We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Castanea Old Town Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Castanea Old Town Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

199 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 143: English reviews
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hostel was very affordable, but put us in the best position in Stockholm to see everything. The lady at the desk was very helpful in working with our schedule to get us checked in and showing us how to navigate the city. We stayed for a week, and if I went back to Stockholm I would most definitely stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank colleencmaggard
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I love to stay in this place. Very peaceful, quite and very friendly staff. Even you can cook yourself ☺.superb Here in the city, things are quite expensive but on the south side, you will find the best and cheap place to eat and drink.

Helpful?
Thank Kaleem Ullah K
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very clean, well situated hostel. The staff is kind and offers great service, advice and guidance. Several lovely restaurants (between the touristy stuff) nearby as well as the ability to get anywhere easily by foot, bike or public transport. Definitly a good place to stay (Duely note it is still a Hostel)

Helpful?
Thank Diedje27
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed in Castanea for one night in a female dorm. I had quick and efficient communication with the hostel management from the time of my booking and was greeted by the friendly receptionist upon arrival. The hostel is decorated well and feels very comfortable. It is located in the centre of the old town, just around the corner from... More 

Helpful?
Thank KathrynML
Logrono, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016

Two friends and I spent two nights at Castanea, the first stop of our interrail trip. Everything at the hostel has been perfect. First and foremost, the location could not be better. Great facilities, a very good kitchen with everything you may need, and very kind and helpful personal. Moreover, the ambience was great. As for the price, given Stockholm,s... More 

Helpful?
Thank Álvaro M
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016

If it weren't for the shared bathrooms, this place could pass as a hotel. Lovely, clean, modern design, super helpful staff, shared kitchen space, great internet connectivity in shared spaces - would definitely stay again.

Helpful?
Thank CrosbyNash
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2016 via mobile

Great hostel, v clean, slept well in mixed dorm, liked it so much I returned after trip up north. Single room for a night- a bit noisy as next to showers, lounge so recommend dorms as best option, quieter.

Helpful?
Thank Barb721
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2016

Hostel is perfectly situated in the old town yet just off the beaten path to avoid the crowds. Short walk to the grocery store, top restaurants, and sites. Clean rooms, bathrooms, and showers. Pleasant staff. Good wifi. Quiet at night. Very small rooms. From this alone I would give it a 5/5 rating. One word of caution though: we met... More 

Helpful?
Thank dlittle15
Cecilia S, Ägare at Castanea Old Town Hostel, responded to this review

Good to know you were please about your stay here at Castanea! Yes, there was an unpleasent person staying in one of the dorm rooms when you were here and he was first moved to another room. Unfortunately he continued to harass other guests and was evicted twice. If we know beforehand, we would of course not let him in... More 

brisbane
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2016 via mobile

This hostel was great, would definitely stay here again. The staff were friendly and welcoming. Liked having a kitchen to use. Plenty of bathrooms and showers which were clean and working! Great location right in the centre of old town, walking distance to everything.

Helpful?
Thank oneeggtravels
Cecilia S, Ägare at Castanea Old Town Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your nice words about Castanea and our staff! Welcome back whenever you are in Stockholm! More 

Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016

Myself and 4 friends stayed here for 6 nights before running in the Stockholm Marathon. I stayed in a 2 bed room with my sister and our other friends stayed in the dormitory. Regardless what kind of room we stayed, it was very clean and quiet with easy access to the bathrooms/showers. The showers were hot and the wifi worked... More 

Helpful?
Thank mprewitt12
Cecilia S, Ägare at Castanea Old Town Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your awesome review of Castanea! We also think the mixe of different kind of guests are perfect. It makes a good atmosphere. Hope you come back and visit us again (next Stockholm Marathon in June 2017?)! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

93 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#6 of 161 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 stars 462 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
First Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Reisen
#51 of 161 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 stars 1,053 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Scandic Gamla Stan
Scandic Gamla Stan
#55 of 161 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 stars 565 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Lady Hamilton Hotel
#25 of 161 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 stars 388 reviews
Motel L
#7 of 161 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 stars 1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen

Neighborhood Profile
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Gamla Stan is Stockholm’s historic old town and home to the Swedish Royal Palace. It’s the most central island of Stockholm and accompanied by the small island of Riddarholmen, mainly known for its famous Riddarholm Church. Gamla Stan tends to be a bit touristy at times but is definitely worth visiting: take a stroll past the well-preserved buildings and through the small (and also Sweden’s narrowest) alleys, which will make you feel like you’ve travelled back in time. This neighborhood offers a great combination of historical buildings and traditional Swedish restaurants.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Castanea is a small cosy hostel. Located in the Old Town - the very center of Stockholm. Here you stay in private room or dormitory. All rooms have big windows, some with the view of the chestnut three outside. Guest kitchen for your own cooking. Free wireless internet. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castanea Old Town Hostel

Address: 1 Kindstugatan | Old Town, Stockholm 111 31, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Price Range: $30 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Castanea Old Town Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay