We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

AARHUS Guldsmeden Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
AARHUS Guldsmeden Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 52: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed here 3 times as this is a delightful boutique hotel. The rooms are individually decorated with 4-poster beds in the 2 rooms where I stayed. Breakfast is plentiful, wholesome, organic and could last the day with exquisite fresh breads, yogurt, fresh fruit, ham & cheeses and excellent strong coffee. Coffee, tea, herbal tea and biscuits are available...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zinka99
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It is a small place. Many 60+ people (not me) would not like the steep stairs; Americans would most likely complain because the rooms are small; and I find the self-branding as organic just a bit too much. But the beds are good, the staff is friendly, the building charming, the location reasonably central with good public transport, the surroundings...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vikingtraveller07
Lisa L, Receptionschef at AARHUS Guldsmeden Hotel, responded to this review

We are glad, you had a good stay at Hotel Guldsmeden.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 2, 2016

A charming, beautiful hotel in a lovely location. They were quite accommodating, and I would have given them 5 stars had it not been for their rather rude behaviour at other times. It may be a cultural issue (Danes tend to be more direct!), but for a Brit it would not be deemed acceptable. For example, the breakfast room is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bristolmum2016
Lisa L, recepti at AARHUS Guldsmeden Hotel, responded to this review

I am so sorry, you had an unpleasant experience in our hotel. It is very important for us to give our guests a good service and make sure all guests feel good. Our breakfast room is small, as you mention, so it is sometimes difficult to make room for everyone, therefore we sometimes have to decide where our guests can...

Bergen, Norway
Reviewed August 24, 2016

It's hard to find a mor romantic place to stay i this beautiful city in Denmark. Close to the lively atmosphere bye the chanel, u find this small beutu with a backyard to fall in love with. And local beer, local and «short-travelled» food and a very good breakfast. Some noise from strecity ? Nothing like this:-) I'll be back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jani F
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed August 19, 2016 via mobile

This is Nice !! It is located in the center of Aarhus, the capital of Jutland. Guldsmeden is so nice. There is cozy atmosphere - it almost feels like coming in a private home. Even though it's is very intimate and it's a small hotel it doesn't feel crowded.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rbb001
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed August 9, 2016

We got here after Lubeck, and was very satisfied when we found this small personal hotel. It has its charm! Very small reception and breakfast are (the same room), and a perfect backyard which was an outdoor breakfast area. The hotel is located in two old buildings, and thus the floors and stairs are a bit off, but this just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OptiCan
Oslo, Norway
Reviewed August 7, 2016

I really wanted to love this hotel; the decore is wonderful, its located in the best area in Aarhus and the property is very charming. But the bed and pillows/duvet was not great; the bed was really small and squeaking every time we moved, the pillows and duvet was very lumpy (see picture) - thus making it hard to sleep....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HildeS_80
Reviewed July 15, 2016 via mobile

Really lovely little hotel in a great location for the Latin Quarter. Nicely decorated with lots of little touches like candles and pictures. Breakfast was a delicious spread of constantly topped up breads, cheeses, meats, boiled eggs, cereal, yoghurt, pastries and never ending tea and coffee. From 3pm onwards there was also yummy cake and hot drinks as help yourself...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Auditus
HotelGuldsmeden, Receptionschef at AARHUS Guldsmeden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you. We are glad you liked our little hotel, and I'm sorry to hear that you had a quite noisy night. Hotel Guldsmeden is in the center of Aarhus, and sometimes you can hear noise from the street. If you intend to come back you just ask for a room to the garden. Best regards from all of us...

Varde
Reviewed July 2, 2016

This is a nice and cozy hotel in the heart of Aarhus. The rooms are all different in size and shape, but it feels a little like being home. The hotel has a small combined reception and breakfast area, where you have to book your breakfast time prior. Different but fun. Instead of staying at large hotels, where everything is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FamilienJuhl
Roskilde, Denmark
Reviewed April 20, 2016 via mobile

What can I say - I just love Guldsmeden, this one in Aarhus is the first but the smallest. You have to accept that its in the middle of town and the noise, but on the other side of that you get a really different hotel with a fantastic style. The soap and shampoes are all organic and the scent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kdamgaard
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

95 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (38)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aarhus hotels
0.4 mi away
Villa Provence
Villa Provence
#1 of 22 in Aarhus
369 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Oasia Aarhus
Hotel Oasia Aarhus
#2 of 22 in Aarhus
557 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#7 of 22 in Aarhus
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Scandic Aarhus City
Scandic Aarhus City
#3 of 22 in Aarhus
670 reviews
0.5 mi away
First Hotel Atlantic
First Hotel Atlantic
#6 of 22 in Aarhus
669 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Aarhus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The AARHUS Guldsmeden Hotel is a small boutique-hotel with a total of 27 individually decorated rooms; all in French Colonial style. The hotel is located in the very centre of Aarhus - in the charming, old Latin Quarter - with romantic restaurants and amazing shopping facilities just around the corner. We take pride in offering our guests a personal and warm service in homely surroundings - hoping to provide a feeling of being at home away from home. Being a garni hotel we serve a full 95% organic breakfast buffet, which exceeds all expectations. At the back of the hotel you will find our beautiful garden and terrace area - with candlelights, flowers and cosy furniture. The perfect place to have a cop of organic tea, a glass of wine or just enjoying the calm ... We look forward to welcoming you at the small hotel - and sincerely hope to give you a magical stay with us. ... more   less 

Additional Information about AARHUS Guldsmeden Hotel

Address: Guldsmedgade 40 | Central, Aarhus 8000, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > East Jutland > Aarhus
Price Range: $117 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — AARHUS Guldsmeden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your AARHUS Guldsmeden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guldsmeden Hotel Århus
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Aarhus
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from AARHUS Guldsmeden Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The stairs to the upper floors are quite steep. The view is better towards the yard, but the street rooms are quiet, too.”
 of 5 bubbles vikingtraveller07, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for a room facing the backyard if you are sensitive to noise.”
  • Lumpy duvet..
 of 5 bubbles HildeS_80, Aug 7, 2016 | Read review
“Be sure to ask WHERE you room is -- I went up and down the floors and found it hard to locate!”
 of 5 bubbles DC2florida, Feb 25, 2016 | Read review
“Suite is good”
 of 5 bubbles Kroglund, Aug 25, 2015 | Read review
“make sure you test the snack / coffee bar.”
 of 5 bubbles 708george, Aug 8, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question