We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Strandvagen 7C, Stockholm 114 56 Sweden
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$276
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/07/22
Preferred Hotels
Agoda.com
Only 1 left at
$226
View deal
Expedia.com$275
Hotels.com$275
Priceline$276
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (555)
360
Panoramas (12)
Room & Suite (369)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
  • Contactless check-out
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 09/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Diplomat
Updated 09/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#13 of 160 hotels in Stockholm
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.5
Value
4.1
Travelers' Choice
Stylish and elegant. Hotel Diplomat is a five star luxury hotel, located on Strandvägen in the city center of Stockholm. Perfectly positioned to explore the green scenery of Djurgården, Karlaplan and the vibrant Stureplan. The unique Art Nouveau palace with stunning views over Nybroviken and Stockholm’s waterfront offers a luxurious hotel experience.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Parking garage
Wifi
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
VIP room facilities
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Harbor View
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, German, Italian and 2 more

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
141Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
30Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
2111Reviews18Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,306
  • 579
  • 146
  • 53
  • 28
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Mike Strobel wrote a review Yesterday
4 contributions
The Diplomat is our new favourite urban hotel. The building itself is pure charm, including spiral stairs, quirky art and a quaint old lift straight out of Agatha Christie. The staff are a) all very young and b) all remarkably friendly, informed and accommodating. The location is ideal — close to bike rentals, boat tours, restaurants, museums, shopping, Old Town, the central station and, naturally, an IKEA. We stayed a week at the Diplomat, while in Sweden partly for work, partly as vacation. Our room was crisply clean, classic and comfortable and included a power adaptor. The hotel restaurant is first rate, including an excellent included breakfast, and there's a fine cafe next door. Most important of all, my wife really loved the Diplomat, and she's quite picky. You know how some hotels just have a great warm, easy vibe? This is one of them.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
hyltinge2016 wrote a review Sep 21
Island of Malta, Malta7 contributions1 helpful vote
Best of the best of service in a hotel in Stockolm and a Place with the best of location in city. You should stay in Hotel Diplomat. The view with the boats in Nybroviken are beautiful and if you have time? Try to catch a boat to see the Archipelago.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amanda Ottosson, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Diplomat
Responded 1 week ago
Dear hyltinge2016, Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback from your stay with us at Hotel Diplomat. Your feedback is very important to us, and I am delighted to read you have had an enjoyable stay. I hope we get the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Stockholm. Kind regards, Amanda Ottosson Guest Relations & Special Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
travel6768 wrote a review Aug 2022
United States62 contributions48 helpful votes
We arrived at hotel and no one was available to assist with luggage. Not a huge problem. We checked and were given our 2 rooms - both with stairs. My daughter has a disability and is not able to walk up and down stairs. After going to room, we had to go back to reception to explain this and were given another room without an issue. The elevator is charming, but difficult. I often took the stairs, but my daughter had to wait sometimes 10-15 minutes to ride as it was always full (meaning 3-4 people). We arranged a private tour and there was miscommunication - a tour guide showed up without a car. The tour guide was wonderful and we ended up using taxi service instead of a private car. The breakfast was excellent and the cocktails in the evening were nice as well. Staff we encountered were friendly. Location is fabulous and the dinner recommendations were great. I would probably give a 4 1/2 stars if I could!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Amanda Ottosson, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Diplomat
Responded Aug 19, 2022
Dear Travel6768, I would like to thank you for sharing your valuable feedback from your stay with us at Hotel Diplomat. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, however, I am sorry some aspects of your experience did not live up to the expectations. Your feedback is important to us and I will make sure to forward this to the maintenance and the management team who will investigate possible improvements regarding the accessibility around the hotel. We will also look over the staffing hours of our porters. I hope we get the pleasure of welcoming you back to us at Hotel Diplomat soon. Kind regards, Amanda Ottosson Guest Relations & Special Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Deiv S wrote a review Aug 2022
helsinki153 contributions125 helpful votes
Had lunch today in the terrace the food was outstanding but service byAmir most arrogant! My wife was facing him and asked by waving hands for the wine list at least three times and the same with the bill. Woman? Every time he was busy clearing tables in an rather empty restaurant When we came he patronized us and said he would take good care of us! A five star hotel cannot have service like that. The food was outstanding but service did not match the food
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Amanda Ottosson, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Diplomat
Responded Aug 12, 2022
Dear DeivS, I would like to thank you for sharing your feedback from your visit to our restaurant at Hotel Diplomat. I am pleased that you enjoyed our food in the restaurant, however, I am disappointed to read that the service did not meet your rightfully high expectations, I would greatly appreciate getting in contact with you to hear more about your experience, and I can be reached by email at guest.relations@diplomathotel.com Wishing you a great weekend! Kindest regards, Amanda Ottosson Guest Relations & Special Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Seaview5 wrote a review Aug 2022
841 contributions222 helpful votes
This spacious Art Deco hotel was reminiscent of days gone by, with features such as the ornate lift, but with a modern restaurant, terrace, bar and reception which all flowed seamlessly together. The staff could not have been more helpful. We were shown to a luxurious sea facing room which, unfortunately, was not suitable for us because the steps between bedroom and bathroom had no hand rail and my dodgy knees made it impossible to access the shower over the bath. We were moved to a smaller but more suitable room, the only one available, without steps but again with a shower over the bath. The following morning a large sea-facing room with no steps and a large walk in shower became available. Our luggage was moved to the new room whilst we were out. Full marks to the hotel for persevering to solve our problem. The location was perfect and we would love to stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Amanda Ottosson, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Diplomat
Responded Aug 7, 2022
Dear Seaview5, I would like to thank you for your lovely review. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Allow me to be your point of contact for any future stay with us so we can tailor your visit accordingly. I can be reached at guest.relations@diplomathotel.com I will share your kind words with the team who I am sure will be very happy to hear them. And I do hope we get the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Diplomat soon. Kind regards Amanda Ottosson Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
joserra wrote a review Aug 2022
Mexico City, Mexico4 contributions
Excellent hotel in a very nice spot and walking distance from many city’s attractions as Vasa Museum. Staff was remarkably friendly and helpful at all times. I stayed for two nights with my family… rooms were very spacious and offering great amenities. Breakfast was included in the rate and was fantastic, served in a very cozy and nice place with a great view. Definitely a place to come back soon!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amanda Ottosson, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Diplomat
Responded Aug 3, 2022
Good afternoon, I would like to thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review from your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us in Stockholm. I will make sure to share your feedback with the team, who I am sure will be very happy. I do hope we get the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Diplomat in the near future. Kind regards, Amanda Ottosson Guest Relations & Special Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
EvaGustava wrote a review Jul 2022
Helsinki, Finland70 contributions58 helpful votes
Sometimes it is all about the first impression. This time it failed. Have used the hotel for business trips and been happy with my stays. Now I came for a last minute mini vacay and really just wanted to relax. Checked in ok but was extremely thirsty and hungry. So I wanted something quick and small before I run shopping. There was a ’wait to be seated’ sign but no one came. Walked in and tried to get some attention. Waiter listened non smiling. Said I’d love to have some snack and a drink. The face still non smiling. Did not give me a table, just a bar menu with basically nuts and olives in it. Asked for some a bit larger options and again instead of any friendlyness he just arrogantly responded I had specifically asked for a snack but he can search a restaurant menu for me. He could have just let me sit down somewhere and suggest some light food. Or the hotel’s cafeteria ”Butik” that I afterwards noticed would have offered a toast skagen for example. I was tired and still hungry and still thirsty. Was so pissed off that did not leave waiting for the waiter to find his menu. Went to another place instead. With a big dissapointment and frustration of how this hotel experience started. The hotel interior is nicely old fashioned which I like. The elevator sometimes does not work if someone has left it’s door open, but it’s good to use stairs. The beds are comfortable and pillow selection good. Many rooms have balconies. In my room the curtains were broken so I could not dim the room for the night. The ceiling lamp was not working well. It blinked if dimmed. At the breakfast service was good and selection was ok.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Amanda Ottosson, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Diplomat
Responded Jul 20, 2022
