We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Raadhuspladsen 14, Copenhagen 1550 Denmark
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Package deal
Booking.com
$120
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$102
View deal
Travelocity
$114
View deal
Priceline$104
Hotels.com$102
Trip.com$125
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (891)
360
Panoramas (11)
Videos (3)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
Read more
Updated 05/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Square Copenhagen
Updated 05/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#36 of 135 hotels in Copenhagen
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.1
Service
3.9
Value
3.7
Travelers' Choice
About 6,000 kilometres from Copenhagen, you will find the world’s centre of bucket list attractions, diversity and culture craving tourists: New York. Here, you can experience live performances, art and neon flashing high-rise buildings on every street corner. We think that you deserve to feel that exact vibe at The Square. As the name reveals, we are located in the first row of the City Hall Square – a place where several thousands of people every day stroll and spurt past each other and the historical buildings, statues and vivid neon signs. Our location also makes The Square a meeting place for international and Danish guests who want to stay in the hub of Copenhagen. Guests who does not ‘only’ want a 4-star night’s sleep, but also enjoy sense impressions, pulse and surprises. Are you one of those guests? In any case, you are welcome to visit us and experience it all, both with open and closed eyes. As a guest at The Square, you can easily fill up your experience account. You see, you are in a walking distance from The King’s New Square, Tivoli Garden, cinemas, art galleries, a cornucopia of shopping temptations at Strøget. We look forward to see you!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
24-hour security
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Executive lounge access
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Soundproof rooms
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Radio
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Danish, German, Greek and 2 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Package deal

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
254Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
121Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
3585Reviews47Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 956
  • 1,529
  • 726
  • 249
  • 126
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
delgrandeg wrote a review Sep 15
1 contribution
The room was spacious, the beds were confortable and the service was efficient. We asked for two separate beds and we got them. The location of the hotel is very good, the hotel is located on the place of the city hall.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jens Wittendorff, General Manager at The Square Copenhagen
Responded 1 week ago
Dear delgrandeg Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back some other time. Best regards, Jens Wittendorff General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
camilla012 wrote a review Dec 2021
Selkirk, United Kingdom2 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Good central location. Knowing this is a busy area I asked for a quiet room and was given one, at the back. Very friendly and helpful staff (printed passenger locator form for me). Breakfast busy as this is a large hotel but the staff coped. Nice lobby with water available.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jens Wittendorff, Direktør at The Square Copenhagen
Responded Dec 14, 2021
Dear camilla012, Thank you for your feedback. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are always doing our best to give every guest the best service, so thank you for your kind words. We are looking forward to welcoming you again! Best regards Jens Wittendorff General Manager THE SQUARE
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steven C wrote a review Sep 13
Central Florida, Florida20 contributions28 helpful votes
On the plus side: Great location - what does this mean? 7-Eleven is right next door, 3 pubs a one minute walk away (only one serving food), 3 coffee shops also 1-2 minute walk away. McDonald’s and Burger King also one minute walk. Very clean rooms, very friendly front desk staff, very accommodating team. Did not try breakfast so can’t comment. On the negative side: Accommodations in the room are designed for a single person. Extremely small closet, small desk, no end tables, second person basically forced to live out of their suit case. Shower facilities leave a lot to be desired. VERY dangerous and slippery tub that you need to step into to take a shower. No rubber mat which was disappointing. Typical small European style room - no room to spread out and relax other than to sleep.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jens Wittendorff, General Manager at The Square Copenhagen
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear 797StevenC Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to know thet the room did not meet your expectations, however, we are plased to hear thet you enjoyed Copenhagen and was pleased with our staff, which is important for us. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back some other time. Best regards, Jens Wittendorff General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BusinessCapitalist wrote a review Sep 12
Raleigh, North Carolina1 contribution
Located right across from City Hall Square and adjacent to Tivoli's, the location is perfect for visiting Copenhagen. Easy to get in and out of city by car or train. Not a fan of their breakfast, recommend eating out.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jens Wittendorff, General Manager at The Square Copenhagen
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear BusinessCapitalist Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back some other time. Best regards, Jens Wittendorff General manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ruth B wrote a review Sep 11
Worthing, United Kingdom195 contributions102 helpful votes
A well located city centre hotel. Inside appearance is much better than external. A few pros and cons listed Pros: Great location if on foot or using trains. Close Tivoli Gardens. Plenty of nearby restaurants. Our standard room (107) was very quiet. Rooms well decorated, with lovely walk-in shower. Breakfast restaurant well finished with good selection of food. Cons Although air conditioned, the room was still very warm when turned to a cool temperature. Double bed had 2 single duvets and 2 very small, thin, square pillows. Cups in restaurant were pottery with no handles, as were the in-room ones. Very hard to hold without burning fingers and positively dangerous.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jens Wittendorff, General Manager at The Square Copenhagen
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear 501ruthb Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, even if you had some issues which are sorry to hear. However, we appreciate your comments as we always strive to improve, which feedback from our guests can help us do. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back some other time. Best regards, Jens Wittendorff General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sebastianboecker wrote a review Sep 9
1 contribution
