Mitsis Selection Laguna

Mitsis Selection Laguna

Traveler (7398)
slaapkamer
Room & Suite (723)
Lobster at fishrestaurant
Dining (669)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

$341
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
$380
Easy and fast booking
Only 1 left at
$291
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 3 resorts in Anissaras
Location
4.0
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.6
Value
4.4
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Mitsis Selection Laguna is the richest ultra-all-inclusive 24h 5* beach resort in Crete and member of Mitsis Selection, with breath-taking design of rooms and a majestic Venice-style pool landscape. The hotel opened in May 2011 on the Blue Flag awarded beach of Anissaras, in Hersonissos in Crete. Mitsis Selection Laguna features 351 luxurious rooms, 6 restaurants and 6 bars, including the new Champagne, Wine & Sushi Bar, a state-of-the-art spa, and concierge and transfer services. The golden colour of the reception desk, the handmade furnishings & the stylish decoration of the lobby, together with the warmest welcome is where your unforgettable holidays begin. DISTANCES Airport: 22 km, Port: 24 km, Heraklion town: 24 km, Hersonissos: 3 km, Beach: in front of the hotel
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Fitness classes
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Diving
Tennis court
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Ironing service
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Additional bathroom
Private balcony
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
VIP room facilities
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, German and 1 more

Location

Anissaras, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14 Greece
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 49 out of 100
49
N. Kazantzakis Airport
10.8 mi
See all flights
Sitia Airport
42.8 mi
See all flights
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles4,416 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Mitsis Selection Laguna is celebrated for its vibrant atmosphere, complete with a variety of pools, dynamic evening entertainment, and special events that keep guests enthralled. Though the service is generally commended for being friendly, there are mentions of occasional slow service in the bars and restaurants. While opinions on the hotel's value are mixed, with some citing overpriced elements, the clean and well-maintained rooms garner positive feedback. Despite some calls for room refurbishment, the amenities—including diverse dining options—are well-regarded, although waits can be long. The hotel's location is also a plus, offering easy access to beaches and local attractions.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Lively
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Comprehensive

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
4,416Reviews1,032Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 3,150
  • 810
  • 317
  • 86
  • 56
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Anchorman wrote a review Apr 2024
United Kingdom166 contributions46 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favorite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Wow Wow and Wow again.

Before I go into my review below, if you don't fancy the long read. Please just take this summary away for this - do not hesitate to book this wonderful and fabulous place! Everything will meet your expectations and you will be so very happy with your stay.

Where to begin! This really is a completely all inclusive 24 hour a day resort with no expense spaired!  We booked directly through the website which was not only the best decision price wise, it also offered several unique perks, such as: complementary room service for our full stay (as appose to a 10€ charge per order) - free airport return transfers and complimentary early check in! You also can generate "Mitsis" points for future free stays and perks.

The Mitsis Laguna offers impeccable service, food, drink and hospitality.  The food is wonderful.  We ate at the a la Carte restaurants most nights and truly enjoyed them all.  We tried all of them at least twice due to great preparation and booking ahead.  If you are reading this and thinking of doing a week, I would advise you to increase your stay to 8 or 9 or even beyond 10 days (we did 10).  A - because the resort is phenomenal and you could enjoy even more relaxation. B - in order to maximise usage of the Restaurants. Picking and choosing all different things to try at each restaurant is so much fun and waiters have no issues with you ordering loads!  I love the fact you get a menu when you sit down too, the vibe is awesome feels like your in a really cool fancy restaurant with a Lagoon next to it, idilic!  Please be aware that as mentioned above the restaurants must be pre booked months in advance.  If you have booked the Mitsis Laguna already, straight away log in to the App and start booking so you don't miss out!

Lunch is great, plenty of variety to pick from, Gyros, corn on the cob, cheese burger, freshly made fries on the beach from the beach bar.  Or the Crepearie which serve sweet or savoury freshly made crepes infront of you cremes, ice cream or cakes all by the gorgeous lagoon. The snack corner can offer you toasties or hot dogs, easy and perfect for young children.
On Sunday by the main pool you have a delicious freshly made BBQ so get to the main pool early to get a sun lounger for live music and fresh Greek BBQ.  If all this wasn't enough for lunch options you still have the 24 hour Buffet and room service available.  So spoilt for choice! 
We really loved room service on the occasions we had it, travelling with 2 young kids it was great for breakfast or a late night munch. 

