We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Kallirrois 72 Leoforos Syggrou, Koukaki, Athens 117 41 Greece
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$55
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Only 4 left at
$55
View deal
Vio.com
$50
View deal
Expedia.com$55
Travelocity$55
travelup.com$67
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (311)
Room & Suite (303)
Dining (61)

About

#153 of 380 hotels in Athens
Location
3.6
Cleanliness
4.1
Service
4.0
Value
4.0
Located 1.5 km away from the Acropolis, Hotel Ilissos features a roof garden bar overlooking the Parthenon. The Sygrou Fix Tram and Metro Station are a 10-minute walk away.All elegant rooms are soundproofed and air-conditioned with satellite TV and radio. Fridge and minibar are standard. A work desk is provided.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Salon
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Street parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Rooftop bar
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French, German, Greek and 1 more

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
84Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
19Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
729Reviews9Q+A60Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 123
  • 316
  • 191
  • 49
  • 50
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Abia G wrote a review Nov 1
5 contributions4 helpful votes
Everything very beautiful! the room was lovely I came alone to visit greece and the room was very clean and nice. The staff also very kind and friendly! I had a lot of fun! Everything was perfect. Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Mary wrote a review Jun 2022
5 contributions4 helpful votes
The hotel is located in nice neighbourhood in Athens. A few minutes from metro station or a taxi to the centre (approx 3-4€). It is on the very busy road but the windows are soundproof so you don’t have a problem. Good air conditioning system, good mattress but the base of beds would need a replacement at some moment. The staff is very friendly and accommodating, from the girl at the reception, the housekeeping girl to the young guy works at the Bar. Would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Subbu wrote a review Mar 2020
Chennai (Madras), India4 contributions5 helpful votes
Traveled for business and stayed here for 5 nights. I had booked through Hotels.com. The checkin was seamless. The instructions that the front desk provided where very clear and informative. Central Athens is about 15 minutes walk from the place. Restaurants and shops are at a walking distance. Since it is on a important road, getting taxis was never difficult. The nearest metro is Sigrou Fix which is about 800 meters.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
cjkranz wrote a review Nov 2019
New York City, New York1110 contributions346 helpful votes
My stay at the Ilissos was absolutely underwhelming. Rooms: The walls are PAPER thin. I heard conversations in the hallway in full detail (I did not need to know Janice needs a haircut next week!!) There was extremely poor WiFi service and the bathroom shower was subpar. I will say the beds were comfortable. Dining: The hotel had a small but pleasant breakfast. Coffee, pastries, eggs, breads and cereals were available. It got the job done, however, very basic. Location: Kind of far from the action of Athens. It’s about a 20min walk to get anywhere interesting. Service: The room phones were broken so I could not call down for anything. The staff are very kind and requests are conducted at a moderate pace. I can’t believe how small and slow elevators operate. That needs to be fixed. Groups: I stayed at this hotel with a group and it fit my group’s needs in terms of sleeping everyone. Nevertheless, it was a disappointing experience for a four star hotel. Bottom Line: If you’re in a group, I understand staying at this hotel. Otherwise, it makes no sense.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
foodie_munich wrote a review Oct 2019
Munich, Germany23 contributions8 helpful votes
We stayed at the Illissos Hotel in October. The hotel is located conveniently central and the room was clean and overall ok. Breakfast was very good. However, I had forgotten a very favorite piece of clothing during my stay which the reception desk confirmed to have found. I had asked kindly if they could ship that piece of clothing which is a lightweight blouse easily fitting in a standard mail envelope. The hotel’s response was very unsatisfactory: It is not company policy to ship forgotten items. I would have to organize a local typically Greek speaking carrier to pick up the item and have them ship it to me. Not only is that a close to impossible endeavor due to communication problems but also insanely expensive. I would have gladly paid the 5 Euros to put the shirt in an envelope to be sent to Germany. I don’t think the hotel’s policy is compliant with a 4 star business hotel. If you have a change of heart , I’d greatly appreciate it if you could send me my blouse after all.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Debsyromsey wrote a review Oct 2019
Romsey, United Kingdom10 contributions7 helpful votes
We had an overnight stay at this hotel - we found the room to be very clean and staff couldn't have been more helpful, breakfast was great too. Hotel was in a good loction and close to some great restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
k m wrote a review Oct 2019
Valparaiso, Indiana9 contributions11 helpful votes
