We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Mesa Pigadakia Schisma Elounda, Elounda, Crete 72053 Greece
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
$544
View deal
Destinia.com
$332
View deal
Priceline
Travelocity$480
ZenHotels.com$1,041
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (660)
Room & Suite (297)
Dining (78)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#6 of 38 in Elounda
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.7
Value
4.1
Travelers' Choice
Elounda Gulf Villas is the most exclusive, award winning, family owned and run, boutique Villa-Hotel in Elounda of Crete, that consists of 18 Pool Villas and 15 Suites! All Villas offer private pools with Jacuzzi while some in addition to the private pool offer also private Spa facilities! Services of a five star hotel are uniquely combined with the privacy of a Villa Holiday! Two a la carte restaurants, a lounge bar, a private beach club, an elixir spa gallery and a Kids Club together with unique personalised service to all the guests make this boutique Villa-hotel one of its kind!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Poolside bar
Babysitting
Kids club
Airport transportation
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Private pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Car hire
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Concierge
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Butler service
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Luxury
Languages Spoken
Greek
611Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 479
  • 66
  • 25
  • 21
  • 20
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Wendy wrote a review May 18
1 contribution
Our Villa, Samos was beautiful, modern and bright, floor to ceiling windows and doors that opened onto terrace with comfortable chairs for lounging, table and chairs for outside dining, sun-loungers and our own private heated pool. In our garden terrace there is honey suckle and a little grass area and a variety of plants and trees. Panoramic views of the Islands and the sea.The sunrise at 6.30 every morning, a spectacular sight. It was all so pretty. The villa is on one level but has stairs down to the private spa room. Which has a stream room, shower, massage bed, candles and music station for docking to play relaxing music. I had two massages, one complementary, the other the Cretan massage, which is a full body massage and it was wonderful. Alexandra the therapist is very experienced and professional. She has a very gentle, friendly, manner and made me feel relaxed. I felt as if the the massage was catered for my body. It cost 150 Euros, well worth it. I went on holiday to relax, after my massage I felt a lightness and was more flexible. I will now have a massage once a month as Alexandra has proved the benefits. The hospitality is amazing! We called them the 'dream team'. They have all been there for a long time and are clearly happy to work there. Do talk to them and engage if you go there, as they are people with lives and family and they are only too happy to share their life experiences with you and tell you so much about their lovely island home. They also give you the best recommendations of places to go, places that they themselves go to. The walk down from Villa Samos to the restaurant and reception, is a walk of nature and sensuality. Hence the rosemary and honeysuckle and many other beautiful plants native to Crete. I am a little sad that I am not there now to see all of the flowers and trees in full bloom, they were just coming out when we were there. There is so much to do, we went to Knossos, Agios Nikolas and Plaka. Lovely days out, and not to crowded when we went. Good shops, excellent choices of food. Plaka has got a wine shop called the Delicatessen, which is worth a visit for all wine lovers. Elounda Gulf Villas provide rest and relaxation at a luxury level. So if you don't want to go out you can stay in. It is such a beautiful resort that you actually don't want to be away from for to long We will be going back. Thank you, Louise, Angela, Evey, Stathis, Sophia, George, George and George, Mikalis, Manos, Alexandra, Isadore, Yannis and last but certainly not least, the lovely Anastasia xx The food in the restaurant is amazing and the chef made us a wonderful chocolate gateaux for our wedding anniversary. Compliments to the chef!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Panayiotis Spanos, General Manager at Elounda Gulf Villas
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guests, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this great review. Nothing makes us happier than the great holiday experience of our guests. I am absolutely sure that your warm comments will encourage our team to continue providing high quality services. We wish to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in Elounda Gulf Villas in the near future. Kind regards, Panayiotis Spanos General Manager