The buffet we barely used but all seemed OK, they had theme nights most nights, Italian, American, Mexican, Mediterranean, Peruvian, European, Greek and Gala. They are the ones I remember seeing the signs for!  It is crazy to think that we stayed 10 days here and only used the buffet 3 times, twice for breakfast and once for dinner, not once for lunch!  This comes back to that pre holiday preparation of getting the restaurants booked as soon as possible as I really could not have done the buffet more than the couple of visits we did. If I am travelling to a 5* resort I don't want to spend my days serving myself, especially when the restaurants are so elite.  There is also a free unlimited topped up daily mini bar too! It really is a 24 hour complete everything included All Inclusive.

Some members of staff can not do enough for you, there are staff everywhere which is great, (some staff can come across abrupt and grumpy but let's just keep this all positive as the majority will outway the few!)

I would like to give a shout out to some of the wonderful members of the team, travelling with 2 children can be stressful and hard work, especially when the kids are 2 and 5 months old!  The first shoutout has to HAS TO be Johnny who works in the Asian a la Carte restaurant. Impeccable service, friendly, chatty and my 2 year old daughter really took to him asking " where's Johnny, wheres Johnny" everyday! She would run to him when we went to eat and he was always so accommodating and fussed over her.

The main man Panagiotis (assitant manager and head of house), always looked sharp, dressed well, was on the ball and ever so friendly.  Remembered us by name, took us to our table and was always very friendly and happy to talk.  Was great with our daughter always trying to make her smile.  What I did observe is that Panagiotis runs a very tight ship and he seems to always be making sure that everything is running smoothly, he is a real asset to the company and someone who ensures everything goes flawlessly and is ready to rectify any issues, not that we had any!

Iordanis at the beach bar - what a guy, my type of guy, funny, friendly and there to get you Yamas'd up 🤣
Mike from Room Service was super friendly, efficient and helpful.  The only shame is that he is an Arsenal fan!

Some other restaurant shout outs I want to give are for Spyros in the Italian, Sevasti, Marinos (il capitano 😜) in the cretan restaurant, Manolis in fish a la carte and sweet Roula in the Asian who was great with my daughter Valentina.

Kostas in the all day bar works hard all day and night as is a very good guy.

Katrina in the champagne and sushi bar again was great.  It is adults only but still helped us out with sushi and champagne/drinks on the halo just outside the entrance to that bar.

Dimitris the driver was friendly, punctual and had a big (Huge!) smile on his face which is what you want to see when you arrive after a long journey. Giorgos the groom always waved and said hello.

Lefteris (sorry if spelt wrong) from the beach bar was friendly and wanted to please, nice guy.

Demi who did kids club and mini disco was a chatty, happy lady and made us feel comfortable for our daughter to play there.

People serving drinks poolside at the theatre bar were lovely, smiling, happy to help and we also taught Agapi how to make a good cup of English tea she was fantastic, a real asset to your company.

Marina at the snack corner is always smiling and nice to talk to.

Olga who deals with Mitsis enquiries outside the night bar was always cheerful, pleasant and saying hi, she took a few pictures of us on our phones as a family too which was really appreciated.

In summary a resort/hotel/venue is nothing without great staff and the above people really helped us along the way! Thanks so much to these wonderful people for allowing us to truly enjoy our experience, have plenty of relaxation, eat loads of delicious food (put on loads of Kilos 😂🤣), drink a variety of cocktails, wines, coffees and beer, keep us entertained and most importantly have plenty of fun with a lifetime of memories made along the way.

.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Book the restaurants ASAP!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MitsisLaguna Michail Giorntamilakis, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Mitsis Selection Laguna
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, thank you for such an enthusiastic review! We are glad to hear that you had such an amazing experience at Mitsis Laguna. Your detailed feedback highlights the exceptional service, the dining options, and wonderful hospitality provided by our staff. We will make sure to pass on your appreciation to Johnny, Panagiotis, Iordanis, Mike, and all the other team members you mentioned. We hope to welcome you back for another fantastic stay, in the near future! Kind regards, Mitsis Selection Laguna Management Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hello wrote a review Sep 2020
Bromley, United Kingdom63 contributions39 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We was unsure what to expect holidaying during the pandemic but was excited to visit Mitsis Laguna after staying at two other Mitsis hotels before (Alaia and Blue Domes) We knew that the Mitsis group are amazing at 5*!