The hotel is located in a convenient area, but it is in proximity to graffiti-ridden, boarded-up buildings. We're not sure who took the pictures for this hotel, but neither of our rooms looked anything like what is listed on their web site. The carpets were threadbare and very dirty. The "mini-bar" held lukewarm beverages, and there was no way we were using the heating kettle to make coffee in the morning. Their web site lists "free breakfast", but that was untrue. When we purchased coffee, the server was annoyed by our request. The view on the rooftop is lovely, but the setting of this area of the hotel leaves much to be desired. If a rooftop view is to be a selling point, perhaps add some comfortable chairs and wait staff. The worst part was the construction going on right next to one of our rooms. We were never notified of this, and quite frankly, wondered why ours was the only occupied room in a construction area. The workers started quite early, so we were awakened much earlier than necessary. Too, construction materials were strewn throughout the hallway, making for a dangerous situation. When questioned about the construction, the front desk staff couldn't have been more flippant, disinterested, and non-apologetic, offering absolutely nothing for the chaos we endured. Issues can be overlooked if the staff at least pretends to care, but this was not the case. We cannot recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Cymro wrote a review Sep 2019
Coimbra, Portugal3355 contributions683 helpful votes
The hotel is located within walking distance of all the attractions on central Athens and I did not need to take a taxi to any of them. There is also a very nice pedestrian street 200 metres away which is lined with good restaurants and cafés. The reception staff I found to be excellent. They were very efficient, pleasant and dealt with matters promptly. The room was a double room with ample space, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom clean and well stocked with toiletries. My major dissatisfaction was the speed of the WiFi internet in the bedroom, which frequently stopped working and not even an email page would open. The WiFi reception in the foyer area was very good, Also in a 4 star hotel one expects a bottle of water each day and a box of tissues. There were coffee making facilities in the room. There is a very good view of the illuminated Acropolis at night from the top floor. Would I stay there again? Yes.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
ElisaH1 wrote a review Aug 2019
10 contributions6 helpful votes
My boyfriend and I were here for two nights, and the first night he was bitten by BEDBUGS in room 310. We addressed the staff regarding the bites and they tried to convince us they were mosquitos, and although they changed our room they refused to accept responsibility as well as offer any sort of medical treatment or financial compensation even after his welts became worse and he fell incredibly ill later that night (vomiting, dizziness, fever) I called the front desk worried about his severe reaction and whoever they connected me to said it wasn’t from the bites. (Even though every site on google says it’s a reaction that requires immediate medical attention) Don’t stay here, save yourself the trouble and just go to a different hotel so you don’t have to go to a medic, ruin your vacation and rack up medical costs because of their dirty rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ILISSOSHO, Διευθυντής at Ilissos Hotel
Responded Sep 10, 2019
Dear guest , thank you for taking the time to rate the hotel! All coments are valuable to us, bad or good! Let me inform you that anyone who sees your photos will reassure you that this is not a bite from bedbug. We checked the room with you and you also saw your self and agreed that there were no kind of bugs or other insects. Acually room 310 is a renovated room, with new floor and brand new furniture and matresses. If you got bitten by any insect when you were outiside and got an allergy reaction i guess it is not the hotels fault. Also we recomended to go to to a doctor or to a pharmacy close by. We are not hospital or doctors to offer treatment or any medicine. Maybe if we had offered the free upgrade you insisted you wanted upon arrival , your experience would not be so terrible. Kind regards, Ria Sigala, Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anita wrote a review Aug 2019
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom1258 contributions223 helpful votes
+1
This is not a bad hotel by any means but 4* is definitely pushing it. It is 25 mins walk from the main attractions and is in what initially appears to be a rough area... we discovered that this is just what Athens is like...it isn't a pretty city... The bedroom was a very good size with loads of storage and a seating area plus mini bar. We requested a double but got 2 single beds pushed together with separate bedding, which was a bit odd. However, the bathroom was the real disappointment. Travelodge offer better, the en-suite supplied is more basic home than 4* hotel. Nice toiletries though. The breakfast was fine but evening meal was limited and not great quality. We ate elsewhere on our last night. On the plus side, the staff were great and everything was clean and tidy. The hotel also has a lovely roof garden that wasn't mentioned but we found by exploring...
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$54 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ilissos hotel athens
LOCATION
GreeceAtticaAthensKoukaki
NUMBER OF ROOMS
91
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ILISSOS HOTEL $48 ($̶7̶5̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Reviews - Athens, Greece

Frequently Asked Questions about Ilissos Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Ilissos Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Materia Prima Cava & Wine Bistro (Koukaki) (0.3 miles), Virtual Room (0.2 miles), and Prison of Socrates (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ilissos Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Ilissos Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Ilissos Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Ilissos Hotel?
Yes, free public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ilissos Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include BiteBox, Karminio - All day Eatery, and Grandpa Trattoria.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ilissos Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Ilissos Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ilissos Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Italian, and Greek.
Are there any historical sites close to Ilissos Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Parthenon (0.8 miles), Acropolis (0.8 miles), and Herod Atticus Odeon (0.7 miles).
Is Ilissos Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.