We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Adelgade 5-7, Copenhagen 1304 Denmark
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotel direct offer!Family Package - 30% off
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Snaptravel
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 13 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (784)
360
Panoramas (12)
Room & Suite (174)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 08/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Generator Copenhagen
Updated 08/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#8 of 86 Specialty lodging in Copenhagen
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
You’ll find Generator Copenhagen just off Kongens Nytorv, the largest square in the city. Centrally located and an ideal location for anyone wanting to be a hop, skip and a jump from everything that is a must see in this great city. The best way to see and do it all is by foot, and when you need to rest your tired feet Generator is the perfect place of refuge, with great beds for sleepy heads, a bar and lounge that serves the best drinks and entertainment for miles around, and of course you’ll be enjoying Copenhagen life in the most stylish and authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Private en-suites Twins, Double & Quads with innovative mod cons like individual power points and your own LED light for late night reading. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay visit the travel shop and our city experts will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. This really is a city worth discovering. We’ll see you there soon.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Game room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Vending machine
Billiards
Evening entertainment
Board games / puzzles
Nightclub / DJ
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Desk
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Danish and 8 more
Hotel links
Special Price:Family Package - 30% off

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
274Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
106Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
3,357Reviews40Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,287
  • 1,378
  • 420
  • 157
  • 116
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Megan L wrote a review Sep 27
10 contributions12 helpful votes
Booked to go here for March 2020 and were told we could have a free cancellation due to COVID. They agreed several times, but after repeatedly messaging. calling, and phoning for over 6 months, they are stone-cold ignoring us and are refusing to issue the refund that they agreed to and offered. If you fancy losing £200 for no reason, would deffo recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Tine wrote a review Sep 14
Jutland, Denmark6 contributions1 helpful vote
It was an okay experience. Had the dorm to myself which was nice. It was clean enough. The common area is a bit nah. I don't think I will stay there again. It appeals to a younger audience, but it wasn't loud or anything.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Alison Davis, General Manager at Generator Copenhagen
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello Tinesommer, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for staying with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the cleanliness to your liking. It was a pleasure to have you and we wish you well on your further travels. Kind regards, Jelske, Front Office
Read more
asimon654900 wrote a review Sep 9
1 contribution
The stay was prettyu well because of thew total anonymity of the company. I'm as a Swedish citizen going to Copenhagen in order to remind court about a recent recovewry case . As I have been a traveller in England , I enjoyed an English breakfast very very much, a breakfast that reminded me of my youth. Bur I may be a bit sad as born Dane that so many English companies, if it is not just one, that has taken over almost all hostels in Copenhagen !
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Alison Davis, General Manager at Generator Copenhagen
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello Asimon, Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for staying with us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our delicious English breakfast, our kitchen staff will be glad to hear that they were able to give you such a good start of the day! We hope to see you again soon and wish you well on all your further travels and cases :) Kind regards, Jelske, Front Office
Read more
Yann P wrote a review Aug 2020
Papara, French Polynesia3 contributions4 helpful votes
Location was good but we had to pay for breakfast, it was not included, we had to pay $20 to rent 2 towels, you even have to pay to leave your luggage after check out, first time I ever saw that in a youth hostel!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Alison Davis, General Manager at Generator Copenhagen
Responded Aug 20, 2020
Hej Yann Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, your feedback is valuable to us. As is with many hostels, extra services such as breakfast do cost an additional fee, we're sorry if this was not clear beforehand. The secure lockers in our common areas do come with a small charge, but they provide 100% security for your belongings. It is important to us that our guests belongings are kept safe while they are with us. Thank you for staying with us. Best regards, Maria, Front Office
Read more
Pedro A wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
I had a reservation for March 19th that was cancelled due to the Covid-19 situation. I have called and emailed them several times and they not only refused to give me a refund but never came back with a reasonable explanation and were rude and patronising in the customer service. Pathetic company that ripped off my money!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Alison Davis, General Manager at Generator Copenhagen
Responded Aug 11, 2020
Hi pedroa282. Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback. There are different rules regarding refunds, depending on when your reservation was made or when was your initial check-in date. Unfortunately due to this, we are unable to offer refunds to all of our guests. However, we are always flexible with offering the change of date (subject to availability). Please keep in mind, that different rules also apply, if the booking has not been made directly through us, but through a second party. In that case, the guests are asked to contact them. You are always welcome to contact us again directly in case you have any more questions. Team Generator
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$54 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
generator hostel copenhagen hotel copenhagen
LOCATION
DenmarkZealandCopenhagenIndre By (Inner City)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
175
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Generator Copenhagen
Which popular attractions are close to Generator Copenhagen?
Nearby attractions include Pub Crawl Copenhagen (0.1 miles), Davids Samling (The David Collection) (0.10 miles), and Royal Danish Theater (Kongelige Teater) (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Generator Copenhagen?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Generator Copenhagen?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Generator Copenhagen?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Generator Copenhagen?
Conveniently located restaurants include Madbaren Marmorkirken, Punk Royale, and Restaurant Komplet.
Is Generator Copenhagen located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Copenhagen.
Are any cleaning services offered at Generator Copenhagen?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Generator Copenhagen?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Portuguese, Polish, and Greek.
Are there any historical sites close to Generator Copenhagen?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Our Saviour's Church (0.8 miles), Rosenborg Castle (0.3 miles), and Christiansborg Slot (0.5 miles).
Is Generator Copenhagen accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.