We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Filoxenia Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Filoxenia Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 39: English reviews
Start your review of Filoxenia Hotel
 Click to rate
Dougherty
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This is one of the cheapest options in Athens. The hotel is very basic. Wifi usually works. It is easy enough to get around and get to the metro to see the sights. Just kind of a sketchy neighborhood at night.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cristin419
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Worst place I've ever stayed! Bathroom was dirty with stains in bath tub and toilet. Dried urine on toilet seat. The whole room smelled like stale cigarettes and was old and tired. Bad area with not much going for it. Wifi did not connect. Loud drunken teens staying in hostel. Only pros were how close it is to Larissa station...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MissMoni9167
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The worst hotel experience I've ever had! This hotel resembles a hostel and, by far one of the worst hostels I've seen! Location feels like the slums! Customer service was non-existent! Definitely false advertising with regards to their claim that their "Reception staff tirelessly provides excellent 24 hour attention". The bed springs were protruding and the hotel's response was bad...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LambChops05
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed at the Filoxenia hotel recently over three nights. To be honest, the space itself is worth every cent if you are the budget traveller. The rooms are very spacious for two people! However, rooms are very basic and very tired (to be expected for under 20 euros a night). As mentioned in the title, the hotel is essentially one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheds29
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for two nights, the room was ok but too small because we asked for a room with four beds, and they gave us a room with two beds and they just put two extra beds in. So, there was too little space inside. Breakfast was ok. The location is perfect, 5min walking to Victoria metro station...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emina O
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 25, 2013

20 euro for an ensuite single room with breakfast, internet and A/C on Athens central, looks a very good deal. They promised an A/C room, that worked, promised an wifi for free that works from the room and the common places. Instead of this it worked only in the ground floor, nowhere else. They promised a breakfast, that u get...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nyarstomi
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Filoxenia and it is very noisy during the night. There are students all year round. Partying almost every night. The hotel staff not intrested that you cannot sleep. They were banging the doors all night not careing about anyone else. Also the room and the bathroom was not cleaned properly. Not recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jimhun
Bangalore
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed in Filoxenia during Oct 2008. I stayed for 6 nights. It was a basic hotel, with roof top Breakfast provision. It costed EU35, or, INR 2300 per night that time. The only drawback I found, was the elevator. It was quite suffocating. The location was close from Viktoria Metro station. So, whether you want to go to Acropolis...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sanju604
New delhi
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had booked this hotel for five people by booking online . When we reached this hotel at night we were told the hotel is full and can not accommodate people in-spite of confirmed booking and we were told to go to another hotel which was far away from this place. It is located in one or the shadiest place...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NAVEEN-RANCHI
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed at the Filoxenia Hotel for two nights. Patio door wouldn't lock. Lock broken. Girl on reception 'tried' but failed to persuade me to take the room anyway, but It wasn't her cases that could have been stolen. Pathetic! She said that the maintenance chap would fix the lock the following day. Surprise, surprise, he didn't turn up. Door handles...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Phil B
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Divani Caravel Hotel
#45 of 334 in Athens
1,174 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#22 of 334 in Athens
1,131 reviews
Athens Poseidon Hotel
#1 of 4 in Paleo Faliro
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#9 of 334 in Athens
3,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Filoxenia Hotel

Address: 50 Acharnon, Athens 104 33, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Price Range: $37 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Filoxenia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Filoxenia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Filoxenia Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles MissMoni9167, Oct 29, 2013 | Read review
“No good rooms, im sure.”
 of 5 bubbles nyarstomi, Jul 25, 2013 | Read review
“Be it Monastiraki, Agora, Acropolis or Delphi or Epidorious trips, it all passes over this Acahrnon Street. So, this is a strategic point to stay.”
 of 5 bubbles Sanju604, Jun 6, 2013 | Read review
“Room on the inside - away from street.”
 of 5 bubbles JulietteP_SA, Sep 25, 2012 | Read review
4 of 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question