We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
19 - 25 Parthenonos, Athens 117 42 Greece
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
$193
View deal
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (417)
Room & Suite (457)
Dining (93)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#98 of 382 hotels in Athens
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.4
Value
4.0
There is no other hotel in Athens to entwine more beautifully the history of ancient Greece with 5 star facilities. Divani Palace Acropolis sits just below the Acropolis, moments away from Plaka, the new archaeological museum and the Herodian theatre. Taste luxury and sophistication in our 180 rooms, 60 new deluxe rooms and 10 suites. Enjoy the hotel restaurants and bars, or explore the surrounding area for an authentic encounter with Athens.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Sun terrace
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighborhood
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Greek

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
166Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
64Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
750Reviews10Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 365
  • 204
  • 94
  • 49
  • 38
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
MYGLOBE09 wrote a review Sep 26
london4 contributions
This is one of the best located hotels in Athens. It is also one of the bigger ones, and as a result caters for big groups and people on cruises so if you are looking for a romantic stay à deux, keep away. Rooms are comfortable but need a serious relook as they seem stuck in the 80s, with gaudy furnishings and ugly furniture. Super comfortable beds but unless you are a night bird, keep away from top floor rooms: they are right below the roof terrace, the floor insulation is non existent and it feel like a herd of elephants are waking above your head at night. I actually had to change rooms just before midnight. Breakfast also seems stuck in the 80s, not to say 70s, with tinned pineapple and peaches on display in a fairly depressing subterranean massive soulless room. On the plus side, the staff are super nice and efficient , and do their best to make your experience a better one- insofar as they can. I asked for fresh fruit, and I got it. They offered me a room change when I complained. Overall, this a 3 star experience at 5 star room prices so I cannot recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Divani Collection Hotels, Μάρκετινγκ at Divani Palace Acropolis
Responded 2 days ago
Dear MYGLOBE09, We would like to thank you for taking some time to share with us your comments on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with the hotel's location and our nice staff. Regarding the room's décor we would like to inform you that our hotel is constantly making renovations to be able to meet the needs of its customers. it is very sad that there were noise from the roof garden. About the breakfast we usually have a nice feedback from our guests. Sincerely it will be our pleasure to welcome you again soon at Divani Palace Acropolis. Kind regards. The Divani Acropolis Guest Relations team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Erin_Polt wrote a review Sep 26
Santorini, Greece9 contributions5 helpful votes
I have no words for George Kilias, the assistant manager. He went out of his way to help me with every little thing i asked (i went to Athens for a day and i was too busy) and i never had to wait for anything. As for the hotel everything was excellent. The room was beautiful and sparkling clean and the location is unbelievable. Right next to the Acropolis and you can go everywhere on foot! Amazing stay that i will never forget!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Best location, amazing people
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Divani Collection Hotels, Μάρκετινγκ at Divani Palace Acropolis
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Erin_Polt, Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with our staff as well as the hotel's location was convenient for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon. Best Regards. The Divani Acropolis Guest Relations team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Derik A wrote a review Sep 25
Toronto, Canada62 contributions111 helpful votes
This property is nicely located near the Acropolis and Parthenon, but this is this hotel's only positive! According to most of the negative reviews, this hotel obviously does not care. The negative reviews are all valid, and just as the hotels response to them is given without any thought, the hotel staff's attitude reflects the attitude of management ... 'couldn't care less'. Our travel agent booked us into what was supposed to be a 5* property in an Executive room with an Acropolis view. The room was small, tired and not an executive room. Our room was very noisy and without soundproofing and the toilet seat was so flimsy that it was a joke. Some things in our room were broken such as the the makeup mirror which was missing. To see the Acropolis one had to lean out over the balcony. I immediately returned to the front desk and spoke to John who was dismissive and unhelpful. The pool was very small and shaded and a disgrace for a supposed 5* property. Since we travel great deal we are in a good position to judge. The breakfast selection was meagre and uninspiring ... not even up to 3* standard. On our very last day when we were about to leave, we discovered that there was another Executive wing which was 10 years newer than the old wing. I again approached the desk and demanded to speak to the manager. The result was the offer of a suite in the new wing. I declined ... too little too late!! unless you stay in the new wing, avoid this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: There are better options also close to the Acropolis
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Divani Collection Hotels, Μάρκετινγκ at Divani Palace Acropolis
Responded 3 days ago
Dear DeriK! Thank you for choosing to stay at Divani Palace Acropolis Hotel and providing your honest feedback on the Guest Satisfaction Survey. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and we sincerely apologize for falling short of meeting your expectations. Once again, thank you for your valued feedback and we hope to serve you again whenever your travels bring you back to Athens. Yours Sincerely. The Divani Acropolis Guest Relations team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yanni wrote a review Sep 23
Toronto, Canada23 contributions24 helpful votes