The hotel and grounds are beautiful, the hotel is relatively small and you can walk around in about 5 minutes. Our first room (908) was lovely, a great size and great cold air con but unfortunately it had a shower in bath and it leaked everywhere! The hotel were great and as we were Mitsis friends, Olga helped us change rooms the following day. The new room (429) was also a great size with a massive bathroom with a separate shower and bath but the aircon was old and didn’t really work well which was quite stuffy.

The hotel adapted well to Covid regulations and all staff members were in masks/gloves and there was hand sanitizer stations everywhere! We felt very safe the whole time.

The main buffet was ok, it was obviously majorly streamlined due to Covid so there wasn’t much choice and it was all behind plastic screens so the staff had to serve you. We missed cutting fresh bread and toasting it in the morning as the staff don’t do it the same as you would. But the Greek yoghurt was amazing so we stuck to that most days. The brunch restaurant was good but after a few times you get bored of the menu.

For lunch we mostly went to the main restaurant because the salads and tatziki was amazing!!! So fresh. We did try the Cretan and Italian for punch but it was the same menu as the evenings so got repetitive.

For dinner you can book into the a la cartes, we was in Crete for 10 days and must admit the first 7 days it was hard to get a booking before 8:30pm for dinner! The hotel was apparently at half capacity so I bet it is super annoying when at full capacity to get a table in these restaurants. They are very small compared to the other Mitsis hotels. We enjoyed the fish, Italian and Asian the most, the Cretan and Tex mex we’re not as good.
We also couldn’t understand why the restaurants didn’t serve wine in wine glasses? They served it in small coloured beakers? We really felt this let them down and was not 5*! By the end we actually asked for wine glasses.

The all day bar had music at night but they had the same 2 guys 5 nights and then an amazing singer and pianist for the other 2. The 2 guys got quite repetitive after seeing them for 8 nights lol. Cocktails were amazing!

Shout out to the amazing staff who really made sure guests were having a great holiday: Domika from the all day bar
Eleani at the pool bar
Jonny from the Asian and brunch - thank you all!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MitsisLaguna M, Υπεύθυνος at Mitsis Selection Laguna
Responded Oct 3, 2020
Dear SSjessica1994 We thank you for selecting our Mitsis Laguna resort and spa as another destination into the Mitsis ones. Your detailed review and all your comments are noted for a second look. Your comments are always welcome as they help us improve our services. Once more thank you and we hope to see you again in future. With kind regards The Mitsis Laguna resort and spa team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
Roberj18 wrote a review Jun 2021
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom140 contributions49 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at this All Inclusive resort on Crete for 6 nights with my husband and 2.5year old son. On arrival we were greeted by a spectacular entrance, bags were collected and taken to our room. The reception treated us to a refreshing cold lemon drink and gave us wrist bands for the All Inclusive (tbh we felt this was a little chavvy).

We then made our way to our room 239 in the main building. The room was very spacious and we liked the location as was easily accessible to all restaurants and we had a large balcony that was at the front of the hotel and was very quiet.

There was an extra chaise longe for my son too and twin beds pushed together.

We had some issues with the fridge, air con and phone but these were quickly fixed by reception.

The only fault with the room was on one day we came back while the maid was cleaning and she mopped the floor and left it so wet that my son slipped and hurt his arm. She should have dried the floor especially as she seen our toddler running around.
The main restaurant is the highlight, the matre d Ioannis is amazing and cannot do enough for you. He got weetabix for our fussy eater son from his own pocket. He also arranged with the chef to make some chicken nuggets that was sooooo helpful for us. They are really the best team and made this hotel experience positive for us.

The crepe bar is also amazing and we had lunch there every day. The offer savoury and sweet options and lots of ice cream and cakes. Drinks are plentiful although we were mainly tee total this trip.

The downside is the al a carte restaurants that are not great. The booking system is annoyingly difficult to use and the food is not up to scratch. The pan asian starters were ok but mains were  poor. The italian pizza is nice if they don't overcook it. The cretian is also poor fare.

The kids pool is fun but contrary to the pictures online there is only 1 slide the yellow one. The two smaller slides are not in place anymore.

The ladies at the kids club were friendly and always busy making games and fun activities for the children to enjoy.

The beach is across a busy road and exits are open all along the reaort so you need to be careful  with exploring toddlers as they can run out into the road easily. I would suggest these are closed and guests can access using a room key or similar.

The gym equipment is dated and needs upgraded with the addition of free weights.

The arcade was fun but could be laid out better.

Overall we enjoyed our trip and would award the hotel 3.8 out of 5.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MitsisLaguna M, Υπεύθυνος at Mitsis Selection Laguna
Responded Jun 27, 2021
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your thoughtful and detailed review. It is incredibly helpful. We always aim to deliver a great experience to all our guests, and we are disappointed when we do not meet expectations. Thanks for taking the time to bring all the elements of your review to our attention. We will use the feedback to make us better. We look forward to welcoming you back in Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa Kind Regards, Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jennifer S wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a lovely hotel approx 20 minutes from Heraklion airport. A very large low rise hotel, well landscaped with several pools spread across the resort. We enjoyed our stay very much and found all of the staff to be super friendly and helpful.
Although a beach front location the sea is not accessible due to so many rocks, however, we did see some work in progress on a small jetty, perhaps this will help those who love the sand and sea.
To our surprise the speciality restaurants had just 20 tables each, nowhere near enough for this huge hotel. Even more to our surprise these needed to be pre booked a few months, yes a few months, ahead of the trip. As we only booked two weeks prior to departure it was a huge disappointment for us. We can just about take a buffet breakfast and lunch but no way for dinner. The hygiene aspect was not monitored bearing in mind covid. We were supplied gloves but many didn’t bother wearing them and many who did could not resist going against hygiene rules. It really was like feeding time at the zoo! We very fortunately queued each night at the speciality restaurants and with the kind help of the restaurant manager, who was extremely helpful, we managed to eat there each evening. Very enjoyable wine available in the speciality restaurants and the waiters left the bottle which made us happy. Good quality food.
Amazing crepes served next to the pool bar and a good variety of flavours for the ice cream lovers.
The pool bar served just local drinks which were very sugary sweet and strange tasting, the same with the main bar. However, the smaller bars with limited numbers served a better quality brand. Always very disappointed in own brand full sugar tonic water that just ruins a gin. I enjoyed the champagne bar which served sushi canapés, albeit just Prosecco. Unfortunately it was just Prosecco as my husband would have preferred a beer.
Lovely spacious rooms, however, not the cleanest! The chaise and headboard needed a good clean and towels not replaced regularly.
Pool towels had to be replaced in the main hotel gift shop which encouraged everyone to leave their towels on the sun bed all day when not using them which is very annoying.
I’m giving a very constructive review here, we had a great time but these are things to think about if they are a concern to you.
Live music every evening in the bar of an excellent standard.
We would return but only if we booked in time to get speciality restaurants and would take a supply of fevertree light for my gin.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Pool or sea view
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MitsisLaguna M, Υπεύθυνος at Mitsis Selection Laguna
Responded Nov 5, 2021
Dear guest, we would like to thank you so much for your thoughtful and detailed review. This is incredibly helpful. I wanted to let you know that we have taken the good and the bad elements you have mentioned in your review to heart. We always aim to deliver a great experience to our guests, and we are gutted when we do not meet expectations. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back again in the near future. Kind regards, Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mladva wrote a review Sep 2020
London, United Kingdom7 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked this hotel via Voyage Prive and flights separately via BA from London. Really loved this hotel. We had booked two sea facing rooms for my family of four. A few issues at the start that were resolved by the first morning thanks to the deputy manager Sakis. I thank you for that and due to the inconvenience, a bottle of bubbly was sent to my room and sweets to my childrens room.
The hotel has 5 themed restaurants: Creten, Italian, Fish, Tex Mex and Pan Asian. If you are visiting book these as soon as you get to the hotel. Above this there is also the main buffet restaurant, which does the best greek salad and many other hold and cold foods. Then you have the crepes at the main pool bar, the hot dogs and wraps at the other pool bar, sushi at the champagne bar and food at the late night restaurant (open till 4am). Day bar serving drinks all day and with live music at night. You also have the night bar where they serve fantastic cocktails.
You can feel safe in this hotel as they strictly follow social distancing guidelines: wipe each table and chairs after each sitting, mandatory temperature checking and hand sanitisers before entering any of the restaurants. Hand sanitisers are strewn through out the hotel. The staff all wear masks all the time.
Given all this what made my stay and my 50th birthday extra special was the staff, very friendly, very helpful. The service was 5 star all the way. I really need to call out some individuals who made my stay extra special and they were: Christos Alepidis at the pool bar, Andreas Psylakis at the night bar, Achileas Gkorgkas at the champagne bar, Anastasia Kamysheva and Dimitra Zikou. Thank you guys, fantastic service and so funny.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The family sea facing rooms are exeptionally large, try to get on the top (3rd floor), we had 744...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MitsisLaguna M, Υπεύθυνος at Mitsis Selection Laguna
Responded Sep 7, 2020
Dear mladva. We thank you for selecting our hotel for your holidays and we hope to see you in future again. We will be here, offering the same warm and real Greek hospitality that you deserve. with kind regards The Mitsis Laguna resort and spa team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MicheleLena wrote a review Oct 2020
17 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I spent a week at the resort mid September. From the moment we arrived, after a very long and difficult journey, we were made to feel extremely welcomed and relaxed almost immediately.
The resort is stunning and spotlessly clean and staff wear masks at all times whilst continuously keeping the hotel safe and sanitized.
We stayed in a sea view bungalow which was beautifully decorated, spacious and very comfortable. The balcony/terrace is pretty and inviting although the extended marble top (obviously a safety measure) unfortunately blocks your view at eye level once seated so you need to either slouch down or stand up to enjoy the view! Still, a wonderful setting to relax and sip a chilled glass of wine (mini bar replenished every day, always a bonus!) and listen to the sound of the waves.
The food at this hotel is of a high standard and there is an amazing variety. The sushi bar has an inviting atmosphere and serves delicious cocktails, a perfect place to relax pre dinner.
Reading earlier reviews we found a very useful tip... if you would like to dine in each of the themed restaurants, make all your reservations on your arrival day!
The hotel was running at a much lower capacity, for obviously reasons, but even so, 9pm was the only slot available each evening.
Every staff member at Laguna went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and genuinely want you to have an enjoyable stay. The restaurant staff are always friendly and polite as are the bartenders and servers. Dimitra, Dimitris, Nikos and Georgos at the pool bar, are an absolute credit to the hotel!
Personal touches, wine and fresh fruit platters left in our room and a sweet departure gift, really help make this hotel stand out.
Of course things cannot always be perfect and we do have a couple of negatives.
The evening entertainment, whilst we enjoyed the first two nights, became somewhat repetitive and we would have preferred something a little different by the 3rd night.
The beach is on the doorstep of the hotel but unfortunately the sea is so rough and full of obstacles, its actually quite dangerous to swim! Stick to the hotels pools which we were more than happy with.
We would definitely love to return one day.....
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MitsisLaguna M, Υπεύθυνος at Mitsis Selection Laguna
Responded Oct 3, 2020
Dear LenaMichele111. We are delighted to read that your stay with us in our Mitsis Laguna resort and spa was memorable. We thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you in future again. With kind regards The Mitsis Laguna resort and spa team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Charlotte wrote a review Sep 2020
4 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed as a couple for 8 nights and found the Mitsis Laguna to be the perfect resort for a relaxing break.

The hotel has the most amazing members of staff, all of the waiters work so hard and are so pleasant, friendly and helpful.

The à la carte’s are all very nice and we didn’t have any issues getting booked into all of them, and enjoyed every one - particularly the Asian. These restaurants, along with the Crêperie, the Sushi bar, pool bars and main buffet provide ample food and beverage options. The salads in the buffet restaurant are absolutely delicious and made the perfect lunches!

The pools are lovely, the only negative is that the parasols can’t be lowered so for those who prefer to be fully in the sun it can be a bit limiting, and results in there being somewhat of sunbed gauntlet from where everyone repositions them.

The beach isn’t particularly swimmer friendly, but it’s still lovely to relax on. The hotel grounds are very pleasant and well maintained, the room itself was in need of a little maintenance but nothing that impacted the stay. The only negative would be that there are no irons provided in the room which was a little surprising.

Overall, I would highly recommend the hotel. We also joined the loyalty scheme and booked direct and saved 10%, which took the price quite a bit lower than anything available on any of the third party booking sites. We were also given complimentary private transfers from and to the airport which was very helpful. I would absolutely look to book a Mitsis property again after this stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MitsisLaguna M, Υπεύθυνος at Mitsis Selection Laguna
Responded Oct 3, 2020
Dear charlotte32418 We thank you for your nice review. it is with our great pleasure to see that you had a memorable stay with us in our Mitsis Laguna resort and spa and we wish to see you in future again. All your comments are really appreciated and helpful for us as we as all rest viewers. Once more thank you With kind regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Janine b wrote a review Sep 2020
London, United Kingdom83 contributions33 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Currently staying here and I must admit I am severely disappointed with this hotel. I will start off with saying the complex itself is lovely. We were upgraded to a room with a sea and pool view which was nice and the room gave off a rustic opulent feel. The bathroom however is only what I can describe as a prison shower room ,I will attach a picture so I’ll leave that for you decide whether I’m being dramatic or not. The food is extremely repetitive at the buffet and from the moment I arrived at the hotel I tried to book the a la carte restaurants, however there were NEVER any dates or times available. I was constantly having to check for restaurants rather than actually enjoy my holiday. My recommendation would be to allow only one trip to each restaurant per hotel room as it’s obvious the hotel cannot manage the amount of guests they have. Managed to go to the Asian for lunch which was not so great however the Italian was nice, not Michelin star level as other guests have claimed. No matter how many times I looked, getting a reservation at the fish, Tex mex and Asian were impossible which I found to be disappointing as this hotel was booked based on the amazing reviews from my fellow trip advisor fellows. The hotels were really nice and I loved the fact that you could go to quiet pools that are not advertised. I would say this hotel is not worth the money and if your planning to book based on the rave reviews on their food, don’t bother as you can’t get a reservation anyway. If you like chips, pork and turkey everyday come here lol.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MitsisLaguna M, Υπεύθυνος at Mitsis Selection Laguna
Responded Sep 13, 2020
Dear 1737janineb We thank you for your comments which are respected and have been forwarded to the hotel management. We are sorry to see that you have not enjoyed your stay with us and we wish we could have the chance to rectify in ant case. We wish to have the chance to offer you a better idea in any case you visit us in future again. Stay safe. With kind regards The Mitsis Laguna resort and spa team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Janey38 wrote a review Sep 2020
Saltash, United Kingdom29 contributions53 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Returned from this hotel this morning. Went as a family of 3. Our daughter Has Coeliac Disease so needs a gluten free diet. I emailed prior to our visit to inform them and ensure they could cater for her and received a prompt reply from Pavlos stating they could. He couldn’t have been more helpful. We were worried what it would be like during COVID but we need not have worried. Your temperature is checked upon arrival and during each visit to all of the restaurants, and there is hand gel everywhere. All staff wear masks too. We had booked a two bedroom room with a sharing pool. I would definitely recommend this as you have sun loungers on your terrace reserved which means you don’t have to get up at 7am to reserve a bed! The pools are all salt water so very refreshing and warm. There are 5 A La Carte restaurants - the Cretan, the Italian, the Fish, the Asian and the Mexican. They were all amazing. The main buffet is also very good (if a little different because of COVID). There is a Crepe bar which also serves ice creams, cakes, fruits and drinks by the main pool. The only downfall for our family was that they couldn’t offer gluten free crepes here. There is another bar serving snacks and drinks by the kid’s pool. There is a champagne and Sushi bar for adults only although you can sit outside near reception and they will serve you - so don’t miss out as it’s good! There is a day bar and a night bar which both serve drinks including great cocktails. We sat and watched the sun go down which was a beautiful sight. Every single member of staff we encountered were kind, helpful and polite. The only things we could possibly say weren’t 5* was the bathroom. The shower over the bath was pokey and the bathroom itself just didn’t feel 5*, and the beach isn’t very big and it’s very rocky. The sea water is very clean and clear though. However this would not stop us from returning! Well done Mitsis.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MitsisLaguna M, Υπεύθυνος at Mitsis Selection Laguna
