We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

First Hotel Reisen

Save
Share
Skeppsbron 12, Stockholm 11130 Sweden
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$135
View Deal
Free cancellation until 10/31/20
Expedia.com
$117
View Deal
Free cancellation until 10/31/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
Snaptravel
$154
$96
View Deal
SAVE $58
Official Hotel$134
Agoda.com$126
Trip.com$154
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (606)
Room & Suite (277)
Dining (65)

About

#77 of 161 hotels in Stockholm
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
First Hotel Reisen is a top class hotel in central Stockholm. The hotel has a proud history, views of the water and Old Town, and is just a stone’s throw from the Royal Palace. Its 17th century origins remain visible, although the hotel has been carefully refurbished and modernised. Stay in one of 140 wonderful rooms and suites - with either views of the water and Skeppsholmen or the Old Town. Ferries to Djurgården, Kungsträdgården and the shops and entertainment around Stureplan and Biblioteksgatan are all within a 10-minute walk. A sauna with cold plunge pool, fitness room and huge breakfast in a peaceful atmosphere are all included when you stay here. If you arrive by car, we can take care of parking and retrieving your car if you like. We are renovating our rooms and upgrading the hotel to one of Stockholm's finest accommodations. The renovation will be completed in February 2020. We hope for your understanding that there periodically may be some noise during the day, in some parts of the hotel.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Boating
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Wine / champagne
Fax / photocopying
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Electric kettle
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Marina View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Italian, Swedish

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
203Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
74Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1,682Reviews21Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 534
  • 698
  • 305
  • 94
  • 51
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Claudio wrote a review Sep 7
12 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
I stayed in this hotel 4 nights, end of August 2020. Paid in full on arrival unfortunately. The rooms are OK. The rest is a nightmare. Heavy refurbishment is ongoing, you enter a reception with open ceiling and wires hanging, covered in dust. Receptionist and front desk staff are obliged to work in that hell, and breathe dusty air and ear the work’s noises throughout their shift. Upon arrival to cope with initial deception, they offered to upgrade to a seaview room (one of the two I booked). Thank you Sara. The next morning we find out that cleaning in the rooms is not foreseen, you have to request it and they might do it if and when cleaning staff would come to this hotel. Breakfast is prepared in a kitchen without a door, in the middle of the refurbishment works. It seemed that health and safety regulations could be dubiously applied. Breakfast - always identical day after day - is in a paper bag and you should eat it in your room, a room that will NOT be cleaned of crumbles nor cleared of garbage. If you complain to the Hotel manager as I did (via email, as he does not show up to the hotel), he will laugh to your face. No apologies for the hotels lack of services. No telephone nor fridge in the rooms. How on earth did they manage to obtain four stars? Regarding Covid 19: they will claim it is the reason for reduced services. Not true. They used the lesser business period of the pandemic to run their heavy refurbishment. Probably they should have closed instead as several other First Hotels have closed in Sweden. The announced strengthened cleaning routines do not happen. The lift panel is extremely dirty. Hand sanitizer is only available in a small dispenser at the reception desk, and nowhere else on the hotel’s 7 stores. My suggestion to anybody still on time is to find an alternative. You’ll definitely loose on position and the great sea view, but Stockholm's public transport is very good and you will get bang for the buck instead of being hosted in a work zone, still paying the price of an hotel, and sustain with your money revenue for an unprofessional hotel manager.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Sea view is worth the overprice
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Climber653289 wrote a review Jul 2020
Stockbridge, United Kingdom33 contributions2 helpful votes
I would strongly advise you not to book this hotel for a stay in the next few months. Pros: Great bathroom in the deluxe suite and location in the old town. Cons: Roaring building works starting early in the morning, loads of light coming into the room from around 4am because of poor curtains, no bar or restaurant service at all (Covid), breakfast in a bag collected at reception, no allowance for dietary requirements - all ham and cheese sandwiches, no minibar or water in room whatsoever. The whole hotel is a giant building site right now - we weren’t even sure we were at a hotel initially. My husband and I had our first night away and alone for months and decided to stay here. I write this review whilst suffering a lack of sleep, feeling irritated because I’m not relaxed or rested. Not exactly how you want to feel leaving a hotel. Do not book this hotel until their renovations are complete - they should absolutely be closed during building works that are this disruptive to their guests. Most hotels would be “closed for renovations” with what’s happening here. When our taxi pulled up to the hotel, my husband and I looked at each other in horror. (We weren’t the only guests with this look on our faces) A dirty, rundown building with a massive green bin in front of it. It only got worse when we got inside. Dimly lit, quite dark reception area along with a completely exposed ceiling where they are renovating - it is literally a reception bang in the middle of a building site. I promise you, it’s disappointing to walk into. We have later discovered that apart from the rooms, this is literally a building site right now. Imagine going to stay in a room surrounded by building works and nothing else. No bar, no restaurant etc. Nevertheless, we decided to give it a chance as we didn’t know half what we do now. The room was non refundable and we were hoping the deluxe suite with sauna we had booked was a redeeming feature. The room itself is.. meh. It’s big but you don’t walk in and think anything else but meh. It’s not pretty or nicely decorated. But the bathroom is lovely - and the sauna is very nice to use. That’s where my compliments for our stay end. There is no restaurant or bar service whatsoever (due to Covid, that’s understandable but coupled with everything else, it’s just made the whole experience abysmal.) No minibar or water in room. At all. So good luck if you’re thirsty :( But what really ruined this entire stay was our lack of sleep. We are leaving the hotel exhausted because we haven’t had rest. You can hear road noise from the room which doesn’t exactly lull you into a gentle slumber. Because of the poor curtains in the room (214) which have a massive gap that can’t be shut - from around 4am onwards, the room was flooded with light. Then, to top off - at 7.45am began loud, industrial screeching and drilling within metres of the room outside (renovations on the hotel.) Nope, nope, nope. Please don’t book here until atleast a few months time. We had a terrible stay. You’ll see from my other reviews I am fair and honest. This might sound like a slating review but it is entirely deserved.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Matt M wrote a review Jul 2020
Sugarcreek31 contributions18 helpful votes
I was scheduled to visit this Hotel from July 10-July 12. However, due to the fact that I was from the US and Sweden is in the EU, I am unable to Enter Sweden and my flight was cancelled. I called Expedia to change the date and Expedia was unable to contact them. I called them myself, an it was just like Expedia said—a machine answers the phone, puts you on hold, and then hangs up. I finally gave up and cancelled the reservation, and they were able to promptly email me and tell me there would be no refund. Every other Hotel on this trip has been wonderful, but this one won’t even answer the phone.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Ananddo wrote a review Jun 2020
2 contributions
Excellent hotel, excellent location. It is in the heart of Stockholm, in Old Town, and close to many of the sights, restaurants, the sea, boat trips etc. My room was newly renovated, superfresh bathroom and room.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Victor H wrote a review Apr 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
First of all, when we came to check in, we were told our room (suite with sauna) had been double-booked. We were offered an alternative with "huge discount" and we took it. The room lacked mini-bar and was way smaller than we expected. The discount, when I checked, were somewhere around 10-12%, maybe some of you think that's huge - I don't. 4-6 days before our stay I contacted the hotel because the breakfast buffe were cancelled due to the Covid19 pandemic. The hotel were to serve breakfast in pre-made bags. I contacted the hotel because one of us is gluten intolerant and the other is vegan. I wanted to make sure they had time to fix something for us. The breakfast we got was 2 oranges, 2 apples and an egg. The staff was clearly embarrased, laughed abit and said something like "that's all we got" We checked out after one night. We won't return and wouldn't ever recommend anyone to stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Tomas Tegfors, Hotelldirektör at First Hotel Reisen
Responded Apr 14, 2020
My sincere apologies for your experience with us. Clearly we did not manage to be at our usual best during your stay. I will make sure that our breakfast routine will have offers for intolerant persons as well. However during times as these when we have as low as 2% occupancy and guests do not want to sit in the breakfast area there are simple not the possibilities to have any larger breakfast alternatives. You are more than welcome to stay with us in the future when the world is back to normality again. Best Regards, Tomas/General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$130 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
1st hotel reisen, first hotel stockholm
LOCATION
SwedenStockholm CountyStockholmGamla Stan & Riddarholmen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
144
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about First Hotel Reisen
Which popular attractions are close to First Hotel Reisen?
Nearby attractions include Stockholm Old Town (0.2 miles), 100 Point Challenge Stockholm (0.1 miles), and Stockholm Pub Crawl (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at First Hotel Reisen?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at First Hotel Reisen?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at First Hotel Reisen?
Yes, paid private parking nearby, paid public parking nearby, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to First Hotel Reisen?
Conveniently located restaurants include Stockholms Gastabud, Brinken, and Corvina.
Are there opportunities to exercise at First Hotel Reisen?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center and a sauna during their stay.
Is First Hotel Reisen located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Stockholm.
Are any cleaning services offered at First Hotel Reisen?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does First Hotel Reisen offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at First Hotel Reisen?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Italian, and Swedish.
Are there any historical sites close to First Hotel Reisen?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Kungliga Djurgården (1.3 miles), Skogskyrkogården (3.3 miles), and Storkyrkan (0.2 miles).