Read more
Marianne C wrote a review May 6
Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom1 contribution
We stayed in a beautiful villa with infinity pool with stunning views. Everyone was very welcoming, friendly and helpful, all requests were met very promptly. The food and wines were exceptional, we really enjoyed trying the local dishes and local wines. Every day there seemed to be a special local dish on offer as well as the extensive menu - the onion soup with bulgar wheat was beautiful (the best soup we have ever had), slow cooked lamb, fish. I asked if moussaka would be available during our stay and it was cooked that evening. Portions were generous and delicious. Room service was always delivered promptly, of excellent quality and presented and laid out beautifully. My son loved the pancakes with fresh bananas and local honey. Private BBQ was a real banquet and the steak was very tasty and tender. Meals at the restaurant were a pleasure, lovely ambience with lanterns and next to the pool. Breakfast choice was excellent. The grounds were beautifully maintained with many colourful blossoms. Local honey wine and pastries were a welcome gift on arrival, the pastries were so nice we had to visit the bakery during our trip to the village and buy plenty to take home as gifts. We had a couple of queries about equipment in our villa and staff came immediately to assist. One overnight there were strong winds and the next morning they were quietly cleaning our outdoor area and pool ready for us to enjoy. We had requested a light supper be ready in our villa due to our late arrival, and a late checkout due to flight time and this was all arranged perfectly. Our villa was beautiful and kept spotlessly clean, the bed was very comfortable and we slept very well, there were nicely scented and good quality toiletries. It was quick and easy to take a taxi into the nearby village (although it would have been a pleasant walk too) where we enjoyed walking around the harbour, cafes, shops (there was also a pharmacy if needed) and picked up some lovely souvenirs including some local hand blown glass. We were genuinely sad to leave after such a wonderful week. Many thanks to all the staff who took such good care of us and made our holiday a very special time. Louise and Angela from Reception, Stathis for the excellent wine recommendations, Sofia who helped us at breakfast and ordering room service, Manos who often brought our room service and made sure everything was perfect for us, Anastasia and the Maitre D and everyone else at the restaurant for friendly service, the lovely ladies who kept our villa spotlessly clean, the friendly guys who drove the club carts, the maintenance guys who kept the pool and grounds. We hope to see you again, Marianne and Thomas.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Panayiotis Spanos, General Manager at Elounda Gulf Villas
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guests, We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel during your recent holiday and we thank you so much for your feedback. We take great pride in making everyone feel welcomed. Satisfaction of our guests is our primary concern and we are very glad when we achieve a positive result. Your positive respond and your warm comments will encourage the whole team which will keep on perfecting its services in order to exceed your expectations. We hope to be able to welcome you again in Elounda Gulf Villas, in the near future! Kind regards, Panayiotis Spanos General Manager
Read more
SCR wrote a review Nov 2021
6 contributions6 helpful votes
Don't get me wrong this is a lovely hotel and the staff are great. Our suite had a missing plug seal, and needed new batteries in the air conditioner remote control. These should have been picked up and sorted before we arrived. There was no microwave and no sockets near a mirror to do ones hair etc. The food was good but some of the bread at breakfast was a little bit stale. The evening restaurant meal was very expensive and we went to better places near by and considerably cheaper for a local Cretan experience. The staff were attentive and tried to be helpful. The massage in the spa was quality. You do need a car as it is out of town.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kadianaki Charitini, General Manager at Elounda Gulf Villas
Responded Nov 30, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at our Hotel. All your comments on the facilties of your Suite and food offered have been noted. We thank you for your positive comments on our Team and for presenting our hotel as lovely. Looking forward to welcoming you back for another stay in the island of Crete, Best regards C. Kadianakis Owner
Read more
Steve B wrote a review Oct 2021
London, United Kingdom5241 contributions974 helpful votes
+1
My wife and myself are nearing the end of a most enjoyable 11 night stay at Elounda Gulf Villas - a family run property with 30+ Suites/Villas nestled in the hills overlooking both the sea and nearby (10 minutes drive - 30 minutes walk) town of Elounda. We stayed in a One Bedroomed Deluxe Senior Suite (Medusa) which certainly lived upto its name and - at our request - not only had a user-friendly terrace but our own private lawned area. It was also extremely well located - equidistant from the Argo Restaurant (where we had our excellent Breakfast & Dinners - certainly worthwhile taking the Half-Board option) and the Reception. Facilities include an infinity swimming pool in front of the Argo Restaurant, Gymnasium, Spa and an most user-friendly Beach Club. The latter is accessed by a courtesy Shuttle Bus (bookings made via Reception) and is located 10 minutes drive away between Elounda and Plakas (closest Village to the popular Spinalonga Island attraction) and where you are guaranteed a warm reception from the Manager Stavros. On the subject of warm welcomes, the Property’s most prized asset outstanding.isthe staff who - in every department - are unfailing polite and helpful. As such, they are all Ambassadors for the Gulf Villas Brand although I would like to extend our special thanks to Louise (and all of her front of house colleagues, Manus & Sofia (plus the whole of the F&B Team) as well as the Housekeepers - where else would you get your bed linen changed on a daily basis! All in all, our stay has been a memorable one and if I were to change anything it would be some fine tuning of the Half Board Dinner Menu (beyond me why such Greek traditional favourites as Calamari, Greek Salad & Mousaka are not included) and - for purely selfish reasons - make it an Adults Only Property!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Take time selecting your Suite/Villa as they all offer different pros & cons!!
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kadianaki Charitini, General Manager at Elounda Gulf Villas
Responded Nov 30, 2021
Dear Guest, We greatly thank you for taking the time to write such a lengthy review on your holiday with us. We are all delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our Deluxe Senior Suite Medusa. Thank you so much for your positive comments on our facilities and services. We cannot thank you enough for the outstanding remarks for our Team! It is our continuous effort to offer personalised service to all our honored Guests and we are more than happy to read that you received this. Your positive comments have been passed on to our Team. We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay at the Elounda Gulf Villas while we will make sure your favourite Greek specialties are part of our Half Board menu. Warm regards from Crete, C.Kadianakis Owner
Read more
Reazi wrote a review Sep 2021
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania20 contributions10 helpful votes
We are just back from our Fifth visit to Elounda, Crete and stay at the EGV. As always our time there is simple magical. The facility is perched perfectly on the mountains to offer the most spectacular view of the sea. From the moment you check in you are treated with the utmost respect, regard and genuine warmth. No request too much and no desire left unfulfilled. The staff gladly help out with any need or assistance. The grounds beautiful and the rooms immaculate. Freshly pressed sheets almost daily, Bathrooms spotless. We stayed in a jr. Suite with a heated pool that was just heavenly. Each morning enjoying a sumptuous and delicious breakfast at the Argo dining area. Here the waitstaff treat you like famiy, offering a smile each day remembering your name, your preferences and even giving a hug to say welcome back EGV is simply heaven upon Earth. I cannot say enough to recommend this place and look forward to our return visit next year. Superb, outstanding, incredible place to stay on Crete
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: If you can indulge yourself get a suite with a private heated pool
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Kadianaki Charitini, General Manager at Elounda Gulf Villas
Responded Sep 27, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for being so generous! It is our honor to welcome you back for the fifth time! Above all we thank you for your positive comments on your experience with our Team. We are extremely happy and grateful to read that our continuous efforts for personalised serviced combined with professionalism and genuine care is being felt and well received by our valued guests. Can't wait to welcome you back for the sixth time! Best Regards C. Kadianakis
Read more