Responded Sep 7, 2020
Dear Janey38 We thank you for your review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed all our services and your relaxing holidays in our Mitsis Laguna Resort & spa. As per covid 19, it is indeed a very strange period for all of us. It will be with our great pleasure to having the opportunity to welcome you in future again. With kind regards The Mitsis Laguna resort and spa team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sh0bi2 wrote a review Sep 2020
London, United Kingdom25 contributions24 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited Mitsis Laguna spa as a last minute getaway. Spent 5 nights celebrating a big birthday. The food was absolutely lovely make sure you book restaurants on arrival as they get booked up quickly probably because of social distancing. The main restaurant buffet was always good too. Temperatures were checked regularly when you enter restaurants and you can see that they sanitise tables and chairs after each customer. Social distancing is encouraged throughout the resort. The staff were super attentive. Special shout out goes too Andreason day/Night bar. Akhilis in the champagne bar. Chris at the pool theatre bar and Jonny at the pan Asian restaurant. The deputy manager Sakis ensured that our stay was pleasant. Especially when we had a few issues with our room but this was put right immediately. I would definitely recommend this place.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MitsisLaguna M, Υπεύθυνος at Mitsis Selection Laguna
Responded Sep 6, 2020
Dear Sh0bi2 We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us in our Mitsis Laguna resort and spa. We thank you for your kind words and for your high rating. We wish to see you in future again. With kind regards The Mitsis Laguna resort and spa team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sian L asked a question May 2
Cardiff, United Kingdom9 contributions14 helpful votes
Is ther a choice of wine in the main restaurant
Answer from Barbara M
Dungannon, United Kingdom8 contributions9 helpful votes
If you go onto the Mitsis app/website, select the Laguna Select hotel, then look for concierge and then scroll down to "book a table" there you can download all of the restaurant menus. Enjoy the hotel, and make sure you use the downstairs bar with the fabulous Siterous and Petrous
The Bear wrote a tip Yesterday
London, England, United Kingdom96 contributions47 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book A-la-carte restuarants in advance"
Read full review
Ian S wrote a tip May 16
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"You get what you pay for. Mitsis did not charge 5 star prices and did not deliver a 5 star experience. "
Read full review
Annhey1000 wrote a tip May 16
8 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Visit and enjoy!"
Read full review
Pete H wrote a tip May 15
Tamworth, United Kingdom6 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Advertised as a family hotel but advised to avoid with young children as they would be bored with very limited entertainment and food"
Read full review
Bigal1st wrote a tip May 13
Fleetwood, United Kingdom59 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pay the Extra and DO IT!!! Absolutely Brilliant on every level!!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Anissaras area.
PRICE RANGE
$211 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mitsis laguna hotel anissaras
LOCATION
GreeceCreteHeraklion PrefectureHersonissosAnissaras
NUMBER OF ROOMS
351
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MITSIS SELECTION LAGUNA - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Mitsis Selection Laguna
Which popular attractions are close to Mitsis Selection Laguna?
Nearby attractions include St. George's Chapel (0.7 miles) and Sarandaris (sarantari) Beach (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mitsis Selection Laguna?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, a rooftop bar, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Mitsis Selection Laguna?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Mitsis Selection Laguna?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Mitsis Selection Laguna?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mitsis Selection Laguna?
Conveniently located restaurants include Saradari, Golden Dream Cocktail Bar Restaurant, and The Big Blue.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mitsis Selection Laguna?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a sauna, and fitness classes during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mitsis Selection Laguna?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Russian, and Greek.
Are there any historical sites close to Mitsis Selection Laguna?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Megali Vrisi (Great Fountain) (9.0 miles).
Does Mitsis Selection Laguna have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Mitsis Selection Laguna accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Anissaras HotelsAnissaras Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Anissaras
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars