We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Theartemis Palace Hotel

Save
Share
Markou Portaliou 26, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00 Greece
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
$74
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (739)
360
Panoramas (81)
Room & Suite (356)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#27 of 187 hotels in Rethymnon
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Conveniently located at the crossroads of the southern coast, between Chania and Heraklion, Theartemis Palace is a prestigious resort with a firmly established reputation. Following an ambitious renovation project : Having all our rooms recently being renovated, to offer additional luxury and comfort, that meets even the most demanding expectations. Our ongoing renovation project, continued in 2013 with developing our buffet restaurant into an all -around live dinning experience, offering to our clientele more excuses to choose and visit our hotel.
Read more
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Billiards
Darts
Airport transportation
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, German and 1 more

Location

Full view
79Somewhat walkable
Grade: 79 out of 100
48Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
7Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
797Reviews70Q+A58Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 364
  • 307
  • 95
  • 22
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
chilledflyer wrote a review Aug 2021
London, United Kingdom29 contributions36 helpful votes
We stayed at the Theatermis Palace for 7 days in early August. Given the recent renovation, the hotel does look the part as a 4* hotel (and I must say the renovated parts of the hotel are very on trend) but unfortunately everything else was just lacking somewhat in terms of the hotel being a proper 4*. A few examples: The daily breakfast was of cheap canteen quality. The hotel charges 2€ for fresh Orange juice (oranges are abundantly available in Greece so this is really stingy). If you wanted ice delivered to our room, again they’d put a 3€ charge. We had exposed telephone wiring wrapped in duct tape. Our in-room safe and a/c control panels didn’t work either. The WiFi was also very patchy in certain rooms as the WiFi boosters on each floor were clearly not adequate. The problem we also encountered was that the hotel staff selectively enforced hotel policies: they cared more about people bringing external drinks to the pool rather than enforcing no-reserving of sun-lounges rule (latter which was a huge issue as most sun-loungers were “reserved” by 8am). All in all, we didn’t have the best stay; it was just ok. I’d say this is a solid 3* hotel so keep your expectations low.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: If you want a sun lounger, you need be to be at the pool by 8am!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Theartemis Palace, Μάρκετινγκ at Theartemis Palace Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear chilledflyer, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. Your opinion is very important to us as it helps us to keep up our high standards and quality. We regret that you were not completely satisfied and that we did not have the time to offer you a better stay in our Property. In our next plans is also to improve our restaurant choices and we hope that you had the opportunity to visit our upgraded bar and enjoying this very good experience by tasting our drinks and cocktails. It was our pleasure having you as guests and we will be glad welcoming you again in the future and have one more chance to show you our hospitality and high service’ quality. We wish you all the best and have a lovely and safe winter. Kind Regards, Filippa Damianakou Guest Relations Agent Theartemis Palace
Read more
eu eu wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
plus: very good location, very close to the beach, a lot of shops and taverns etc. you have a lot activities to do all day. well maintained hotel, lux medium, clean, respect the COVID rules, good breakfast, most kind and prompt staff, a lot of things for your confort in room and the pool. minus: high price, because you don't know what room you booked and what you'll eat. part of rooms have view to street and the noise bothers a lot, some of them have a kind of balcony ( if I can name it that, but is not a balcony), the room was like a lux cavern, too dark for who want a holiday in the sun), no hairdryer. I asked to changed my room, but because I was single, probably it mattered less. and also I wasn't aggresive enough... the pool is small , even if are two ( this hotel has 2 buildings, also 2 small pools). and the worst thing was the dinner. it was like canteen food: eat because you payed for it and because of hunger...in no case for pleasure. good ingredients, bad choices for what/how they were cooked. mussels saganaki is one of the best traditional dish, in my opinion, but they has no ideea how to preapare. just make to compare with the one of a taverna. unfortunately the package inclueds half board. if they limited just to breakfast, I would have given 4 stars. but in this case, I can't. the tasteless ever... a lot of taverns near the hotel, good smell, a lot of choises...but also another money. so, my conclusion: offer all details about the rooms and make different prices...and made packages just with breackfast, to have all the same chance to choose: who wants BB, who AI or HH. and also, it would be nice to add the accomodatin tax to the value of package. it is corect and normal for everyone to know exactly how much everything is worth so that they can make the right decision when study the ofer for vacation.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: the best view is to pool, the one from second/third floor looks very nice
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations , Μάρκετινγκ at Theartemis Palace Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear eu eu, Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We appreciate your detailed comments and took all valuable information into account. Please acknowledge that your opinion is very important to us, as it helps us to improve and keep up our services. We really regret that during your stay we did not have the time to offer you a better experience in our Property. We hope to welcome you again in the near future and have one more chance to present you a lovely accomodation. It was our pleasure having you as our guests. We wish you all the best. Kind Regards, Filippa Damianakou Guest Relations Agent Theartemis Palace