Well to start it a busy hotel caterers to tourist group. Loud hallways ,loud rooms & not was expecting to have to call after midnight to ask to pipe it down. We ask for iron and iron board ( first was told not sure if we have one by housekeeping sept ) ask front desk twice times and still did not get one . breakfast is ok not what I would expect from this rated hotel. Taxis are cheaper on the street then the one they call for you . Very surprise for the $$$$ we spent .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Divani Collection Hotels, Μάρκετινγκ at Divani Palace Acropolis
Responded 5 days ago
Dear 56Saless, Thank you for choosing to stay at Divani Palace Acropolis Hotel and providing your honest feedback on the Guest Satisfaction Survey. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and we sincerely apologize for falling short of meeting your expectations. Once again, thank you for your valued feedback and we hope to serve you again whenever your travels bring you back to Athens. Yours Sincerely. The Divani Acropolis Guest Relations team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael H wrote a review Sep 23
Toronto, Canada8 contributions4 helpful votes
We stayed for 2 nights to go to a wedding. We had a suite. - Suite decor is right out of the 90's..... ugly pillows, that crappy thing at the end of the bed and thick old Samsung TV's on the walls. - pool is excellent - beachfront access is excellent - free morning breakfast is so so......could be better - lobby is nice - internet is good -access to cabs / ubers is excellent
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Divani Collection Hotels, Μάρκετινγκ at Divani Palace Acropolis
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Divani Palace Acropolis for your stay and for taking some time to share your review. We strive to provide our guests exceptional personalized service, facilities and a memorable stay so your comments are extremely important to us so we may focus on areas that require improvement like the décor. We appreciate your kind comments about the the hotel , the pool and the lobby. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back and offer you more exceptional services. With appreciation. The Divani Acropolis Guest Relations team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
shawnm2009 wrote a review Sep 17
San Francisco, California38 contributions85 helpful votes
How this hotel is listed as a 5 stay is beyond me. I'm only passing through on my way to the islands or else I would have walked out at check in. The room is straight out of an old howard johnson. Motel 6 is nicer. Bathrooms are from the 1960's. I had two twin beds pushed together. I always stay in 5 star hotels but no idea how my travel agent ended up with this one.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Avoid at all costs
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Divani Collection Hotels, Μάρκετινγκ at Divani Palace Acropolis
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at Divani Palace Acropolis Hotel and providing your honest feedback on the Guest Satisfaction Survey. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and we sincerely apologize for falling short of meeting your expectations. Once again, thank you for your valued feedback and we hope to serve you again whenever your travels bring you back to Athens. Yours Sincerely. The Divani Acropolis Guest Relations team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael L wrote a review Sep 16
1 contribution
I recently wrote a review on this disgusting hotel and the reply which came back from the hotel was full of lies and an absolute disgrace. Since you can’t reply to a reply on here I have had to write another review. The same reply which came back to me from the hotel was the same reply which they send on here to everyone who complains. It starts like this; “Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and we sincerely apologise for falling short of meeting your expectations.” The hotel clearly don’t care about negative reviews and it seems they have a standard reply which is automatically sent to everyone who makes a complaint. I booked a room for myself in August but my ex partner and our daughter had to stay with me as our daughter suddenly came down with chicken pox. The hotel claimed they didn’t have any spare rooms then offered me a larger room which they charged me extra for. However, when I tried to get a refund through my travel agent, the hotel claimed I didn’t pay extra. I had to send the travel agent proof I paid a supplement by sending them my bank statements. The new room they showed me stank of cigarettes, mould and moth balls, the bed and pillows were old and dusty, there were hairs on the bed, detergent in the bath, holes in the walls, the phones were covered in dirt and grease, the toilet was plastic and the view was of an old, dirty and overgrown roof with old and rusty air conditioning ducts. The hotel refused to allow us to use a room so the doctor could examine our 6 year old daughter, took hours to prepare our existing room, lied about not having a new room, the staff were rude and unfriendly and the hotel was full of loud drunk guests. I had to check out and find a new hotel. The hotel refused to offer me a refund and are still refusing. They lied to my travel agent about what happened and are now lying on here claiming they gave us a free upgrade! To add insult to injury they have asked us to return. If this was the last hotel on earth I wouldn’t stay here again. Now please contact me once and for all and give me a refund!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Divani Collection Hotels, Μάρκετινγκ at Divani Palace Acropolis
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Divani Collection Hotels and in particular, Divani Acropolis Hotel for your recent visit in Athens. We feel sorry that your experience with us was not the one you anticipated for and you were not satisfied. Our aim is to provide excellent guest experiences and we always take into account ant positive or negative comments made by our guests in order to make improvements accordingly. Please note that you made a reservation for just one single room! and upon your check in you were 3 persons. We offered you free of charge one meeting room for the doctor and your daughter and after 15:00 o clock we gave you a family spacious room on the fist floor with no extra supplement for your ex partner and for your daughter. Upon availability we always give early c in to our guests, but upon your arrival the hotel was 100% fully booked. I would like to thank you for taking the time to write the review with all the details, as we are always try to improve our services, and we want to offer the best possible services and experiences to all of our guests, as we have been doing for the last 45 years Divani Acropolis Hotel is operating. Kind Regards. The Divani Acropolis Guest Relations team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NYCgirl1962 wrote a review Sep 14
4 contributions3 helpful votes