Dear Ms Gustava, I would like to thank you for sharing your feedback from your stay here at Hotel Diplomat. I am disappointed to read that the experience did not meet your rightfully high expectations, and I would like to take this opportunity to apologize. I have brought your feedback forward to our management team to ensure that we investigate what happened during your stay. Your feedback is very important to us and I would greatly appreciate to get in contact with you to hear more about your experience, and I can be reached by email at amanda.ottosson@diplomathotel.com I hope to hear from you and that we get the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future for another chance of delivering the service that is expected. Kindest regards, Amanda Ottosson Guest Relations & Special Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Barb wrote a review Jul 2022
Orange County, California66 contributions59 helpful votes
We stayed here for three nights prior to our cruise. The hotel is beautiful and retains the historical charm, but still has modern amenities. Wifi was fast, the bathroom beautiful, and even though it was a warm day and no aircon, the room stayed pleasant and the windows opened. Breakfast was wonderful and staff friendly. Quiet at night. Location can't be beat. Definitely recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Amanda Ottosson, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Diplomat
Responded Jul 15, 2022
Dear Redoctober30, I would like to thank you for sharing your feedback from your stay with us at Hotel Diplomat. I am delighted to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us. I will make sure to share your feedback with our team, who I am certain will feel encouraged by your remarks. I hope we get the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Best regards, Amanda Ottosson Guest Relations & Special Services Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Suzan B wrote a review Jul 2022
Julianadorp, The Netherlands183 contributions95 helpful votes
Beautiful hotel and great location. The hotel is in walking distance from most great sights and has a beautiful view of the harbour. The room was very comfortable, modern with a bit of the old grandeur and clean. The food and breakfast were nice, but we encountered that we were not able to have dinner there although there ware plentyof seats open, they were out off certain foods and drinks, you need to get your drinks from the bar yourself and the staff could have been more friendly. Maybe they were understaffed due to it being bank holidays. But it's not as you expect from a beautiful and high standard hotel. But overall a great hotel with beautiful historic grandeur on a top location.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: We loved that out room had harbour view and a balcony. The view is amazing and because of the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Albin Ydmark Buhre, Other at Hotel Diplomat
Responded Jul 5, 2022
Dear Suzan B, Thank you for sharing your comments after staying with us here at Hotel Diplomat. I am happy to hear you had a nice time whilst with us, and I will take with me your comments regarding the service to the relevant managers. I hope to get an opportunity to welcome you back with us in the future. Kind regards, Albin Ydmark Buhre Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carolineray wrote a review Jun 2022
London41 contributions40 helpful votes
We stayed as a group but I don’t think I saw a single smile from any member of staff for a whole week, except from Anya in the breakfast room. Room small and no turndown service, despite advertising, forgetful or haphazard cleaning of bathroom, even when specially requested, sheets were left dirty for three days with no explanatory note of any kind. No coffee machine even when other members of the group in identical rooms had been provided with one, reception desk poorly manned and often no-one available. All this is unforgivable in a hotel which purports to be of the highest standard Location is good, food acceptable, but service at all times (restaurant and reception) was perfunctory, not personal and not friendly. Food tables in the library left uncleared for over an hour and then only done partially.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Albin Ydmark Buhre, Other at Hotel Diplomat
Responded Jun 20, 2022
Dear Carolineray, Thank you for sharing your experience with us after staying here at Hotel Diplomat. I am terribly sorry to see that you did not get the best experience during your stay, and I will take your comments with me for future training purposes. I hope to get an opportunity to welcome you back with us in the future. Kind regards, Albin Ydmark Buhre Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$272 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
diplomat hotel stockholm
LOCATION
SwedenStockholm CountyStockholmÖstermalm
NUMBER OF ROOMS
130
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Diplomat
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Diplomat?
Nearby attractions include Army Museum (0.2 miles), Hallwyl Museum (0.2 miles), and Strandvagen (0.06 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Diplomat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Diplomat?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Diplomat?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Diplomat?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Diplomat?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gastrologik, Glashuset, and Wedholms Fisk.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Diplomat?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center and a sauna during their stay.
Does Hotel Diplomat have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Diplomat offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel Diplomat located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Stockholm.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Diplomat?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Diplomat?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.