We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

AthensWas

Traveler (305)
360
Panoramas (9)
Room & Suite (194)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#11 of 312 hotels in Athens
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
If you’re looking for a romantic hotel in Athens, look no further than AthensWas. While staying at AthensWas, visitors can check out Herod Atticus Odeon (0.2 mi) and Monastiraki (0.5 mi), some of Athens' top attractions. Free wifi is offered to guests, and rooms at AthensWas offer a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a refrigerator. During your stay, take advantage of some of the amenities offered, including a rooftop terrace, room service, and a concierge. Guests of AthensWas are also welcome to enjoy a fitness center and free breakfast, located on site. While visiting Athens, you may want to try some fish and chips at one of the nearby restaurants, such as The James Joyce or Fish Cafe. If you are interested in exploring Athens, check out a , such as Frissiras Museum. The staff at AthensWas looks forward to serving you during your upcoming visit.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Airport transportation
Concierge
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Minibar
Refrigerator in room
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Boutique

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
179Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
92Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
Neighborhood
Plaka
Due to its proximity to the Acropolis, Plaka remains the area where the majority of foreign visitors stay and play. Its attractive features include small squares, some notable museums and the beautiful Mitropolis cathedral, as well as a host of places to stay, eat and drink. Its pedestrian zones make it a pleasant place to escape from the city’s notorious traffic. Adrianou and Kidathineon Streets contain a number of souvenir shops, offering classier items than you will find in the Flea Market. The most rewarding section to explore is the upper reaches towards the Acropolis itself, where many old stone houses with tiled roofs have survived. Up here you can find leafier corners and the odd quaint taverna with unobstructed views of the ancient rock.
Read more
See all nearby hotels
440Reviews
15Q+A
64Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 353
  • 69
  • 8
  • 7
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We stayed at this hotel during the week for two nights. The only five star was the location. The breakfast was very poor, the service too, no isolation between the door and the corridor. The elevator was slow and very small, the bathroom very poor.The prices though were rather
Read more
Response from AnemiHotels-Group, General Manager at AthensWas
Responded yesterday
Dear 299ianas, Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor with regards to your holiday in AthensWas hotel and for highlighting to us your comments during your stay. Rest assured, we have taken into account your comments and we will address them accordingly. I do hope that in due course you will provide us with another chance to welcome you back to AthensWas hotel. I look forward to this opportunity in the near future with the focus to restore your confidence in our team and our service. Kind regards, Dimitris Drettakis Anemi Hotels General Manager
Read more
AthensWas could almost be termed “Athens-Is” as it is an excellent, modern, on trend property. On the edge of Plaka, and a few hundred metres from the Acropolis Museum it is walking distance to everything you need. We had a great couple of nights here - friendly, helpful team
Read more
Response from AnemiHotels-Group, Manager at AthensWas
Responded yesterday
Dear FrontierTravel_SYD, Thank you for the wonderful review about AthensWas hotel that you have shared on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you were impressed by the facilities of our hotel and the quality of services provided during your stay. Your gracious comments will serve as an added inspiration for us to consistently maintain the high standards which you have experienced during your recent stay. Looking forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel. Kind regards, Dimitris Drettakis Anemi Hotels General Manager
Read more
The AthensWas Hotel was an excellent choice for our stay in Athens. We appreciated the complimentary welcome drink and snack upon arrival. Our residence suite room was good sized with a spacious balcony overlooking the shaded pedestrian street. The location is superb - only 2
Read more
Response from AnemiHotels-Group, Manager at AthensWas
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Sharon R, Thank you for the wonderful review about AthensWas that you have shared on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to read that you were overall impressed by the hotel's location, the facilities and the quality of services provided during your stay. Your gracious comments will serve as an added inspiration for us to consistently maintain the high standards which you have experienced during your recent stay. We will be looking forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel. Kindest regards, Dimitris Drettakis Hotel Manager
Read more
The hotel is perfectly located, just 5 minutes walking from the Acropolis entrance, Plaka streets and Acropolis Museum. However, rooms are small, just normal, with simple decoration and poor bathroom. Our bed was supposed to be for a couple; but, instead of it, they put two
Read more
Response from AnemiHotels-Group, Manager at AthensWas
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear SergioCursio, Thank you for the time you dedicated in order to share your recent experience of our hotel with the users of TripAdvisor. Starting from the pros, I'm glad to know that you found very privileged the hotel's location, offering easy access to all major sites of Athens. On the other hand, as per your review, it's obvious that we didn't meet your expectations and for that, I would like to apologise to. I would like to reassure you that all your comments have been noted down and we are going to discuss with the relative departments so we can avoid repetition in the near future. If you visit the area in the future, we would love to welcome you back and offer you the opportunity to change your first mediocre experience. Kind regards, Dimitris Drettakis Hotel Manager
Read more
We booked this hotel back when it was a part of Marriott. We kept the reservation after the change and I’m so glad we did. Perfect location to everything. Nice and clean. Great breakfast. I would stay here again.
Read more
Response from AnemiHotels-Group, Manager at AthensWas
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Little Gem, We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor following your stay with us. We are delighted to know that you had a truly enjoyable experience and our products and services met your expectations. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back, and to continue ensuring you have many more magnifique stays with us. Sincerely, Dimitris Drettakis Hotel Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$253 - $794 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
GreeceAtticaAthensPlaka
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing