We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
12 Makri Str. Makrigianni, Athens 117 42 Greece
E-mail hotel
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Up to 25% off discount!
Agoda.com
$47
View Deal
Free cancellation until 03/06/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
$49
$43
View Deal
SAVE $6
Expedia.com
$45
View Deal
Free cancellation until 03/07/21
eDreams$47
Orbitz.com$45
Snaptravel$49
View all 12 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (160)
Room & Suite (70)
Dining (49)
Travel safe during COVID-19
A note from Athens Backpackers
Updated 05/27/20

About

#6 of 329 Specialty lodging in Athens
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A never-to-be-forgotten experience.This non-smoking, English speaking joint - great opportunity to meet free-style travelers like you! Free WiFi all day, everyday, everywhere' famous Australian-owned and run hostel, right in the heart of classical Athens, an up-market area (98% rated best location) that is safe, central and door-to-door from the airport by metro. You'll have an amazing time at AB's, there is always something on from Quiz nights, Karaoke Nights, Walking tours and Happy Hour 7 days a week.Join us for a few nights or as long as you want as the seasons change. Its the best time to see the ancient sites, explore the cobblestone laneways or eat your self silly with world class cuisine. You can do amazing day trips to places like the Temple of Posideon and Medieval Nemea which are only 2 hours a way on the bus. Its hard not to love Athens as much us we do, and we promise to look after you every step of the way. We hope to see you soon! No hidden charges (no penalties for using credit cards) free breakfast, free tea and coffee all day and luggage storage.*
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Indoor play area for children
Strollers
Rooftop terrace
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Rooftop bar
Outdoor furniture
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Iron
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 4 more
Hotel links
Special Price:Up to 25% off discount!

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
181Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
103Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
590Reviews10Q+A49Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 243
  • 236
  • 70
  • 19
  • 22
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Barry C wrote a review Aug 2020
Berlin, Germany138 contributions22 helpful votes
I moved to studios because of constructions, but studios is also very cool (The staff and location). We even had breakfast every morning. At evenings we watched football outside, meeting new friends. Also there is a roof, with nice view. I will come back soon.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Sara A wrote a review Aug 2020
Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates22 contributions5 helpful votes
Great location! Everything is within walking distance. The staff are friendly. It wasn't specified in the confirmation email that it was still under construction and that I had been moved to Athens Studios. Luckily, they're very close to one another and centrally located. A good base to explore Athens from.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
David B wrote a review Feb 2020
Milan, Italy39 contributions57 helpful votes
- Pros Location: Central in the old city, couldn't be better!!! It is minutes away by foot from Syntagma. Breakfeast included: great choice of items (omelettes, fete, cake, cereal, breads, fruits/veggies etc). Wifi: works more or less correctly. Room: spacious and good beds. Travellers: Easy to meet people during breakfast and in the rooms. Staff: great, smiling, knowledgeable, accommodating and curtuous. -Cons Facilities: bathrooms are horrible as the open shower results in water splashed everywhere including onto the toilet paper + the ventilation is bad so the smell is repungnant. There is no common room. Rooms are smoking so you might get destabilised at the smell in the rooms. Verdict: Definetly recommended, althought some improvement is needed.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
There and back again wrote a review Jan 2020
Toronto, Canada78 contributions71 helpful votes
I stayed here in October when the busy season died down. Awesome choice on my part, the city was pretty much dead from the tourist hoards and could see all the sights without bumping into someone every second or struggling to take photos with crowds. The hostel is located in a solid spot, walking distance from all the major attractions - a few being further away but still doable. I stayed here for about a week and covered almost everything in Athens, was hard to leave. The hostel itself was great, had a kitchen downstairs and a rooftop bar with an unreal view of the Acropolis (especially at night). I met a lot of people in the hostel and did some day trips with a group of them. If you are a solo traveler it's a great place to meet people and hang out. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. They own a bar and restaurant around the corner which is nice if you are lazy and just want to hang out and meet tourists. I would venture off with the group I met to the local bars though. Greek's are by far the friendliest people I have met in all my travels, locals will go out of their way to talk and be hospitable. So if you can I recommend going into town and being social! Just be careful, there are some areas where the refugees hang out that are very dangerous. I accidentally cut through a park which was a bad idea as a group of them surrounded me (nothing happened just harassing and chirps).
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Athensstudios, Manager at Athens Backpackers
Responded Jan 8, 2020
Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hostel to other travelers. I'm sure our entire hostel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. Travel safe and come back soon! Best, The AB Team
Read more
Bianca M wrote a review Nov 2019
Soleure, Switzerland310 contributions83 helpful votes
The location of this hostel is perfect, very near restaurants and bars, close to all attractions, with a great view from the roof top bar of the Akropolis. The staff was really nice and helpful and in the nights they organise activities. Breakfast was quite good as well. The only downside was the cleaning staff. The bathroom was most of the time dirty and when 1 drunk made a mess in our room and we asked to have it cleaned, they cleaned all rooms except for ours... Also they don't have luggage storage, you have to leave your stuff in the common area unprotected if you want to leave it for the day.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Athensstudios, Manager at Athens Backpackers
Responded Nov 26, 2019
thanks for your feedback bianca, we will address it right away; hope to see you in a few months to our fully renovated Athens Backpackers! best
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$48 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
athens backpackers hotel athens
LOCATION
GreeceAtticaAthensMakrygianni / Thissio / Makriyanni
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Athens Backpackers
Which popular attractions are close to Athens Backpackers?
Nearby attractions include Acropolis Museum (0.1 miles), Parthenon (0.3 miles), and Acropolis (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Athens Backpackers?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Athens Backpackers?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Athens Backpackers?
Conveniently located restaurants include Coffee Joint, Indian Haveli, and Pantheon.
Is Athens Backpackers located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Athens.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Athens Backpackers?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Greek.
Are there any historical sites close to Athens Backpackers?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Parthenon (0.3 miles), Acropolis (0.3 miles), and Herod Atticus Odeon (0.2 miles).