We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
4 Michael Papadakis Str, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00 Greece
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Travelocity
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (76)
Room & Suite (29)
Pool & Beach (3)

About

#52 of 185 hotels in Rethymnon
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.6
Value
4.4
Hotel LEONIDAS is situated just 50 m. from the main beach, at a central point of the town of Rethymno, in the Kallithea area. It was radically rebuilt and renovated in 2007, following modern aesthetic principles which give the building its own secure and individual identity. It is a block of 24 studios and apartments with furniture and an equipped kitchen. Each room or apartment has its own bath, A/C, satellite TV and balcony. The hotel is open throughout the year. It is taken care, since 30 years, by the Spanoudakis family, so it has the advantages of the family atmosphere: it is friendly and quiet.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Sauna
Breakfast buffet
Beach
Bicycle rental
Books, DVDs, music for children
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Snack bar
Airport transportation
Car hire
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Greek

Location

Full view
83Good for walkers
Grade: 83 out of 100
57Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
8Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
110Reviews4Q+A7Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 66
  • 38
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Niina wrote a review Nov 2020
37 contributions6 helpful votes
My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 11 nights. Lovely small hotel, great location, very quiet. Right near the beach and a short walk to the center of Rethymnon. The room was very comfortable and the kitchen had all the utensils to make breakfast. The room was well cleaned and everything worked great. Very nice staff. I warmly recommend this hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from EPISTIMI SPANOUDAKI EPISTIMI, General Manager at Leonidas Hotel & Apts
Responded Mar 28, 2021
Thank you very much for spending your holidays in our hotel and your nice words! We will be happy to offer you our service again. Also, thank you for taking the time to leave your review!
Read more
442Littlemiss wrote a review May 2020
Manchester, United Kingdom39 contributions52 helpful votes
We booked this hotel in November 2019 after researching many properties, due to arrive on 16th May. Unfortunately we did not foresee what was to unfold in 2020. Our flights were booked with Ryanair and, despite the travel restrictions, they were not cancelled until 1st May. As soon as lock down was announced, we knew we would not be allowed to travel but were uncertain at the time as to how long this would last. We have been in constant dialogue with the hotel trying to rearrange dates, then change again when lock down was extended. The management have been extremely patient and helpful whilst facing so much uncertainty and anxiety themselves. For some reason we hadn't taken the free cancellation option, something we always do. However, Leonidas have been very understanding and waived the fee. We would have liked to thank them via Booking.com but it appears once cancelled, you lose the facility to contact the hotel through them. We hope everyone stays healthy and safe and as soon as we are allowed to travel again, we will definitely re-book this accommodation
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from EPISTIMI SPANOUDAKI EPISTIMI, General Manager at Leonidas Hotel & Apts
Responded Aug 22, 2020
We appreciate that you spent time to create a review for us. Our priority is our guests will have memorable holidays in our hotel under of a friendly feeling. This situation of Covid is something unexpected, its not a fault nor from clients neither from the hotel but we have to be more flexible, more humans with more understanding. Stay safe and we do hope you have a next trip in our city, to our hotel at the future. Thank you very much!
Read more
Lisa H wrote a review Oct 2019
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom57 contributions26 helpful votes
This Hotel is fabulous. We stayed for a week and had the most wonderful time. A family run hotel who made our holiday so lovely and memorable. The staff are lovely. The room we had was gorgeous. Two balconies, air conditioning in the bedroom and the sitting room and a fully equipped kitchen. Immaculately clean! Beds very comfortable. Breakfast was a mix of cooked and continental with fresh fried eggs, bacon, sausage. Feta and spinach filo rolls are amazing. Good choice of pastries. Fresh bread, fruit, cold meats and cheeses. Just perfect to start the day. We highly recommend this lovely place. We will definitely return if we come back to Rethymno 🥰🇬🇷💕
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RetLeonidas, Front Office Manager at Leonidas Hotel & Apts
Responded Oct 19, 2019
Dear guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your excellent review. It was our great pleasure to host you and we look forward to welcoming you back for the very near future. Kindest regards!
Read more
RoHa57 wrote a review Sep 2019
Hommelvik, Norway17 contributions18 helpful votes
The last evening here at Leonidas Apartment before we going back to Norway.Very satisfied with one week here.Friendly staff, good breakfast, clean rooms and is nearly to the beach and good restaurants nearby.We will come back again next time we visit Rethymnon.Vidgis and Roar
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RetLeonidas, Front Office Manager at Leonidas Hotel & Apts
Responded Sep 19, 2019
Dear guest,thank you very much for your review! We will be glad to see you again!
Read more
Weronica G wrote a review Sep 2019
Varberg, Sweden15 contributions6 helpful votes
It’s very clean, everything is carefully done by the most service minded staff I have ever met! It’s close to everything, this place is fantastic! I have been to many many hotels here, this is the best for sure👍👍
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RetLeonidas, Manager at Leonidas Hotel & Apts
Responded Sep 18, 2019
Dear Friends, Thanking you for your kind words, it is always heartwarming we know that you were satisfied with our facilities but even more with our staff. It is our pleasant to offer our services to our clients, every guest for us is special! Thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays as the time spend to express your experience with us. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you at a future holiday plan of yours. Have a nice Autumn.
Read more
Lillemeg82 wrote a review Jul 2019
Moss, Norway11 contributions1 helpful vote
What an amazing and special vacation this has been for us. The hotel is exactaly like in the reviews. Clean,modern and with great locations, near everything you need. Beautiful garden with pool and very good breakfast🍅🥐🍯But here you will find what they will call greek hospitality. What an incredible family and staff at this hotel. With warmth and love they open their arms to the guest and make them feel like home. My son had a special connection with Mr.Leonidas that was so magical to see and from the first day he talked about the girl (Olga) in the reception that he really,really liked🥰My son and Mr Leonidas didnt speak the same language,but they «talked» everyday. When Debbie worked the eveningshift we talked about life,travel and family. Thanks to Leonidas Jr for awesome job at the pool. To Leo for great breakfast and high fives😎»Grandma» sweetest person in the world,giving us small tastes of her homemade,greek cuisine❤️ And to the rest of the staff,thank you❤️ We leave Rethymnon with happy memories and a new greek family❤️ We will miss you and hope to see you in the future🌸🌸🌸
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RetLeonidas, Manager at Leonidas Hotel & Apts
Responded Jul 5, 2019
Dear friends, It is our pleasant to make our guest to feel like their home. Eventhought, we had "special" connection and as you have said it was been aparent from the first day at our hotel. Our top priority for all these people who visit our hotel is to make their holidays as comfortable as we can and we are really very proud to hear that we made you to feel our hospitality.We look forward to see you soon!
Read more
Svetlana-and-Leonid wrote a review Jul 2018
Arlington, Virginia27 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
The hotel exceeded our expectations in terms of the room size and comfort (studio). The room was really spacious, as well as the bathroom that was equipped with both bath and shower and had enough shelves to place all our toiletries. The air conditioner is very wisely placed a bit aside from the bed and allows keeping the air in the room cool without the risk of catching cold. Though we did not use the kitchenette much, it was nice to have it to wash fruit and keep some snacks and water. The room is furnished with taste and has everything needed for a comfortable vacation, we also had a terrace with a table and a cozy sofa. The hotel is located in a quiet small lane just across the road from a wide sandy beach and within 20-minute walk from the old town. The staff was always ready to help with everything, including even table booking, laundry services and advising on a good shoe-repair shop. Inconveniences were insignificant. The bed was a bit too soft to our taste. The time of cleaning varied from day to day which was a bit of inconvenience for us.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: We had a semi-basement studio overlooking the swimming pool and it was very spacious and quiet...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RetLeonidas, Manager at Leonidas Hotel & Apts
Responded Jul 31, 2018
Dear guests, Thanking you for your kind words, it is always heartwarming we know that you were satisfied with our facilities but special with our staff. Concerning the beds, some of the guests prefer very soft beds some other no, so we tried to find an average solution but also relaxing. The cleaning of the rooms is daily and starts from 09:00 - 17:00. Some days they started from the first floor and some other from the fifth floor with this way it is more fair. Thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays as the time spend to express your experience with us. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you at a future holiday plan of yours!
