We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
12 Makri Str. Makrigianni, Athens 117 42 Greece
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Trip.com
$83
View deal
Priceline
eDreams
Travelocity
View all 14 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (160)
Room & Suite (70)
Dining (50)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Athens Backpackers
Updated 05/27/20

About

#6 of 404 Specialty lodging in Athens
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.1
Service
4.2
Value
4.0
Athens Backpackers 2.0 will change how you travel again in 2021 and into the future just like we did in 2003 when we first opened. We will be completely renovated from May 2021 onwards by the award wining dynamic Greek design duo 'Under The Spell' Our famous Sunnies Roof Bar is now split over 2 Roof Top levels with Insane views of the Acropolis, Mountains and Ocean. Our drinks, food & cocktails are hand crafted by Greek Maestro B Diddy and can be ordered till late. Our new lobby bar is open 24hrs a day showcasing playlists and music from renowned Greek DJ & Musicologist Elephant Phinix and also has a large space to chill eat or drink with spaces to socialise or just be on your own. With a wide selection or local craft beers and snacks to keep you fuelled and happy. Our new patented capsule beds have USB ports, power points and private mood lights so you can escape everything to your own private space when ever you need to. The building is fitted with smart technology throughout with coil heating/cooling, smart lights and keyless entry and high speed checkin available. There is also free high speed Wifi throughout, 24 hour free luggage storage, free locally sourced breakfast, daily "discover the sites" walking tours and a focus on seeing the real Athens whilst meeting other like minded people. ***Our Location *** Is truly unbeatable only 3 mins walk from the Acropolis, 2 min walk to Hadrians Arch, 5 min walk to Temple of Zeus and 1 min to the Plaka and Ancient Cobblestone pathway that circles the city, in the coolest safest part of the city. We are only a 2 min walk from the Acropolis Metro Station with direct access to the beach if you need a dip. *** Rooms and Dorms*** Make the choice between patented private capsule beds, studios or apartments all sleeping options have access to all our facilities. The private room are located in the Studios building. ***Extra and Activities*** We have a large array of events, activities in our bars, social spaces and across our properties. Everything is available to all our guests many our free some have small charges where applicable. Please note due to the Covid 19 situation we are not allowed by law to serve free breakfast till further notice.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Indoor play area for children
Strollers
Rooftop terrace
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Rooftop bar
Outdoor furniture
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Iron
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 4 more

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
197Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
110Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
605Reviews12Q+A49Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 253
  • 237
  • 72
  • 19
  • 24
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Masaomi E wrote a review Jul 2022
Osaka, Japan11 contributions21 helpful votes
Daniel the manager literally lies about his staffs when I made a complaint and refused to take responsibility for their dishonesty and shortcomings! Unbelievably unprofessional and repugnance. They always blame their guests when things go sideways. Apologising is the last thing they do. Do not stay here. There are many other nice hostels here but this is Not it!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Megan H wrote a review Jun 2022
11 contributions
Great Location, right near some amazing attractions and only 5-10 minute walk from the Acropolis! (€30 for the whole thing!) Rooftop bar was amazing, lively atmosphere and some of the best mojitos we’ve had make by Nikolas! only thing is our room did not have aircon, so unfortunately we did not sleep very comfortably- however we where only there for one night so cannot complain. When we first arrived there is no dedicated ‘reception’ there was a man at the bar who did not great us, we had to go over to him to ask what to do. We arrived 1 hour earlier for check in and usually this is fine with most places however you cannot check in earlier here. As we checked in early there was a dedicated place for us to leave our bags, not locked away though. Once we checked in we made our way to our room and had to overcome the lift… it’s big enough to fit 2 people in… and that’s it. The floor moves when you step in and it doesn’t always take you to the correct floor when you press the floor button.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Barry C wrote a review Jun 2022
Berlin, Germany175 contributions83 helpful votes
Here again to start my journey. I arrived very late, but after checkin I went to the roof bar and within minutes I found new friends from all over the world, all languages. After killing some vodka all together from te table we left to find a club. We did not found because we were guided by some girls and google maps. At syntagma I found some place and later we went to a club, but it was not soo the music I like. The breakfast is much better than even in hotels.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jem Muttock wrote a review Mar 2022
3 contributions
This is the hostel to be! The location is perfect, everything in the heart of Athens is within a walkable distance. A walking tour is provided at 10am daily by the amazing Andrew, where you will be given a historical/mythical tour and advice on the best sites and quality food. I stayed in a 6 room female only dorm. Now my only negative comment is that it was freezing up there at night, however once mentioned to staff I was provided with extra blankets. My room was clean with plenty of storage space for a large backpack. Breakfast has something suitable for everyone, fruit, eggs, bread and cereal. The staff are what make this hostel unique. Walter and Costa are the barman from heaven and never fail to make happy hour enjoyable for all. Steph and her new staff member keep things going during the day, able to answer every question from recommendations etc The vibe of the hostel ultimately is what you make it but has everything for you to have a brilliant time and make loads of travel buddies. Activities are listed on the walls to inform guests. The cleaning staff are so kind and helpful! The roof top view is *chefs kisses* Cheap and cheerful! Thank you Athens Backpackers!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Giggidy Goo wrote a review Feb 2022
40 contributions10 helpful votes
The bar was fun, good food options and recommendations, great location, roof deck...Just book and be happy...And take the walking tour...Just ask the front desk about it, it was fun. I honestly really thought this place was one of the best hostels I've stayed at worldwide, and at a fraction of the cost of some more well known places that didn't deliver.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Masaomi Eric wrote a review Nov 2021
Bangkok, Thailand51 contributions140 helpful votes
I have stayed on numerous occasions in this hostel and it’s not worth the grievances. The night staff- Walter with one of his Juvenile friend who smokes weed and drinks heavily starts to spread malicious and false rumours about me just because they cannot get along with me. The night staff Walter even has the audacity to continue his irritating tirade outside his workplace! Very unprofessional and he made it very personal. He misconstrued my soft demeanour as weakness. Do Not Stay Here! Definitely not worth the grievances! Very unprofessional and immature! There are many nice hostels in Athens but this is definitely NOT IT!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Davo Fillet, General Manager at Athens Backpackers
Responded Jan 11, 2022
Hi Masamitakaasheric, We are very sorry but your review doesn't make sense to us. Walter does not work on Night Shift. We had to ask you to leave due to your unstable and aggressive behaviour. Kind Regards Daniel
Read more
Jerome P wrote a review Oct 2021
Levis, Canada76 contributions34 helpful votes
I when there on my arrival in Athens and also came back for another night during my trip for a total of 3 nights. I was in a room for 6 persons, but there was only 4 lockers (standard size) for the luggage ! The 2 others was thin and under the bed so even my camera, out of its bag, was fitting in it ! In the bathroom, when you take your shower, all the floor gets wet, slippery and after, dirty. No carpet on the floor. Breakfast is included BUT you have to walk 300 meters to get it. You can't even get a coffee there. The staff is friendly and the location is perfect for the site seeing and to get the metro.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Davo Fillet, General Manager at Athens Backpackers
Responded Jan 11, 2022
Hi Jerome, We are so glad you loved our location it really is unbeatable! We are serving breakfast at our other property due to Covid restrictions from the Government about indoor food service spaces. We have also addressed the locker issue with new lockers in that room so there is one for every guest. You also have lockers under your bed as well. Thanks for staying with us. Kind Regards Daniel
Read more
Annia wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
One of the best hostels I have stayed in. The rooms are super clean and very good for the price, staff is extra helpful and friendly and the location is perfect, you can walk to the main attractions. The bar is the perfect place for solo travelers to meet other people.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
SDMUGABE wrote a review Aug 2021
Toronto, Canada2 contributions
Really enjoyed staying here. The facilities were super clean and the staff was amazing. The location is prime too near stores and the metro station. They have a rooftop bar, and just a couple minutes have a laundry place and a restaurant. Overall a great experience
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
timdascl wrote a review Jul 2021
Houston, Texas23 contributions6 helpful votes
This place is really cool. I first booked for 2 nights and then extended for 3 more nights. The place is clean and welcoming. The staff is great. It is so inexpensive and on top of that they provide free breakfast. I really wish I can stay longer but need to get back to work. I was also doing ZOOM meetings for my work, and there is an awesome cafe called PAIR very close to this hostel. The cafe staff is very welcoming and they made sure that I had no disturbance during my Zoom calls. Will highly recommend this hostel and nearby PAIR CAFE
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$38 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
athens backpackers hotel athens
LOCATION
GreeceAtticaAthensMakrygianni / Thissio / Makriyanni
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Athens Backpackers
Which popular attractions are close to Athens Backpackers?
Nearby attractions include Parthenon (0.3 miles), Acropolis (0.3 miles), and Acropolis Museum (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Athens Backpackers?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Athens Backpackers?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Athens Backpackers?
Conveniently located restaurants include Coffee Joint, Indian Haveli, and Liondi Traditional Greek Restaurant.
Is Athens Backpackers located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Athens.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Athens Backpackers?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Greek.
Are there any historical sites close to Athens Backpackers?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Parthenon (0.3 miles), Acropolis (0.3 miles), and Herod Atticus Odeon (0.2 miles).