Read more
AlexAndic wrote a review Jul 2021
Belgrade, Serbia502 contributions125 helpful votes
Hey everyone, I stayed in this hotel in June/July 21 and loved it. It's perfectly located, on a walking distance from the port, central Rethymno, shopping area and bar-strip. I thought I'll have problems with sleeping because the room was street-oriented, but the comfy bed and double balcony-door made it one of the best hotel-sleeps ever. The food was excellent, with variety of choice for everyone and it was tasty, damn! The staff is VERY helpful and welcoming, from the waiters, barmen and maids, all the way to the manager, a lovely lady (I think Irini was the name) that made her effort to make everyone feel like at home. Thank you guys, you were amazing!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations , Μάρκετινγκ at Theartemis Palace Hotel
Responded Jul 18, 2021
Dear AlexAndic, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your excellent feedback. We highly appreciate your warm words regarding our facilities and rooms, your detailed description of the location and we are really pleased that you were very satisfied with our staff’s friendliness. Please be assured that we have shared your comments with our colleagues in all departments as your opinion is very valuable to us. We wish you all the best and hope to welcome you back next summer. Kind Regards, Eleni Kouklinou Guest Relations Manager Theartemis Palace
Read more
EuroSrbGuy wrote a review Jul 2021
Amsterdam, The Netherlands12 contributions11 helpful votes
The overall experience was better than expected. We got welcome drinks (champagne or soft drinks were offered). We got a nice surprise with a free upgrade to a better room than what was booked and paid for. Cleanness was at the highest level and overview of the pool, especially at night when underwater lights turn on and gave a romantic vibe. At the bar next to the pool they made large cocktails btw. :) Food was nicely decorated and with reasonable different options. We had HB booked and didn't regret it. Also big thanks to the entire staff - they all were pleasant, helpful, and really assertive. They are the reason that I'm giving this 4* hotel one star more because they deserve 5* review. I'll recommend this hotel for sure to everyone who asks. :)
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Choose higher floors if you don't want to enjoy music playing at ground level.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations , Μάρκετινγκ at Theartemis Palace Hotel
Responded Jul 12, 2021
Dear EuroSrbGuy, thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your excellent feedback. We highly appreciate your detailed comments and especially your warm words regarding our services and staff. Please be assured that we will forward them to all departments. We wish you all the best. Kind Regards, Eleni Kouklinou Guest Relations Manager Theartemis Palace
Read more
evroputnik wrote a review Jul 2021
Beograd,Serbia289 contributions77 helpful votes
+1
We've never felt us so welcome, starting from receptionists and welcoming lemonade to refresh ourselves during the check in, which was very fast. Great atmosphere in the hotel overall, great lounge area outside with beautiful music for relaxation. Superior pool room is excellent choice – modern decorated with very large balcony (as extra room), perfect cleaning, quiet during the night. Restaurant – our congratulations to the Chef and all staff, without exceptions. Quality, variety of food and creations of the Chef are extraordinary. Everything is well organized, considering anti-covid measures. We felt safe! They do everything to make you feel like a family member. We learned a lot about Cretan specialties. Thank you Aggeliki, Vasiliki, Stelios, Irini... (Guys from the Ariana bar – well done!) Plenty of pool/beach towels to use them without any charge. Finally, we want to emphasize that all staff in this hotel is so professional and kind, but very warm at the same time and that makes a huge difference. Love from Serbia.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Pool view rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations , Μάρκετινγκ at Theartemis Palace Hotel
Responded Jul 11, 2021
Dear evroputnik, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your excellent rating and feedback. We really appreciate your warm words and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our greatest aim is to make our valued guests to feel like home and therefore we are thankful for your opinion as it is very important to us in order to keep up our high standards and services. Please be assured that we have forwarded your comments to the relevant departments and colleagues. We wish you all the best and do hope to welcome you again next summer. Kind Regards, Eleni Kouklinou Guest Relations Manager Theartemis Palace
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$72 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
theartemis palace hotel, theartemis palace rethymnon
LOCATION
GreeceCreteRethymnon PrefectureRethymnon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
245
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Theartemis Palace Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Theartemis Palace Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Rethymno Beach (0.1 miles), Entasis Cocktail Bar (0.1 miles), and Nikos Siragas Wood Art (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Theartemis Palace Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Theartemis Palace Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Theartemis Palace Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Theartemis Palace Hotel?
Yes, free public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Theartemis Palace Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nostos, Hercules, and Lissus Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Theartemis Palace Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Theartemis Palace Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Theartemis Palace Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Theartemis Palace Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Theartemis Palace Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Theartemis Palace Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Russian, and Greek.