The location of the Square is fantastic, just across Tivoli. And the hotel is very chic, nice interior. Unfortunately, there are also several severe issues: firstly, the bed is super soft, almost like a water need. No fun at all if you have any back issues. Second, in the morning the room started to stink awfully, they were crying bacon. I could not get rid of it, neither by opening the window nor using the air condition. Third, the breakfast area is too small. They ask you to reserve seats in advance and I did not even eat at the peak time. Nevertheless, there is simply not enough space, especially art the menu. Fourth, the breakfast is mostly taste free... The eggs are precooked, simmering for hours, cheese comes with a cool cutting mechanism but no taste, etc. I had much better breakfast in hostels. In full, I would not recommend it, despite the great location and stylic interior.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jens Wittendorff, General Manager at The Square Copenhagen
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear sebastianboecker Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to know that you had some issues and did not enjoy your stay with us. You are always welcome to come to the Front Desk during your stay if you have any problems, then our staff will do their utmost to try and solve it. Best regards, Jens Wittendorff General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AlChern wrote a review Sep 6
Melbourne, Australia155 contributions108 helpful votes
Pros: Hotel ideally located close to central station, metro stop and express bus to/from the airport. Close to tourist attractions, Tivoli park and shops Staff are friendly Good strong shower Cons: Smaller room but functional No kettle or fridge Bathroom could be cleaner Air conditioning does not work (centrally set to be too warm)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jens Wittendorff, General Manager at The Square Copenhagen
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear AlChern Thank you for your review. We are pleased to know that you had a anice stay with us, even if you had some issues which we are sorry to hear. However, you are always welcome to come to the Front Desk during your stay if you have any issues in the room, then our staff will do their utmost to solve it. It is a bit of a mystery to us about the fridge since all of our rooms contain a minibar. We will investigate this.. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back some other time. Best regards, Jens Wittendorff General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cphlover wrote a review Aug 2022
Vienna, Austria1 contribution
The location is very good, apart from that there is nothing there for you, although there was a cleaning lady in our room and made the beds and so on. You could smell that the bathroom was not cleaned. Our bathroom didn‘t get cleaned for the whole stay, especially the toilet. There was mold on the walls in the bathroom. The curtains were damaged. The room was very small over all, which was in a way ok because we didn‘t stay there during the day anyway. All the tables in the breakfast area were not cleaned and when we said we wanted the table to be cleaned we were advised to find another table instead of cleaning this one. The stuff is friendly but this doesn‘t help if there is so much else amiss.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jens Wittendorff, General Manager at The Square Copenhagen
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear cphlover Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to know that the hotel did not meet your expectations. It is regreatable that you were not pleased with the cleaning, as we always strive to meet the standards. However, if we somehow have failed, you are always welcome to come to the Front Desk during your stay if you have any issues, then our staff will do their utmost to try and solve it, to make sure you have the best stay possible. Best regards, Jens Wittendorff General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dreman16 wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
Great location. A block or two away from Tivoli Gardens. The Metro station is just a block a way as well. There were three of us in our group. The room was a little small with the fold out bed but otherwise everything worked out great.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jens Wittendorff, General Manager at The Square Copenhagen
Responded Aug 22, 2022
Dear dreman16 Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back some other time. Best regards, Jens Wittendorff General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LisaPeterborough wrote a review Aug 2022
Peterborough, United Kingdom15 contributions2 helpful votes
Highly recommend this hotel. Rooms were small but had all necessary amenities. Clean and bathroom was modern. Front desk staff very helpful. Breakfast good and not as busy as expected from other reviews. Definitely reduced choice on days we went later but most restaurant staff were extremely friendly and efficient. Housekeeping lets others down but hotel is still extremely clean. Would like cups/glasses changed each day. Never stayed in a hotel where this needs requesting. Only two sachets of tea so glad I brought my own and this was not replenished throughout our 6 day stay. Towels were replaced when dropped on floor but facecloths and shower mat were missing on occasion. Overall would highly recommend. I would suggest that managers do spot checks of housekeeping.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jens Wittendorff, General Manager at The Square Copenhagen
Responded Aug 18, 2022
Dear LisaPeterborough Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, even if you had some issues which we are sorry to hear. However, we appreciate your comments as we always strive to improve, which feedback from our guests can help us do. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back some other time. Best regards, Jens Wittendorff General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$120 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the square copenhagen hotel copenhagen, square hotel copenhagen, the square hotel copenhagen
LOCATION
DenmarkZealandCopenhagenIndre By (Inner City)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
268
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Square Copenhagen
Which popular attractions are close to The Square Copenhagen?
Nearby attractions include Tivoli Gardens (0.2 miles), SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Copenhagen (0.08 miles), and Taphouse (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Square Copenhagen?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at The Square Copenhagen?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Square Copenhagen?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at The Square Copenhagen?
Yes, paid private parking nearby, paid public parking nearby, and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Square Copenhagen?
Conveniently located restaurants include C'ho Fame, Restaurant Krebsegaarden, and Husmann's Vinstue.
Is The Square Copenhagen located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Copenhagen.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Square Copenhagen?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Square Copenhagen?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Square Copenhagen?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Greek, Swedish, Danish, and Norwegian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Square Copenhagen?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Our Saviour's Church (1.1 miles), Rosenborg Castle (0.8 miles), and Christiansborg Slot (0.4 miles).