We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort

Save
Share
Pigadakia Main St 60511, Elounda, Crete 720 53 Greece
Lowest prices for your stay
$152
View deal
Booking.com
Expedia.com
$152
View deal
Official Site$172
Hotels.com$152
Orbitz.com
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (496)
Pool & Beach (116)
Room & Suite (91)

About

#17 of 36 hotels in Elounda
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.5
Value
3.8
The only golf-and-spa resort on Crete is a whole world on its own, with the "World's Best Spa" according to the Sunday Times' "Travel" magazine. Rooms and suites have panoramic views Mirabello Bay over the green expanse of the golf course's 9 holes. Children are particularly well catered for, with a dedicated facility offering indoor and outdoor play areas, a lawn-laid olive-grove, a water-park and a sports field.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Kids stay free
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Yoga classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Canoeing
Diving
Game room
Golf course
Snorkeling
Tennis court
Billiards
Table tennis
Waterslide
Babysitting
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Strollers
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hammam
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Desk
Housekeeping
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bidet
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Lagoon View
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, German and 2 more

Location

Full view
40Car recommended
Grade: 40 out of 100
10Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
1Attractionwithin 0.75 miles
756Reviews48Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 435
  • 192
  • 85
  • 25
  • 19
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Debra W wrote a review Sep 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Lovely hotel on a good beach location, good bar service and rooms comfortable. Hotel spread out quote a bit so be prepared for a long walk to the beach if you are placed in a far away part of the hotel, so dont forget anything !. Breakfast very good, lots of choice and freshly made. Need taxi to get into town of Elounda as there is no courtesy bus shuttle which is a shame, but if you want a choice of good restaurants then either Elounda or Plaka are great places to eat. Felt hotel could have been a bit livlier, they have a games room but most of the time the pool tables were out of order. couple of onsite shops which are good but very pricey, except the general store which is very well stocked. Golf good too as told by my son in laws, water sports on site really good too. Now in know this next part will be unpopular but, the pool is really good, however the amount of inflatables being used in the pool at all times was ridiclous there was hardly any space to swim and it certainly wasnt relaxing, lots of children around of all ages that just left them floating about so it was good that the sea was a short walk away.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: try to be in the centre of the hotel not on the wings
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ilias Kokotos, Ιδιοκτήτης at Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest Thank you for visiting Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort, for taking the time to review the property and for very good rating. We are really glad you enjoyed the resort and in particular the beach, the location, golf course, the restaurants and water sports. We are sorry it was not communicated to you that there is a games room next to the reception, and that there is a also a shuttle service to and from the beach with club cars for whomever doesn’t want to walk. Finally, your opinion about inflatables being used in the pool is not unpopular, at least for us. We totally agree , and we have already discussed this in our meetings, that at the period of your stay, end of August, this was overdone and we will make sure it won’t happen again. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Warm Regards Ilias Ilias S. Kokotos Marketing Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rani0501 wrote a review Aug 2022
Tel Aviv, Israel78 contributions52 helpful votes
+1
We stayed for 5 days at the Porto At the end , my family and I had the same thoughts- can we stay for some more days The property is very well maintained The stuff- are very welcome , very professional Very polite The pools in the room - are very clean and very nice The Six Sense SPA amazing and the pool in the SPA amazing view The main pool - nice The main beach - unbelievable, very clean , and clear sea we really enjoyed Breakfast was excellent We drove every night to Eluonda village or to Agia Nikolas to eat at one of the Taverns one point- I wish the Walter sport will have more choices
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Take the room with the private pool. And ask about the SPA Spend one day at the SPA pool
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Deborah P wrote a review Aug 2022
5 contributions3 helpful votes
The rooms in this hotel are dated and not per the contemporary pictures on the website. We felt they were miss-advertised and whilst we were shown other rooms unless you took the pool they were all old decor. Whilst the hotel gave us some treatments free to try and help this did not really address the accommodation issue. The food though is excellent and it is nice to dine around. Watersports by the hotel (although not part of the hotel) are excellent and we had an amazing charter with them. Waterslides are also waste of time, as for small children and only available twice a day and not on a Sunday.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ilias Kokotos, Ιδιοκτήτης at Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort
Responded Aug 13, 2022
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort, for your excellent comments regarding our restaurants and the water sports center of the hotel. We are sorry to say that we feel that there are parts of your review which might mislead readers of this website. It is true that sea view rooms, and superior rooms with individual pools have a very different style of decoration, with the first being much more traditional and the second being contemporary. But it is not true that this is not shown in our website. Under the section “rooms” someone can see a large picture of a room with a pool and when you scroll down, you can see images of individual pools and the sea-view room. We are sorry you didn’t notice the difference in the images, but we can’t be held responsible for this, since whoever visits our website can see that the pool is shown very clearly in the contemporary room and there is no pool in the picture of the traditional room. We are also sorry that the complimentary Six Senses Spa treatments offered where not appreciated and described as “some treatments”. Moreover we are sorry you didn’t mention in your review that waterslides are under the kids section of our website. So we don’t understand why we are accused of them being “only for children”? It is logical that kids and adults can’t use the waterslides at the same time, but someone can book and use the waterslides for private use. Finally, it is not true that “water sports are not part of the hotel”. The water sports center is in the heart of resort with very easy access for all guests. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to reply to your review and looking forward to welcome you back. Best Regards Ilias Ilias S. Kokotos Marketing Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nives P wrote a review Jul 2022
Ljubljana, Slovenia10 contributions14 helpful votes
I stayed at Porto Elounda in July for 3 days with my 3 kids. We booked a room with a private pool with breakfast included. I have to admit that I was a bit disappointed with the hotel...the room and the private pool. The sleeping part of the room was nice, but the bathroom and the pool need some maintenance. The staff at the hotel is really nice from the people at the reception to the staff at the restaurant and at the beach. The buffet breakfast was of our taste. We love eggs, vegetables, fruit, and greek yogurt ...You have plenty of fruits, greek yogurt, and pastries... The beach area is really nice with sand and grass. The kids really enjoyed it. A lot of green areas for kids to play. The main pool at the beach is big and fine to chill and swim in. There is also a snack bar if you want to pick anything at the beach. I can't give any opinion regarding the food, but breakfast, as we eat out our dinners in Elounda and Plaka. I think overall is a nice, tranquil hotel for families and golf lovers. A lot of green areas for kids to play.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
E J wrote a review Jul 2022
Turin, Italy6 contributions4 helpful votes
We visited Porto Elounda 10 years ago with our 2 kids that at that time were 5 and 6 years old. It was our oldest son that came with the idea of revisiting since he still remembered the great time he had in Crete. The hotel has really changed a lot. We had a room with a pool that was totally renovated , very modern. The boys had a sea view room , which is not renovated but has all the facilities you would ask. Large with great views. What has really changed is the beach area of the resorts. The have redone the whole area and build two new pools which are great. They have also renovated the restaurants , with the Italian one being a branded restaurant that belongs to the Ferragamo family. They also have this restaurant in Florence , Tuscany , London and Dubai. The spa , 10 years after is still the best spa we have ever visited. In a few worlds Porto Elounda is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a beautiful holiday in Crete. m
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
goatandrat wrote a review Jul 2022
Epsom, United Kingdom26 contributions6 helpful votes
My husband encountered some serious unexpected health problems on day 2 of our holiday and ended up in the local hospital for several days. The staff, particularly reception could not have been kinder and more supportive during a very stressful time. The rooms were not great, poorly designed. The views were lovely. The beach area and beach bar was marvellous . Food at the half board restaurant was very good but sadly closed due to not enough diners and we were expected to use other restaurants which had limited menus, were rather pretentious and not suitable for a convalescent. Pity. All in all though considering the circumstances we were very glad to be staying at this hotel. It was big, with large groups of holiday makers but staff had the time and patience to support us. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ahdi wrote a review Jul 2022