Vicci wrote a review Sep 2021
London, United Kingdom16 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
I loved this hotel so much! The service was exceptional, with the staff going above and beyond to ensure you had a great time. The food was fantastic, I highly recommend the fine dining at restaurant Daphni. Our superior spa villa was just incredible, such amazing views from the private pool. The beach is about a ten minute drive away but it’s private and had lovely views, though to be honest we loved our villa so much we didn’t even want to stay at the beach! We had a wonderful stay and only wished we could have stayed longer. Absolutely perfect for a romantic occasion and would recommend it to anyone. Thank you to all the staff there for a great time!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: There are lots of activities you can book, and if you can upgrade to a pool villa then do,...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Kadianaki Charitini, General Manager at Elounda Gulf Villas
Responded Sep 27, 2021
Dear Guest, What a wonderful review! Thank you so much for taking the time to post it and share your expereince with us with the Readers of Tripadvisor. We all look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay and thank you for recommending our boutique Villa-Hotel, Best Regards C. Kadianakis
Read more
Miamiheat1 wrote a review Sep 2021
South Miami, Florida32 contributions68 helpful votes
Hotel is not in a good location. It is isolated and you need to rent a car or take a cab every time you want to go to dinner. View of the bay was obstructed by the pool area. Lower end rooms were outdated. Wallpaper peeling off the walls, dirty bathtub upon check in. We were transferred into a different room upon complaint which was better, and an upgrade. So they did try. Restaurant was very good and service was very good. I think there are better options with better bay access upon familiarizing myself with this hotel and area.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Kadianaki Charitini, General Manager at Elounda Gulf Villas
Responded Sep 27, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing our boutique Villa-Hotel for your recent stay in Crete and for your positive comments on our restaurant service, views over the bay and food. We were surprised to read that you were dissatisfied with the location of the Hotel. Elounda Gulf Villas is located just at the outskirts of the Elounda Village and our Guests, if they wish, can walk to the village (approx. 10-15 min walking distance). Restaurants and tavernas in the area are accessible by car or taxi as you also mention in your review; allow me to add that this is the case for all 5star hotels in the area. We were sorry that the Suite you were initially allocated was not up to your expectations. Happy to know the upgrade you received was better. Hope to welcome you back for a different experience of the Elounda Gulf Villas, Best Regards C. Kadianakis
Read more
CycleGuy49 wrote a review Sep 2021
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom60 contributions48 helpful votes
+1
From the moment we arrived for our week long stay we knew we had picked the right place. We received a genuinely warm welcome from the staff who couldn’t have been more helpful. The first surprise was to be upgraded to a fabulous Executive Spa Suite with two rooms, full gym, sauna, steam room, kitchen, and the piece de resistance, a large private infinity pool with amazing views of the Gulf of Mirabello and Spinalonga. The food service was really great and the staff so friendly. Particular mentions to George on the bar for his awesome Mojitos and Strawberry Daiquiris, to Sophia and Giorgis for breakfast, to Stathis for his service and Vasilis, hotel manager who couldn’t have been more helpful throughout. The hotel is built on a slope but this is not a problem as the staff whisk you up and down to your rooms in golf buggies on a moment’s notice. This is a small family run hotel with 18 villas and 15 suites. As a result it is intimate and the staff all knew our name by the end of the first day and nothing is too much trouble. We had looked at some of the larger, well-known names in Elounda but this one appealed to us much more and we were not disappointed. A small, luxury hotel it most definitely is! We didn’t go to the beach whilst here but it was just a short complimentary ride away had we wanted to, but why would we, when we had these views to look at. One night we had the taster menu in the A la carte restaurant and that was genuinely a surprise – it was an excellent meal and beautifully served. The other nights we ate in the hotel restaurant and the food was all very good. So well done – we had a great time.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The higher up the hillside the better the views!
