We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Save
Share
Helgolandsgade 11, Copenhagen 1652 Denmark
eDreams
Agoda.com
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1028)
Room & Suite (369)
Dining (35)

About

#28 of 129 hotels in Copenhagen
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Gold level
Axel Guldsmeden is an experience of charm and style, and the best night’s sleep you will find in inner Copenhagen. Situated in the heart of Vesterbro, Axel has 129 rooms, conference facilities, an organic brunch & evening restaurant and a luxurious spa with own-brand organic products.The four-star Axel Guldsmeden is the environmentally friendly choice for a visit to Copenhagen – all products, food & drink, furnishings and services either organic, fair-trade or both.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Spa
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Danish, German

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
244Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
40Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
2,144Reviews37Q+A100Room tips

Reviews

Write a review and earn 100 points
Traveler rating
  • 837
  • 819
  • 334
  • 114
  • 40
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sonny H wrote a review Jul 2020
Havdrup, Denmark1 contribution
We are a danish couple living in cph, actually just 700 m frem Axel Hotel. We have stayed with great success both at this hotel and other Guldsmeden hotels before. So I booked the penthouse suite with private terrace and hot tub for our 24 hours without the kids. Entering the room,, it looked worn down and everything could use a bit of paint. but we quickly got on to the roof and saw the hot tub and then went out to the city to eat. Back in the evening we quickly went to the roof, looking forward to the hot water, just too realise that the water was really cold. Called the reception and they send someone that just told us to wait 30 min, realising after that time that the water temperatur did not go up we called again, a person came again and ask us to wait again, we were offered drinks while waiting,, but we wanted our hot tub,, thats why we paid premium price. After some time and again realising that this hot tub must be broken and after being told to wait another hour, they gave us another room with a working hot tub on the roof and with champagne for free. So everything ended successfully and we enjoyed our 24 (21) hours without the kids,, But just asking why it took so long until we got the other room + the room without the roof is not really a suite and breakfast is not worth the money. So Guldsmeden, we really like you,, but please start being the hotel you once were, all the best,, a couple near by :-)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Henrik W wrote a review Mar 2020
Turku, Finland1,191 contributions76 helpful votes
+1
I stayed here for 3 nights and appreciated very much the location, but the room that I stayed in was really cramped. Still the ambience was nice even if the horse or cow hides used as wallpaper in the elevator was a bit out of place.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Nadia Kamber wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Though I can’t comment as a guest, I can certainly say that their customer service is anything but accommodating. Due to travel bans and restrictions caused by the Coronavirus, I was forced to cancel my trip to Copenhagen. Since the terms of my booking at Axel clearly stated that all charges were non refundable, I didn’t expect that they would necessarily reimburse me, but I had hoped for some compassion and understanding. I asked if a partial reimbursement was possible and they can keep the rest as a cancellation fee, they said no. I asked if converting my booking into credit was an option and they offered me the impossible solution of giving me credit that is valid for 18 months on the condition that I provide my revised dates to them within 24-48 hours. Furthermore, this so-called solution came with its own fee. I tried explaining that with the crisis at hand, I had no way of knowing when I would be able to travel again, nor can I give them a random date in the future when I still don’t know what my schedule is like in the coming months. The woman from the booking team simply responded very smugly with a ‘that’s too bad’. It was obvious that they had no intention of helping me and were simply pressuring me into making the cancellation in such a way that they are somehow justified in keeping my money. Furthermore, I sent an email expressing my grievance to which I received no response. Of course when I do reschedule my trip, there is no way I would ever stay here. Very disappointing and shameful service from a four star hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotelchef Baasch, General Manager at Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Responded Mar 14, 2020
Dear Nadia Kamber We do not find this a legitimate review since you were never here, but react to the cancellation terms not on our booking site Ecohotels.com - but on Booking.com . You chose - and paid for - a NON Refundable offer from Booking.com late February. You therefore made this booking at a time where the entire world was at alert of the horrible corona virus and still you chose a non-refundable rate?? We had no obligation but offered you to move the reservation, at a very fair fee, but of course to a specific date. Our team has done beyond when you consider the fact that you shouted on the phone and reacted by being very angry. You do not mention it, but as you know the person you were travelling with booked directly with Guldsmedens booking website Ecohotels.com (which is always cheaper and more flexible), which is why she cancelled her entire booking with no cost. Kind regards Mette Baasch
Read more
Kayers94 wrote a review Mar 2020
Didcot, United Kingdom24 contributions7 helpful votes
We picked this place mainly that it offered a spa, although I also loved the interior design and four poster beds. We opted for the double superior room which had a beautiful stone bath and balcony overlooking the courtyard. You have to pay an additional cost for both spa and breakfast (we decided not to go for the breakfast as there were plenty of places we wanted to try out in the heart of the city). The spa is well worth it if you want to relax in the sauna, steam room or hot tub, however we made sure to go down when it just opened to avoid lots of people. The hotel is literally a few minutes walk from the central station and not too far from lots of local restaurants and shops. My only gripe was that we were placed in a room next to the stairwell and the walls/doors seem paper thin. We could hear guests coming and going at 5 in the morning and we could also hear another guest’s crying baby from shut room. Luckily we brought earplugs but some noises even got through them. Overall a very pleasant stay, but be warned that some rooms don’t seem to be very well sound proofed.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Randi B wrote a review Mar 2020
Rishikesh2 contributions
2 Nights here while we got married in Copenhagen felt like a full honeymoon! From the moment we arrived at Axel, greeted with smiles and the gift of early checkin to check out photo of us as newly married couple :) what beautiful mix of simple elegance, culture, and warmth from all levels-staff, decor, comfort..and ohhhh...those heated stone bathroom floors! Divine! Both of us are quite well travelled and we agree that the details of down to earth luxury, ethics and lovely good natured staff ( Hallo Mitte!) really made us feel that our understated City Hall wedding was a truly special and memorable event in our lives together :)We hope very much to return and are grateful for homey organic experience in „Hygge“ that embraces the environment too! Xx Axel from Randi und Franz xx
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$130 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
axel hotel copenhagen
LOCATION
DenmarkZealandCopenhagenInner Vesterbro / Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
NUMBER OF ROOMS
204
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Which popular attractions are close to Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels?
Nearby attractions include Tivoli Gardens (0.3 miles), Curfew (0.2 miles), and Mikkeller Bar (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels?
Conveniently located restaurants include Maple Casual Dining, Grams Laekkerier, and Smagsloeget (Vesterbro).
Are there opportunities to exercise at Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Copenhagen.
Are any cleaning services offered at Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, and Danish.