We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Adelgade 5-7, Copenhagen 1304 Denmark
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
$120
View deal
Booking.com
$120
View deal
Priceline
$162
$109
View deal
SAVE $53
Expedia.com$120
eDreams$120
getaroom.com$162
View all 17 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (784)
360
Panoramas (12)
Room & Suite (205)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 08/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Generator Copenhagen
Updated 08/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#8 of 91 Specialty lodging in Copenhagen
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
You’ll find Generator Copenhagen just off Kongens Nytorv, the largest square in the city. Centrally located and an ideal location for anyone wanting to be a hop, skip and a jump from everything that is a must see in this great city. The best way to see and do it all is by foot, and when you need to rest your tired feet Generator is the perfect place of refuge, with great beds for sleepy heads, a bar and lounge that serves the best drinks and entertainment for miles around, and of course you’ll be enjoying Copenhagen life in the most stylish and authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Private en-suites Twins, Double & Quads with innovative mod cons like individual power points and your own LED light for late night reading. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay visit the travel shop and our city experts will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. This really is a city worth discovering. We’ll see you there soon.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Game room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Vending machine
Billiards
Evening entertainment
Board games / puzzles
Nightclub / DJ
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Danish and 7 more

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
267Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
107Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
3,360Reviews41Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,290
  • 1,378
  • 419
  • 157
  • 116
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Amanda wrote a review Nov 2020
Sofia, Bulgaria15 contributions4 helpful votes
A cheap and clean hostel with nice atmosphere. The location is perfect, and is very close to the metro line. I came in the late evening, and was met with a very nice and helpful staff. Even the cleaning staff took the time to look me in the eyes and welcome me. I felt very welcome at Generator, and I will definitely use this hostel again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
ak967872 wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
Overall: just average. The location is good, just few minutes away from Ny Havn and Stroget. However, my biggest dislike was the layout of the room I was staying in: The shower was in a room of its own, toilet in another, and then sink was placed inside the room's common area right next to one of the beds. Since this was a 4-bed dormitory, it's totally natural to assume that at least half of the time people staying in don't actually know each other which then makes the placement of the sink quite inconvenient. I had to brush my teeth 1meter away from some guy's sleeping head. Additionally, there is definitely room to improve cleaning, mostly inside the room itself. The staff seemed nice and open to help tho :)
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
milesianother wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
Superb location and local services, good value for money and coping well during Covid. Innovative ideas to bring in customers. Staff always engaged and helpful. Cleaning services not so good but may be Covid related. You get what you pay for plus a bit more
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Alison Davis, General Manager at Generator Copenhagen
Responded Oct 27, 2020
Dear Milesianother, Thank you for your time and review. It was a pleasure to have you with us. Its great to hear that you enjoyed our location and service. We hope to see you soon in one of our great locations. Thank you Front office
Read more
Megan L wrote a review Sep 2020
10 contributions12 helpful votes
Booked to go here for March 2020 and were told we could have a free cancellation due to COVID. They agreed several times, but after repeatedly messaging. calling, and phoning for over 6 months, they are stone-cold ignoring us and are refusing to issue the refund that they agreed to and offered. If you fancy losing £200 for no reason, would deffo recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Alison Davis, General Manager at Generator Copenhagen
Responded Sep 30, 2020
Dear Megan, We are processing the refunds for march 2020. Unfortunately it is taking time to process the refunds, therefor we understand your frustration. I am sorry to hear that we didn't live up to your expectations. Thanks for your review - we appreciate your feedback and we will work hard to make your next stay better. Kind regards, Avery, Front Office
Read more
Tine wrote a review Sep 2020
Jutland, Denmark6 contributions2 helpful votes
It was an okay experience. Had the dorm to myself which was nice. It was clean enough. The common area is a bit nah. I don't think I will stay there again. It appeals to a younger audience, but it wasn't loud or anything.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Alison Davis, General Manager at Generator Copenhagen
Responded Sep 15, 2020
Hello Tinesommer, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for staying with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the cleanliness to your liking. It was a pleasure to have you and we wish you well on your further travels. Kind regards, Jelske, Front Office
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$54 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
generator hostel copenhagen hotel copenhagen
LOCATION
DenmarkZealandCopenhagenIndre By (Inner City)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
175
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Generator Copenhagen
Which popular attractions are close to Generator Copenhagen?
Nearby attractions include Pub Crawl Copenhagen (0.1 miles), Davids Samling (The David Collection) (0.10 miles), and Rosenborg Castle (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Generator Copenhagen?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Generator Copenhagen?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Generator Copenhagen?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Generator Copenhagen?
Conveniently located restaurants include Madbaren Marmorkirken, Punk Royale, and Restaurant Schonnemann.
Is Generator Copenhagen located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Copenhagen.
Are any cleaning services offered at Generator Copenhagen?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Generator Copenhagen?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Portuguese, Polish, and Romanian.
Are there any historical sites close to Generator Copenhagen?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Our Saviour's Church (0.8 miles), Rosenborg Castle (0.3 miles), and Christiansborg Slot (0.5 miles).
Is Generator Copenhagen accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.