We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

First Hotel JA

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
First Hotel JA
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

199 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 45: English reviews
Level Contributor
135 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Even if the hotel is old but I liked the style. The rooms are big and nice. It was little cold the first night but they fixed quickly once I notified them. I also liked the breakfast especially the ginger lemon honey shots in the morning. The other good thing about the hotel is that you have a lot of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roger C
Vught, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2016

Small double bed with one matrass (poor quality). Nearby the centre of Karlskrona. Difficult to reach by car. Compared with other hotels we visit in Sweden is this the only hotel where we not come back the next time.

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank erikusj
Anette S, Hotelldirektör at First Hotel JA, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. It´s very sad you feel like this about our hotel. I wish I had been able to help you, perhaps with another room, when still in hotel. I really hope you had a nice stay in Sweden, even though you were not satisfied with us. Kind Regards, Anette More 

Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2016

Nice place on short notice. Good location for exploring Karlskrona, Parking cost extra and was convenient once we found out that it was in the basement and the entry was from behind the hotel, not at the front door.

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank john g
Anette S, Hotelldirektör at First Hotel JA, responded to this review

Thank you for nice feedback. Well, parking is not always easy when you come to a new town. Still, I think it´s very convenient with garage just under our hotel. I hope you had a nice stay. Wecome back! More 

Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2016

Quite room and good location. Breakfast room at the reception was very crowded. Pretty expansiv for what you got. Rooms was pretty small, but we really enjoyed that it was quiet. Probably would not stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank orrigen
Anette S, Hotelldirektör at First Hotel JA, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that you would probably not stay here again.. We have very many guests coming back to us continuosly. As you say a very centrally located hotel,still very calm and quiet. I hope you change your mind so that I can welcome you back to us. More 

Somewhere on the Sea
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2016

I stayed for one night while on a business trip. I found the hotel's staff to be very welcoming, friendly, and helpful. The room was very clean and very comfortable. I slept like a log. I wished I could've slept in! Breakfast was good.

Helpful?
Thank Offshore2long
Anette S, Hotelldirektör at First Hotel JA, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice feedback. I will be glad to share this with my staff. We hope you come back soon. More 

Oskarshamn, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2016

You step inside and a nice staircase greats you. The staff immediately pays you attention. The rooms are clean and modern, including the bathroom. We asked for nice restaurants nearby and where very pleased with the recommendations. Great hotel!

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank strandalb
Anette S, Hotelldirektör at First Hotel JA, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice feedback concerning your stay at First Hotel Ja. Our staff is very helpful and serviceminded, as you noticed. I hope we see you soon again! More 

Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2016

Nice big room, decent shower, good breakfast, good location right in town. A little difficult to find and park but it is nice and central. Plenty of restaurants and bars within easy walking distance..

Helpful?
Thank NeilPike
Anette S, Hotelldirektör at First Hotel JA, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice feedback! Our centrally located hotel is actually not far from two different parks - just walking distance also. It´s a shame you missed it. I´m glad though that you enjoyed both location, the room and our breakfast. Welcome back to us at First Hotel Ja :) More 

Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2016

Very nice and clean hotel , in the center of Karlskrona.A little diffucult with parking , but at the main sqare there a lot lot of parking possibilities late afternoon.The hotel is situated opposite the sqare..Beware of the adress is in a street where you are not allowed to drive.

Helpful?
Thank Steen D
Anette S, Hotelldirektör at First Hotel JA, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice feedback. It pleases me that you liked your stay at First Hotel JA. But I hope you were told that we have parkingspace just under our hotel and that you - as a hotelguest - are actually allowed to drive on the street where we are situated, eventhough it´s a pedestrian street. We will also... More 

Lidingo, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2016

Very central, quiet, nicely decorated, friendly, great breakfast (with waffles!), baby cot supplied by friendly staff. Double room was a double bed plus a sofa bed. Shower was a bit hot and cold at 8am unfortunately.

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 747lauret
Anette S, Hotelldirektör at First Hotel JA, responded to this review

Dear 747lauret, I am glad that you found First Hotel JA so good, both in terms of location, room, breakfast and service from our staff. I hope we see you soon again. More 

Anderslov, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2016

This hotel was so nice, the breakfast was so good and the location was fantastic. I will definitely come back to experience more. The hotel was next to a mall which was good. The weather was sunny and the musical Snow White we were on was so good! An experience that we will carry with us in our hearts! Thank... More 

Helpful?
Thank kajsa a
Anette S, Hotelldirektör at First Hotel JA, responded to this review

Dear Kajsa, I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay at First Hotel JA. Yes, you should absolutely come back to visit us again. You know, Karlskrona was the sunniest city in Sweden 2015 with 2315 sunshine hours. I can´t promise you that but I can promise you will have a nice stay at First Hotel JA again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Karlskrona hotels
0.2 mi away
First Hotel Statt Karlskrona
0.4 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Carlscrona
0.2 mi away
Scandic Karlskrona
Scandic Karlskrona
#2 of 7 in Karlskrona
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aston Hotel
Aston Hotel
#6 of 7 in Karlskrona
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotell Conrad
Hotell Conrad
#4 of 7 in Karlskrona
113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotell Siesta
Hotell Siesta
#7 of 7 in Karlskrona
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about First Hotel JA

Address: 13 Borgmaestaregatan, Karlskrona 371 35, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Blekinge County > Karlskrona
Price Range: $72 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel JA 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your First Hotel JA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from First Hotel JA staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“ask if there is a room that is more modern and or with a window pointing outside. Not sure if they have it or not but worth a try!!”
 of 5 bubbles Tine181, Oct 31, 2015 | Read review
“Try to get an upper floor (away from the street). Not a very noise place - but anyhow!”
 of 5 bubbles ClaesT_12, Apr 28, 2015 | Read review
“404 is good, except for the window issue I wrote above”
 of 5 bubbles Maubett, Nov 20, 2013 | Read review
3 of 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay