We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Adelianos Kambos, Rethymnon, Crete 74100 Greece
Lowest prices for your stay
Orbitz.com
travelup.com
Destinia.com
$59
View deal
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com$65
Trip.com$81
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (160)
Room & Suite (134)
Dining (60)

About

#123 of 185 in Rethymnon
Location
3.6
Cleanliness
3.6
Service
3.6
Value
3.1
Τhe JO-AN BEACH HOTEL in Rethymno/Crete is situated 7 km east of Rethymno city, build on the beach in Adele area, with commitment to Quality & Value principles to provide the most enjoyable friendly atmosphere for every checked-in guest.Description of Accommodation JO-AN BEACH HOTEL features 49 Double rooms that can accommodate up to three persons 23 Family rooms with a living room and one separate bedroom with connecting door that can accommodate up to 4 persons 6 Maisonettes with a living room and separate bedroom with connecting door that can accommodate up to 4 persons.12 Family rooms/ Maisonette, with a living room and two separate bedrooms with connecting door that can accommodate up to 6 persons All rooms are comfortably furnished. The all have balcony, double glazed windows, individually adjustable air condition, 21” plasma satellite TV, Refrigerator, Table with chairs, Water boiler, Facilities for make coffee and Tea, Bath/Wc, Hairdryer, Bathrobe, Slippers, Safe & direct dial telephone , Internet wi-fi connect free of charge.
Read more
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Children's playground
Kids pool
Street parking
Wifi
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Game room
Billiards
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Car hire
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Sun loungers / beach chairs
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Bathrobes
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, German, Greek and 3 more
142Reviews3Q+A4Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 26
  • 46
  • 31
  • 16
  • 23
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Carole R wrote a review Apr 2022
Bedford6 contributions1 helpful vote
I booked this as a low cost last minute mini break and that is what is was. No complaints I got what I paid for. The staff are great thank you for your help Maria. You may want to check the small print as far as location it is great but a little secluded.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Evelyn wrote a review Oct 2021
3 contributions
The location of the hotel is great, close to sea. Room was not cleaned (dusting etc), only sanitised daily. Cockroach in the bathroom. No options to dry ones towels or bathrobes (no heated racks etc). Mattresses very hard. Breakfast was quite bad - dry and tasteless. Dinner was quite OK, but I would recommend to eat out still. Service in restaurant was good considering the pressure they were under, but no fancy table cloths or napkins as in the pictures. Rushed. Service at Reception was good, usually requests were met in 24 h
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Don't waste your money on food there
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Adriano0111 wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
GO FAR AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL, IT IS A FRAUD! They put us in some apts behind the hotel, and we discovered it had another name, and these apartments cost Sfr.28.- per night and the hotel is Sfr.94.- per night (on Booking). The manager got nervous when we complained and said he bought these apartments; the fact is, bought or not bought, they are different from the photos of Jo An Beach Hotel and they have a much lower standart. The internet didn't work half of the time and the shower looked like a 1 star hotel, water was going in the whole bathroom, and the mattress is the worse ever! They said they would clean the room every four days only and we had to argue so that they would clean! We had to complain 7 times until they changed us room to the Jo An Beach, after 3 nights in these apts, and there it looked better but was not really better. The mattress is the worse mattress you can get, and the smell of stew is awful, it comes from the bathroom and is there in the whole room all the time! But there the ladies said the clean the room every day at least! Except they don't clean well at all... The food was nothing special, the yogourt with honey was horrible, and they don't write what the dishes are so you gotta try to know! They also have their workers work far too much! We were never in a hotel where you see the same receptionnist at 8pm, at 10pm and then at noon the following day! We had many holidays in many hotels in the whole world and many in Greece, but we never had such a bad experience!!! We never wrote comments about any hotels because we were always happy, but we had to tell about this hotel! The manager is horrible, we had no apologies about what happened, no compensation, nothing! Any manager would have given us something free to compensate for such a situation but not this one!!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from CHRISTOS ALEXAKIS, General Manager at Jo-An Beach Hotel
Responded Oct 23, 2021
Dear, You have book a standard double room with garden view and you took a standard double room with Sea Side View on the 1st floor. The room you have belongs to Jo An Beach hotel and as i explain to you that the other hotel have only 10 rooms ( two room up of the reception and other 8 Family rooms to the next building of the receprtion , i showed the rooms). The building which you stayed belongs to us. I was not angree just i tried to explain for it and you didn't believe me. These days was a thunderstorm and on few rooms the internet antena burn off of a thunderbolt. I told you that the next morning fix and we did it. About the mattress was as you told me very hard for your husband because he have problem on his back. I told you that the mattress are new and anatomic but any way we will put a extra mattress for your husband and will see if work. You agree with it. The next day you came and told me that the mattress didn't work with your husband back and immediately you change room. I was always beside you and i tried to help you and all the problem in your room we fix it immediately. Your sincerely Christos Alexakis Manager
Read more
