to say the least. Taking into due consideration that the hotel is very well situated (the central station is only a few minutes walk away), in my humble opinion two stars are what this hotel deserves.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Probably the only solution is to go to another hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Central Hotel, General Manager at ProfilHotels Central
Responded 3 days ago
dear Carlo, We always aim to continue to improve our service. We really appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. Our apologies that we didn't meet your expectations this time. We hope that you will come back to us so that we can give you a better experience next time. Front Desk
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Barbara R wrote a review Jun 2022
Chicago, Illinois15 contributions
I chose this hotel for its contemporary decor, rooms looked colorful. It all stops there. As a former trainer of customer service in the hospitality industry I know that management looks poorly upon 3rd party reservations. If the hotel is near full the 3rd party res will get walked, get the least attractive rooms and rooms lacking amenities. ProfilHotel Central followed this practice by the book. We were given a room on the top floor, no air-conditioning. It was a very warm day. No air circulation at all. Then, the WiFi acted up. The rep at the desk, so new he NEVER should have been left on his own, could not leave the desk. I had to run down to.get help connecting on my phone. THEN, the TV did not have a cord to plug into the outlet. The rep was unable to help. He was the only one at the hotel. The emergency number he had was for fire and other such stuff. A guest's problem is not considered an emergency. In addition, there was a ceiling fixture missing . Was it a light, maybe a fan which could have kept us comfortable? I cannot blame the employee for this situation. The poor abilities of a general manager supposedly on vacation and her management team are to blame. I spent 2 hrs on the phone with Hotels.com trying to get a refund and another hotel fir the second night I was suppose to stay the Central. Hotels.com did a great job in helping me and the only reason this hotel received a star from me at all was that the desk agent was sincerely sorry fir all that happened. Do not stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
David S wrote a review Jun 2022
Brooklyn, New York192 contributions139 helpful votes
Arrived at the hotel and where told our rooms were not ready, no problem, went out for some tea. When we returned to the hotel an hour later we where advised fro the the VERY FIRST TIME that the elevator was not working and our room was on the third floor. Because we are both 80 and my wife a problem with stairs we had made suer the hotel had an elevator. While the receptionist was pleasant she was totally unhelpful in finding us a new hotel....By the way the lobby was lovely.....
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ann Lindgren, Annan at ProfilHotels Central
Responded Jul 4, 2022
We appreciate your comments and thank you for your stay. We are so sorry about the broken elevator. I would like to wish you a warm welcome back to us. Best regards Ann Lindgren
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thatsp wrote a review Jun 2022
Saint-Cloud, France135 contributions26 helpful votes
The mattress was ok but could be better. The decorations are nice! The desk was well equipped and I liked the power charge in the cupboard. Too many guests for 1 elevator though - some people had to take the stairs
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ann Lindgren, Annan at ProfilHotels Central
Responded Jul 4, 2022
Thank you for your response regarding our hotel. We hope that we will get to welcome you back in the near future. Best regards Ann Lindgren
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
19explorer78 wrote a review Jun 2022
New York City, New York6 contributions4 helpful votes
Perfect property if you come for business or leisure. Next the train station that can connect with the Airport in 20 min, and cheaper than a Taxi. Location is great. Right in downtown for walk or shopping. Rooms comfortable and breakfast super
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ann Lindgren, Annan at ProfilHotels Central
Responded Jun 20, 2022
We sincerely appreciate when our guests take the time to review us. We are happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Our breakfast is something that we are immensely proud of, we are thrilled to hear that it was appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards Ann Lindgren Assistant Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Linnea H wrote a review Jun 2022
Pajala, Sweden2 contributions
I really enjoyed my stay at the hotel. I even miss the comfy bed and all the well thought out little details in the room. Just forbid smokers to smoke at the second floor outdoor courtyard and I'd have nothing to complain about. It was amazing! Superfriendly staff and I did not miss not having an elevator. Thank you.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ann Lindgren, Annan at ProfilHotels Central
Responded Jun 9, 2022
We are so happy that your stay with us was great, and that you took the time to write about it. We hope that you will choose our hotel for your next visit. Welcome back soon. Best regards Ann Lindgren Assistant Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mohsen K wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Hard to find the hotel- no clear sign outside. Small room, with no proper ventilation at all. Very bad air. Elevator broken Very small shower Very noisy. The staff vaccumn cleaned 11pm in the reception and the noise clearly was heard. The staff spoke to guests at all time and since the room windows was facing the reception, I was awaked all the time during the night.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ann Lindgren, Annan at ProfilHotels Central
Responded Jun 1, 2022
Thank you for your response regarding our hotel. We always aim to continue to improve our service. We really appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. Our apologies that we didnt meet your expectations this time. We hope that you will give us another chance, welcome back. Best regards Ann Lindgren Assistant Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SINE Q wrote a review May 2022
3 contributions
Everything was just perfect. The central station of buses, metro and trains is just next to the hotel, you can easily walk to the old town and the city hall. It is close to shops, super markets and restaurants . It was clean and the staff was very kind.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ann Lindgren, Annan at ProfilHotels Central
Responded May 19, 2022
We are so happy that your stay with us was great, and that you took the time to write about it. We are very proud of our great staff at the hotel. Thank you for mentioning them, I will make sure that they get to read your comment. We hope that we will see you again soon. Mvh Ann Lindgren Assistant Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$109 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
central hotel stockholm
LOCATION
SwedenStockholm CountyStockholmNorrmalm
NUMBER OF ROOMS
110
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about ProfilHotels Central
Which popular attractions are close to ProfilHotels Central?
Nearby attractions include Escape Stories (0.1 miles), Fox in a Box Stockholm (0.3 miles), and ICEBAR Stockholm (0.07 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at ProfilHotels Central?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at ProfilHotels Central?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at ProfilHotels Central?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to ProfilHotels Central?
Conveniently located restaurants include Frantzén, Bistro Bestick, and Weidao.
Is ProfilHotels Central located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Stockholm.
Are any cleaning services offered at ProfilHotels Central?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at ProfilHotels Central?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Swedish.
Are there any historical sites close to ProfilHotels Central?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Kungliga Djurgården (2.0 miles), Skogskyrkogården (4.0 miles), and Storkyrkan (0.7 miles).