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kadianaki Charitini, General Manager at Elounda Gulf Villas
Responded Sep 27, 2021
Dear Guest, Greatly thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review of your stay at our boutique Villa-Hotel! We are delighted to read that you had a wonderful holiday with us. Thank you for all your positive comments on the Executive Spa Pool Villa as well as the services of the Hotel. Above all, we thank you for emphasising your great experience with our staff. We are happy and grateful to read that our continuous efforts to offer exceptional personalised service to all our Guests is being felt and well received. We hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Elounda Gulf Villas in the near future. Best Regards C. Kadianakis
Read more
Hamish1111 wrote a review Sep 2021
London, United Kingdom83 contributions58 helpful votes
What a delightful experience! If you want true luxury in discreet and beautiful surroundings, away from the big crowds further along the coast, this is the place to come. We stayed one week in a superior suite with private infinity pool and stunning views across the bay to Spinalonga. The rooms and bathrooms are beautifully equipped and the service is second to none. The private beach (short 10 minute drive in the regular free shuttle ‘bus) is a delight - the water is so clean and warm, the beach club is well equipped with an excellent food and drink menu; there was never more than a handful of other guests at the beach when we were there, making it feel especially private and peaceful. The half-board option worked very well for us with a wide range of choices for all courses (Greek and international choices), though watch out for the dishes which are not part of the half-board deal, although they are marked on the menu and there are plenty of choices which are in the deal. The restaurant enjoys a beautiful setting by the floodlit main swimming pool, overlooking the bay. If you’re planning to eat out, you’ll need a hire car or a taxi (€8 to nearby Elounda town where there are lots of waterside options or €14 to Agios Nikolaos, which is bigger but much more touristy). Breakfast was excellent - so many choices and no limits to how much you could order! The staff at the restaurant was not only incredibly obliging and helpful, but also wonderfully friendly and always smiling. The same can be said for the staff on reception, who always went out of their way to help with any questions or requests. We enjoyed a truly luxurious and peaceful holiday and would definitely recommend this to both couples, families and single travellers, as it caters for a wide variety of guests in a myriad of different sizes of villas and suites, many with private pools. We will definitely return one day…hopefully soon!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Kadianaki Charitini, General Manager at Elounda Gulf Villas
Responded Sep 27, 2021
Dear Guest, Greatly thank you for your wonderful review on your recent stay in one of our Superior Suites! All your positive comments have been noted and have been passed on to our Team. We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay in true luxury, discreet beautiful surroundings away from the big crowds, Best Regards C. Kadianakis
Read more
Nidnod wrote a review Aug 2021
Smarden, United Kingdom25 contributions18 helpful votes
My wife and I met up here after 7 months apart owing to COVID. It is a stunning setting with staff who could not be more accommodating and helpful. We were half board - which I completely missed when booking! - and it was outstanding value. This is a resort that deserves to thrive. Thank you for a memorable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Take a buggy from the restaurant to your room!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Kadianaki Charitini, General Manager at Elounda Gulf Villas
Responded Sep 27, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your wonderful review on your recent holiday with us and for emphasising our setting, service and half board. We are delighetd to read that the personalised service offered by our team is being felt and recognised by our valued guests. Hope we can welcome you back in the future for another memorable stay, Best Regards C. Kadianakis
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$291 - $630 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
elounda gulf villas hotel elounda, elounda gulf hotel
LOCATION
GreeceCreteLasithi PrefectureElounda
NUMBER OF ROOMS
33
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Elounda Gulf Villas
Which popular attractions are close to Elounda Gulf Villas?
Nearby attractions include ARC ( Chez Georges ) (3.5 miles), Eklektos Bookshop (1.4 miles), and Cretan Olive Oil Farm (2.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Elounda Gulf Villas?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Elounda Gulf Villas?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at Elounda Gulf Villas?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a poolside bar, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Elounda Gulf Villas?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Elounda Gulf Villas?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rakomelo, Anemomylos Restaurant, and Basilico.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Elounda Gulf Villas?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Elounda Gulf Villas have airport transportation?
Yes, Elounda Gulf Villas offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Elounda Gulf Villas?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Elounda Gulf Villas?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Spinalonga (Kalydon) (4.0 miles), Spinalonga Fortress (3.9 miles), and Ottoman Residence (3.8 miles).
Does Elounda Gulf Villas have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.