We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ionas Boutique Hotel

Savings alert: 16% below average rate
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Traveler (119)
Room & Suite (38)
Dining (3)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#34 of 114 hotels in Crete
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
A small boutique hotel with 9 guest rooms,Ionas Boutique Hotel is a carefully restored historical home, centrally located in a charming neighborhoodof the Venetian Port of Chania.Situated in the most quiet, authentic sectionof town, with many ofthe city's monumentsand museums within walking distance, Ionas Boutique Hotel is also served by numerous local markets, cafes, and restaurants.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Concierge
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Room features
Air conditioning
Minibar
Refrigerator in room
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighborhood
Quiet
199Reviews
2Q+A
27Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 131
  • 43
  • 15
  • 6
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
+1
We spent 3 nights at this excellent hotel. I really can't say enough about the quality of our room and the service! Our room and bathroom were spotless. We had the room that also had a loft area where our daughter slept. 1 bathroom. Our room was beautiful - not a typical hotel room. A bonus was the roof top "sitting area" available to all guests - couches, plants - very comfortable to sit with a bottle of wine. Great breakfast and you could eat breakfast outside on a very cute patio with beautiful vines as the roof! They even made up lunches for us for the Samaria Gorge hike when we left very early one morning. The people working there were extremely friendly (Maria, Karlis, George) and very helpful. We arrived around 1am our first night due to a delayed flight (Olympic Air - all 3 of our flights with them were delayed) and George stayed late and gave us guidance to the hotel. We took the bus from the airport and walked from the bus station (about a 10 minute walk) to the hotel. The hotel is in a part of "old town" with small no-vehicle cobble stone streets and al fresco restaurants very close (Ginger Restaurant was very good) - which made it extremely easy to get an excellent Greek dinner when our days ran long. The hotel is in an area that seemed more residential, which I prefer (less noise), with shops just a 3 minute walk. It was about a 15-20 minute walk to Old Town Harbor with such great restaurants along the harbor (highly recommend Ta Chalkina). The extra bonus is the bus station being so close - we used that to get to the Samaria Gorge, Elafonisi Beach and the airport. They have very nice coaches. Also, on our last day, we were able to store our luggage at the hotel while we toured around Old Town. The only slight con is that the front-desk is not "manned" 24x7.
Read more
We got in late after a long trip from Newark, NJ. The place is very pretty but the rooms do not look like the pics. I booked a junior suite with jacuzzi. Did not get the tub, was told it was that or a jetted shower which was not at all clear from the listing. The bed is up on a riser with steps on only one side (what are you supposed to do to get down on the other side as ther is no room to walk in front of the bed...are you supposed to crawl over each other?) and this was a huge hazard for falls at night. The bathroom was just so-so, beds were very hard and the sofa bed was horrible to sleep on, even for my 19 yo daughter. The breakfast was lovely and WiFi good so I will give them props for that. The location is not convenient for walking to the old town area. We decided to relocate and were hit with a 30% cancellation fee. I understand that would have been charged had we not shown up at all but if we were not given what we were promised and the accommodation was poor, I think that was very unfair. When I tried to appeal through booking.com, I was told that they offered me the room with jacuzzi (uh, no) and that I “demanded” a sea view room (again, no). Choose elsewhere...
Read more
Response from Ionas Boutique H, Ιδιοκτήτης at Ionas Boutique Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear L.P. We would also like to give our side of the story. Your reservation for Junior Suite , applies to two rooms, one has bathtub jaccuzi and the other has shower cabin. This is mentioned even before you reserve the room on the room amenities " bathtub or jet shower " . It is very clear that you did not pay attention on the description and you were dissapointed. The next day you complained to our employee, about the bathtub , the step that you thing was not convinient and the view of the room, tried to explain you, you did not want to listen and offer you to change room at that moment, to the room with bathtub , that has no step in the room. Your reply was that you wanted to leave, you did not even look at the room and then you argued that our hotel is too far from the port. Our hotel is located 500 meters from the entrance of the old venetian harbour ( 7 minutes in walking distance) and is part of the old town located in a quite pedestrian street. At the end we realized that you wanted to departure no matter what we say or what room we offered in order to go to an accomodation that has view of the harbour and the sea. With your reviews and and communication with Booking.com and bank you want to get refunded for the cancellation fees applied, with the excuse that we did not offer what we promised but anyone can see with a small search that your arguments have no base. We can always send you documents and photos that can prove our statement if you want, since you are still not convinced that our hotel has not mislead you and stop this false accusations. In the end we hope you and your family ,had nice time in Chania town and enjoyed your holidays.
Read more
This little place is so beautiful. Definition of boutique hotel! It’s on a very quiet road. Walkable to wherever you want to go. Plenty of wonderful eateries nearby. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Will definitely stay again.
Read more
We have been to this little place just off the main bustle of chania centre many times . We would recommend that you try it . The staff are very pleasant and willing to help. The accommodation is very good. We have stayed in various rooms which have their on suite just for you to enjoy either a great shower of a good soak. We would recommend you try this friendly and plush hotel. Great central position for just walking around Chania.
Read more
Had a wonderful 3 night stay extremely friendly staff . Beautiful room great location.. I could go on forever with the compliments .. Maria and her team are great and it's well worth a visit here. We were kindly upgraded which just enhances our experience
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$84 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ionas hotel chania
LOCATION
GreeceCreteChania PrefectureChania Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing