We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scandic Ferrum

Traveler (210)
Room & Suite (81)
Dining (29)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to Scandic, a hotel chain with over 160 hotels in eight countries where you can make a conscious choice when you are travelling. All our hotels have their own personality and character but some things are always the same to make you feel at home. Organic breakfast, wifi and gym are always included at Scandic. Scandic Ferrum is located in central Kiruna, the northern most city in Sweden, 200 km north of the arctic circle. Our newly renovated hotel have 171 rooms, all furnished in Scandinavian style. We offer seven flexible meeting rooms for up to 135 persons. For larger events we cooperate with Kiruna Folkets Hus, a congress center with room for up to 400 participants connected to the hotel.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Banquet Room
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference Facilities
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Sauna
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS
619Reviews
2Q+A
54Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 96
  • 236
  • 189
  • 64
  • 34
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The hotel is the only larger hotel in town but they now only maintain what is really necessary as this hotel will be demolished and replaced by a completely new larger hotel at the new center of town around 3 km east of the present location. The new hotel opens at the end of 2021
Read more
Response from Tuula H, Manager at Scandic Ferrum
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi, this is correct, our new hotel will be moovininready late 2021. But until then we do everything possible to keep our grand Ferrum nice and cosy until then. Hope to see you soon again. Kind regards Tuula Harju, Hotel Manager
Read more
Very very poor and expensive hotel. Couldn't use the toilet because the sink sat on top of the toilet? which the receptonist seemed to be quite normal? The breakfast was not much better, thin juice, bad toppings, but it was faithfully varied.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Response from Tuula H, Manager at Scandic Ferrum
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi, thank you for your input. Our lovely hotel has her 50.th birthday this year and we do all we can to keep her nice and tidy while waiting for the new hotel to be built. How sad that you didn´t like the breakfast, we have a large variety with many items, hope to see you soon again. Kind regards Tuula Harju, Hotel Manager
Read more
Need upgrade in the cooking for lunch and diner that was relay bad and not worth the money. The beds are a bit hard and you like lie on top and not in the bed. The sauna and relax area and gym at the top floor is perfect.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Response from Tuula H, Manager at Scandic Ferrum
Responded 5 weeks ago
Hi, thanks for your review. how sad that you didn´t enjoy our food. The beds need to be the regular type so not too hard or not too soft. Hope your stay were enjoyable and we hope to see you soon again. Kind regards Tuula Harju, Hotel Manager
Read more
+1
After 3 nights in the Scandic in Narvik this hotel in Kiruna was quite a downgrade in looks and feel. The hotel is clearly dated but I can understand that renovation is a little pointless since the hotel will be broken down and moved anyways in the future. Many things in the
Read more
Response from Tuula H, Manager at Scandic Ferrum
Responded 5 weeks ago
Hi, thank you for your input. Our lovely hotel has her 50.th birthday this year and we do alll we can to keep her nice and tidy while waiting for the new hotel to be built. We really will miss the beatyful views but our new hotel will be much higher so the new views will be nice as well, hope to see you soon again. Kind regards Tuula Harju, Hotel Manager
Read more
We're here in a somewhat unusual period, we're supporting a principal in a tv series that's being shot here, and feel free to ask for what we want. We asked for vegan food, we asked for vegetarian food, and the staff went into the kitchen and emerged with good suitable hot
Read more
Response from Tuula H, Manager at Scandic Ferrum
Responded Mar 5, 2019
Hi, thank you so much for your kind words and high rating. We are so pleased when our guests enjoy their stay with us. Hope to see you soon again with us. Kind regards Tuula Harju, Hotel Manager
Read more
Previous
Hi, Nice to hear that you're coming to see us! The best way to get from Scandic Ferrum to the airport is with the airport shuttle, which departs just next to the hotel. Well in February you should bring your warmest clothes and boots.. There is definitely snow then and the temperature will probably be between -10 degrees C all the way down to approximately -35 degress C.. Best regards Therese
0 votes
Show all answers
"131, (and I assume other rooms like 231, 331, etc.) that are in the corner have very nice lighting."
"Only pay your bill in SKR or card."
"Try to get a room with a view of the spectaculöar iron ore mine"
"Room over looking road side"
"Upper floor rooms for great views."
PreviousNext
12345611
PRICE RANGE
$126 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Scandic Hotel Ferrum Kiruna
LOCATION
SwedenNorrbotten CountyKiruna
NUMBER OF ROOMS
171
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing