We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Kong Frederik

Save
Share
Vester Voldgade 25, Copenhagen 1552 Denmark
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Official Hotel
ZenHotels.com
$109
View Deal
Hotels.com
eDreams
Snaptravel
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (366)
360
Panoramas (20)
Room & Suite (174)

About

#97 of 130 hotels in Copenhagen
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Stay at Hotel Kong Frederik in Copenhagen and sleep at the same address as some of the greatest stars – from Victor Borge to Alicia Keys. Our rich history and classic English style are some of the reasons our guests choose us. Find Strøget, the City Hall Square and Tivoli close by. No matter which room you book, it’ll meet your most important need: to be your home away from home. Slip off your shoes and relax with a book on the bed. If you prefer a livelier atmosphere, go downstairs to read the paper in our cozy lounge. At the reception desk, you can get recommendations on attractions, world-class restaurants and cultural must-sees you’ll find right outside our door.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Danish

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
285Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
127Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1,399Reviews17Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 235
  • 406
  • 361
  • 227
  • 170
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sunneva S wrote a review Dec 1
1 contribution
The hotel smelled really bad and was not at all like the photos. Also there was never an employee present at any moment and when we left for the airport in the middle of the night there was no one to even open the front door thay was locked for excit, so we got delayed.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Mary75loaibi wrote a review Sep 2020
Copenhagen, Denmark2 contributions
If you want stay in Copenhagen near of every thing this hotel will be the best,but... the parking is very expensive, you need to park around where is it free and take train or bus, alle public transport is clos to the hotel
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Kassaye, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Kong Frederik
Responded Sep 9, 2020
Dear Mary75loaibi Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding your stay at First Hotel Kong Frederik. Our guests' feedback is very important to us, and I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to First Hotel Kong Frederik. Med venlig hilsen/Best regards, Daniel G. Kassaye Hotel Supervisor HOTEL KONG FREDERIK ________________
Read more
Alkesh M wrote a review Jul 2020
Oslo, Norway1 contribution1 helpful vote
We are a family of 4 who stayed at the hotel from July 17 to July 19, 2020. We had two rooms. The hotel has a very central location – that is good. The reception was OK and friendly. The rooms have very stuffy air, especially noticeable in the summer. There is no Air condition or any kind of air circulation. The rooms also smells “old” from lack of freshness. Both rooms lacked shower gel, so we had to go down to the reception to get shower gel. One of the rooms also lacked a fan although the reception said that all the rooms are equipped with portable fans. So we had to go down to get it. One of the rooms had only towels for one person, so again we had to go down and get it. On day two, we discovered that water was coming out of the drain in one of the rooms and notified the reception. This was repaired while we were out. When we returned, we discovered again they had forgotten to put shower gel in the bathroom and had to go down and get it again. Breakfast is OK, but they constantly ran out of glasses and cutlery, so guests had to wait. Our door cards also stopped working a couple of times, this may be due to our mobile phones, but still it adds up in bad experience. One must also tolerate a constant smell of fish due to a fish restaurant located on the ground floor. So overall I would not recommend First Hotel Kong Frederik, you’ll get much better hotels in the same price range.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Filmon Abraham, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Kong Frederik
Responded Aug 23, 2020
Dear Guest, Let me begin by thanking you for leaving feedback regarding your stay at Kong Frederik. That said, I’m sorry about the heat you experienced during your stay. The heat we are experiencing now is extremely rare and has not happened in Denmark before. The hotel itself is an older building and therefore there is no AC available in the rooms. We try hard to accommodate and lessen the heat by providing fans for our guests to use during their stay, and by airing out the rooms before arrival. However, the heat does provide an amazing chance to tour Copenhagen! Though we unfortunately can’t do anything about the weather directly, I hope you will give Kong Frederik another try the next time you visit Copenhagen! Med venlig hilsen/Best wishes, Daniel G. Kassaye Supervisor FIRST HOTEL KONG FREDERIK
Read more
Rune L wrote a review Jun 2020
Copenhagen, Denmark34 contributions7 helpful votes
As a resident Copenhagener, my wife and I treated ourselves to a little staycation in our beautiful city. Figuring that First Hotel Kong Frederik (King Frederik) markets itself as being rather exclusive and posh, we wanted to give it a go. - We cannot recommend any tourist to stay there. Go elsewhere! The main problem is, that the hotel promises more than it can keep. From the outside it looks very nice, posh and exclusive, but upon closer inspection you will find, that this is not the case. My wife and I booked the second-most expensive room on the 5th floor, and all though the hall and atrium of the hotel looks great, the same cannot be said about the room. The room: A bit more cleaning would do. Certainly, a good vacuuming would be expected. The furnishings are not out dated - per say (as it is a period hotel), but everything is quite worn. For example: - the desk chair had a broken arm wrist, - The tiling on the bathroom was cracked several places - The flat screen TV is ancient (however, not antique :D) - The bed was awful - The sofa - very worn. The service: The staff was nice enough, but for the price of room, I would bet, that you can get better service elsewhere. For example (I can provide more): The mini bar was included in our price, but when we reached the room it was empty. We asked the staff to fill it, which they did. -But still... When we asked them to refill it the next day, we were told, that this would not happen as this task is performed by the cleaning staff, who were -sadly - not on duty. I get that certain precautions has to be made during covid-19, but still: If you cancel everyday cleaning, everyday exchange of towels and general up keep, you should reduce the price accordingly, I get that the hotel need to bring in the money, but having customers pay full price for reduced services is not ok. Worst of all was the grab and go "breakfast" it contained: 1 piece of fruit 1 box juice 1” sandwich" All these items were - and I know this because I live in Copenhagen and which supermarket sells which items - the absolute bottom shelf cheapest stuff money can buy. The "sandwich" itself consisted of: 1 dry bun split in half. Butter on one half only and one piece of sliced cheese topped with the other half of the bun. The conclusion: If location is the most important thing there is nothing wrong with First Hotel Kong Frederik. However, I know that you can find better accommodation and service at a better price elsewhere in the city center. All in all: Don't bother - go elsewhere
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Avoid the expensive double rooms - they are not worth the money
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Henning S wrote a review May 2020
1 contribution
Poor service in reception, with lack of information about Corona changes, like no breakfast served, no cleaning in room between nights no emptying of garbage can. No knowledge about loyalty programe, incl. Eurobonus program. No welcoming or godbyes from receptionists, were not present at desk. The room was insufficient cleaned, especial in the windows and in corners. The bed, and furniture were stained and showing signs of servere use over many years. The breakfast were a real lousy take away bag, with a dry bread with one slice of chese, no butter, no spread or anything. No plate nor spoon or knife! We had to ask for coffee. Not to a fourstar standard, you should do this much better
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from DanielGKassaye, Supervisor at Hotel Kong Frederik
Responded Jun 23, 2020
Dear hennings830, Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay with us at First Hotel Kong Frederik. I can assure you that we will take your comments regarding the cleaning to heart and focus on improving our routines. It is very clear to me that your room has not been cleaned thoroughly. Please accept my sincere apology. I will bring this to the attention of the manager in charge. Also I’m very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the service you received from the staff. Obviously, this is not acceptable. You can be reassured that I will be talking to the staff responsible during your stay and see to it that this does not happen again. I really do appreciate that you took the time to comments on our breakfast I can assure you that we will focus on improving our routines regarding your comments about our breakfast. Med venlig hilsen / Best regards, Daniel G. Kassaye Supervisor FIRST HOTEL KONG FREDERIK ________________
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$111 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
1st hotel kong frederik, kong frederik copenhagen, hotel kong frederik
LOCATION
DenmarkZealandCopenhagenIndre By (Inner City)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
110
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Kong Frederik
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Kong Frederik?
Nearby attractions include Tivoli Gardens (0.3 miles), SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Copenhagen (0.1 miles), and Clockedin Escape Room (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Kong Frederik?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Kong Frederik?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Kong Frederik?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Krebsegaarden, The Midwestern Diner, and Slice of San Francisco.
Is Hotel Kong Frederik located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Copenhagen.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Kong Frederik?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Kong Frederik offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Kong Frederik?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Danish.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Kong Frederik?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Our Saviour's Church (1.1 miles), Rosenborg Castle (0.7 miles), and Christiansborg Slot (0.4 miles).