Read more
Linus B wrote a review Jul 2018
Madrid, Spain3 contributions4 helpful votes
+ Nice and clean hotel. Good pool area. Very close to many restaurants and to the beach. Nice and friendly staff. - Way to small room for a family of four. We didnt get new towels when we had no clean ones and needed it.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RetLeonidas, Manager at Leonidas Hotel & Apts
Responded Jul 27, 2018
We appreciate that you chose our hotel for your holidays with your family In our politics, we change the towels every 2 days, if we did not change them so often, we apologised for it. You help to make us better! Thank you very much, You are welcome anytime in the future.
Read more
tillytrotterWorksop wrote a review May 2018
worksop22 contributions1 helpful vote
Wow what can we say , arrived home last night from this fantastic hotel . Immaculate through and through with very tasteful furnishings that have been carefully thought out well, lovely breakfast each morning and something for everyone . Pool area very nice with sunbeds and menu . One evening I became ill due to feather pillows in the room to which I am allergic (entirely my fault as totally forgot to inform them ) couldn't have asked for better care and service and they even went out at midnight to get me an inhaler and wouldn't take any money for it !! So kind can't do enough to help you . Would highly recommend this hotel to all and I believe they have many repeat bookings year in so get booked you won't be disappointed. Many thanks Leonidas we had a fantastic stay .
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RetLeonidas, Front Office Manager at Leonidas Hotel & Apts
Responded Jun 2, 2018
Dear guest, Firstly thank you so much for spending your holidays in our hotel! We are so pleased to know that you had nice vacations with us! My colegue and I are very much looking forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back for another fantastic stay. Kind regards, Spanoudaki Debbie Reservation Department Hotel Leonidas
Read more
MARIOHeraklion wrote a review Feb 2018
Heraklion5 contributions2 helpful votes
We loved our 3 days accommodation in Leonidas Apart-hotel this February. We had a very happy family time with friends in Rethymno. All of us have been accommodated in this renovated hotel in a beach front location close to the centre of Old Town of Rethymno. The hotel was very well maintained. Rooms were spacious, comfortable and very well equipped. Our thankful to the ladies in the reception desk (thank you as well for the free late check out). We would definitely go back in following years. PS. Mr. Leonidas, it was nice to meet you and discuss a little bit.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RetLeonidas, Manager at Leonidas Hotel & Apts
Responded May 23, 2018
Dear Mario, We appreciate that you choose our hotel for your holidays. It is so heartwarming we know that you relax in our facilities and enjoy your holidays. Of course, you are welcome anytime to comeback in our hotel. Thank you very much and have a nice summer!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$56 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
GreeceCreteRethymnon PrefectureRethymnon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Leonidas Hotel & Apts
Which popular attractions are close to Leonidas Hotel & Apts?
Nearby attractions include Rethymno Beach (0.09 miles), The Olive Garden (0.05 miles), and Nikos Siragas Wood Art (0.05 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Leonidas Hotel & Apts?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Leonidas Hotel & Apts?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Leonidas Hotel & Apts?
Guests can enjoy a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Leonidas Hotel & Apts?
Yes, free public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Leonidas Hotel & Apts?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nostos, Hercules, and Gorgona.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Leonidas Hotel & Apts?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a sauna during their stay.
Does Leonidas Hotel & Apts have airport transportation?
Yes, Leonidas Hotel & Apts offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Leonidas Hotel & Apts?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Greek.
Are there any historical sites close to Leonidas Hotel & Apts?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Venetian Fortezza (1.0 miles), Agia Irini Convent (1.8 miles), and Minoiko Nekrotafeio Armenon (3.6 miles).