Laura T wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The Hotel could be very nice and cute. But it is so so dirty! They dont clean the rooms properly, or anything for that matter. When we arrived, our room was very dirty-dust everywhere, someones long black hair on the floor and in the bath. It wasnt a nice welcome. The restaurant is not clean. You have to wear a mask and one! glove, but some of the staff dont wear a mask and none of them wear gloves. So I didnt quite understand this. There's food on the floor and food itself is not nice either. There were cigarettes in the pool, the cleaning lady saw it and walked away. After cleaning the floor around the pool, she threw the dirty water just next to the pool, on the floor again. We left a sign on the door every day, so that our room would be cleaned. But we had to ask from the reception for someone to come back and clean the floors and change sheets. Also we had to ask for toilet paper because they never checked or cleaned the bathroom. In conclusion, I dont know to who I could recomend this Hotel. At a time like this, cleanlines should be the most important thing. But this Hotel was everything but clean. It wasnt a very good place for long waited holiday!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Jan K wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
I have find a Big cockroach in may bed I've made photo . I go to the restaurant na I've schow a photo of this Insekt waitres , the waitres laugh at me and has said" we have planty of cockroach hier". Average hotel . The restrooms where a bit humid.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Service
Helpful
Share
Tanja F wrote a review Jul 2020
2 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel is well located, quiet, with beautiful territory, just near the sea, 10 minutes ride to Rethymnon center. Rooms are clean, equipped with fridge and kettle. That's all good about this hotel. During COVID crisis services are organised just awful. Once you arrive to the hotel, reception staff will not check in you due to Corona - you will have to do it by yourself, online. This is not comfortable and might be an issue for older people. Also not clear how this can help against the Corona. Furthermore, we were advised by hotel staff that due to COVID, rooms will be cleaned only once per 3-4 days, which is also weird and not logical. During this cleaning nobody took dirty dishes from the room, and in overall cleaning was not good enough. We got dirty towels as "new" ones. And the worst thing is that you may wait in queue to have your meal around 40 min and then you cannot take additional cup of tea or slice of bread if you need, you will be asked to go again to the end of queue. This is because only hotel staff (but the way 2-3 persons only) can put you the food, so they accompany each guest and do it extremely slow.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Peter G wrote a review Nov 2019
Finland93 contributions12 helpful votes
This is a middle class hotel very small pool and a few sunbeds by the pool. The hotel's sun loungers on the beach you would pay for although we had all inclusive and the season was almost over. The food in the pole bar was under all criticism. The food served in the restaurant was not bad but not good either. The staff was finished after the season and was more or less unfriendly in the restaurants.We will not be returning to this hotel
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Markos K wrote a review Jul 2019
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Very rude staff average hotel the worst experience ever, pure breakfast no good taest no coffee or orange juice included! You need to pay for it! Gross!! Don't try it people they don't deserve your money!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
joannagk2015 wrote a review Aug 2018
Warsaw, Poland9 contributions
Very nice, small size, cosy hotel with absolutely outstanding staff! Food so so, we chose not to take the all inclusive option dining either at the restaurant nearby or in Rethymno and it was a good choice for us, I guess. But, overall a great place for vacation and for sure we'll come back. Clean rooms, cleaning service every day - very kind and honest people, excellent atmosphere made by bar tenders, waiters, hotel assistants, all the people who worked there for us, tourists. Generous, nice staff, open to contact, kindly chatting with each guest so after a few days we felt familiar with everyone there somehow. Beautiful, long, wide beach just at the hotel. Small village, just some shops, restaurants and car rentals but beautiful Rethymno with all sorts of entertaining offers 7 km further with an easy access by public bus or a taxi cab for +/- 15 €. We strongly recommend that place :)
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
johnlaw1503 wrote a review May 2017
South Devon, United Kingdom1 contribution2 helpful votes
location lovely but very very disappointed with the food and the hospitality of the staff. the food was awful, the room was awful. the pillows were badly stained, i peeped under the sheets and there was a mattress topper on the bed which was dirty and heavily stained, i delved deeper and was shocked by the state of the mattress.the bathroom was pokey the shower head broke twice and when I reported this the second time I was told off!! we had booked for a room in jo-ann beach but put next door in sea front appartments as all rooms in jo-ann beach booked..we ate out 4 nights out of 7 as the food was really poor.. would go back to crete but not to this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$51 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
jo an beach hotel
LOCATION
GreeceCreteRethymnon PrefectureRethymnon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
90
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Jo-An Beach Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Jo-An Beach Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Archelon Sea Turtle Protection Society of Greece (0.1 miles), Bell' Elen Pub (0.7 miles), and Royale Shopping (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Jo-An Beach Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Jo-An Beach Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Jo-An Beach Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Jo-An Beach Hotel?
Yes, free public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Jo-An Beach Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Roulis Beach Bar, Café Greco, and Levantes.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Jo-An Beach Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Jo-An Beach Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Jo-An Beach Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Jo-An Beach Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Russian, Polish, Greek, Lithuanian, and Latvian.
Are there any historical sites close to Jo-An Beach Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The Venetian Fortezza (4.4 miles), Agia Irini Convent (4.2 miles), and Monastery of Panagia Chalevi (4.0 miles).
Does Jo-An Beach Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.