We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

First Hotel Kong Frederik

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
First Hotel Kong Frederik
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

818 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 575: English reviews
Start your review of First Hotel Kong Frederik
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed in this hotel twice in the last week. First room was 209 and was very small and worn out. Second stay was room 330 and was 10 times better. Defiantly not a North American hotel style. Good location. Poor parking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denis C
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Went for a jazz gig at the marvelous Montmartre Jazzhus, First Hotel Kong Frederik was a great friendly Base for exploring the city, whole-heartedly recommended. Well placed for shopping and exploring always interesting side streets, friendly bars and coffee shops.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank weesev
Karen H, Chef  at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear weesev, Thank you very much for your review and your whole-heartedly recommendation for First Hotel Kong Frederik. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I hope we get the chance to welcome you back here again. Med venlig hilsen / Best regards, Karen Henneberg Hotel Manager FIRST HOTEL KONG FREDERIK ________________

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First room we were given was fine. A good size, if at little dark in decor. The most disappointing thing was the bathroom. Very small, shabby and the shower leaked all over the floor. This was cleaned up well enough, but during the first night the main chandelier rattled continually due to traffic outside so our sleep was disturbed. Great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
Karen H, Chef  at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear Jonathan S, Thank you for your review and your compliments on our service and location. I apologize for the showers not being adequate in your room, and I will have our maintenance team go over this. Med venlig hilsen / Best regards, Karen Henneberg Hotel Manager FIRST HOTEL KONG FREDERIK ________________

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a very mixed experience. On the plus side the hotel is in a very good location within easy walking distance of most of the places you would wish to visit in Copenhagen. The staff were very courteous, the reception and other public areas were stylish and well presented and there were complimentary drinks available in our room fridge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
Karen H, Chef  at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear Alison C, Thank you for choosing First Hotel Kong Frederik for your visit to Copenhagen and for placing this review. I am very glad to know that you enjoyed the hotels location and our atmosphere. Of course I am sad to hear of your impression of your room, we would happily have provided you with one that had other...

Leuven, Belgium
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Clean but small rooms. We got a room with a bad tub of the size I did not know they made them build to sit in as on a chair. Very bizar and certainly now made to have a relaxing bad. Breakfast and dinner where splendid but missed a bar. Not even tee was possible in the evening. Ask for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank belviking
Karen H, Chef  at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear belviking, Thank you for your review. Our hotel offers many different types of rooms, with different layouts/interior. We offer showers, tubs and sitting tubs. Our guests are always welcome to let us know what their preferences are, and we will always do our utmost to accommodate. I hope to see you this us again. Med venlig hilsen / Best...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We received way less than what we paid. I had booked our room two months previous to our stay at a rate of 180 per night. Upon arrival we where placed at the worst room possible with the smallest bathroom i've ever came across.. imidiately i requested a room change which we ofcourse got. Further to that i had payed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harry K
Karen H, Chef  at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear Harry K, I am sorry that you felt a lack of service and value for money. You are more than welcome to contact me directly at karen.henneberg@firsthotels.dk if we should go over your booking to see where it went wrong. I hope to hear from you. Med venlig hilsen / Best regards Karen Henneberg Hotel Manager FIRST HOTEL KONG...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Have stayed here for business several times in the past year. Always friendly and accommodating staff. The rooms on the front and newer part are rather nice size with comfortable beds. The restaurant connected to the hotel is rather good. The hotel breakfast is served there and is above average. Compared with the other business hotels in the same price...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank longhorn75
Karen H, Chef  at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear Longhorn75, Thank you very much for placing your review. I am very glad to learn that you enjoy your stay with us, and our breakfast. Please contact me directly at karen.Henneberg@firsthotels.dk, should you be interesseted in a hotel buisnes rate. I hope to hear from you. Med venlig hilsen / Best regards Karen Henneberg Hotel Manager FIRST HOTEL KONG...

Malmo, Sweden
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is extremely centrally located in Copenhagen, close to everything you want. The room seemed a bit worn, especially the bathroom and the furniture were kind of dark and big. A plus for the free minibar with soft drinks. We didn't try the breakfast as it was not included.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Swede1979
Karen H, Chef  at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear Swede1979, Thank you for placing your review. We are underway to upgrade the standard of our rooms. I hope that you will see the difference should you stay with us again. I am glad that you enjoyed our location and free minibar. Med venlig hilsen / Best regards Karen Henneberg Hotel Manager FIRST HOTEL KONG FREDERIK ___________________

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel charged me over 240€ extra and refuses to return the money. My receipt states €294,86 yet my credit card invoice has €543,49 on it. The hotel "understands it is confusing" as they apparently had a mistake in their system. Be ready for surprises when visiting this hotel as you will never know how much you actually pay. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 283millak
Karen H, Chef  at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear 283millak, Thank you for your review. I am very distressed to hear about this, please contact me directly so that we may sort this out. Our transactions are always transparent and we never fix our prices. I hope to hear from you at karen.henneberg@firsthotel.dk. Med venlig hilsen / Best regards Karen Henneberg Hotel Manager FIRST HOTEL KONG FREDERIK ___________________

Amersham Bucks
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The first thing you see at reception is a huge plaque with the names of previous guests - everyone from Dire Straits and Ella Fitzgerald to Spandau Ballet and Sade - it was clearly the place to be a few years ago, Lovely trendy boutique feel in the atrium and lobby and plenty of Danish hygge in the bar and...

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank MandyLK
Karen H, Chef  at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review

Dear Mandy, Thank you very muck for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that all worked out for you as well. Should you stay with us again we will do our best to find you a more quiet room. Med venlig hilsen / Best regards Karen Henneberg Hotel Manager FIRST HOTEL KONG FREDERIK ___________________

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

154 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (133)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
First Hotel Twentyseven
First Hotel Twentyseven
#49 of 115 in Copenhagen
1,930 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 115 in Copenhagen
1,881 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
The Square Copenhagen
The Square Copenhagen
#35 of 115 in Copenhagen
2,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#7 of 115 in Copenhagen
1,204 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel SP34
Hotel SP34
#24 of 115 in Copenhagen
827 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#33 of 115 in Copenhagen
1,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Indre By (Inner City)

Neighborhood Profile
Indre By (Inner City)
This is the heart of old town Copenhagen, with its blend of charming old buildings and bold new architecture, broad avenues and tiny streets as well as picturesque canals and a modern harbor. The inner city is home to the Royal Danish Theatre, which consists of three buildings, two of which are new and situated on the harbor front. The streets, squares and venues of the inner city and its surrounding neighborhoods, are alive all year round with everything from jazz festivals to outdoor ice skating rinks and parachuting at the lakes right in the center of the city. This compact area boasts beautiful old castles, tranquil parks, and bustling squares where you can always find a bench to stretch out your legs whenever you need a break.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Charming townhouse hotel located in City Center of Copenhagen. The Town Hall Square, Tivoli Gardens, Stroeget and the main train station is located within five minutes walk. ... more   less 

Additional Information about First Hotel Kong Frederik

Address: Vester Voldgade 25, Copenhagen 1552, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Price Range: $137 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Kong Frederik 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your First Hotel Kong Frederik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Kong Frederik
Kong Frederik Copenhagen
Hotel Kong Frederik
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from First Hotel Kong Frederik staff and other travelers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from First Hotel Kong Frederik staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for a room on the top floor, rear and/or one end of the building to minimise room noise.”
  • Bath of strange dimensions.
 of 5 bubbles AlisonC450, 1 week ago | Read review
“ask for inner rooms”
 of 5 bubbles belviking, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Second floor was ideal for us.”
 of 5 bubbles bethanyvictoria94, Jan 19, 2017 | Read review
“Prefer higher floors to keep distance to traffic and night clubs.”
 of 5 bubbles Wings24, Nov 21, 2016 | Read review
“if you want a cooler room ask for one and they can locate you at a specific area of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles VictoriaW357, Nov 20, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question