Kuwait4 contributions
+1
The hotel is 1 hr from the airport. At first it sounded isolated and far from big downtowns but with time i found it very relaxing. The rooms are big with big bathrooms ( one room has a very small shower box ). Rooms are big but with windy days the squeeky noise from the sliding door near the pool side was annoying. Staff is excelkent especially Zoe from reception. Breakfast are was big and the view is superb,, the staff in the breakfast are as well as in all restaurants are excellent. Internet was fast at the beginning but later became slow. Amazing private beach with watersport activities. There are some shops inside the hotel and there is a small market 4 min walking away from the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Check the size of the shower box before you take the room.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Petri L wrote a review Nov 2021
Moscow, Russia33 contributions30 helpful votes
We arrived in mid August in one evening after quite an exhausting trip. We settled in the room and immediately felt a sort of damp air that goes together with poor (non existent) ventilation. We opened the patio door to our “private” swimming pool, that we noticed we happen to share with four other rooms and let the breeze take out the unpleasant aroma. Three stars, maximum. The room was spaceous, but has not been renovated, I am guessing for at least twenty years (apart from the very nice bathhroom). No keycards, basic metal key and what was funny, to lock the patio sliding door, one had to push a metal pin on a chain throgh a hole drilled through the window frame from inside. Three stars, maybe even two. We arranged with the guest services manager to have dinner at the fish restaurant, where one has to take the hotel buggy transfer, it is a good 10-15 minutes walk otherwise. The fish was fresh, other than that the food was pretty much nondescript. We were told that the restaurant would be full, but it was far from that. This script actually repeated more than once later on. The service was below average, after our mains we waited for half an hour waiving hands and trying to make noises to get the desert list. We finally got it and after it the surprisingly not modest bill. Three stars. After returning to the hotel we fast fell asleep for me to wake up at midnight to the fire alarm. As we had our own patio, I woke up my wife and we started to throw our stuff out and then went ourselves there. Notably, no one else in the hotel reacted at all, and lo and behold, after half an hour of alarm, it went off. We threw our stuff back into the room and fell asleep again. At two the alarm went off again and as there was no smoke anywhere, I ran to the reception where a security guy just said “sorry, sorry, I will switch it off”. Very strange. In the morning we went to the customer service manager and asked wtf it was and is is a thing that happens often (as nobody reacts)? She said “no, no, no, I do not know and will ask the hotel manager and then tell you”. She never came back with an explanation. One star, really low point of the stay, see the last comment. The breakfast was wholesome but unimaginative, certainly nowhere near five stars. The personnel there I would rank the best in the hotel complex, apart from the very talkative young man at the omelette station who consistently overcooked everything, every day. Four stars, a stretch. I do not know why, but most of the waiting stuff in the hotel complex restaurants seemed like they are doing it for the first time, not knowing much of the basics of the trade, coming from all around the Europe, mostly eastern. The beach is small, but nice, suitable for kids. There are areas, where adults w/o kids are separated, nice touch. The service of the beach bar was good. Also, the beach restaurant with the open water inside was in my opinion the best in the complex and the only one where the sommelier had good idea about the wines they sell. Four stars. In the evening we dined at the Italian restaurant that was personally recommended by the guest services manager. The evening was a complete disappointment. There were now lots of service personnel, but most did not seem to have a clue about what to do. The head waiter/manager was running around the place, barking orders to the staff to a degree it made us uncomfortable. About the wines, local ones here as almost everywhere, the “sommelier” only was able to point finger at the wine list saying “this is popular”. Probably the anticlimax of the dinner was when my wife ordered ossobuco that proved to be completely tasteless and to save the meal asked the waitress if she could bring gremolata (a mix of parsley, lemon grind and horseradish), she came back and said that the chef said that kitchen is too busy to do it. Five stars is very far away from this, I’ll give it three, maximum. After this we decided to try dining outside the complex and were very positively surprised to discover that both in Elounda