Location could not be better, 5 minute walk to the Acropolis. On a street with several nearby wine bars and restaurants. Experienced, expert service. Ordered coffee to the room, was delivered within 5 minutes. Asked about an iron at checked in, was delivered to the room without an additional request. Upon check out bags were quickly checked so we could enjoy our day. Large lovely lobby to relax while waiting for the taxi to airport, which the hotel called for us in advance. View of the Acropolis from the rooftop restaurant is breathtaking. They accommodated us at the last minute without a reservation. Would not stay anywhere else in Athens.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Divani Collection Hotels, Μάρκετινγκ at Divani Palace Acropolis
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear NYCgirl1962, Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with our staff, our rooftop Secret restaurant as well as the hotel's location was convenient for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon. Best Regards. The Divani Acropolis Guest Relations team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael L wrote a review Sep 13
1 contribution
+1
I booked this hotel through a travel agent and was told the rate was nonrefundable. The hotel and the rooms looked lovely on the website. I originally booked just for myself but my six-year-old daughter became ill so asked reception if they could accommodate me plus my daughter and her mother. They were extremely rude and unfriendly and refused to allow us to use a room for 10 minutes whilst a doctor examined my daughter (who had to be examined in a dirty and smelly conference room). They eventually and reluctantly agreed to show us another room which we had to accept since my daughter had a high fever, was sleeping and was very unwell. Shortly after we put her to bed, we noticed that the room smelt of mothballs, cigarettes and dust, there were holes in the wall, there were hairs on the bed, there was detergent in the bath, the toilets were dirty and plastic, the sinks were clogged with hair, the beds and pillows were hard, the room was generally old, dirty, smelly and uncomfortable, the phone was full of the most disgusting grime and germs I’ve ever seen in my life and the view was of air-conditioning units, dirty overgrown plants and a dirty disgusting wall. I took pictures which you will see confirms everything I have said. When we complained, we were ignored and told there was nothing they could do. To add insult to injury, they insisted on charging us extra for this room which they had the audacity to call a suite. I could not allow my poorly daughter to stay in such disgusting and unhygienic conditions so I checked out. When I asked them to refund me, they refused. This was two months ago and they still refused to refund me. Therefore, I am taking legal action against them. I would urge anybody who is considering staying here not to do so as the website is totally misleading, the staff are rude and unprofessional and the hotel is old, disgusting, dirty, smelly and certainly not a five star hotel. Further, the staff are liars as they told my travel agent I refused to pay the extra supplement. I had to send my travel agent proof that I did pay it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Divani Collection Hotels, Μάρκετινγκ at Divani Palace Acropolis
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Michaell, We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and we sincerely apologize for falling short of meeting your expectations. Your comments are important for us and it is sad to hear that you were not satisfied with the free up grade to the family room, Also would like to suggest you in your next visit to make a booking for 3 persons and no only for 1 like your reservation. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again to offer you a more pleasant stay with us. Kind regards. The Divani Acropolis Guest Relations team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maria R wrote a review Sep 13
Florida4 contributions1 helpful vote
We booked the Divani Palace Acropolis for two nights to see Athens before our cruise. It is always daunting to plan international trips but working with Natalia, the Reservation Executive via email made the process very easy. Our room was very nice, clean and very comfortable. We booked the breakfast with our room and the breakfast buffet had a good variety of hot and cold foods, the coffee delicious. All of the staff went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable - Nikos, one of the front desk bellman, even took the time to walk us through directions to a clinic close by for our Covid-19 test before the cruise. Very easy walking distance to the Acropolis and museum for sightseeing. Dinner at the rooftop restaurant was delicious with a gorgeous view. Definitely recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Divani Collection Hotels, Μάρκετινγκ at Divani Palace Acropolis
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Marnieritz, Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with our staff , the breakfast as well as the hotel's location was convenient for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon. Best Regards. The Divani Acropolis Guest Relations team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$130 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
divani acropolis palace athens, hotel divani acropolis palace, acropolis hotel athens, divani acropolis hotel, divani palace acropolis
LOCATION
GreeceAtticaAthensMakrygianni / Thissio / Makriyanni
NUMBER OF ROOMS
250
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Divani Palace Acropolis
Which popular attractions are close to Divani Palace Acropolis?
Nearby attractions include Parthenon (0.3 miles), Acropolis (0.3 miles), and Acropolis Museum (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Divani Palace Acropolis?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Divani Palace Acropolis?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Divani Palace Acropolis?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Divani Palace Acropolis?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Divani Palace Acropolis?
Conveniently located restaurants include Coffee Joint, Liondi Traditional Greek Restaurant, and Romatella - Pizza al Taglio.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Divani Palace Acropolis?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is Divani Palace Acropolis located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Athens.
Are any cleaning services offered at Divani Palace Acropolis?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Divani Palace Acropolis?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Divani Palace Acropolis offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.