We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Generator Copenhagen

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Generator Copenhagen
Generator Copenhagen
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,376 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Generator Copenhagen
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,487: English reviews
London
Reviewed February 26, 2016

Stayed here with a group of 45 in Feb. This is one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. I would recommend this place without hesitation and I am already planning on returning soon! Fantastic experience and brilliant location!! The room/bathroom I was fortunate enough to have a twin room to myself. Wonderfully comfortable, clean and warm. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wowitsgen
Alison D, Front Office Manager at Generator Copenhagen, responded to this review

Hi wowitsgen, it was a pleasure to have you here. We are pleased to hear that you had a great time here and liked it all - our reception is open 24h and perhaps we could have found you a quieter room on request. Thanks for your great review and see you next time!

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed February 26, 2016

Rude personal, lot of drunk people everywhere, the knowledge of employees are nearly zero, and when they do not know they mislead you. Example's: you have been promised a Parking, with 40% discount of the listed prise for Copenhagen park-house, they show you the parking how are closed,there are 3 parking next to each other. they do not care if...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Shamsfard
Alison D, Front Office Manager at Generator Copenhagen, responded to this review

Dear Shamsfard, we are concerned about your review and ask that you contact us directly so that we can look into the issues you mention. We aim for you to have a great stay and hope to hear from you. Thanks.

Paris, France
Reviewed February 26, 2016

We had an amazing stay at the Generator Copenhagen. The location was perfect for all our adventures, as Nyhavn and the shopping street was all within a 5 minute walk from this location. The atmosphere was exactly what we were looking for: fun, relaxed, yet down to party. Very friendly staff! Especially Milky is Sweet!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JeanFrancois77200
Alison D, Front Office Manager at Generator Copenhagen, responded to this review

Dear JeanFrancois77200, thanks for taking the time to tell us what you think! We are pleased to hear you had a great time here, liked the location, lively atmosphere and friendly team. I will pass you compliments onto Milky :) Thanks for staying and we hope that you come back again soon.

Province of Monza and Brianza, Italy
Reviewed February 25, 2016

i travelled around europe and stayed in a variety of hostels. i never ever found a hostel like Generator Copenaghen, with its amazing atmosphere created from people that want share their time with new people from other countries/continent to see football matches, drink a beer (maybe two,three, four :) ). The staff members have been very kind, for everything we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Visionaere
Alison D, Front Office Manager at Generator Copenhagen, responded to this review

Hi Visionaere, thanks for the great feedback, we enjoyed having you here too! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay- and hope you come back again soon. Thanks and again and see you next time!

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed February 23, 2016 via mobile

We spent a few nights in this hostel and everything about it was great. Clean, quiet and close to train station lovely shops and huge park. Good food and a bar also in the building. Best backpacker accomodation I've stayed in.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharon n
Alison D, Front Office Manager at Generator Copenhagen, responded to this review

Dear sharon n, thank you for your kind review. We aim to make your stay a friendly, safe and enjoyable one. We are pleased that you has a great time here and to be the best! Hope to see you next time.

Tallinn, Estonia
Reviewed February 23, 2016

I liked this place because it was very clean. There was enough storagespace under bed to put your luggage into, but you need to have your own padlock. There is no chair (nor small table) in the room, so if you are on a top bunk like I was, you have no place to sit if you want to. Very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kristi L
Alison D, Front Office Manager at Generator Copenhagen, responded to this review

Dear Kristi L, thanks for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here. Your comfort is important to us and there is lots of place to relax or socialise in our common lounges. Thanks for staying and look forward to welcoming you back again

Lille, France
Reviewed February 22, 2016

Great location and service. Room was tidy, sheets were clean and there was enough space for luggage (availability to lock). We didn't get the breakfast because there were many cafés close by to get food but it seemed nice.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sonjav705
Alison D, Front Office Manager at Generator Copenhagen, responded to this review

Hi sonjav705, it was a pleasure to have you here. We are really pleased to hear that you had a great stay and liked the location and service. Thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed February 21, 2016 via mobile

...in both a good and bad way. It was really good as it was spotless and really well run, like a hotel. Possibly the most professionally put-together hostel I've stayed in, and an absolute bargain at the price. However, it had no communal feel to it, which is one of the best things about other hostels I've stayed in. No...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheOExpress
Alison D, Front Office Manager at Generator Copenhagen, responded to this review

Hi TheOExpress, thanks for your feedback and taking the time to tell us what you liked and what can be improved. We aim to be a different kind of hostel and offer lots of social events, friendly service and great facilities. We are on the bigger side but we try to keep it personal. Thanks for staying and hope to...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 21, 2016

Fab hostel, very large! I have stayed in the one in London but this was much better. The staff were super friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and a good size. It was also in a super location, so close to everything and great value for money.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank AJoshi1
Alison D, Front Office Manager at Generator Copenhagen, responded to this review

Hi AJoshi1, what excellent feedback, thanks! We aim to make your stay a fun and memorable one, and we are happy to hear you liked the rooms, service and location. On behalf of the team, thank you and hope to see you back soon.

canada
Reviewed February 20, 2016

We stayed 2 nights in early Dec, when Denmark was amazingly Christmasy and beautiful.The Generator was a great base for us - easy to find from the directions on the website and not so close to the center that it was loud at night. We were traveling through to England for a Christmas visit so we had alot of luggage,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carleen1986
Alison D, Front Office Manager at Generator Copenhagen, responded to this review

Dear carleen1986, thanks for your detailed feedback and taking the time to tell us what you think. We are curious to hear what we can improve to make your stay and even better one. Happy that you had a great time overall and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

988 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (552)
Viewed
Room/Suite (92)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (93)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (27)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (263)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (390)
Viewed
Amenities (58)
Viewed
Family Room (36)
Viewed
Premium Room (23)
Viewed
Private Double Room (28)
Viewed
Private Quad Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (74)
Viewed
Six Bed Dorm (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (119)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
#30 of 114 in Copenhagen
2,251 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#29 of 114 in Copenhagen
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 114 in Copenhagen
1,537 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#22 of 114 in Copenhagen
3,698 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#4 of 114 in Copenhagen
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Indre By (Inner City)

Neighborhood Profile
Indre By (Inner City)
This is the heart of old town Copenhagen, with its blend of charming old buildings and bold new architecture, broad avenues and tiny streets as well as picturesque canals and a modern harbor. The inner city is home to the Royal Danish Theatre, which consists of three buildings, two of which are new and situated on the harbor front. The streets, squares and venues of the inner city and its surrounding neighborhoods, are alive all year round with everything from jazz festivals to outdoor ice skating rinks and parachuting at the lakes right in the center of the city. This compact area boasts beautiful old castles, tranquil parks, and bustling squares where you can always find a bench to stretch out your legs whenever you need a break.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
You’ll find Generator Copenhagen just off Kongens Nytorv, the largest square in the city. Centrally located and an ideal location for anyone wanting to be a hop, skip and a jump from everything that is a must see in this great city. The best way to see and do it all is by foot, and when you need to rest your tired feet Generator is the perfect place of refuge, with great beds for sleepy heads, a bar and lounge that serves the best drinks and entertainment for miles around, and of course you’ll be enjoying Copenhagen life in the most stylish and authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Private en-suites Twins, Double & Quads with innovative mod cons like individual power points and your own LED light for late night reading. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay visit the travel shop and our city experts will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. This really is a city worth discovering. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Generator Copenhagen

Address: Adelgade 5-7, Copenhagen 1304, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Price Range: $47 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Copenhagen 2*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Generator Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Generator Copenhagen staff and other travelers.
15 questions
Ask a question
Rushden, United Kingdom
birmingham
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
London
3 months ago

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Generator Copenhagen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Early booking gets the best prices!”
 of 5 bubbles nikosm700, Feb 13, 2017 | Read review
“Bring a padlock with you so you can make use of the lockable boxes”
 of 5 bubbles DBSegal, Feb 13, 2017 | Read review
“Elevators were slow and sometimes out of order, get rooms on lower levels if you don't want to do the stairs.”
  • 4-bunk room with private bath
 of 5 bubbles JlynC, Feb 2, 2017 | Read review
“Quick and convenient walk to the metro and walking distance to all places in the city.”
 of 5 bubbles 41carolynm, Jan 8, 2017 | Read review
“value for money, amazing events inside hotel”
 of 5 bubbles akhilk778, Dec 28, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question