and also fairly close to the hotel there are very nice family restaurants with food better that in the hotel and prices roughly a third of the hotel price. Also, as the waiting staff was local, they had much better understanding about local wines than in the hotel. We never looked back and were very happy to go out every evening. The only problem with going outside the hotel is that one needs a taxi. Taxi takes anywhere from 15 to 30 minutes to come, if it is called at all. Altogether three times our taxi booking was “forgotten”, twice when we called in advance from the room and once right at the reception. We were wondering why our taxi is not coming while people coming to the desk behind us got their taxis already, I went back after waiting for more than half an hour. And the answer was “oh, I forgot”. Two stars. At breakfast right before we were leaving for the airport, the fire alarm went off again. When I asked the waiter, he answered “oh, it happens often, do not worry”. This confirmed my one star from the first day. We left the hotel and decided to not ever come back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: The “private pool” is not private, you share it with four rooms.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ilias Kokotos, Ιδιοκτήτης at Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort
Responded Jan 24, 2022
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort and for your positive comments about the beach area of the resort. We are also glad you enjoyed the area of Elounda, which indeed is one of the most beautiful places in Greece. We are sorry to read that you didn’t enjoy several areas of the resort but please allow me to clarify some points that may mislead other readers of this website. Room: You booked a room with a shared pool, not an individual one. Obviously this is a different room category. All rooms and suites with access to individual pools have been totally renovated with a much more contemporary style of decoration and this is clearly mentioned in our website. Fish restaurant: It is true that it takes 10 minutes with a buggy for the Fish restaurant, but you have not mentioned that it is located in our sister property. We are sorry you didn’t enjoy your meal there but please allow me to say that this restaurant is awarded every year as one of the 20 best restaurants of the country at the Toque d’ Or Awards. Kind Regards Ilias
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JEB wrote a review Oct 2021
Brighton, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
We’re here for this October half term break. It’s a lovely location, the staff are friendly, but the main swimming pool by the beach is absolutely freezing. The hotel advertises this as being heated to 27 degrees in cooler months, but none of the staff seem to know this! Also, the kids club only has had space for 10 kids this week!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ilias Kokotos, Ιδιοκτήτης at Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort
Responded Nov 10, 2021
Dear Guest We are really sorry you didn’t reconsider you review, despite your meeting with our general manager. During that meeting we showed you the temperature table which showed that the main pool was heated every day, with a temperature between 25 and 27 C, depending on the outside weather. We also offered to check the main pool temperature with you, on the spot, which you refused. Regarding the kids club: It is not true that the kids club has a capacity of only 10 kids. This only occurred on one day, when one of the staff members fell ill. This was explained to you at the time, you accepted this and then visited the club during the following days, on numerous occasions. Kind Regards Ilias Ilias S. Kokotos Marketing Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AndyR17 wrote a review Sep 2021
Weybridge, United Kingdom70 contributions80 helpful votes
This hotel was our first choice, as part of a holiday for our family to celebrate my 70th birthday, due to the facilities on offer for differing age groups. The whole group enjoyed every aspect of our stay. We were impressed at how clean and cared for the whole hotel was, how attentive the staff were in every area. The flexibility of being able to choose differing restaurants each evening is a bonus, and the food provided was of good quality. Special thank you to the Reservations Team - several changes to booking due to the pandemic dealt with so well, and perfect rooms booked for us all - thank you. To the staff at breakfast who always managed a smile and great service and to the team at the pool bar who work so well and so hard together to ensure everyone has a good holiday. Well done to the management team for keeping things going so well in difficult times. A holiday I shall long remember .
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$173 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
porto elounda deluxe hotel elounda
LOCATION
GreeceCreteLasithi PrefectureElounda
NUMBER OF ROOMS
128
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort?
Nearby attractions include Elounda Beach (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Taverna Akrohoria, Terrassa Restaurant, and Old Mill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.